Meteor shower visible in northern sky tonight

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 12th, 2009, 12:51 am

hey they said that the real deal doesnt start till bout 2:00..........

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 12th, 2009, 12:55 am

leveldunce wrote:hey they said that the real deal doesnt start till bout 2:00..........

who is they?

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 12th, 2009, 12:58 am

some body posted that up on fb........dunno where they got their 411 from

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 12th, 2009, 1:00 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:there should be some bright ones that should be brighter than some stars that you should be able to see through the light upper level clouds

but they may only be one or two

saw about 3 brighter than stars

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 12th, 2009, 1:45 am

allyuh see anything yet?

someone on fb says its as fun as watching paint dry.....lmao

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 12th, 2009, 1:49 am

1:48 not one ass in the Sky.. drinking a vanilla nutrament.

Going back out at 2:00.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 12th, 2009, 1:50 am

who hoo saw 1....................no sheit it was a candle fly

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 12th, 2009, 1:51 am

aye stop living up to your name.

I watching it from the northern hemisphere, but so much damn low level light man.
Where you dey?

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 12th, 2009, 1:52 am

i in tunapuna.........i not seein anything.......

Postby st7 » August 12th, 2009, 1:54 am

i saw one... and ironically it was jus north of the moon lol

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 12th, 2009, 1:58 am

Saw 1 as well but I'm in canada 5 Mins ago

pups

Postby pups » August 12th, 2009, 2:03 am

nothing here down diego

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 12th, 2009, 2:04 am

I believe it was more north western I saw it ...determined by the positioning from the iPhones gps

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 12th, 2009, 2:20 am

dem mosquito eating meeeeeeeeeeeee.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 12th, 2009, 2:28 am

nothing fellas. Clouds moving in too so I don't have much hope.

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » August 12th, 2009, 2:45 am

Nothing in San Fernando, poor visibility...

Kentucky

Postby Kentucky » August 12th, 2009, 3:01 am

Well it should be better now

Electricity just went.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 12th, 2009, 8:14 am

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 12th, 2009, 9:55 am

I ended up seeing bout 6........brighter than stars with a tail..........but Sh1t them thing fast if you blink you go miss it.

Well worth missin a lil sleep.................the old drink plenty water trick...must get up

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

sexy_ke70_chick

Postby sexy_ke70_chick » August 12th, 2009, 10:33 am

i only see 1 bright star with sumthing red in it unless i was startin to go blind from staring :( i didnt see any shooting star :cry:

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » August 12th, 2009, 2:07 pm

http://science.nasa.gov/headlines/y2009/31jul_perseids2009.htm

"Earthgrazers are meteors that approach from the horizon and skim the atmosphere overhead like a stone skipping across the surface of a pond," explains Cooke. "They are long, slow and colorful—among the most beautiful of meteors." He notes that an hour of watching may net only a few of these at most, but seeing even one can make the whole night worthwhile.

Saw a good few of the fast moving meteors from 3-4am.
Captured this slow moving object in the pic below, definitely wasn't a plane... supposed to be an Earthgrazer.
Spotted it late so, I didn't get to position the camera correctly to capture it in the entire frame.

16second shutter speed, IS0 200 and F-stop at f/2.8

Postby buzz » August 12th, 2009, 2:10 pm

nice nice :!:

slick

Postby slick » August 12th, 2009, 3:21 pm

i miss out....anything visible tonite?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 12th, 2009, 3:52 pm

Should have......but the frequency will be less....yesterday was supposed to be the peak........but you have some time over the next couple days.

GL......................

Postby gt4tified » August 12th, 2009, 6:43 pm

I was up till about 2:30am and saw nuttin. :(

W2J

Postby W2J » August 12th, 2009, 8:07 pm

^ get some glasses

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » August 12th, 2009, 8:14 pm

wat it have tonite?

same ting?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 12th, 2009, 11:35 pm

Yes the same.....some experts are claiming that the peak is really tonite........

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » August 12th, 2009, 11:45 pm

wud i see anything in diego?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 12th, 2009, 11:57 pm

Should....leh we put it this way....I not in Trinidad...come across this ched and see the ting..........Look north

If you have big tree and the sky have cloud well,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,