Postby eliteauto » March 10th, 2010, 8:46 am

eliteauto wrote:Not everything old should be saved

I'm talking about a bridge not a tunnel :lol:

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2010, 1:20 pm

eliteauto wrote:Tourist attraction :| seriously the bridge there since 1881 how many tourists visited? Prior to it's removal anyone even paid attention to it or everyone just assumed it was always there? Not everything old should be saved

Thank you.
I think you guys taking this thing a bit too far...Geez An Ages...good thing allyuh not running the country yes~Place woulda been looking like 1964 :roll:

Allyuh real like ole ting on this forum

Ole Car
Ole Building
Ole Caroni
Sanchia
Ole House

Oh gorm man give it a rest! (Leywe hope she doh see this thread :lol: )

Postby tr1ad » March 10th, 2010, 1:26 pm

wait what?

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » March 10th, 2010, 1:32 pm

RASC wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Tourist attraction :| seriously the bridge there since 1881 how many tourists visited? Prior to it's removal anyone even paid attention to it or everyone just assumed it was always there? Not everything old should be saved

Thank you.
I think you guys taking this thing a bit too far...Geez An Ages...good thing allyuh not running the country yes~Place woulda been looking like 1964 :roll:

Ole Car
Ole Building
Ole Caroni
Sanchia
Ole House

The bridge wasn't posing a problem...maybe they want to wipe out all efficient structures so people can't say "back in the old days" things used to be built stronger and last longer.

I find the bridge had character...and I am sure it was appreciated by a lot of people, especially the old folk.

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2010, 1:42 pm

embellishfrost wrote:
RASC wrote:

Thank you.

Ole Car
Ole Building
Ole Caroni
Sanchia
Ole House

The bridge wasn't posing a problem...maybe they want to wipe out all efficient structures so people can't say "back in the old days" things used to be built stronger and last longer.

Oh really...
Show me a field of technology that has REGRESSED over the years.

Let's compared 1881 bridges to 2010 bridges and let's see which where built better. Hell we could use it for anything...let's compare 1881 Hammers to 2010 Hammers...or what about 1881 Shoes to 2010 Shoes...Let's see which were built better.

:idea:

Postby buzz » March 10th, 2010, 1:48 pm

Ole Car
Ole Building
Ole Caroni
Sanchia
Ole House

SO!1?!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 10th, 2010, 1:49 pm

RASC wrote:
embellishfrost wrote:
RASC wrote:

Thank you.

Ole Car
Ole Building
Ole Caroni
Sanchia
Ole House

Oh really...

Let's compared 1881 bridges to 2010 bridges and let's see which where built better. Hell we could use it for anything...let's compare 1881 Hammers to 2010 Hammers...or what about 1881 Shoes to 2010 Shoes...Let's see which were built better.

Well that doesn't really hold true in Trinidad... bridges fall after only a couple of years here

I'm sure there were lots of things build better/stronger back then, furniture now is MDF etc.

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2010, 2:00 pm

ingalook wrote:
RASC wrote:
embellishfrost wrote:
RASC wrote:

Thank you.

Ole Car
Ole Building
Ole Caroni
Sanchia
Ole House

Oh really...

Well that doesn't really hold true in Trinidad... bridges fall after only a couple of years here

I'm sure there were lots of things build better/stronger back then, furniture now is MDF etc.

I'm talking about on the whole...the world as we know it...the entire global spectrum...
Technology has helped mankind moved forward for the better not worse.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 10th, 2010, 2:46 pm

Well yeah... BUT IN TRINIDAD this bridge last 129 years while our modern bridges failing after 2 :shock:

I wouldn't doubt shoes were stronger in the 1800s either :roll:

We may have gained alot with technology, but so much of the artistry, ingenuity , and pride in ones work has been lost IN TRINIDAD

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2010, 3:02 pm

ingalook wrote:Well yeah... BUT IN TRINIDAD this bridge last 129 years while our modern bridges failing after 2 :shock:

We may have gained alot with technology, but so much of the artistry, ingenuity , and pride in ones work has been lost IN TRINIDAD

When last has the bridge been used?
What kind of traffic did it encounter when in operation?
How many times was it repaired during it's operation?

