The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

lancer_man

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby lancer_man » May 30th, 2011, 1:45 pm

Hi guys,

A lil question for those with an unlocked iphone 4. Would it be possible to use the Gevey turbo sim to unlock a used AT&T iphone 4 using bmobile?

If so, would I need anything else besides the Gevey sim?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 30th, 2011, 2:55 pm

nope, ah gevey sim shud do it...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 30th, 2011, 5:28 pm

Backing up claims of a next-generation iPhone with an iPhone 4-like form factor, Macotakara claims that Apple is set to debut an iPhone 4S with an ARM Cortex-A9 and an 8 megapixel camera. The ARM Cortex-A9 is the CPU foundation for Apple’s customized A5 processor in the iPad 2. The iPad 2′s A5 is a dual-core chip, but the report is unsure if the iPhone 4S version is dual core. Sources told 9to5Mac last month that Apple is already testing an iPhone 4 with an A5 chip with high-profile game developers and it is likely that the iPhone 4S’s A5 will be dual-core.

The report also says backs up claims of an iPhone with dual-mode support for CDMA and GSM networks. This has long been expected since our discovery that the Verizon iPhone 4 carries a Qualcomm Gobi chip; a chip that supports both CDMA and GSM networks. The unique part about the report’s claim is that it says the iPhone 4S will feature an integrated SIM card system. That means the card is not user replacable. Apple was rumored to be working on an integrated SIM feature for future devices, but this claim has since been shot down.

The report also adds that a full iPhone revamp – iPhone 5 – is expected in spring 2012. This may mean that Apple has not just changed their iPhone release cycles to September; the September new iPhone thing could just be a 2011 thing. That’s great news for anyone holding out for an all-new design.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 30th, 2011, 11:33 pm

M_2NR wrote:guys using the gevey sim, how is the battery life?
I assume you are using the "pro" one.
Im reading the pro one has some battery drain issue?

I thought it was just my phone but now that you mention it... yeah :/ but until there's another solution I'll keep using it. It's annoying to see your battery drain so quickly but if you charge your phone every night you'll be fine.

Postby M_2NR » May 31st, 2011, 12:03 am

gah :(

and it seems the fake one and the non-pro one didnt have the issue either lol >_>

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 31st, 2011, 9:55 am

Breaking

Apple has announced this morning that CEO Steve Jobs and other executives will take the stage on June 6th to talk next-generation software. Specifically, Apple will introduce their cloud-services – with an official header name of iCloud – in addition to iOS 5 and Mac OS 10.7 Lion.

Apple Inc. wrote:CUPERTINO, California—May 31, 2011—Apple® CEO Steve Jobs and a team of Apple executives will kick off the company’s annual Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) with a keynote address on Monday, June 6 at 10:00 a.m. At the keynote, Apple will unveil its next generation software – Lion, the eighth major release of Mac OS® X; iOS 5, the next version of Apple’s advanced mobile operating system which powers the iPad®, iPhone® and iPod touch®; and iCloud®, Apple’s upcoming cloud services offering.

WWDC will feature more than 100 technical sessions presented by Apple engineers. Mac® developers will see and learn how to develop world-class Mac OS X Lion applications using its latest technologies and capabilities. Mobile developers will be able to explore the latest innovations and capabilities of iOS and learn how to greatly enhance the functionality, performance and design of their apps. All developers can bring their code to the labs and work with Apple engineers.

For more details, visit the Apple Worldwide Developers Conference 2011 website at developer.apple.com/wwdc.

Apple designs Macs, the best personal computers in the world, along with OS X, iLife, iWork and professional software. Apple leads the digital music revolution with its iPods and iTunes online store. Apple has reinvented the mobile phone with its revolutionary iPhone and App Store, and has recently introduced iPad 2 which is defining the future of mobile media and computing devices.

------

iOS 5 wish list:

1. Customizations:
Ability to customize the look and feel of the iOS device, such as change themes, change fonts etc. like jailbreak users can do with jailbreak apps like Winterboard.

2. Wireless Syncing:
This has been one of the features that we like in the Android based smartphones. Unlike the iPhones, Android based smartphones do not require the user to plug their handsets to a computer to perform syncing operations. We hope that Apple finally cuts the cord in iOS 5 and ushers in the Post-PC era.

