Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » April 27th, 2011, 10:04 pm

Guess who makes an appearance on South Park right now

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2011, 10:44 pm

ideas if yall think a data sim wud make sense with a ipad 1 16gb wifi+3g edition???

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 27th, 2011, 11:26 pm

Chiney wrote:ideas if yall think a data sim wud make sense with a ipad 1 16gb wifi+3g edition???

nope it won't, I tried it with one that had a data plan and another sim that had a blackberry plan but neither worked, as of now until bmobile offers a plan specifically for 3G data only sim cards we're out of luck.

There is one solution, you can go with the Blink's new '4G' hotspot and use the wifi from that. the ipad 3G is irrelevant in Trinidad, hopefully that changes soon.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 28th, 2011, 8:31 am

^^ called TSTT and they said if you go head office, there are few techs there who can configure it for you.

got more info on that 4g hotspot?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 28th, 2011, 8:53 am

Chiney wrote:got more info on that 4g hotspot?
http://www.blinkbroadband.tt/index.cfm/1,262,0,39,html/Blink-On-the-Go-Turbo

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 28th, 2011, 9:28 am

$375 a month....
hmm

im seeing a usb connection on the device.. can be used either direct or it broadcasts a signal ?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 28th, 2011, 9:41 am

------

Apple is again all over South Park. Season 15 of the animated television series premiered yesterday and it aired with a bunch of humorous takes on Apple’s latest PR fiasco surrounding the iPhone location tracking issue. Plus, they also ridicule the iPad as the latest fashion must-have item

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 28th, 2011, 4:00 pm

Chiney wrote:got more info on that 4g hotspot?
http://www.blinkbroadband.tt/index.cfm/1,262,0,39,html/Blink-On-the-Go-Turbo

that's not the 4G hotspot...thats the usb modem and that has been out for some time now even tho it says it's new on the site.

They haven't updated their site to show the 4G hotspot yet.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 28th, 2011, 4:02 pm

Chiney wrote:$375 a month....
hmm

im seeing a usb connection on the device.. can be used either direct or it broadcasts a signal ?

that wasn't the hotspot in the link that was the usb modem which they offered for some time now. the 4G hotspot is a MiFi which is basically a mobile wifi network. I'm not to sure on the exact details on it because when i went into the front office the person was on lunch *obviously they didn't have a second person because it's Trinidad* but if you go in they'll be able to show you the thing, its a little black ugly ass thing, I've seen so many nicer models but that was probably the only one Blink could have gotten since it's damn WiMax .

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 28th, 2011, 4:50 pm

^ no idea on price?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 28th, 2011, 5:50 pm

I can't remember the exact price but it was around $375/month with a two year contract and $475 with a one year, I think there was a $500 one time activation fee I'm not sure, you can call Blink to find out more 824-TSTT

Btw I wouldn't recommend the two year contract, just in case UMTS or HSPA + rolls out on our phone within the next year. WiMax is a dead technology.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 28th, 2011, 6:01 pm

ok kooolll

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 28th, 2011, 6:26 pm

HOLY CRAP! Apple's Profit Is HIGHER Than Microsoft

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/its-offi ... z1KrJZ1F6I
Apple passed Microsoft in market cap last May. It passed Microsoft in revenue in the third quarter of 2010.
And now it's passed Microsoft in profit as well.
Apple's profit for the quarter ended March 31 was $5.99 billion.
Microsoft's profit was $5.23 billion. Not even close.
Half of Apple's revenue came from the iPhone, a market where Microsoft isn't competitive -- and even if Windows Phone sells tens of millions of units after the Nokia deal, Microsoft will only earn $15 or $20 on each handset, compared with several hundreds of dollars per iPhone for Apple.
There is one financial metric where Microsoft is still ahead: margins.
Microsoft's net profit as a percentage of revenue was 32%.
Apple's was 24%. That's unbelievable and spectacular for a hardware company, but software has much lower cost of goods -- once you've recovered your R&D investment, every sale is pure profit -- and Microsoft is still primarily a software company.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 28th, 2011, 7:28 pm

Dunno if this is good or not. Just a little hands on review of the battery life so far.

Running the iOS 4.3.2.

Device was fully charged at 3AM, restarted it at 4:30 AM to run fresh (i know, it should have been done at the start).

At present, 7:23 PM, battery life is on 54%.

Usage;

* About 50 text messages (sent and received)
* Internet browsing for 10 minutes (bmobile bb plan)
* Call Time 59 minutes total
* 25 emails (sent and received) (15 minutes interval setting used)
* Cellular data always on

Should I downgrade to iOS 4.2.1 for better life?

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2011, 7:44 pm

that sounding better than mine!

