The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Postby tr1ad » November 25th, 2008, 9:58 am

solved,

for those with the caller id problem using 1.1.6 on 2.1 also install format fix via cydia

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 10:12 am

tr1ad wrote:solved,

for those with the caller id problem using 1.1.6 on 2.1 also install format fix via cydia

yup, that's the fix. I am just curious though if anyone running these 2 on 2.2 if it solves the Caller ID issues? (Plan on upgrading to 2.2 (again) later today)

Postby tr1ad » November 25th, 2008, 10:13 am

me personally i think ill hold out on the 2.1 ( a bit shaky imo )
ill only go 2.2 unless it has something that blows my mind

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 10:25 am

TouchArcade reports that the second-generation iPod touch’s processor runs at 532 MHz, while the iPhone 3G’s processor runs at 412 MHz.

Both the iPhone and iPod touch use an ARM processor capable of running at 620-667Mhz. However, it appears that Apple down-clocked the processor in production devics, presumably to conserve battery life.

Nearly a year ago, iPhone Atlas broke the news that iPhone OS 1.1.2 delivered slight boost in operating clock speed. iPhones running firmware/software version 1.1.1 displayed a clock speed of 400 Mhz and a bus speed of 100 MHz, whereas iPhones running firmware/software revision 1.1.2 displayed a clock speed of 412 MHz and a bus speed of 103 MHz.

As such, it’s possible that Apple will boost the iPhone and/or iPoud touch’s processor clock speed with a future software update. Given battery concerns, however, such a move may be unlikely.

Meanwhile, a Polish site has performed benchmarks of the first-generation iPod touch, second-generation iPod touch, first-generation iPhone and iPhone 3G. Their results (higher numbers are better), would appear to confirm the original finding:

1G iPod touch software 2.2 - 99.039
1G iPhone software 2.2 - 99.422
iPhone 3G software 2.2 - 104.23
2G iPod touch software 2.2: 2.2 - 145.20
---
Editors at MacWorld have begun to review the iPhone OS 2.2 update and are somewhat disappointed to see that certain desired improvements for business functionality have not been made. However, the order in which iPhone owners can now view podcasts is said to be an improvement.

As far as the business features go (and certainly some in this list would be very handy for personal use too), just some of the desired ones not part of the update that MacWorld notes include no on-device data encryption, passwords are limited to four-digit numeric PINs, no ability to synchronize notes or set up calendar items with the same scheduling controls as in Exchange and cut and paste. MacWorld even goes as far to say that since the 2.2 update does not accommodate more of the needs of the business community that the BlackBerry Storm has “a real chance to push the iPhone out of the enterprise, at least as a standard sanctioned device.â€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 10:33 am

Oh & anyone have a clue how to set up a free iTunes account? Need one for brother's iPhone. Like Apple recently [22/11/08] shut down one of the loop holes for this...

Postby tr1ad » November 25th, 2008, 10:35 am

i utilized my skybox address and set one up

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 10:39 am

That's perhaps what my friend did (he did use some method I never bothered to ask about cause I already done mine) but what if I have no Skybox?

Postby tr1ad » November 25th, 2008, 10:50 am

use someone in d states address yuh kno

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 25th, 2008, 10:51 am

man this firetruck 2.2 update jus give me real headache fuh d first time since 1.1.4 :? :? :?

my wifi isnt working and cant even install openssh via cydia. it's saying i need to add more sources :x

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 11:03 am

I think I would just end up having to go legit & get my uncle in FL to buy an iTunes gift card to open one yes.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 1:37 pm

mitch wrote:man this firetruck 2.2 update jus give me real headache fuh d first time since 1.1.4 :? :? :?

my wifi isnt working and cant even install openssh via cydia. it's saying i need to add more sources :x

maybe I better hold off on the 2.2 update a little...

Postby pete » November 25th, 2008, 1:46 pm

Which iTunes do you have?

Did you try the app method?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 2:16 pm

pete wrote:Which iTunes do you have?

Did you try the app method?

I have 8.0.2 but I think the computer I am using has 8.0 or 8.0.1
I'll try that later. Thanks.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2008, 2:30 pm

Developer strikes it rich with iPhone game

(CNN) -- With its glassy touch screen, powerful graphics, crisp sound and tilt feature, the iPhone is more than a smart phone for some users -- it's a portable entertainment system.