3. Improved Push Notifications:
One of the areas that needs an overhaul desperately following the surge in the number of apps being downloaded and installed is the Push notification system. The prevailing notification system may be seen as modal and disruptive while the user is working at something important. Also, with only the most recent notification displayed at any moment, there are high chances of the user missing out on some important older notifications. We expect Apple to completely revamp the push notification system in iOS 5.

4. Enhanced Lock screen:
Users should be able to customize the lock screen so that they can see the number of new emails, SMS, upcoming appointments, weather etc. on the lock screen itself, without needing to unlock the screen.

5. Widgets:
Widgets have also been one of the most requested features in iOS, which could provide quick access to information such as weather without the need to launch apps.

6. Ability to Sync App data across iOS devices:
It is widely speculated that Apple is getting ready to launch its new cloud-based service, which will allow users to upload their music to Apple’s servers so that they can access them from various devices. We hope that Apple takes it a step further and also gives users the ability to sync application data across iOS devices using the new cloud-based service (required to cut the cord). For example: Photos taken on the iPhone are automatically synced to the another iOS device’s camera roll via the cloud.

7. Siri’s Artificial Intelligence and Assistance Technology:
We hope that rumors claiming that Siri’s artificial intelligence and assistance technology has been “deeply integrated” into iOS 5 turns out to be true. It would also mean that Nuance speech recognition technology is also integrated into iOS 5 as Siri relies on it.
We hope that after upgrading to iOS 5, we can tell our iPhone to give us directions to an empty parking spot in the vicinity, which can be achieved with a combination of iOS 5's speech recognition technology, Siri’s technology, turn-by-turn navigation apps like Navigon's MobileNavigator, TomTom and apps like SFpark that allow iPhone users in San Francisco to find an empty parking spot. Voice recognition technology deeply integrated in iOS 5 will also make it a lot safer to use the iPhone while driving for such use cases.

8. Improved Maps App:
Apple hasn’t updated the Maps app for quite sometime. We hope that Apple releases a revamped Maps app for iPhone with features such as 3D views, turn-by-turn voice guidance, automatic rerouting, traffic, satellite and street views etc. to compete with Google Maps Navigation that is available on Android-based smartphones.

9. Quick Access to Settings:
We need a faster way to enable or disable settings without the need to leave an application like SBSettings as using the Settings app is painfully slow.

10. Improved Performance:
It goes without saying that we expect everything to be a lot faster in iOS 5.

11. Call Management:
iPhone desperately needs call management features like a blacklist, call forwarding, etc.

12. Better Photos App:
Ability to create photo albums on the iOS device itself.

13. Better Bluetooth Support:
Ability to transfer files with other Bluetooth devices.

14. Adobe Flash Support:
We know this will not happen, but a wish list for the next generation iOS without this would be incomplete.

15. Editable Dictionary:
Predictive text while using iPhone's virtual keyboard is very helpful but we need the ability to add words to the iPhone dictionary so that we can teach the iPhone to swear and stop it from trying to auto correct them.

16. FM Radio:
Since the Broadcom chips in iPhone 4, iPhone 3G and iPhone 3GS support FM radio, it would be a nice surprise to see Apple enabling native support for FM Radio. Though there’re excellent radio apps available in the App Store, but native support would mean that we will be able to tune in to a local radio station without the need of a data connection, which would be a money saver while travelling abroad.

Anything you'd like to add?

------

Free apps are great, especially when they normally cost money. If they’re as useful and as popular as WhatsApp, well, that’s just a bonus isn’t it? Now the every-popular cross-platform messaging app WhatsApp Messenger for iPhone is free, you owe it to yourself to give it a whirl.

According to the app developer’s Twitter account, the current super-bargainous free pricing is only a limited promotion, so if you’re on the fence about WhatsApp, now’s the time to download it before the price goes back up.

Normally priced at $0.99, WhatsApp is best described as BlackBerry Messenger with the added bonus of being available for pretty much any smartphone operating system you can think of. Android, iOS, BlackBerry, and even Nokia are all supported, with messages and even video or voice able to be sent between platforms, and it’s all free.

