Dinosaurs Evolved Into Birds!! Really??

Re: Dinosaurs Evolved Into Birds!! Really??

Postby bluefete » September 11th, 2014, 3:37 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Any link to actual info on the giants. Or any pics. I tried looking but didn't get much for any of them

Check link at end of article.

Postby bluefete » September 11th, 2014, 3:49 pm

Thu, Sep 11, 2014, 3:39pm EDT -

Humans Could Be In The Middle Of A Huge Evolutionary Transition

Business Insider
By Christina Sterbenz 21 hours ago

Evolution ape skeletons

Mankind is undergoing a major evolutionary transition comparable to the shifts from prosimians to monkeys, monkeys to apes, and apes to humans, according to Cadell Last , an evolutionary anthropology Ph.D. student and researcher at the Global Brain Institute .

Human life expectancy has already increased from about 45 at the start of the 20th century to 80 today. Due to advancements in technology, which will affect natural selection, Last suggests life expectancy could increase to 120 as early as 2050 — a concept known as radical life extension.

In addition to longer lives, humans will likely delay the timing of biological reproduction and reduce the number of offspring too, according to Last. Taken together, these changes could signify a new type of human, more focused on culture than biology.

Last makes his case in a paper from the most recent issue of Current Aging Science. Citing other futurists like Ray Kurzweil and Francis Heylighen, Last theorizes about human interaction with technology, relying on observations of past primate evolution and biology.

Young chimpanzees play at a Congo sanctuary.
From 'Living Fast And Dying Young' To 'Living Slow And "Dying Old'

According to life history theory, natural selection shapes the length of an organism's life and the timing of key events to produce the most surviving offspring. In the "fundamental life history trade-off," organisms must choose between spending their time producing as many offspring as possible or rearing those offspring to make them as successful as possible, according to Last.

And as brain sizes increases, organisms require more energy and longer rearing time to reach their full potential.

Based on these ideas, three major shifts in primate history have occurred toward longer lives and delayed reproduction: between prosimians and monkeys, monkeys and apes, and apes and humans.

Humans already dedicate the most time and energy toward nurturing offspring of any primate species, and this pattern is only becoming more extreme.

"Human life history throughout our species evolution can be thought of as one long trend towards delayed sexual maturation and biological reproduction (i.e. from 'living fast and dying young' to 'living slow and dying old')," Last writes.

While physical needs fueled previous evolutionary changes, cultural and technological innovations will drive the next shift, which has been accelerating since the Industrial Revolution.

Simply said, humans need more time to develop to take advantage of our complex world.

Welcome to the future.
Biological Vs. Cultural Reproduction

Considering recent advancements like in-vitro fertilization, egg-freezing, and even adoption, the mechanics of biological reproduction have radically changed. "The biological clock isn't going to be around forever," Last says — or at least, people can turn it off or ignore it for a while.

Today, and even more so in the future, the success of individual and collective human life depends on knowledge and economic prosperity. Passing on new and important ideas to the next generation involves a process called cultural reproduction, which redirects time and energy toward cultural activities, as opposed to biological reproduction.

"You have a limited amount of time and energy from birth to death, and you've got to figure out whether you're going to dedicate that time and energy toward biological reproduction or cultural reproduction," Last says. " We're opting to take ourselves out of the gene pool in favor of immersing ourselves in an idea pool."

Even now, we've seen evidence of delayed reproduction and fewer offspring per person in many countries. Despite fears of overpopulation , Last points out that more than half of countries (with available data) have reached a replacement fertility rate of less than 2.1, as shown in his chart below, compiled from the CIA's World Factbook.

Global Fertility Chart
A chart of fertility rates by country from Last's paper.

"As countries become socioeconomically advanced, more and more people, especially women, have the option to engage in cultural reproduction," Last says.

What's more, the emergence of artificial intelligence will offset the need for low-skill, low-education jobs, giving individuals the "opportunity to explore cultural reproduction as a vocation," Last writes. In many cases, biological reproduction has even become "too costly" in the face of the increasing pressure to adapt to technological advancements.