It's also become a potential gold mine for entrepreneurs who create games for the device. Just ask Steve Demeter, developer of the popular iPhone puzzle game "Trism."

A former ATM software designer for a large bank, Demeter created "Trism" in his spare time and pitched it to Apple last spring.
The company made the game available for download with the July launch of its App Store, an online provider of applications for its iPods and iPhones.

Priced at $5, "Trism" earned Demeter $250,000 in profits the first two months.

"It's done phenomenal business," said Demeter, 29, who lives in the California's San Francisco Bay area. "I'm very honored that so many people would enjoy my game. I get e-mails from 50-year-old ladies who say, "I don't play games, but I love Trism.' That's the coolest thing."

It can take dozens of professional developers and millions of dollars to create a video game for a traditional console such as a PlayStation or an Xbox. But the iPhone and the App Store have helped democratize game development by opening the field to any software coder with talent and a clever idea, industry observers say.

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/TECH/11/18/ ... storyemail

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 2:34 pm

I think I remember watching that story on Headline News last week...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 25th, 2008, 4:23 pm

ok everything back to normal on 2.2 except caller id.

installed caller id fix and format fix but still having caller id issues

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 4:37 pm

hmph I thought that woulda solved those issues yes

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 25th, 2008, 4:45 pm

I install my caller-id fix for 2.1, but the international countries still doesn't show TNT..hmf

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » November 25th, 2008, 7:39 pm

ok ah hearing that when yuh install the 2.2 firmware on the 3g it locking up??...ne details on this before ah install it??

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » November 25th, 2008, 7:41 pm

check http://www.iclarified.com/ i did the 2.2 upgrade with custom firware from there n then pwn it and its unlocked :P

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » November 25th, 2008, 8:28 pm

ok jus had a read...they say how they ain't releaase the new pwn tool which is needed to install the firmware and keep the phone unloacked...so where u get the new pwn tool from?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 25th, 2008, 8:56 pm

^yuh read wrong. it was released since weekend.

there is no unlock for the 3G however

Postby tr1ad » November 25th, 2008, 8:59 pm

mitch yuh gorne troublin trouble again

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 25th, 2008, 9:01 pm

:lol: boy everything working like normal besides the caller id. so jus waiting on a fix for that now

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 9:02 pm

iPhone 3G + TurboSIM = unlocked

iPhone 3G + TurboSIM + 2.2 = locked

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » November 25th, 2008, 9:23 pm

ok so ah should jus hold back on updating for now ehh "SRASC"?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2008, 9:26 pm

yup

SRASC

Man is 2.2 buggy!, Not iTunes, Get Lost!

Postby SRASC » November 26th, 2008, 9:59 am

Users, in droves, continue to report a bevy of issues after the update to iPhone OS 2.2. Among the most serious and widespread problems: disappearing applications (both Apple’s and third-party), loss of WiFi connectivity, loss of 3G or EDGE signal strength and an inability to sync with iTunes.

Downgrading to iPhone OS 2.1 If you are experiencing intolerable issues after the update to iPhone OS 2.2 and would like to attempt a downgrade to iPhone OS 2.1, you can try the following procedure. Note, however, that they procedure may not work, and you may be forced to restore your iPhone with OS 2.2, potentially losing data in the process.

Download iPhone OS 2.1 IPSW
Turn off your iPhone by holding down the sleep/wake button.
After the phone is off and hold the sleep/wake and home buttons at the same time for 10 seconds.
Release the sleep/wake button; continue to hold down the home button until iTunes detects the iPhone in “recovery mode.â€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 26th, 2008, 2:30 pm

Caller ID fix for iPhones in Trinidad running firmware 2.2 available now. Details here
Last edited by SRASC on November 27th, 2008, 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 27th, 2008, 8:59 am

Apple has introduced an iPhone 3G Gift Card which can be used to give an iPhone gift this holiday season.

Give someone an iPhone 3G Gift Card and when the lucky recipient comes in to redeem it, an Apple Retail Store Specialist will take care of every detail. The Specialist will get your recipient's iPhone 3G up and calling, set up email, and help customize the Home screen, choose some great iPhone applications, personalize ringtones, and find favorite songs.

The iPhone 3G gift card can be purchased online or in Apple stores.

Buy Now