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » May 31st, 2011, 12:50 pm

Anyone does get trouble with MSN messenger for iphone?
It used to work b4 but when i launch the application it just goes back to the home screen.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 31st, 2011, 1:30 pm

Breaking

Apple Inc. wrote:CUPERTINO, California—May 31, 2011—Apple® today announced that its groundbreaking iWork® productivity apps, Keynote®, Pages® and Numbers®, are now available for iPhone® and iPod touch®, as well as iPad®. Created for the Mac® and then completely redesigned for iOS and Apple’s revolutionary Multi-Touch™ interface, Keynote, Pages and Numbers allow you to create and share stunning presentations, beautifully formatted documents and powerful spreadsheets on the go. iWork apps are available on the App Store™ for $9.99 each to new users and as a free update for existing iWork for iPad customers.

“Now you can use Keynote, Pages and Numbers on iPhone and iPod touch to create amazing presentations, documents and spreadsheets right in the palm of your hand,” said Philip Schiller, Apple’s senior vice president of Worldwide Product Marketing. “The incredible Retina display, revolutionary Multi-Touch interface and our powerful software make it easy to create, edit, organize and share all of your documents from iPhone 4 or iPod touch.”

Keynote, Pages and Numbers import and export documents from iWork for Mac and Microsoft Office; print wirelessly using AirPrint™; and include beautiful Apple-designed themes and templates. All iWork apps now include improved document management with thumbnail images that let you find your files quickly, organize them and group them into folders using intuitive gestures. From the Tools button in the toolbar, you can easily share any presentation, document or spreadsheet without leaving the app.

Keynote makes it easy to create impressive presentations, complete with animated charts and transitions. You can play your presentation in Full Screen view on the stunning, high-resolution Retina™ display or connect to a projector or HDTV for a large audience. Available separately, the Keynote Remote app allows your iPhone or iPod touch to control a Keynote presentation on any iOS device or Mac.

Pages is the most beautiful word processor ever designed for a mobile device and has everything you need to create amazing documents. Pages takes full advantage of the high-resolution Retina display on iPhone 4 and iPod touch so you can see all the detail and richness of your documents. To make working with text easy on iPhone and iPod touch, Smart Zoom automatically zooms in to follow the cursor while you’re editing and zooms back out when you’re done.

Numbers uses Multi-Touch gestures and an intelligent keyboard to help you create compelling, great-looking spreadsheets with over 250 easy-to-use functions, flexible tables and eye-catching charts. Just like Pages, Numbers takes advantage of the high-resolution Retina display and Smart Zoom to make working with text and cells on iPhone 4 or iPod touch easy.

Pricing & Availability
Keynote, Pages and Numbers are universal apps that run on iPad and iPad 2, iPhone 3GS and iPhone 4, and iPod touch (3rd & 4th generation). Keynote, Pages and Numbers are available from the App Store for $9.99 (US) each for new users, or as a free update for existing iWork for iPad customers. Keynote Remote is sold separately via the App Store for 99 cents (US).

Apple designs Macs, the best personal computers in the world, along with OS X, iLife, iWork and professional software. Apple leads the digital music revolution with its iPods and iTunes online store. Apple has reinvented the mobile phone with its revolutionary iPhone and App Store, and has recently introduced iPad 2 which is defining the future of mobile media and computing devices.

------

A new story offers a look at how employees of the U.S. government are making major tech changes, trading BlackBerries for iPhones, and laptops for Apple's iPad.

The new devices are "invading" the federal government, according to a feature in The Washington Post. The story kicks off by painting the picture of a special agent with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives tracking a "bad guy" with video surveillance via an iPad.

"This is not a movie. This is not a Steve Jobs dream," author Michael S. Rosenwald wrote. "This is the federal government 2.0, where technology upgrades no longer come at a 'Little House on the Prairie' pace. Even President Obama, a BlackBerry devotee, has upgraded. He now owns an iPad, and it has been seen on his desk and under his arm."

Shifting to consumer-oriented technology like Apple's products allows the government to have happier, more productive employees. And Apple isn't the only beneficiary of the changes: Some free services, like Google's Gmail, are being adopted to cut costs, as well as offer more flexibility.

ATF is said to have about 50 iPads or iPhones in use -- a number expected to increase to 100 "soon." And the U.S. State Department is testing the iPad, while Congress allows the use of iPads and iPhones on the house floor.

The Post also noted that the Department of Veteran Affairs will soon allow clinicians to choose an iPad or iPhone for work instead of a BlackBerry. The report characterized the adoption of Apple devices, as well as those running the Google Android operating system, as "trouble" for Research in Motion and its BlackBerry platform.