Altogether, Last predicts a variety of humans who could live much longer and have kids much later in life when compared to modern humans.

"These are sort of the beginning signs that we're making a transition to a radical life extension — within 20 or 30 years," Last says.

Meanwhile, technology has changed human interaction in many ways. Already, a reporter in New York can talk to an evolutionary anthropologist in Canada over Skype. In another few decades , nanotechnology could allow similar conversations to occur entirely in the brain.

"Your 80 or 100 is going to be so radically different than your grandparents'," Last says.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/humans-co ... 52424.html

Well, yes!!!!

Postby bluefete » September 11th, 2014, 3:50 pm

I sorry, eh. But if you look at the skeleton of the human head, it is VASTLY different from those simians!!

Evolution? Really?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » September 28th, 2014, 9:37 pm

Birds Evolved From Dinosaurs Gradually, Capped With Diversity Burst
We can stop looking for the missing link in the dinosaur-bird transition now because it was seamless. Birds are a continuum of millions of years of evolution, and there was no great jump between non-birds to birds.

Researchers assembling the most comprehensive family tree of two-legged, meat-eating dinosaurs to date reveal that familiar bird features – like feathers, wings, wishbones, hollow bones, and bills -- evolved over millions and millions of years, slowly accumulating small shifts in shape and function. But once these pieces were in place, an evolutionary explosion began. The gradual assembly of the bird body plan as we now know it, culminated in rapid rates of evolution. The work was published in Current Biology this week.

“There was no moment in time when a dinosaur became a bird, and there is no single missing link between them,” says University of Edinburgh’s Steve Brusatte in a university statement. “What we think of as the classic bird skeleton was pieced together gradually over tens of millions of years. Once it came together fully, it unlocked great evolutionary potential that allowed birds to evolve at a super-charged rate.”

To examine the evolutionary links, tempo, and pace of the dinosaur-bird transition, Brusatte and colleagues analyzed the anatomical make-up of 853 features (ranging from air sacs to wristbones, or lack thereof) in 152 extinct birds and their closest non-avian dinosaur relatives. Then they used statistical methods to assemble a family tree called a phylogeny (pictured below).

The team found that the emergence of birds 150 million years ago was a gradual process that began pretty much when dinosaurs appeared on Earth around 230 million years ago. With some dinosaurs becoming evermore “birdy” over time, it’s very difficult to draw a dividing line between them. “This process was so gradual that if you traveled back in time to the Jurassic, you’d find that the earliest birds looked indistinguishable from many other dinosaurs,” study coauthor Steve Wang of Swarthmore says in a news release. When all these pieces forming the archetypal bird skeleton were in place, “birds then evolved rapidly, eventually leading to the great diversity of species we know today.”

The famous early bird, 150-million-year-old Archaeopteryx, was thought to represent a great evolutionary leap from dinosaurs, National Geographic explains, but these findings show that its avian traits evolved in dinosaur forebears long before. This 80-million-year transition was capped by unusually elevated bursts of evolution.

“It is particularly cool that it is evidence from the fossil record that shows how an oddball offshoot of the dinosaurs paved the way for the spectacular variety of bird species we see today,” says study coauthor Graeme Lloyd from Oxford. Here’s a simplified version of their phylogenetic relationships:Image

Dont know why its so hard for people to believe this......not all dinosaurs evolved into birds but certain species...what? an egg just appeared out out of thin air and birds came into existence??? LMAO!!
Everything evolved into something, nothing was made as is......unless the right technology was used which is not from this world, and that is another whole new can of worms :new-alien:

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2014, 3:23 pm

THis seems mote like the bipedal dinosaurs were actually the transient stages for birds.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 30th, 2014, 7:39 pm

bluefete wrote:Thu, Sep 11, 2014, 3:39pm EDT -

Humans Could Be In The Middle Of A Huge Evolutionary Transition

Business Insider
By Christina Sterbenz 21 hours ago

Evolution ape skeletons

Mankind is undergoing a major evolutionary transition comparable to the shifts from prosimians to monkeys, monkeys to apes, and apes to humans, according to Cadell Last , an evolutionary anthropology Ph.D. student and researcher at the Global Brain Institute .

