going for a lil fun fish outside point a pier this afternoon for tarpon

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 5th, 2010, 10:40 pm

wall, wah you catch???

wall

Postby wall » March 5th, 2010, 11:40 pm

boi we end up dropping lines for bout 15mins.sun was going down but they had hundreds of tarpon rolling around the place.might go again tmrw.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 5th, 2010, 11:48 pm

wall, they biting?

It does have some monsters in manzan!..

Once i saw a really huge one and when it raised out of the water i was like WTF is that! I was like waist deep in the water.... I ran like hell back to shore!! Until i saw it again and realized it was a hugh ass tarpon.... I didnt have my big game kit wit me that day!..

I feel next weekend i might head up manzan

wall

Postby wall » March 6th, 2010, 1:00 am

boy!if you put a cigarett pack on a hook and drag it behind the boat they biting.and yeh inside there have some monsters to .i looking to go tmrw n carry some little cast rods with 15lb test and some small jigs should be fun.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 6th, 2010, 4:12 am

Dudes allyuh exciting meh.... It does have some monsters in manzan!..

Hardcore where u talking bout....in de river from de side road before de bridge?

Down behind IGL dere in Point Lisas does have real plenty too......never saw a real monster but it have plenty smaller ones

I have some gears on de way from Miami....penn slammer 760 and a fin nor 80 with a penn surf special rod....50Lb power pro and some yo zuri and badonk a donk topwaters.......i go be back in a week......wanna fish reaaaaaal bad

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 6th, 2010, 4:15 am

aye we could get dat logo on some jerseys......or do an embroidered patch and throw it on some fishing shirts........we go look like some reaaaaaaaal professionals

Postby X_Factor » March 6th, 2010, 7:51 am

caught about a cooler full of those last night (about 40) and about 2 salmon
left home around 7ish lastnight....now reach back

apparently we hit a band of fish as it was passing through....from the moment the line hit the water was action and they were biting both shrimp and herring

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 6th, 2010, 9:06 am

X_Factor,das wah we talk bout!! I hold a few hugh salmon manzan already... Like 4ft long....

Smeed wrote:Dudes allyuh exciting meh.... It does have some monsters in manzan!..

Hardcore where u talking bout....in de river from de side road before de bridge?

Yeh man! right there and certain spots along the manzan stretch!

Smeed wrote:aye we could get dat logo on some jerseys......or do an embroidered patch and throw it on some fishing shirts........we go look like some reaaaaaaaal professionals

That sound like a plan too but i find it go look insane on the back of meh van!!

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 6th, 2010, 10:17 am

Smeed wrote:Dudes allyuh exciting meh.... It does have some monsters in manzan!..

Down behind IGL dere in Point Lisas does have real plenty too......never saw a real monster but it have plenty smaller ones

I have some gears on de way from Miami....penn slammer 760 and a fin nor 80 with a penn surf special rod....50Lb power pro and some yo zuri and badonk a donk topwaters.......i go be back in a week......wanna fish reaaaaaal bad

smeed what u catch down pt lisas ?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 6th, 2010, 1:34 pm

X_Factor, where u ketch dem fish?

wall, d fish cum in d gulf yet?

Postby X_Factor » March 6th, 2010, 1:38 pm

shark river for those who know there

wall

Postby wall » March 6th, 2010, 2:18 pm

ryan99tt wrote:X_Factor, where u ketch dem fish?

wall, d fish cum in d gulf yet?
i cant say yet.havent actually gone fishing for a while beside yesterday for bout 15 mins. x factor shark river is good distance to drive.

Postby X_Factor » March 6th, 2010, 2:35 pm

yupps..2.5hrs to go and come!!

wall

Postby wall » March 6th, 2010, 2:45 pm

where you dropped lines? right outside the river mouth or you all went around the point?