BlackBerry devices have long been a mainstay of the U.S. government, largely because of the service's secure e-mail platform. But RIM fell behind in third-party software support, as the number of applications on Apple's App Store and Google's Android Market have continued to swell. The report also noted that RIM was "late to the booming tablet market" with the debut of its PlayBook in April to lukewarm reviews.

The story from Washington is yet another bit of bad news for RIM, as another high-profile national story this week from Reuters noted that some investors have called for a change in leadership at the Canadian smartphone maker. RIM has lost market share and fallen behind both Apple and Google, resulting in a sinking stock and pressure on co-CEOs Mike Lazaridis and Jim Balsillie.

As RIM struggles in government, Apple has found success across its product lineup, extending beyond both the iPhone and iPad. Earlier this month, it was revealed that Apple's sales of Mac computers to governments increased 155.6 percent in the March 2011 quarter. That well exceeded the PC market's 2.3 percent overall growth.

------

Global supplies of Apple’s MacBook Air laptops are dwindling as the consumer electronics giant prepares to refresh the line, 9to5 Mac reports. The Apple enthusiast blog cites multiple sources in stating that shipments of the Air are currently constrained, and the site also points out that remaining MacBook Air inventory is now on sale at several retailers. Apple’s online store is currently offering refurbished models at an all-time low price of $829, and Best buy has brand new models on sale starting at $938.99 for the 11-inch version. Earlier rumors suggest Apple plans to issue an incremental update to its MacBook Air line later this summer, likely featuring Intel’s new Sandy Bridge processors and Thunderbolt I/O ports.

------

suzieboy wrote:Anyone does get trouble with MSN messenger for iphone?
It used to work b4 but when i launch the application it just goes back to the home screen.

Working fine for me...

Postby M_2NR » May 31st, 2011, 2:13 pm

i use meebo (Duane approved)
imho works much better than live messenger

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 31st, 2011, 4:14 pm

M_2NR wrote:

I use ebuddy for google chat and MSN

its meh.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 31st, 2011, 6:23 pm

Apple has released Security Update 2011-003, which adds malware detection and removal for the "MAC Defender" scam and delivers a daily update mechanism for updating subsequent malware definitions.

The security update for Mac OS X 10.6.7 is available from Software Update or the company's Downloads page. Installing the update does not require a system reboot.

The update adds malware discovery and removal for MAC Defender and all of its known variants, using the simple malware file quarantine feature that was first added to Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard.

The Mac OS X file quarantine feature examines external files downloaded within Mail, iChat, Safari or other file quarantine-aware applications, warning users of downloads that match the definition of malware.

In addition to adding a definition for the latest "MAC Defender" trojan horse to warn users that the download should be deleted, the new security update adds a daily malware definitions check to make subsequent malware attempts even easier for Apple to protect it users from.

Users can opt out of the daily malware definitions update check by unchecking the new "Automatically update safe downloads list" checkbox in Security Preferences.

Postby M_2NR » May 31st, 2011, 8:53 pm

rodfarva wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

I use ebuddy for google chat and MSN

its meh.

make teh switch :lol:
but dont forget your meebo login when yuh make it... I still waiting on a password reset for one account :(

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 31st, 2011, 9:39 pm

IM+ works fine most of the time for me on data

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 1st, 2011, 11:14 am

Flare is an iPhone app that lets users easily shoot HDR video from their device’s camera and share the full-quality result on multiple social networks.

HDR stands for "High Dynamic Range", which involves combining three pictures with different exposure settings of the same scene, in order to produce incredibly good-looking and crisp images, emphasizing lights and shadows. The technology, which makes a particular difference when capturing outdoor scenes, was previously more common in still pictures, but can now be done in video as well.

HDR support has been built into the iOS camera app since iOS 4.1 was first introduced, but there was never a good way to shoot HDR video from the device, until now.

Flare applies HDR effects in real-time as the video is recorded, meaning you’ll have a clear look at the final product before you send it out. Other processing features are available, as described on the Flare’s App Store page, as well as several iOS specific features, such as pinch to zoom:

FEATURES:
✭ tone-mapping effects live as you film
✭ focus independently of exposure* – just tap then drag
✭ pinch to ZOOM
✭ easily lock white balance, exposure, and focus with a tap

Flare also allows users to easily share their masterpieces, in full quality, directly on social networks, such as Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Tumblr, Flickr and more. There’s also AirPlay support, allowing users to play their videos on devices that support the technology, such as AppleTVs, other iPhones and iPads.

