hunting ban

Re: hunting ban

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2014, 8:21 am

^i read an article in the papers about 1week ago with a clear description of "pests" and that manicou was considered a pest so it can be hunted/caught

http://www.newsday.co.tt/features/0,190645.html

Postby Ted_v2 » February 28th, 2014, 8:34 am

can i still apply for a pellet gun even tho this ban is still going on? Or would it be turned down for sure?
its for pest.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » February 28th, 2014, 8:58 am

sound boy 64 wrote:can i still apply for a pellet gun even tho this ban is still going on? Or would it be turned down for sure?
its for pest.

you can try, it doesn't really cost much.

or you can buy a rifle through a gun shop either S&G or barry and they will get the permit for you.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » February 28th, 2014, 9:08 am

X_Factor wrote:ent you can hunt manicou on private lands without a prob?

I heard from a couple of police officers that the animals classified as pests, bats,mice, rats,squirrels, yellow-tails, manicou (opossum) and green parrot are still ok to eradicate on your private property. But I not willing to take a police word on it (they generally don't know anything).

Postby pioneer » February 28th, 2014, 9:14 am

"hunting ban"...when the people enforcing the ban are poverty paid, primary school leaving certificate public servants...they expect the ban to be effective?

These fellas fullin their pocket

Hunt like normel

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 28th, 2014, 11:53 am

People are hunting albeit on a "down low". Forest rangers are collecting bribes and wild meat normal normal as well. There are no "pests" or classification of same since the minister made the amendment and removed the schedules. To hunt manicou or kill any other pest on your lands a permit from forestry needs to be acquired regardless of what the dimwit minister said in December. But hey...this is Trinidad...if they catch you with the manicou, which in itself is like winning the lotto, you can just give it to them and worries done.

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2014, 1:09 pm

On a side note, if held incorrectly, the tail can give a very nasty cut.

According to the Conservation of Wild Life Act, Chapter 67:01, Second Schedule, Part I:

Protected animals include, alligator or cayman, lizards, agouti, armadillo (tattoo), deer (in Trinidad only), lappe, quenk (peccary or wild hog).

Cage birds which may be captured or kept captive by cage includes: chicki-chong or bullfinch, finch, yellow-bellied, parakeet, picoplat, semp, ring neck and chat or nun.

Animals declared as vermin are, bats, mapipire balsin or fer de lance, mapipire zanana or bushmaster, mice, mongoose, rats, snakes, squirrels, yellow-tails, manicou (opossum) and green parrot.

At the opening of the WASA Trincity Regional Centre last December, Minister Singh noted that manicou can be hunted because it is considered a pest, but only on private lands.

However, until the ban on hunting is lifted, find some other meat to eat.

the full article,

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 28th, 2014, 2:11 pm

X_Factor wrote:On a side note, if held incorrectly, the tail can give a very nasty cut.

According to the Conservation of Wild Life Act, Chapter 67:01, Second Schedule, Part I:

Protected animals include, alligator or cayman, lizards, agouti, armadillo (tattoo), deer (in Trinidad only), lappe, quenk (peccary or wild hog).

Cage birds which may be captured or kept captive by cage includes: chicki-chong or bullfinch, finch, yellow-bellied, parakeet, picoplat, semp, ring neck and chat or nun.

Animals declared as vermin are, bats, mapipire balsin or fer de lance, mapipire zanana or bushmaster, mice, mongoose, rats, snakes, squirrels, yellow-tails, manicou (opossum) and green parrot.

At the opening of the WASA Trincity Regional Centre last December, Minister Singh noted that manicou can be hunted because it is considered a pest, but only on private lands.

However, until the ban on hunting is lifted, find some other meat to eat.

the full article,

He removed the schedule concerning pests/vermin from the wildlife act making it illegal to hunt/kill same. This includes corn birds, mongoose etc etc. For him to say this, and I saw the article, it is incorrect. A permit is required to remove pests/vermin from private lands and none is granted for state lands. This can be clarified by forestry people and not the police since quite a number of them are uncertain.

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2014, 3:46 pm

GRIM wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:can i still apply for a pellet gun even tho this ban is still going on? Or would it be turned down for sure?
its for pest.

you can try, it doesn't really cost much.

or you can buy a rifle through a gun shop either S&G or barry and they will get the permit for you.

S and g say permits taking 4 mths to get now

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2014, 4:18 pm

say what, had soo much wild meat in the past, it doesnt bother me now.....

i'll just wait till its over

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2014, 3:35 pm

Need contact number for game warden in south. Asap

Trying to save a pregnant ignana from a cook later.

Postby Gem_in_i » March 1st, 2014, 4:29 pm

Sabot is correct. There are no vermin/pest now. Everything is protected now, whether on state or private lands.

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2014, 11:33 pm

Men hunting normel normel again.

About 10 - 12 lights in the bush here. Made vids, will post it tomorrow.

Lights flashing like f**king Christmas in there

Postby Ted_v2 » March 2nd, 2014, 12:36 am

Wwgd?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 2nd, 2014, 1:53 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Need contact number for game warden in south. Asap

Trying to save a pregnant ignana from a cook later.

Get the following info...names and addresses of perpetrators, iguana maiden name, vehicle number, type of weapon used and your id number. Call 800-halt and show them the scenes. Last time I called they answered on the fifth phone call and asked me some rediculous questions. Needless to say no one came even though they said they leaving now.....prob was leaving to go home

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2014, 6:03 pm

^ or to d same lime to eat said iguana

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2014, 6:35 pm

Waste of forking time.

But thanks for the pm from the helpful tuner. God bless your soul

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » March 3rd, 2014, 9:34 pm

I hear cascadura and conks on the prohibited list as well..