Right now mine on 38% and i did nearly half of what u did...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 28th, 2011, 7:49 pm

* assuming the phone is jailbroken* if not try a fresh restore and set up as new phone

check if your push notifications are working.. is it hacktivated, or did you activate with an official sim or is it a factory unlocked phone. If it's hacktivated use SAM and it normally solves the problems that cause the phone to continuously check for valid push certificates from apple servers resulting in really bad /fast draining battery.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 28th, 2011, 7:53 pm

Used the SAM application as instructed by M_2nr and also disabled iTunes and Ping

Location services was left ON

BTW

Can any of you help me to get a replacement back cover please. 16 GB in preferably white ?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 28th, 2011, 7:58 pm

Parvin wrote:Used the SAM application as instructed by M_2nr and also disabled iTunes and Ping

Location services was left ON

BTW

Can any of you help me to get a replacement back cover please. 16 GB in preferably white ?

this site will have what you need. I used it in the past to buy parts for my blackberry. http://www.cnn.cn

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 28th, 2011, 8:06 pm

You izza boss.

Now to get someone to order it :)

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2011, 8:22 pm

just be careful what u ordering, make sure it has the sim ejector screw hole. some dont.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 28th, 2011, 8:26 pm

Noted

*thumbs up*

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 28th, 2011, 8:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:HOLY CRAP! Apple's Profit Is HIGHER Than Microsoft

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/its-offi ... z1KrJZ1F6I
Apple passed Microsoft in market cap last May. It passed Microsoft in revenue in the third quarter of 2010.
And now it's passed Microsoft in profit as well.
Apple's profit for the quarter ended March 31 was $5.99 billion.
Microsoft's profit was $5.23 billion. Not even close.
Half of Apple's revenue came from the iPhone, a market where Microsoft isn't competitive -- and even if Windows Phone sells tens of millions of units after the Nokia deal, Microsoft will only earn $15 or $20 on each handset, compared with several hundreds of dollars per iPhone for Apple.
There is one financial metric where Microsoft is still ahead: margins.
Microsoft's net profit as a percentage of revenue was 32%.
Apple's was 24%. That's unbelievable and spectacular for a hardware company, but software has much lower cost of goods -- once you've recovered your R&D investment, every sale is pure profit -- and Microsoft is still primarily a software company.

Apple drove that market like a mofo. Microsoft kinda looks interesting at its present price. I am wondering what Microsoft has planned for the future. Supposedly Pc sales are down, mobile phones and tablets are up but they have no stake in either. Server sales are up tho. I wonder besides XBOX what is Microsoft really doing in the market to stay abreast. They seem to be top heavy and last in the pack. I don't hear to much about the windows 7 phone.

In the mean time Apple seems to be gaining momentum.

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » April 28th, 2011, 10:15 pm

Hey what does cause the push to stop all of a sudden for IM applications? I bought the $5.00US Push Fix 2.0 which worked for a few days. Afterwards the IM and fbook stop working. Every other push application such as email works.

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2011, 10:39 pm

suzieboy wrote:Hey what does cause the push to stop all of a sudden for IM applications? I bought the $5.00US Push Fix 2.0 which worked for a few days. Afterwards the IM and fbook stop working. Every other push application such as email works.

you could have used pushdoctor for free :|
anyway,
i got into a rant with boxcar for this and well basically the solution is that you have to keep opening the apps.
After a time it begins to look like the app is spamming you with push messages because you haven't opened the app in a while so it becomes block. I noticed this with boxcar and iPray as i hardly ever open them but noticed that push stopped.

Sully

Postby Sully » April 29th, 2011, 7:16 am

Parvin wrote:Dunno if this is good or not. Just a little hands on review of the battery life so far.

Running the iOS 4.3.2.

Device was fully charged at 3AM, restarted it at 4:30 AM to run fresh (i know, it should have been done at the start).

At present, 7:23 PM, battery life is on 54%.

Usage;

* About 50 text messages (sent and received)
* Internet browsing for 10 minutes (bmobile bb plan)
* Call Time 59 minutes total
* 25 emails (sent and received) (15 minutes interval setting used)
* Cellular data always on

Should I downgrade to iOS 4.2.1 for better life?

I'm getting terrible battery life as well. I went from 42% to dead without any usage over a period of 3hours. I guess setting up as a new phone is my only remaining option (other than downgrading.)

Postby TRAE » April 29th, 2011, 8:52 am

Sandstorm 2 on iphone allows you to play online G!

ok that was my post

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 29th, 2011, 10:22 am

how to get flash on my ipad again allyuh??

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 29th, 2011, 10:42 pm

tadah something called 'Google & Youtube' was just created

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3N8Yyy7 ... r_embedded

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 12:24 am

You can use Frash but that doesnt work 100%. Sometimes buggy (used it).

If it is you wanna stream pr0n use Skyfire Browser ;) U cant Fast Forward but it works fine.

Postby TRAE » April 30th, 2011, 2:27 pm

ok so its like rel pages in this ched so i asking here:

I have a iPhone 4 from AT&T with 4.0.1 firmware and wanna upgrade to 4.2.1 or so, what tool is best to jailbreak this?

also i'm having an issue even running the restore---- Itunes keeps giving me an error and stops the restore even from DFU mode....