This app is available on the iTunes App Store for 99 cents for a limited time, before going back to the usual $2. Flare was developed by greenlike, that has authored several other Apps such as Sol, a flashy and elegant version of Solitaire; Moustacher, a photo editor that uses face detection algorithms to automatically place a mustache over anyone’s face; and Private Browse, one of the many history-less web browsers available on the App Store. I must say that out of all the apps made by this developer, Flare is by far the best and most useful.

Next time you shoot a family movie, or a particularly beautiful view, consider using Flare. The final result will look a lot more crisper and lively.

------

This is a cool one, at least for iPhone app designers. Prototypes is a Mac app that lets you take those handcrafted mockups of iPhone screens and turn them into a clickable demo you can share with any iPhone or iPod touch user.

Prototypes takes just about any image format, including straight Photoshop PSD files. Once you drag them into your project, adding hotspots is as easy as clicking and dragging. Create a hotspot and then drag the link to whatever page should be loaded when it's tapped. You can assign a "back" action as well. All links can have a transition (in any direction) assigned to them. You can even add notes that display when a page is loaded and then disappear.

Aside from its ease-of-use, the real beauty of Prototypes is the free web service that comes with it. When you share a mockup from within the app, you get a ptyp.es url and a PIN. Have your client, your teammates, your boss or whomever log in to ptyp.es. They'll be asked to install the web app on their home page, after which they can enter your PIN and click through your mockup.

Prototypes currently only works on iPhones and iPod touches, but the developer expects to roll out iPad support in the next couple of months. At US$39.99, it's not a cheap investment, but if you deal with iPhone mockups regularly, this could be a lifesaver. The fact that you get the web service without a subscription makes the up-front price seem quite reasonable, at least to me. You can try out a pre-built prototype at the Prototypes website, and purchase it directly on the Mac App Store.

------

After Apple tipped its hand on Tuesday and revealed it will unveil its new iCloud service next week, Wall Street analysts believe the company has set the stage for a strong software-focused Worldwide Developers Conference keynote.

RBC: iCloud and iOS 5 will expand iPhone, iPad markets

Mike Abramsky with RBC Capital Markets sees Apple's upcoming iCloud service as more than just a digital "locker" service that will store users' file. To that effect, he sees iCloud allowing Apple to target iPhones at 5.1 billion handset users worldwide, compared to 1.3 billion PC users.

iCloud could be an important step for Apple, making it so users are not required to have a Mac or PC to sync their device, or store music and movies. He imagines a new version of iOS where users no longer need to tether to a machine to upgrade their software, making the addressable market much larger.

Abramsky also said that iCloud could allow Apple to exploit what he sees are three competitive advantages: licensing and digital rights management, consumer friendliness, and a massive existing install base of more than 200 million iOS devices, plus iTunes users.

"Apple's licensing relationships and 'controlled' platform may appeal to studios/publishers seeking to minimize piracy, while protecting their economics in a hosted model," Abramsky wrote in a note to investors on Wednesday. "iCloud may also be differentiated via Apple's trademark user experience for convenience, simplicity, and discoverability. iCloud APIs may in time extend to developers."

As for the iOS 5 update, Abramsky said he believes Apple may offer hosted online services like content streaming, voice recognition and translation, photo sharing, community and multiplayer capabilities. This could lead to new iOS devices built around iCloud services.

But a key for Apple will be how strong the debut is for iCloud. Abramsky recalled that the 2008 debut of Apple's current cloud-based service, MobileMe, didn't go so well, with performance and reliability issues.

Jobs was said to be furious following the launch of MobileMe. The Chief Executive reportedly assembled the team that created the service and scolded them in a meeting at the auditorium on Apple's corporate campus, saying that they had "tarnished Apple's reputation."

Because of that learning experience, Abramsky expects that Apple will have a more measured, possibly staggered rollout of the new iCloud service. "Apple may initially limit iCloud's scope," he said, "before expanding to a broader audience."