Postby X_Factor » March 6th, 2010, 4:01 pm

crossed the river, to the right hand side, in the corner there ,,corner there from the rocks

it was 4 of us so we occupied that like portion from the river mouth to the corner but they were not biting closer to the river mouth

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 6th, 2010, 10:42 pm

haydn28....i fished down there twice. we caught some red fish and small cavali and pompano but u could see all dem tarpon rolling and jumping out de water sometimes.....was real amazing to see...i tried a few lures i had and one ah dem tarpon run it down and den slap it out de water and it hook up on a mangrove branch....lets just say i did try to get it back but it more dan likely still hanging on the branch (another story...hehehe)

none the less, apparently u can walk along de phoenix park fence down to the point and it have an old jetty or sumting where it have plenty grouper, I saw a coupla guys walking back along the track and dey had 2 nice size grouper and a coupla cavali

de ting is though that down there is supposed to be restricted access....i mean really and truly it is an area where natural gas and ammonia is loaded to boats....so it is an inherently hazardous place

once i made a pass just to see de place but it had like 50-60 people down dere....man bathing and ting....was as if it was a beach....i guess on weekends de security doesn't tell nebody anything....but during de week i know sometimes de security does run people

but it really is a nice spot...lotsa fish....deep water.... pretty secure

i guess u know de area?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 6th, 2010, 11:48 pm

Smeed, dat area real nice to fish but d gurd does only run yuh if yuh get too close to there property...d only ting, wen yuh goin dey walk wit ah few extra friends...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 7th, 2010, 10:30 pm

yea man ryan99tt iz a cool spot.....u right by yuh car.....de road paved etc.

wha bout all de fishermen who throw line dis weekend? wha allyuh catch??!!

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 8th, 2010, 8:44 am

Let me jump in:

We went fishing @ Toco by the lighthouse. People, that area have some huge huge fish. One of my friends cast out his line and something big take bait....the rod flexed to half on a 60 pound line - good grief, we thought the line had stuck on a rock. Saw a big leap and splash and what appeared to be a "granti-kai" burst the line and gone.

Didnt catch anything - but that excitement - was like WOW.

A huge wave crashed on the rock and swept away a caster/line and some slippers....that was the end right there - pack up and moved to higher grounds after that wave yes....

Whats scary is that lots of persons have died in that very same area and if your fall in, the thing is you would be swept under the rocks (where the blow hole is) and dead

Overall, the tide, currents and the general area feels to irie - not going back there....

Any other good location ?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 8th, 2010, 10:42 am

V2NR 3.0, I know what you mean.. It is very dangerous there to new coming persons.... I does go there when i know a big crew going and i does go there with some local guys so they know what to do and what not to do..

They told me if you ever fall off try your hardest to swim away from the rock head out to deep sea and swim around to the next shore......

I doh really fancy there either... I love to fish knowing i am safe and secure where i can enjoy it.... Therefore i love MANZAN..... :mrgreen:

But i have other places and rocks that i do go on and it is much safer than by the light house..

A good safe location in manzan....and right now these days BESS to fish...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 8th, 2010, 10:47 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH,

Actually, i knew a co-worker who's father was swept off the rock and got sucked under the rocks. His body was never found and thats 4 years now. This in mind, we went with an emergency plan - 50feet of rope, life jacket the works man...first aid kit and everything you could think bout. It look like we went for a small war....lol.

The noise the blow hole emits, the grumble of water below the rock not to enticing.

Now i am aware that tide, moon positioning determine when fishing is favourable. When is a good time to fish ? - Some people say by the Moon - full moon, new moon, first quarter, last quarter etc etc, tide coming in or tide going out....etc etc etc....Whats the specifics....

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 8th, 2010, 11:08 am

guys, me and a few frens went out on a boat this weekend, down the islands, went to a good few spots, but only caught like 7 fish, reds,sand sharks, moonshine, paag...size wise, nothing to talk bout, had two guys spear fishing, but had plenty "white water", cuddnt see the tip of the spears...i was expecting alot more fish, as the last time they went they pulled up some nice size paag...

got spooked by a dolphin yes...lol..

might be trying manzan this weekend, to test out the line....anyone know any good spots to try out?...

ckavsinba

Postby ckavsinba » March 8th, 2010, 2:26 pm

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 8th, 2010, 2:38 pm

nice catch there, where u pulled up that tarpon?

ckavsinba

Postby ckavsinba » March 8th, 2010, 2:57 pm

just outside the 2nd...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 8th, 2010, 6:24 pm

ckavsinba wrote:Image

very nice catch....

Postby Rooki3 » March 8th, 2010, 7:04 pm

Allyuh coming bago for the tornament, i think its this weekend!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » March 9th, 2010, 1:12 am

^^ that sound nice but i might have plans!!...if no plan i will be on the beach fishing!!