*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2025, 7:28 am

In ceiling systems are nice, because they don't take up space or affect the look of the room, however they usually come up short in their ability to produce lower frequencies, and those lower frequencies are especially important, for example when you watching a movie.

Try watching Jaws, the good the bad and the ugly, etc, and listening to the score without bass.
It does sound lacking, like something very important missing

Postby mero » June 28th, 2025, 7:38 am

Gladiator wrote:
mero wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
mero wrote:Anyone also running Atmos in ceiling or down firing? Looking to go from 5.1 to 5.1.2 this year.

What brands you using?

Recently upgraded from 5.1.2 Denon AVRX2400 to 5.1.4 using an Onkyo RZ50

The in ceiling speakers are all monoprice 6.5" Coax. Good performance for budget speakers.

Besss. Was looking at that actually but 9.2 was out of range at the moment so I got a 7.2 x1800 denon cuz my old Yamaha just dead on me a few weeks ago. So I'll have to do the 5.1.2 maybe 5.2.2 soon until I upgrade receivers again.

Seeing u really dont need that that much to have effective Atmos in ceiling, was looking the the Micca brand and saw they getting real good reviews on avsforum and reddit

These are the monoprice. Kevlar cones and silk tweeters. Pretty well built 2nd order filters too. For $79 a pair you cant go wrong. You may also get them on Ebay for less if you buy 2 pairs.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0016CDPP8?re ... asin_title

9eee93e6-2b2b-4524-a252-9ab1e8625188._CR0,53,1600,495_PT0_SX970__.jpg

Monoprice Caliber In-Ceiling Speakers, 6.5in Fiber 2-Way (pair)
In-ceiling speakers allow you to expand your listening environment throughout your entire home, as well as removing the clutter of giant box speakers, giving you back your living space.
Featuring a removable and paintable grille, the Caliber series of in-ceiling speakers are sonically matched to provide a uniform sound stage across your entire listening area. From simple two channel listening rooms to full home theater screening rooms with 7.2.4 Atmos or DTS:X immersive audio technology, your system will benefit from the matched components of the Caliber series speakers.

Light and rigid, well balanced, yellow woven aramid fiber cone woofers for distortion-free reproduction
Oversized magnets for more impactful bass
Precision titanium silk membrane dome tweeters for sweeter highs and pure sonic clarity
Pivoting tweeters allow you to point the acoustics to the prime listening position for a more accurate and immersive sonic experience
Nice. I'll take a look at those. Def gonna do in ceiling within the next few months. Good that you dont need to spend much for decent in ceilings.

How's Dirac vs Audyssey been for you since you switched ?

Postby mero » June 28th, 2025, 8:09 am

88sins wrote:In ceiling systems are nice, because they don't take up space or affect the look of the room, however they usually come up short in their ability to produce lower frequencies, and those lower frequencies are especially important, for example when you watching a movie.

Try watching Jaws, the good the bad and the ugly, etc, and listening to the score without bass.

Get what you saying but I referring to Dolby Atmos in particular.

You can have in ceilings that are not Dolby Atmos. Your AVR or source needs to support the Metadata to tell the system how to render the full 3d experience and the song/track audio needs to be mastered in Atmos as well. You can still get vertical above sound or position your speakers wherever u see fit but I doubt you want much audio coming from over your head.

Highly doubt much ppl will run an Atmos set up without a subwoofer as well.

In ceilings Atmos in a proper HT just acts as presence and to fully immerse you truly in the surround sound experience. They technically not supposed to do that much and cover many frequencies hence most of them being so affordable. Watched Dunkirk, Blade Runner 2049 and Saving Private Ryan bluray and I was cumming buckets.

A good 5.1 or 7.1 can do wonders still but true Atmos is helluva experience.

Postby Gladiator » June 28th, 2025, 3:34 pm

88sins wrote:In ceiling systems are nice, because they don't take up space or affect the look of the room, however they usually come up short in their ability to produce lower frequencies, and those lower frequencies are especially important, for example when you watching a movie.

The ceiling speakers are for Dolby Atmos so not much low end extension is required.

Postby Gladiator » June 28th, 2025, 3:43 pm

mero wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
mero wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
mero wrote:Anyone also running Atmos in ceiling or down firing? Looking to go from 5.1 to 5.1.2 this year.

What brands you using?