Sterne Agee: iCloud could be a game-changer

Shaw Wu with Sterne Agee said Apple's unusual announcement on Tuesday, in which it revealed the talking points for Steve Jobs' WWDC keynote, signals that most of the focus will probably be on the new iCloud service, which he believes "could be a very big deal." He sees iCloud making iTunes even more powerful, allowing users to access their content from any device, anywhere.

"We notice that every time a new feature is added to iTunes (like TV and movie rentals), its utility value increases, which in turn drives more hardware sales, i.e., iPhone, iPad and Macs," Wu said in a note to investors.

With the focus on iCloud and software, Wu doesn't expect much of a focus on hardware. It's possible, he said, Apple could announce new Macs with Intel's latest Sandy Bridge processors, but he expects an iPhone announcement to come later than usual this year.

Citing checks with supply chain sources, Wu corroborated with other reports that have indicated the fifth-generation iPhone will be a relatively minor update from the iPHone 4. He has been told that Apple will have a "more radical iPhone refresh" in 2012, when the company is expected to introduce a model with support for high-speed 4G long-term evolution data.

JMP Securities: Revolution lies in the software

Analyst Alex Gauna said in a note to investors on Wednesday that he has fairly low expectations for new hardware at WWDC. Instead, he's more interested in what Apple has to say about software and its new iCloud service.

He said software advancements with Mac OS X 10.7 Lion, iOS 5 and iCloud could be "much more revolutionary" than a fifth-generation iPhone. Numerous reports have suggested that Apple will not unveil a new iPhone or any hardware at this year's conference.

"We will be looking to measure whether the advances are enhancements to consumer-centric offerings such as iTunes and MobileMe, or virtualization breakthroughs that pave the way for more significant enterprise, social networking, and/or multimedia inroads," Gauna wrote.

He believes Apple is in a "unique position to shock and awe with enhancements, extensions and harmonization" of Lion, iOS 5 and iCloud. Because of that, he hopes Apple's announcements are "substantial," and make the company "capable of distancing itself from Android's gathering momentum."

------

Apple already begins adorning Moscone with WWDC signage

:evil: mad that I wouldn't be able to watch live!

------

Granted, we don’t know yet whether the rumored Find My Mac feature will make it into Mac OS X Lion, but clues have been discovered all over the place in beta builds of the operating system. According to a MacRumors forum member “ArmanUV”, Find My Mac could be dependent on your hard drive partition layout. This is the warning message the poster got when attempting to install Lion on a HFS+ journaled formatted partition.

Other posters have noted that said Find My Mac dependency on your boot drive partition layout might indicate the existence of a hidden partition. Its purpose would be to enable the ability to locate your computer and remotely wipe out its hard drive even if the person using it is not logged in. This is a long shot, but it does make sense, here’s why…

Our Mark Gurman discovered in April references to something called Find My Mac Messenger in a Lion build, quite possibly a resident process handling communication with the Apple cloud to enable remote features such as wiping your Mac, locking the computer and displaying a warning message. It could also be a way for the Mac’s finder to instant message with the Mac’s owner. Thus, upon receiving a wiping alert from the Apple cloud, the Find My Mac Messenger process would reboot into that hidden partition to wipe the entire disk. It could also lock the computer’s firmware so it only reboots into the hidden partition until the drive is wiped. Of course, it’s all speculative reasoning and your guess is as good as ours so feel free to share your two cents down in the comments. We will know for sure next week when Steve Jobs takes us through the latest on iOS 5, Lion and iCloud in a keynote next Monday. The Find My iPhone service has gone free last November so it looks like Find My Mac is one of the standard new features in Mac OS X Lion.

------

Apple’s North Carolina datacenter has been kept shroud in secrecy since the work began on the 500,000-square foot site. Apple being Apple, they even prevented aerial imagery of the $1 billion facility to appear in mapping services such as Google Earth, explains Fortune’s Philip Elmer-DeWitt:

If you asked Google Earth or Google Maps to show you the intersection of U.S. Route 321 and Startown Road — where the data center is located — the current satellite imagery stopped a few yards short of the construction site. West of Startown Road, there was, as recently as two weeks ago, nothing but woods and farmland and a bit of driveway that ended abruptly in the middle of a field.

Apple has conveniently pinged Google just days before the iCloud announcement, likely asking them to lift the embargo on the North Carolina satellite imagery in their mapping services. The site is still absent from Street View, though. Go past the break to examine aerial shots of the data center yourself.