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2014, 7:06 am

cascadura & conch are considered are marine life, & neither are mentioned in the conservation of wildlife act, nor the used toilet paper that fool decided to say was legislation. so they are not part or this temporary ban.

both sellin in the grocery nrmal nrmal

GRIM

Postby GRIM » March 4th, 2014, 7:44 am

It isn't banned per say more like "regulated".You are not allowed to catch cascadura or conch for 2/3 months before the rainy season but right now you as its the fist year of trying this you can't catch anything this dry season.
Areas such as caroni, plum mitan and san juan I know for sure you can't go and throw net.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » March 4th, 2014, 8:09 pm

for those interested here's a scan of the air rifle application form.

kstt

Postby kstt » March 4th, 2014, 8:16 pm

:?

Postby K74T » March 4th, 2014, 8:16 pm

Re....

kstt

Postby kstt » March 4th, 2014, 8:27 pm

K74T wrote:Re....

Sorry I must have missed it. Will you be so kind to direct me to where in this thread it was posted? 8-)

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 5th, 2014, 8:59 am

[stitch] wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:serving alligator normal normal in the fete yes

alligator.jpg

WTF is this

:?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » April 21st, 2014, 7:26 pm

Anyone hear that the hunters association win the court case??

Postby pioneer » April 21st, 2014, 7:36 pm

lol@ guy shot by trap gun

:pwned:

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » April 22nd, 2014, 10:55 am

Yea Grim, I heard that also but not sure if true tho. Forestry had no idea of this when last I heard.

[quote="GRIM"]Anyone hear that the hunters association win the court case??[/quote]

Postby 88sins » April 22nd, 2014, 12:07 pm

I heard something about this to that effect recently. Jus waiting for confirmation.

Postby Chimera » April 22nd, 2014, 12:10 pm

Cattle farmer killed by trap gun
By CECILY ASSON Tuesday, April 22 2014

click on pic to zoom in
Wife, son mourn: Asha Harrybhajan and her son Josiah Ramnarine mourns the death of her husband Ramraj Ramnarine at their home in Barrackpore yesterday...
A CATTLE farmer has been killed in the Barrackpore forest by a trap gun in circumstances which police are investigating to be an act of wanton violation of Government’s two-year ban on hunting.

Police have retrieved three trap guns from a forested area off Oropouche South Road, where cattle farmer Ramraj Ramnarine, 41, was shot dead at about 6 pm on Easter Sunday.

Ramnarine, who would have celebrated his 42nd birthday tomorrow, lived with his wife Asha Harrybhajan and five-year-old son, Josiah Ramnarine, at Manohar Trace, Rochard Road, Barrackpore.

Yesterday, Crime Scene Investigators (CSI) returned to the forest where Ramnarine was killed to assist police probing the death. In September last year, Minister of the Environment and Water Resources Ganga Singh announced a two-year ban on hunting to replenish the population of wild animals. Apart from the illegal act of hunting, it has always been an offence to set trap guns which is in violation of the Conservation of Wildlife Act as well as contrary to general criminal law.

A police report stated that it was at about 4 pm, on Sunday, when Ramnarine left his home to round-up cattle which he had been tending to in the forest. The cattle went astray deep into the forest and Ramnarine sought the assistance of his friend, Terry Singh, 32, to find them. At about 6 pm, tragedy struck when, according to Singh’s report to the police, he heard a loud explosion.

When Singh rushed towards Ramnarine, he found him lying on the ground bleeding from wounds to the back.

Singh walked out of the forest and went to the Barrackpore police station and reported the matter. Police officers visited the scene and found Ramnarine on the ground, with rope tied in a lasso across his shoulder. The lasso was to harness the cattle.

Ramnarine was pronounced dead by the District Medical Officer and the body was removed to the Forensic Science Centre, St James, for an autopsy today.

The police report stated that following the incident, officers searched the area for the weapon and seized remnants of a trap gun which they believed Ramnarine stepped on resulting in his death. They also stumbled upon other trap guns. A trap gun is a makeshift apparatus using a rat-trap as the trigger, a piece of steel pipe and nylon which is placed across the pathway of any moving object. A senior police officer expressed alarm that were it not for the officers alertness at the area where Ramnarine was shot, one of them could have been killed.

Yesterday, Ramnarine’s grieving wife, Harrybhajan, 31, said she was still in shock. Ramnarine was affectionately called ‘Billy’ and ‘Sham Boy’, she said.

Harrybhajan said: “I (am) accustomed to him going in the forest. This is what he does for a living and the cattle always running wild and he and Jerry would go to check on them and make sure everything was okay with them. It harder for me now, because Josiah asking for him.” She said that it was at about 10 pm on Sunday when two police officers, in the company of Singh, arrived at her home. “One of the police officers told me something very bad had happened,” Harrybhajan said. “They tell me to come to the station. I wasn’t even thinking anything like that even when they asked me if I had somewhere to leave my son.”

Together with a neighbour, Karen Rampersad, Harrybhajan went to the station only to be told the tragic news. She recalled Ramnarine was still mourning the death of his brother last year. She never believed her husband would have met his death going after cattle that went astray in the forest.

The woman said before leaving home at 4 pm on Sunday, Josiah had asked his father what time he would return.

“You know he told him he didn’t know what time he was coming home. Look what happen, he never came back to us and Josiah still here telling me that his daddy coming home just now with ice-cream for him. I didn’t think he would be dead on a day like Easter Sunday,” Harrybhajan said. ASP Gaffar, Sgt Francois, Sgt Richardson and Cpl Richardson are continuing investigations.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,193692.html