Recently upgraded from 5.1.2 Denon AVRX2400 to 5.1.4 using an Onkyo RZ50

The in ceiling speakers are all monoprice 6.5" Coax. Good performance for budget speakers.

Besss. Was looking at that actually but 9.2 was out of range at the moment so I got a 7.2 x1800 denon cuz my old Yamaha just dead on me a few weeks ago. So I'll have to do the 5.1.2 maybe 5.2.2 soon until I upgrade receivers again.

Seeing u really dont need that that much to have effective Atmos in ceiling, was looking the the Micca brand and saw they getting real good reviews on avsforum and reddit

These are the monoprice. Kevlar cones and silk tweeters. Pretty well built 2nd order filters too. For $79 a pair you cant go wrong. You may also get them on Ebay for less if you buy 2 pairs.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0016CDPP8?re ... asin_title

9eee93e6-2b2b-4524-a252-9ab1e8625188._CR0,53,1600,495_PT0_SX970__.jpg

Monoprice Caliber In-Ceiling Speakers, 6.5in Fiber 2-Way (pair)
In-ceiling speakers allow you to expand your listening environment throughout your entire home, as well as removing the clutter of giant box speakers, giving you back your living space.
Featuring a removable and paintable grille, the Caliber series of in-ceiling speakers are sonically matched to provide a uniform sound stage across your entire listening area. From simple two channel listening rooms to full home theater screening rooms with 7.2.4 Atmos or DTS:X immersive audio technology, your system will benefit from the matched components of the Caliber series speakers.

Light and rigid, well balanced, yellow woven aramid fiber cone woofers for distortion-free reproduction
Oversized magnets for more impactful bass
Precision titanium silk membrane dome tweeters for sweeter highs and pure sonic clarity
Pivoting tweeters allow you to point the acoustics to the prime listening position for a more accurate and immersive sonic experience
Nice. I'll take a look at those. Def gonna do in ceiling within the next few months. Good that you dont need to spend much for decent in ceilings.

How's Dirac vs Audyssey been for you since you switched ?

Audyssey is good but is a far ways off if you do the standard set up. There is a tweak to trick the Audyssey using an alternative set up pattern. That worked wonders and was spot on. Of course there is absolutely no room for adjustment after using Audessey auto tuning and you have to recalibrate your sub. If you are new to the home theatre game you wont be able to get Audyssey to sound right.

Dirac on the other hand was spot on after the initial set up. The set up itself took longer and required absolute silence (cant even turn on the AC). You can tweak eq and x-over to your heart's delight after the initial setup and tweaking is definitely required.

All in all Audyssey does the better auto-calibrating job but you have to use the alternative method to trick the system. DIRAC is more user friendly and only requires some eq to get it to sound right. Both of them can't get the sub right.

Postby mero » July 2nd, 2025, 9:41 am

So when my receiver cap out , my brother lent me his NR7100 for a couple of days and for nothing I could get my bass to sound remotely lpud/low deep as it was before. Even though his was calibrated for his system, I couldn't figure it out at all, so i just take it as it. Felt like the sub was at 1/4 power.

My bass was so intense I just ordered the SVS soundpath isolation plugs for my sub. Hope when I calibrate my system is dont run into sub issues

Postby timelapse » July 2nd, 2025, 12:01 pm

Gladiator wrote:
mero wrote:That looking real stink

yup - unless you going for an industrial look - guess it's design choice
I cringed at the thought of mahogany stands - automatically thought of terazzo floor and groove ply ceiling.
Sorry timelapse

These Mahogany stands are pretty classy

ok yeah agreed
I was seeing ornate carvings on it in my head lol

Yuh inner mamoo showing eh boss.
Terazzo floors is an insult eh.

I was matching my soundtraps at the time and had quite a bit of mahogany lying around.

Zim

Postby Zim » July 3rd, 2025, 4:26 pm

mero wrote:So when my receiver cap out , my brother lent me his NR7100 for a couple of days and for nothing I could get my bass to sound remotely lpud/low deep as it was before. Even though his was calibrated for his system, I couldn't figure it out at all, so i just take it as it. Felt like the sub was at 1/4 power.