You can check out Apple’s datacenter in Google Maps using latitude and longitude information 35.588364, -81.26235. Alternatively, just head over here. Apple confirmed the iCloud service will be part of Steve Jobs’ WWDC keynote this coming Monday. We imagine he’ll put up a few slides showing off splashy press shots of the facility, provided this particular datacenter’s purpose is to host the iCloud service and Apple’s rumored digital media locker.

------

& one little link with a nice story
http://thisguyhasmymacbook.tumblr.com/

shesh

Postby shesh » June 2nd, 2011, 12:19 am

hey guys, working on getting an Apple Dealership here in Trinidad.... yes, in trini!!! wish me luck!

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 6:18 am

hmmmmm

Sully

Postby Sully » June 2nd, 2011, 6:38 am

What's the deal with Right Enterprises? Are they authorized dealers?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 2nd, 2011, 9:46 am

ShanaEnterprises, gd luck bro...i still have to come and get meh sim cut by yuh..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 2nd, 2011, 10:33 am

ShanaEnterprises wrote:hey guys, working on getting an Apple Dealership here in Trinidad.... yes, in trini!!! wish me luck!

good luck, you'll need it and AALOT of capital.. i've been down that road...

if you are selling apple stuff at the moment without warranty or apples fixed prices, you are black listed before you even started.. (you'll also nto be able to sell iphones and will have to fix your prices according to apples contract, so after all our import duties etc, your markup would be very very very small - as you making most of your money on ipods etc and not mac sales.)

i would try to become a service provider (easier - just needs certification - but even certification is expensive) also Apple just pulled all local listing of service providers (illuminat and F1 Connect) from their site about a year ago... dont know if they took away their license..

good luck

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 2nd, 2011, 10:39 am

Bezman wrote:Apple just pulled all local listing of service providers (illuminat and F1 Connect) from their site about a year ago...

Was now going to point that out.

shesh

Postby shesh » June 2nd, 2011, 11:41 am

thanks bezman....

Yea i know, im trying to work things out with them....

hopefully it wud be more or less imacs, laptops, repairs and strictly factory unlocked iphones....
alot of training is required, i will keep u all informed.

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 11:58 am

I wanna see how you getting iPhones especially to even land here legally.
Keep us informed. No we dont want to thief your business, its good to know. We support you fully on your move but as bez says... it seems rough.

Just today I was reading how Apple is cracking down on giveaways... yes... they have rules for that too.. :shock:

shesh

Postby shesh » June 2nd, 2011, 12:15 pm

the details are still sketchy... im hoping for a dealership but they more or less focusing on authorized repairs for a specific region... the factory unlocked shouldn't be a prob legally.... there are lots of ways to work around... thanks for the support.... u think ppl wud change over to mac in trinidad? i was hoping the government wud incorporate some mac within a 5 yr period.

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 1:00 pm

If they do that, that would be awesome.
I just read some deal breaking news a bit for u though...

http://www.guardian.co.tt/node/15255

A TSTT source said the company would launch the iPhone4 in the next few weeks and described the launch as “a very exciting opportunity to bring one of the most innovative products in the world to Trinidad and Tobago.” The official said that TSTT has been prevented by Apple from providing much pre-launch publicity on the product. Asked whether TSTT would have exclusive rights to sell and service the smart phone in the local market, the telecommunications official said: “It is not exclusive, but when we launch we will be the only authorised Apple distributor of phones.” Verizon, the US mobile provider, released the iPhone4 in February. On March 2, 2011, at the iPad 2 event, Apple announced that they have sold 100 million iPhones worldwide and that by leveraging solid volumes and the iPhone’s high selling price, Apple became the largest mobile handset vendor in the world, surpassing long-time leader Nokia.
Cable&Wireless Communications may be hoping that the launch of the iPhone4 provides a boost to TSTT’s sagging results.

i kid you not.... its apparently legit...

some more info:
http://techtt.hassantt.com/2011/06/iphone-coming-to-trinidad.html

CWC Press Release

TSTT to offer IPhone4

Postby Habit7 » June 2nd, 2011, 2:04 pm

Cable&Wireless Communications, the minority shareholder in telecommunications provider TSTT, last week reported that its share of the after-tax profits of the local company had declined by more than half from US$19 million (TT$121.6 million) in 2010 to US$7 million (TT$44.8 million) in 2011. Cable&Wireless Communications, which owns 49 per cent of TSTT, is the London-based group that owns telecommunications companies throughout the region. Cable&Wireless Communication’s share of the revenue also experienced a marginal decline. For the year ended March 2010, the group’s share of TSTT’s revenue amounted to US$238 million (TT$1.52 billion) while its share of the local company’s revenue declined to US$232 million (TT$1.48 billion) by the end of March 2011. In its annual report for the year ended March 31, 2011, issued on May 25, Cable&Wireless Communications also announced that it will roll out the iPhone4, the highly successful Apple phone, in its Caribbean markets, including its joint venture in Trinidad and Tobago.

