*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2010, 2:37 pm

this is how I have my setup right now

I can watch bluray discs directly from the PS3 or I can access digital copies of movies. home video, music or photos from the network - all on the TV
home-theater-setup.jpg

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 10th, 2010, 3:22 pm

^how bouts some real pics that i've been bothering you since forever about ? :|

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 10th, 2010, 3:38 pm

^ i 2nd...

i'm interested in that ps3 media server, i just looked it up.

i've got a pc on the wall behind the tv, i was just gonna run a DVI cable and stream/play movies from that pc

but i think running a small gigabit network and the media server would be better

can the media server software run in the background? and i can use the pc as normal?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2010, 4:32 pm

^ yes that is why I dont have a HTPC in my setup

the PC running PS3 media server is my work machine, I still do work in Photoshop and Illustrator etc while someone is watching a full 1080p movie being transcoded by PS3 media server on the same PC.

once the PC and the PS3 are on the same network, detection and setup is automatic.
It's perfect as it can let the PS3 play almost any media format on the TV

Postby sharkman121 » July 10th, 2010, 4:49 pm

I enabled media sharing on my laptop,

went on the ps3 and enabled media sharing in network settings.

Then went to search for media servers on the ps3 and its still unable to recognize my laptop.

Anybody had this problem where the ps3 is unable to pick up the signal from ur laptop?

triniangie

Postby triniangie » July 10th, 2010, 5:39 pm

ru$$ell wrote:^how bouts some real pics that i've been bothering you since forever about ? :|

i wanna see real pic 2 :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2010, 5:40 pm

buh what allyuh want to see so? a TV and a shelf?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 10th, 2010, 5:41 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yes that is why I dont have a HTPC in my setup

the PC running PS3 media server is my work machine, I still do work in Photoshop and Illustrator etc while someone is watching a full 1080p movie being transcoded by PS3 media server on the same PC.

once the PC and the PS3 are on the same network, detection and setup is automatic.
It's perfect as it can let the PS3 play almost any media format on the TV

sweet.. gonna drill a hole in the wall and run that network cable
and set up that pc

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 10th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:buh what allyuh want to see so? a TV and a shelf?

i saw a pic already,yes A,as in one,singular,uno

it was epic 8-)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2010, 9:40 pm

^ I'll take some pics even though i'm not finished buildnig the system yet

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 10th, 2010, 10:00 pm

^that cabinet was teh win though 8-)

pandu

Postby pandu » July 11th, 2010, 9:28 pm

From skimming thru this thread, i gather that samsung tvs are pretty good. Are they better than the Sony Bravia?

And where is the best place to buy wither one locally?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2010, 12:11 am

^ depends on the model

IMO flagship Samsungs are better than flagship Sonys

Postby M_2NR » July 12th, 2010, 1:07 am

Came across this deal...

55" Samsung UN55C8000 3D 1080p LED 240Hz HDTV + 3D Blu-ray Player + 3D Starter Kit $2449

http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/36628/?utm_campaign=twitter&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitter

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2010, 1:26 am

^ thats a pretty decent deal!
nice TV too!

though I'd just buy the TV and stick with a PS3 as the 3D player

Postby crazybalhead » July 12th, 2010, 6:31 am

mitch wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:there are subwoofer leads that come with a Y attachment for subs that have stereo inputs.

If you have a sub with stereo RCA and LFE then use the LFE as it will bypass the crossover in the sub

makes no sense having the crossover in the receiver send a signal to another crossover.

got it. need a digital coaxial cable to connect the sub to the receiver then...

Sometimes you need to use both crossovers to balance the system. You do not need a digital co ax cable to connect the sub to a receiver, just a regular co ax. And if you read the sub amp manual, most will say to connect the LFE input to the right RCA jack only.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 12th, 2010, 10:45 am

crazybalhead wrote:
mitch wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:there are subwoofer leads that come with a Y attachment for subs that have stereo inputs.

If you have a sub with stereo RCA and LFE then use the LFE as it will bypass the crossover in the sub

makes no sense having the crossover in the receiver send a signal to another crossover.

got it. need a digital coaxial cable to connect the sub to the receiver then...