My bass was so intense I just ordered the SVS soundpath isolation plugs for my sub. Hope when I calibrate my system is dont run into sub issues

Did u get it sorted?

pipser

Postby pipser » July 4th, 2025, 11:47 am

mero wrote:So when my receiver cap out , my brother lent me his NR7100 for a couple of days and for nothing I could get my bass to sound remotely lpud/low deep as it was before. Even though his was calibrated for his system, I couldn't figure it out at all, so i just take it as it. Felt like the sub was at 1/4 power.

If the unit was previously calibrated within your brother's space and using his speakers you will have to redo the calibration in your space and adjust things like the distance from MLP to the speakers, crossover values and levels etc. If you got the calibration mic with it you are good to go if not you can download a decibel meter app on your phone and manually do the configs.

Hope this helps...

pipser

Postby pipser » July 4th, 2025, 11:59 am

What brands you using?

I'm running a 5.1.4 setup but with upfiring fronts and rears. I'm in a townhouse so fortunately my ceiling is low enough (8 ft. roughly) and flat so I get the effects without having to mount speakers to the ceiling. It's a cleaner look and less visible wiring or trunking. I know a lot pf people don't believe in the up-firing but they work for me...

Using the Andrew Jones Pioneer BS22A-LR in front but they don't make those anymore and these https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=33833 Monoprice speakers for the rears

Postby mero » July 4th, 2025, 12:06 pm

Zim wrote:

Did u get it sorted?
Nah not yet, i should have it sorted by next weekend. Not concerned. Still waiting to get a couple more speakers as well you calibrate everything
pipser wrote:

If the unit was previously calibrated within your brother's space and using his speakers you will have to redo the calibration in your space and adjust things like the distance from MLP to the speakers, crossover values and levels etc. If you got the calibration mic with it you are good to go if not you can download a decibel meter app on your phone and manually do the configs.

Hope this helps...
Yea thought so, was just surprised that I couldn't just go in settings and raise it. Appreciated though

Postby mero » July 4th, 2025, 12:14 pm

pipser wrote:

What brands you using?

I'm running a 5.1.4 setup but with upfiring fronts and rears. I'm in a townhouse so fortunately my ceiling is low enough (8 ft. roughly) and flat so I get the effects without having to mount speakers to the ceiling. It's a cleaner look and less visible wiring or trunking. I know a lot pf people don't believe in the up-firing but they work for me...

Using the Andrew Jones Pioneer BS22A-LR in front but they don't make those anymore and these https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=33833 Monoprice speakers for the rears
Well if it working for you, big up you. I used to be looking at that same Andrew Jones pioneer set up at some point too lol.

I could only manage 5.1.2 so one set go hadda work. Downfiring would work out better for me as the room is drop ceiling.

Zim

Postby Zim » July 8th, 2025, 11:36 am

@ mero
"Did u get it sorted?
Nah not yet, i should have it sorted by next weekend. Not concerned. Still waiting to get a couple more speakers as well you calibrate everything"

Ways ok. Hope u have it sorted by next weeken, mate. Yeah wait till u get all the gear and then calibrate / tune. So that way u ent have to "dig up" in anything again :lol:

Side question: does anyone have any gear (preferably vintage [70s-90s] era) gear to sell?
Thank u kindly in advance. U can pm as long is it not too pricey & preferably functional.

Thanks in advance

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2025, 12:53 pm

Looking for a remote for a Marantz NR1403 5.1 receiver
I've been using a Logitech Harmony smart remote with it all the time and can't remember where I put the original remote.

I got an IR code list from their website
https://www.marantz.com/on/demandware.s ... ter-ir.xls
But before I go that route I say lemme see if i can get an original remote for it locally.

Cowboy

L.F someone to repair Receiver and Television

Postby Cowboy » Yesterday, 6:30 pm

Good day Tuners I have a Yamaha AV Receiver and a practically a new 43 inch TCL Television to repair....any contact greatly appreciated. Located in Central. 755 1863

Re: L.F someone to repair Receiver and Television

Postby timelapse » Today, 8:15 am

Cowboy wrote:Good day Tuners I have a Yamaha AV Receiver and a practically a new 43 inch TCL Television to repair....any contact greatly appreciated. Located in Central. 755 1863

TV repairman - Reds
I dont have a number, but his house is opposite R. Maye hardware in Derrick Road, Chase Village. You will see an apartment building with some funky tile work on the wall, he is the house right after. I have gotten several tvs and monitors repaired by him.
Not sure if he can help with the audio receiver