Answer those questions before you start getting all misty eyed at the loss of an old rust bucket hanging in the sky

Postby Team Loco » March 10th, 2010, 3:48 pm

that bridge is like basdeo panday.......get rid of it

Postby eliteauto » March 10th, 2010, 4:16 pm

the bridge had character??? Please STEUPS!!!

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2010, 5:00 pm

Team Loco wrote:that bridge is like basdeo panday.......get rid of it

that's INSULTING
***flares nostrils and sneers***

Postby equipped2ripp » March 10th, 2010, 6:11 pm

RASC wrote:
ingalook wrote:Well yeah... BUT IN TRINIDAD this bridge last 129 years while our modern bridges failing after 2 :shock:

Answer those questions before you start getting all misty eyed at the loss of an old rust bucket hanging in the sky

you talking like you apparently know the answers to those questions you're asking...

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2010, 6:29 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
RASC wrote:

you talking like you apparently know the answers to those questions you're asking...

Nope...I don't
That's why it's called a ...........

[quote]ques·tion
   /ˈkwɛstʃən/ Show Spelled[kwes-chuhn]
–noun
a sentence in an interrogative form, addressed to someone in order to get information in reply.
a problem for discussion or under discussion; a matter for investigation.
a matter of some uncertainty or difficulty; problem (usually fol. by of): It was simply a question of time.
a subject of dispute or controversy.
a proposal to be debated or voted on, as in a meeting or a deliberative assembly.
the procedure of putting a proposal to vote.
Politics. a problem of public policy submitted to the voters for an expression of opinion.
Law.
a.
a controversy that is submitted to a judicial tribunal or administrative agency for decision.
b.
the interrogation by which information is secured.
c.
Obsolete. judicial examination or trial.
the act of asking or inquiring; interrogation; query.
inquiry into or discussion of some problem or doubtful matter.
–verb (used with object)
to ask (someone) a question; ask questions of; interrogate.
to ask or inquire.
to make a question of; doubt: He questioned her sincerity.
to challenge or dispute: She questioned the judge's authority in the case.
–verb (used without object)
to ask a question or questions.
—Idioms
beg the question. beg (def. 9).
beyond question, beyond dispute; without doubt: It was, beyond question, a magnificent performance. Also, beyond all question.
call in/intoquestion,
a.
to dispute; challenge.
b.
to cast doubt upon; question: This report calls into question all previous research on the subject.
in question,
a.
under consideration.
b.
in dispute.
out of the question, not to be considered; unthinkable; impossible: She thought about a trip to Spain but dismissed it as out of the question.
Use question in a Sentence
See images of question
Search question on the Web
Origin:
1250–1300; (n.) ME questio(u)n, questiun < AF questiun, MF question < L quaestiÅ

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 10th, 2010, 7:15 pm

I'm no historian, so I don't know the answer to your questions unfortunately

But you seem to be of the opinion that newer = better

I don't share that position, just look at any genre of music :shock:

I believe we should take the best of the old and combine with the best of the new... if it ain't broke... and all that

I just thought it was an interesting piece of our country's history and should be preserved... perhaps there are better things that should be/have been preserved

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2010, 7:30 pm

ingalook wrote:RASC

I believe we should take the best of the old and combine with the best of the new... if it ain't broke... and all that

I just thought it was an interesting piece of our country's history and should be preserved... perhaps there are better things that should be/have been preserved

I know where you're coming from.

However...Music isn't a form of engineering nor can it honestly be measured as better, bad, or worse. It's all relative when it comes to art.

Structural rigidity, strength of materials and longevity however can all be measured in quantitative terms.

Postby RASC » March 10th, 2010, 7:30 pm

ingalook wrote:RASC

I know where you're coming from.

However...Music isn't a form of science~music is art, nor can it honestly be measured as better, bad, or worse. It's all relative.

Structural rigidity, strength of materials and longevity however can all be measured in quantitative terms.

biggreen

Postby biggreen » March 10th, 2010, 8:14 pm

nismotrinidappa, that vid was best....

d old link road to go to penal, many years ago they use to block down that side and race cars, anyone one got vids, or pics?

and no i not crazy...