A TSTT source said the company would launch the iPhone4 in the next few weeks and described the launch as “a very exciting opportunity to bring one of the most innovative products in the world to Trinidad and Tobago.” The official said that TSTT has been prevented by Apple from providing much pre-launch publicity on the product. Asked whether TSTT would have exclusive rights to sell and service the smart phone in the local market, the telecommunications official said: “It is not exclusive, but when we launch we will be the only authorised Apple distributor of phones.” Verizon, the US mobile provider, released the iPhone4 in February. On March 2, 2011, at the iPad 2 event, Apple announced that they have sold 100 million iPhones worldwide and that by leveraging solid volumes and the iPhone’s high selling price, Apple became the largest mobile handset vendor in the world, surpassing long-time leader Nokia.
Cable&Wireless Communications may be hoping that the launch of the iPhone4 provides a boost to TSTT’s sagging results.

Of TSTT’s three main lines of business, it experienced declines in the number of its mobile and fixed-line subscribers but double-digit growth in the number of its broadband subscribers. The company had 288,000 fixed-line subscribers in 2010 but this declined to 277,000 subscribers in 2011. TSTT, however, saw a 13 per cent growth in the number of its broadband subscribers with those jumping from 82,000 in March 2010 to 93,000 in March 2011. At the end of March 2010, TSTT had 883,000 mobile subscribers but this had declined to 877,000 by the end of March this year. The company’s disclosure that it had 877,000 subscribers at the end of March raises questions about whether TSTT can still boast of being the nation’s number one mobile provider. The quarterly market report published by the Telecommunications Authority of T&T states that T&T had 1,839,695 mobile voice subscribers as at March 2010. This suggests that TSTT had 48 per cent of the local market and its bitter rival, Irish-owned Digicel, had 52 per cent of the local mobile market 14 months ago. At the end of 2010, the total number of mobile subscribers in T&T inched ahead by 2.6 per cent to close the year at 1,894,240 subscribers.
While TSTT has concentrated its marketing might on attempting to blunt the Digicel onslaught, it also faces a threat from Flow Trinidad’s introduction of its triple-play package offering television, Internet and telephone services to T&T.

Explaining the TSTT results, Cable&Wireless Communication wrote in its annual report: “TSTT faced difficult economic conditions resulting in fixed line and mobile usage declines, whilst settlement of union litigation and increased handset subsidies to maintain market leadership further impacted results. “We also saw increased levels of depreciation following capital investment in the network during the year.”
Asked to comment on the TSTT results, the company’s chief financial officer Rakesh Goswami noted that 51 per cent of TSTT is owned by National Enterprises Ltd (NEL), which is a company that is listed on the local stock market. Goswani said: “We cannot and should not comment on any TSTT results until they are declared by NEL. “We are not allowed to talk about TSTT’s numbers that have not been declared by our parent company.” NEL, which comprises shareholding of the State in TSTT as well as Tringen, Phoenix Park Gas Processors, Atlantic LNG and the National Flour Mills, is expected to release its March 2011 results this month.

Trinidad Guardian 2/6/11 http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... too-high-0

Re: TSTT to offer IPhone4

Postby Stephon. » June 2nd, 2011, 2:14 pm

Watch when it come it gonna sell for double the price as an iPhone 3Gs

Postby tr1ad » June 2nd, 2011, 2:16 pm

ah seh it starting at 5500

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2011, 2:21 pm

i think 3gs selling for US$49 now in US

Postby Stephon. » June 2nd, 2011, 2:23 pm

With a plan.

Postby Habit7 » June 2nd, 2011, 2:28 pm

come on guys, go easy, its our friends TSTT. I say $4500 with a plan, just like the affordable BB Torch