why do bike men feel the white line is ah lane ?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 7th, 2009, 11:24 pm

It's a start but like someone said "we" all have our own rules/laws which sad 2 say is embedded in our mentality which is y "we" get vex when "we" ride on de shoulder an a man eh let yuh squeeze in or u rush somebody jus so they doh get in front u, an i could go on an on an on...

point is we not ready 4 that level of commitment jus like "we" not ready 4 de new prius toyota want 2 sell for $350000.00 !!!!

slugs or no slugs u could quicker hit a biker off a bike than he actually kill u with 1 shot an once he on de ground then what...

my 2c

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » October 8th, 2009, 1:05 am

runner we get buff boy!
buh wha d muh? :lol:
i really startin to feel patch totin on that traffic scene u know :lol:
:twisted:

mpower

Postby mpower » October 8th, 2009, 6:36 am

im just trying for both parties to see what its like, a bike man that drives a car daily , has a better knowledge of anticipation on the roads!!!!!!

Carenage7

Postby Carenage7 » October 8th, 2009, 9:36 pm

This is my take on it:
Motorcycling is intrinsically a more hazardous mode of transportation. Car drivers are surrounded by metal, airbags and plastic. Motorcycle riders have external protection in the form of helmets, jackets etc. Like any class of vehicle operator on T&T roads, there are those that operate in a more irresponsible manner than others. Those that take risks on the road should not justify it by virtue of convenience. I'm not going to go on and on about how to lane split safely, google it.
There is a hierarchy on the roads. Two-wheeled vehicles reside on the bottom of the pack because of their size. Multi-axle vehicles are on the top because of their size. Truck drivers probably have an issue of how cars constantly try to swing in front of them as they are slower moving. Cars are to trucks what motorcycles or scooters are to cars. Should the truck driver adopt the attitude to run the car off the road? Who would likely survive if a truck and a car were to collide? I'm not grouping pedestrians with motorists, but when a pedestrian wanders off the pavement onto the road without looking, they should always be given priority in the interest of safety. They acted irresponsibly, but the consequences of your actions bear more heavily on them than you.
So, a stupid Domino's delivery scooter weaves in front of you wearing a half helmet and a polo shirt. You
(a) Maintain speed (even accelerate slightly) to keep up with traffic and what happens happens since he's not supposed to be driving like a jackass
(b) Slow down, let him pass and curse/shake your head.

Result from (a) is he may be injured or killed, albeit from his own stupid actions and from (b) somebody gets their pizza on time and every one goes home to those they love.

I'm not saying driving like a jackass is in any way justified, but remember the heirachy and consider those who are more at risk on the road. A proper road safety program must be introduced before anyone is allowed to own or operate a vehicle and in no case is this more true than with motorcycles. Please be safe and considerate to each other on the road.

Postby Greypatch » October 9th, 2009, 8:15 am

Why do truck drivers, taxi/maxi/b14 drivers and and other 4 wheel drivers hog the white line?

Sometimes driving down the highway I would see a truck or other vehicle in a lane but they are driving on the middle white line...what sense does that make?

thata's for another thread.

just remember bike men these days toting aroung slugs eh,!!!!!!

this has no bearing on the discussion..

Postby crazybalhead » October 9th, 2009, 8:18 am

Carenage7 wrote:This is my take on it:
Motorcycling is intrinsically a more hazardous mode of transportation. Car drivers are surrounded by metal, airbags and plastic. Motorcycle riders have external protection in the form of helmets, jackets etc. Like any class of vehicle operator on T&T roads, there are those that operate in a more irresponsible manner than others. Those that take risks on the road should not justify it by virtue of convenience. I'm not going to go on and on about how to lane split safely, google it.
There is a hierarchy on the roads. Two-wheeled vehicles reside on the bottom of the pack because of their size. Multi-axle vehicles are on the top because of their size. Truck drivers probably have an issue of how cars constantly try to swing in front of them as they are slower moving. Cars are to trucks what motorcycles or scooters are to cars. Should the truck driver adopt the attitude to run the car off the road? Who would likely survive if a truck and a car were to collide? I'm not grouping pedestrians with motorists, but when a pedestrian wanders off the pavement onto the road without looking, they should always be given priority in the interest of safety. They acted irresponsibly, but the consequences of your actions bear more heavily on them than you.
So, a stupid Domino's delivery scooter weaves in front of you wearing a half helmet and a polo shirt. You
(a) Maintain speed (even accelerate slightly) to keep up with traffic and what happens happens since he's not supposed to be driving like a jackass

Result from (a) is he may be injured or killed, albeit from his own stupid actions and from (b) somebody gets their pizza on time and every one goes home to those they love.

I'm not saying driving like a jackass is in any way justified, but remember the heirachy and consider those who are more at risk on the road. A proper road safety program must be introduced before anyone is allowed to own or operate a vehicle and in no case is this more true than with motorcycles. Please be safe and considerate to each other on the road.

Well written! Two wrongs do not make a right!

d spike

Postby d spike » October 9th, 2009, 8:25 am

Greypatch wrote:
just remember bike men these days toting aroung slugs eh,!!!!!!

this has no bearing on the discussion..

Considering the way some of them drive, he must be referring to between their ears...

Postby Greypatch » October 9th, 2009, 8:29 am

well summarised carnage

Postby pete » October 9th, 2009, 8:47 am

Patch :lol:

It's Carenage!!

mpower

Postby mpower » October 9th, 2009, 9:18 am

nice write up, by everyone, i hope this helps some of the car and bike men out there.

mafia lancer

White Line

Postby mafia lancer » October 9th, 2009, 11:51 am

Well said Underground Master.
Being both a rider and driver myself, I fully agree.
As to if its legal/illegal in our country I can't say for certain but to answer someone else question, yes it is legal in certain states in the us. Its called lane sharing.
And somehow the responses I seeing on this post more sounds like drivers who hating that they stuck in traffic than being more concerned about anyones's saftey. If you were more concerned about safety you will know that you should always check mirrors before switching lanes.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 9th, 2009, 12:37 pm

all i know is if i am INside of my lane drivign a car, and a Bike man is on the white line and we bounce- HIm wrong like hell- there is NO dispute there!

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 9th, 2009, 12:53 pm

crash dummy, copper?.. manual.. no probs i prefer manual in trafica ct.. mashin jsut the brakes can be not only borring but anoying :lol: :lol: :lol:

when i used to cycle it was the shame kinda thign at lower speeds.. i would take those kinda chances but imo because u are so aware of the fact that you are in danger jsut by being on something like that you reflexes seem to be hightend.. drivers who have never riden motorbike or bicycle often on the rds in close quaters with cars/trucks etc. can never have an apreciation for the space and abilities of these vehicles.. ..

crotch rocket

Postby crotch rocket » November 11th, 2009, 10:58 am

men passin tru taffic on one wheel yo! daiz the sheit right there! :drinking:

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » November 11th, 2009, 12:17 pm

men passin tru taffic on one wheel yo! daiz the sheit right there!

men now come to some kinda agreement and you come with this sheit :lol: :lol:

bike have two wheels for a reason :lol:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » January 10th, 2010, 10:48 pm

Carenage7 wrote:This is my take on it:

would be nice if i put this as my sig.......well said.....

btw......bump :P

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 13th, 2010, 10:14 am

mpower wrote:im just trying for both parties to see what its like, a bike man that drives a car daily , has a better knowledge of anticipation on the roads!!!!!!

Very good point....and I think it's those bike men who don't drive are the ones who really do not understand how dangerous they are riding on the road especially in traffic, etc