Human life expectancy has already increased from about 45 at the start of the 20th century to 80 today. Due to advancements in technology, which will affect natural selection, Last suggests life expectancy could increase to 120 as early as 2050 — a concept known as radical life extension.

In addition to longer lives, humans will likely delay the timing of biological reproduction and reduce the number of offspring too, according to Last. Taken together, these changes could signify a new type of human, more focused on culture than biology.

Last makes his case in a paper from the most recent issue of Current Aging Science. Citing other futurists like Ray Kurzweil and Francis Heylighen, Last theorizes about human interaction with technology, relying on observations of past primate evolution and biology.

Young chimpanzees play at a Congo sanctuary.
From 'Living Fast And Dying Young' To 'Living Slow And "Dying Old'

According to life history theory, natural selection shapes the length of an organism's life and the timing of key events to produce the most surviving offspring. In the "fundamental life history trade-off," organisms must choose between spending their time producing as many offspring as possible or rearing those offspring to make them as successful as possible, according to Last.

And as brain sizes increases, organisms require more energy and longer rearing time to reach their full potential.

Based on these ideas, three major shifts in primate history have occurred toward longer lives and delayed reproduction: between prosimians and monkeys, monkeys and apes, and apes and humans.

Humans already dedicate the most time and energy toward nurturing offspring of any primate species, and this pattern is only becoming more extreme.

"Human life history throughout our species evolution can be thought of as one long trend towards delayed sexual maturation and biological reproduction (i.e. from 'living fast and dying young' to 'living slow and dying old')," Last writes.

While physical needs fueled previous evolutionary changes, cultural and technological innovations will drive the next shift, which has been accelerating since the Industrial Revolution.

Simply said, humans need more time to develop to take advantage of our complex world.

Welcome to the future.
Biological Vs. Cultural Reproduction

Considering recent advancements like in-vitro fertilization, egg-freezing, and even adoption, the mechanics of biological reproduction have radically changed. "The biological clock isn't going to be around forever," Last says — or at least, people can turn it off or ignore it for a while.

Today, and even more so in the future, the success of individual and collective human life depends on knowledge and economic prosperity. Passing on new and important ideas to the next generation involves a process called cultural reproduction, which redirects time and energy toward cultural activities, as opposed to biological reproduction.

"You have a limited amount of time and energy from birth to death, and you've got to figure out whether you're going to dedicate that time and energy toward biological reproduction or cultural reproduction," Last says. " We're opting to take ourselves out of the gene pool in favor of immersing ourselves in an idea pool."

Even now, we've seen evidence of delayed reproduction and fewer offspring per person in many countries. Despite fears of overpopulation , Last points out that more than half of countries (with available data) have reached a replacement fertility rate of less than 2.1, as shown in his chart below, compiled from the CIA's World Factbook.

Global Fertility Chart

"As countries become socioeconomically advanced, more and more people, especially women, have the option to engage in cultural reproduction," Last says.

What's more, the emergence of artificial intelligence will offset the need for low-skill, low-education jobs, giving individuals the "opportunity to explore cultural reproduction as a vocation," Last writes. In many cases, biological reproduction has even become "too costly" in the face of the increasing pressure to adapt to technological advancements.

Altogether, Last predicts a variety of humans who could live much longer and have kids much later in life when compared to modern humans.

"These are sort of the beginning signs that we're making a transition to a radical life extension — within 20 or 30 years," Last says.

Meanwhile, technology has changed human interaction in many ways. Already, a reporter in New York can talk to an evolutionary anthropologist in Canada over Skype. In another few decades , nanotechnology could allow similar conversations to occur entirely in the brain.