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » March 10th, 2010, 8:19 pm

I was told that the bridge was last used in 1958, and was repainted at various times up until at least the 70s.

Since then there has been no serious attempts at maintenance or upkeep since it was last crossed by a train.

I understand the sentimentality but I wouldn't wait untill my grandmother dies to ask a plastic surgeon if he can make her look 50 years younger. I'll want her buried...respectfully but quickly.

Postby tr1ad » March 10th, 2010, 10:49 pm

let them try to demolish a structure in the us that stood for 100 years...

that bridge saw many a train, with cargo back in the day, engineers said that if with preventative maintenance, would be stronger than any bridge in trinidad

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 10th, 2010, 11:01 pm

I gonna seriously miss that bridge. I live close by and as a small boy growing up my brother and I would walk thru the bush across the road from my house and trek to the railway line that leads to that bridge.

We had a lot of fun playing there and imagining seeing the train coming down there. Damn, thats soooo long ago, maybe around 1974 or so, maybe before.

Its rel sad to see it go, but im sure its become a hazard now because it was never maintained. Seeing that earthquakes have become so popular lately, i wud imagine that bridge would be really dangerous in the event of one. Perhaps they didnt really have a choice.

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » March 11th, 2010, 4:39 am

RASC wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:
RASC wrote:

Nope...I don't
That's why it's called a ...........

[quote]ques·tion
   /ˈkwɛstʃən/ Show Spelled[kwes-chuhn]
–noun
a sentence in an interrogative form, addressed to someone in order to get information in reply.
a problem for discussion or under discussion; a matter for investigation.
a matter of some uncertainty or difficulty; problem (usually fol. by of): It was simply a question of time.
a subject of dispute or controversy.
a proposal to be debated or voted on, as in a meeting or a deliberative assembly.
the procedure of putting a proposal to vote.
Politics. a problem of public policy submitted to the voters for an expression of opinion.
Law.
a.
a controversy that is submitted to a judicial tribunal or administrative agency for decision.
b.
the interrogation by which information is secured.
c.
Obsolete. judicial examination or trial.
the act of asking or inquiring; interrogation; query.
inquiry into or discussion of some problem or doubtful matter.
–verb (used with object)
to ask (someone) a question; ask questions of; interrogate.
to ask or inquire.
to make a question of; doubt: He questioned her sincerity.
to challenge or dispute: She questioned the judge's authority in the case.
–verb (used without object)
to ask a question or questions.
—Idioms
beg the question. beg (def. 9).
beyond question, beyond dispute; without doubt: It was, beyond question, a magnificent performance. Also, beyond all question.
call in/intoquestion,
a.
to dispute; challenge.
b.
to cast doubt upon; question: This report calls into question all previous research on the subject.
in question,
a.
under consideration.
b.
in dispute.
out of the question, not to be considered; unthinkable; impossible: She thought about a trip to Spain but dismissed it as out of the question.
Use question in a Sentence
See images of question
Search question on the Web
Origin:
1250–1300; (n.) ME questio(u)n, questiun < AF questiun, MF question < L quaestiÅ

Postby RASC » March 11th, 2010, 6:49 am

Ok Ok Ok

Allyuh win...

wait what?

No actually I win...cause it still coming down :lol: Great Stuff here :fadein:

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » March 11th, 2010, 8:37 am

The section of the Bridge over the main road was taken down. Only a section crossing a river remains.

So its 50-50 right now in terms of the bridge, the most recogniseable section has been cut into pieces but a less noticed section remains.

Who knows what will happen to what is left? It could be left where it is or it could be cut into pieces but if it isn't maintained it will certainly turn into rubbish on its own.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 11th, 2010, 3:50 pm

did they have to cut up the bridge?

they couldn't find a way to take down the entire section and transport it somewhere where it could be a heritage monument?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 11th, 2010, 4:37 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:did they have to cut up the bridge?

they couldn't find a way to take down the entire section and transport it somewhere where it could be a heritage monument?

Stop making sense

:out:

Postby equipped2ripp » March 12th, 2010, 12:11 am