Sometimes you need to use both crossovers to balance the system. You do not need a digital co ax cable to connect the sub to a receiver, just a regular co ax. And if you read the sub amp manual, most will say to connect the LFE input to the right RCA jack only.

Postby crazybalhead » July 12th, 2010, 10:46 am

See? Then you just need a regular RCA from the sub out to the left input, easy peasy.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 12th, 2010, 10:52 am

yep, already ordered the digital coax with the speaker wire and banana plugs off monoprice though

cost like $4 US

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2010, 1:17 pm

^ while digital cables are better quality, I think the signal to the sub may still be analog.
Depends on your sub and receiver.
The Digital cable will work better either way.

From that diagram you only need regular RCA

If your receiver has MCAAC then it will set up the sub levels and crossover levels for you based on the room you are in. it should also set up effects for standing waves and time delays and volume for your speakers too which is 90% of the work in setting up your system.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 12th, 2010, 1:38 pm

what are thoughts on a good 720P projector? Was considering the OPTOMA brand.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2010, 1:59 pm

^ I don't know much about projectors other than the ones that rival Plasma or LED panels are very very expensive and that projectors require controlled lighting.

you can read
http://hometheater.about.com/od/hometheaterbasicsfaq/f/htbasicfaq5.htm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 12th, 2010, 2:06 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:If your receiver has MCAAC then it will set up the sub levels and crossover levels for you based on the room you are in. it should also set up effects for standing waves and time delays and volume for your speakers too which is 90% of the work in setting up your system.

yeah it does

Total Control with Custom Pioneer Technologies: Acoustic Calibration, Advanced Sound Retriever, and Auto Level Control

Pioneer's exclusive Multi-Channel Acoustic Calibration system (MCACC) provides a near studio-quality, multi-channel listening experience customized specifically to your listening environment. An included microphone measures every speaker's connection, and notes its size, distance from the listening point, sound levels and timbre to calibrate and maximize performance. The VSX-1020-K has an advanced version of MCACC that will calibrate with a 9-band equalizer, auto-crossover settings, and can even send charts of its measurements to your PC via USB.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 12th, 2010, 2:27 pm

nareshseep wrote:what are thoughts on a good 720P projector? Was considering the OPTOMA brand.

have one of these for now,waiting till 1080p 3d ones becomes more affordable. works perfect imo,just a bit noisy

http://www.projectorreviews.com/optoma/hd65/index.php

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 12th, 2010, 2:35 pm

nareshseep wrote:what are thoughts on a good 720P projector? Was considering the OPTOMA brand.

can get you a Optoma HD66 720P 3D-Ready DLP Home Theater Projector

for about $6000

* DLP Technology by Texas Instruments with BrilliantColor Technology
* 2500 Lumens produce a bright, crisp image
* Produces mind-boggling 3D images for high intensity gaming!
* Complete on-screen menu adjustments in 23 languages
* Native 720P widesreen resolution

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 12th, 2010, 3:29 pm

^good price,paid over twice that for the HD65 a year ago.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » July 12th, 2010, 8:25 pm

paid about 11k for the HD65 in late 2008.
that price for the HD66 is really good.
once you have a good screen and controlled lighting you good to go.
it is NOT a replacement for a good HDTV though.
these things also generate a considerable amount of heat so use in A/C if possible.

nick009

Postby nick009 » July 12th, 2010, 9:17 pm

duane , do you get gigabit connection out from the ps3 or is it 100?

Postby M_2NR » July 12th, 2010, 10:25 pm

loving the discussions in here. If i have issues for sure i coming here.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ thats a pretty decent deal!
nice TV too!

though I'd just buy the TV and stick with a PS3 as the 3D player

I'll buy all, just for the savings and then sell whatever i dont want n buy the PS3 :lol:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 13th, 2010, 7:26 am

ado15mk3 wrote:paid about 11k for the HD65 in late 2008.
that price for the HD66 is really good.
once you have a good screen and controlled lighting you good to go.
it is NOT a replacement for a good HDTV though.
these things also generate a considerable amount of heat so use in A/C if possible.

Apart from bulb life and heat, why is it not a good replacement?.
Planning to use it for movies and some sports program eg top gear in 720P

Will that optoma hd66 be better than a normal 42/47 lcd.