The Amazon Kindle e-Reader Thread

Re: Amazon kindle

Postby Stephon. » December 1st, 2011, 12:10 pm

So basically if you have an amazon account with a Trinidad credit card on it, you're still unable to get books? :?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 1st, 2011, 12:37 pm

u get a VERY LTD amount as the kindle fire is not an international ebook but you get a good amount eh i am sure the ip faking software will allwo you to get US based books but as i said, after next tuesday i will do more reserach

Postby pete » December 1st, 2011, 1:26 pm

Once you can get an app to view PDFs I don't see... erm, nevermind.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 1st, 2011, 1:29 pm

pete wrote:Once you can get an app to view PDFs I don't see... erm, nevermind.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 1st, 2011, 1:46 pm

well that is an option lol and adobe has an app for android lol

to be honest the book were never an issue as the choices are endless in getting it from other places
the kindle to me is not a ebook reader but a tab at a hell of alot cheaper than other tabs that has the interface of an e reader lol

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 1st, 2011, 1:49 pm

Thats was actually the main point for me

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 3rd, 2011, 3:20 am

dammit...fire doesnt have 3g/edge...
anyone wants a fire to buy never opened- 199us.

Anton

Postby Anton » December 3rd, 2011, 11:21 am

pete wrote:Once you can get an app to view PDFs I don't see... erm, nevermind.

calibre software pdf to epub and mobi converter 8-)

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2011, 1:21 pm

catching meh ass to get android market on the kindle fire

Navigate to System > App
RO will be selected here; change this option to RW
Paste the Vending.apk in this folder
Long-press on the Vending.apk until a small popup window appears, then choose Permissions
Modify the permissions so they are identical to the other apps in the same folder (RW-R-R)

that part
when i paste it in system >app
i dont see it

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 6th, 2011, 5:58 pm

will let u know tom when i pull out the kindle again. exams now done and i brain dead

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2011, 11:11 pm

thanks, will probably try again tmr/friday once I get time.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 11th, 2011, 8:21 pm

look for com.vending or com.market

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2011, 10:33 pm

MadCrix wrote:look for com.vending or com.market

not seeing any of those

the folder im pasting the vending.apk file into is my files/phone internal storage/system/app right?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 12th, 2011, 2:49 am

correct
you set the app folder to rw?

Postby Chimera » December 12th, 2011, 9:54 am

the instructions I followed is to cut the vending.apk file from the sd card

go in files/phone internal storage/system/app, click menu-mount-mount as read/write and then paste the vending.apk file

it shows that its pasting but then I can't find it.

I reset my kindle to factory default last night, gonna reroot today and try everything again

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 12th, 2011, 10:03 am

not sure if this go make a diffrence, doh see why it should, but i clicked move, not cut... i eh know yes. it work for me twice already

Postby Chimera » December 12th, 2011, 10:36 am

you used file expert? or rootexplorer?

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2011, 12:08 pm

i used root explorer and got through

file expert was freaking me up

casper

Postby casper » December 15th, 2011, 3:44 pm

amazon rel mess up dem selves with this device lolz

Olivia425

Postby Olivia425 » March 31st, 2012, 9:34 pm

considering buying the kinlde touch or PRS-T1 Wi-Fi Reader for readng pdf files. Need something that is eady to carry around without the expense of the tablet. my laptop too bulky to walk around with.

Any advice? I like the Sony because you can add handwritten notes just like book, but the reviews weren't as good as the kindle.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 2nd, 2012, 2:41 pm

kindle is fantastic for reading. have not used the sony so i can;t give you feedback on it

Postby noshownogo » April 2nd, 2012, 3:20 pm

kindle touch is a bit slow to refresh the new page but it's a great e-reader otherwise. I'd always recommend anything with e-ink over led screens for reading books any day.

Driven

Postby Driven » April 2nd, 2012, 4:32 pm

The $79 Kindle is a godsend for avid readers. Not only is it less bulky, it's also much more convenient to have all your books in one place. Battery Life is ~2 weeks with moderate reading (~3 hours a day) and the E-Ink Display really mimics the pages of a book.

My only problems with it are the ghosting experienced before page refreshes (minor issue) and the inability to read in the dark (but I can't do it with books anyway) so it ain't no biggie.

wrt books... I *ahem* acquired *cough* books from the Bay of Pirates and copied them to the kindle when it was connected to my PC. :mrgreen:

Postby M_2NR » July 23rd, 2014, 10:43 pm

I'm surprised there is no other thread on this! I finally got a Kindle PW2 e-ink for reading. Already jailbroke it and can't wait to mod it. Anyone else jailbroken?

Re: The Amazon Kindle e-Reader Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » July 23rd, 2014, 10:59 pm

Yuh could mod d plain black and white ones awa :|

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 23rd, 2014, 11:26 pm

Got a 3g kindl keyboard for sale... 316 0908

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2014, 5:56 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Yuh could mod d plain black and white ones awa :|

Yeh apparently. I gone do some digging weekend. But really and truly it screams ereader only. The minute you try to do any real web browsing it fails. Tuner crashed it :lol:

But finally I can read a screen without eye strain.