"Your 80 or 100 is going to be so radically different than your grandparents'," Last says.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/humans-co ... 52424.html

Well, yes!!!!

ah go say dis. all i need inside my head God put dey already. i really dont need no nanotech in meh head. i find that technology should not even be pursued. but fact is it already being used. i good with a lil bluetooth headset until everyone telpathy awaken lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 30th, 2014, 8:56 pm

bluesclues wrote:ah go say dis. all i need inside my head God put dey already. i really dont need no nanotech in meh head. i find that technology should not even be pursued. but fact is it already being used. i good with a lil bluetooth headset until everyone telpathy awaken lol
what about all the steroids, chemicals, pollutants, microwaves, radiation etc that you already putting into your body that God didn't put there just by living in 21st Century Earth?

Postby janfar » October 1st, 2014, 1:12 am

bluesclues wrote:ah go say dis. all i need inside my head God put dey already. i really dont need no nanotech in meh head. i find that technology should not even be pursued. but fact is it already being used. i good with a lil bluetooth headset until everyone telpathy awaken lol
what about all the steroids, chemicals, pollutants, microwaves, radiation etc that you already putting into your body that God didn't put there just by living in 21st Century Earth?

Dah man born with everything he know yes.

Jesus ah de realist.

Postby 88sins » October 1st, 2014, 11:50 am

nanotech wouldn't be limited to your head.
medical nano-technology is been developed currently that if successful, will do some really amazing stuff. Think along the lines of treating cancer with precision on a cellular level

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 1st, 2014, 4:06 pm

lets be sensible.. there are avoidable risks, and there are unavoidable risks. nanotech is dangerous technology.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 1st, 2014, 4:12 pm

nanotech wouldn't be limited to your head.
medical nano-technology is been developed currently that if successful, will do some really amazing stuff. Think along the lines of treating cancer with precision on a cellular level

for putting in the blood stream where it does its job and then disintegrates and pass through urine or faeces is a different application. but the inside head ting is too risky. its not even safe as a payment security solution because muslim does done cut off man head. man will cut off head and hand to tief yuh money. taking crime to a whole new level. but thats just me. i alright with rfid installed on my phone. i have pockets. lol

Postby Slartibartfast » October 1st, 2014, 5:30 pm

RFIDs and nano tech in the brain are great examples of really cool ideas with a lot of potential for good and bad. Sadly, "the hearts of men are easily corrupted" as Tolkein wrote, so I would pass on those specific applications of the technology.

Postby 88sins » October 1st, 2014, 7:35 pm

bci's are being worked on right now, but primarily for medical research.

bci's for day to day living, eh eh too much to risk for that application.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 1st, 2014, 8:36 pm

bluefete wrote:Even now, we've seen evidence of delayed reproduction and fewer offspring per person in many countries. Despite fears of overpopulation , Last points out that more than half of countries (with available data) have reached a replacement fertility rate of less than 2.1, as shown in his chart below, compiled from the CIA's World Factbook.

Global Fertility Chart

Oh I almost forgot. Take a look at these UN statistics. It shows the following overall trends.

The richer a country is, the less children it's women are likely to have (could be a correlation without causation but still interesting) http://www.bit.ly/1dnGhQA

And women also have less children when there is a lower infant mortality rate (This is believed to be a direct link) http://www.bit.ly/1ueCsag

Maybe richer countries have better health care so that there are fewer infant mortality rates and therefore women are having less children.

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2014, 5:09 am

Richer or more educated?

Ghetto places have higher birth rates because he people there don't have much to do but drugs and each other.

Richer countries, wrest richer because the whole population are on the same level with respect to social development and they have less base concepts of recreation.
Their wealth and their birth rates are both products of their social and intellectual tendencies

Postby Slartibartfast » October 3rd, 2014, 2:33 pm

sMASH wrote:Richer or more educated?

Why don't you have a look for your self.

http://www.bit.ly/GH1Gcf

That is a graph of Children per woman vs. Literacy in Adults

It looks like the trend that you assumed is backed by the UN stats. Don't forget to slide the "date" slider back and forth to see how the values shifted with time.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 11th, 2014, 10:56 pm

Didn't get a chance to read through the thread.. just stumbled over this video, enlightening watch.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2014, 11:28 pm

Very interesting. Never thought about sea creatures evolving from land creatures before.