Anyone here suffers with acid reflux/ gerd ?

chevelle65

Re: Anyone here suffers with acid reflux/ gerd ?

Postby chevelle65 » November 25th, 2010, 11:10 pm

I've tried the vinegar before but didn't work for me - it was so acidic that it burnt going down and actually made things worse.

Another heartburn resource that I recommend is: http://www.refluxremedyrevolution.com

It has nothing to do with vinegar, baking soda, lemons, etc.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 26th, 2010, 7:50 am

try this...

Ensure that you use the ROUGH SKINNED lemon....nothing else..
Do this FIRST thing in the morning on an EMPTY stomach..

In a glass, squeeze about 1tablespoon of the lemon juice. Ad about 1teaspoon of warm water to it because it's good to have something warm in your stomach in the morning. Then add a few grains of salt to help with the sour taste...but not too much.. mix well and drink it all down....wont be the most pleasant thing but will be worth it...

do it everyday for a couple weeks for it to be effective..

I eh no doctor eh :| so doh take this as professional advice.... is not something doctors would tell you.. but it works.... I myself had acid problems and this helped... a few other people I know, had it severely and nothing seemed to help them....but this remedy helped them...try it

P.S: I didnt read all dem long ting posted so if anything was mentioned about it, sorry dey.

apple

Postby apple » November 27th, 2010, 10:26 am

I use Gasec

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 27th, 2010, 9:56 pm

Had 2 minor ulcer's a few months ago, took nexium daily, antibiotics, stopped eating pepper, curry etc that caused pain to occur and after 2 months there was no pain.

Adjust your diet if possible and stress can also be a major cause.

btw coconut water ftw!

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » November 27th, 2010, 10:00 pm

pantecta is better than nexium maybe give it a try. other than the conditions mentioned before i was thinking about a hiatus hernia which would produce alot of your symptoms as well you would need to take a barium meal and xray for it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hiatal_hernia

Postby Damien » November 28th, 2010, 10:06 am

Did a visit by dr farfan two weeks ago, he said the endoscopy was good and there is nothing wrong I just have excess bile in the stomach and it is inflamed he didn't gave me any meds and just tell me its stress. Wtf I have these pains about three mths now and it still wouldn't go, stop smoking about two mths and ago and change the diet and still nothing. I took a full mth course of orgastro, and motilium and one week of clarithromycin and zantac twice a day and nothing is happening

Postby Damien » November 28th, 2010, 10:10 am

Lost 20lbs too

partsman

Postby partsman » November 29th, 2010, 5:53 pm

Had bad acid reflux : my throat was constantly hurting and it was difficult to speak sometimes . I went to a specialist and he confirmed it was bad acid reflux. I was told to eat at least 3 hours before sleep , do not lie down immediately after meals , eat on time , do not eat 'bellyful' , avoid spicy foods and certain foods at night like chocolate , peppermint -as it relaxes the valve , avoid drinking a lot of liquid with meals , elevate the headrest about 4", take nexium about half hour before meals , at night take motillium before dinner ( to move food out of stomach fast), eat more alkaline foods like vegetable and cut down on fried foods , meat, junk foods etc
After all that , he asked me if i was under stress, which i was . He then told me that acid reflux has a lot to do with stress as well as dietary habits . He then recommended that i check out the Raj Yoga people , saying that they refer people to them from time to time .
I went there for about three weeks during which i learnt the basics of meditating . They told me that people are referred to them all the time . Coupled with eating better and thinking better i went on a site called RealAge.com and followed their basic exercise regime every morning (about 20 mins in front the computer , no weights !)I still get heartburn from time to time but only when i stray from the advice given and when i allow situations , people to get the better of me . Stress is something that is insidious and breaks us down from within ; something that exists only in our mind , from the way we see things .
Hope this helps .

Aribabs

Postby Aribabs » November 30th, 2010, 1:33 am

This is what I did for my acid reflux and I swear it works.

I adjusted my diet by...

I stopped drinking acidic juices like orange juices, soft drink etc and only drank mauby or water. No milk either. No fruits like grapes thats acidic. For fruits I eat watermelon, paw paw, bananas and mangoes.
Too much chicken or any meat is acidic
No cheese
No processed food, everything straight from the ground like provisions, peas, beans, rice, no white flour. I hardly ever eat anything in tins, packs or cartoons. Everything must be God made.
I drank pure water or filtered water

And finally the most important thing of all, after each meal I take a couple [color=#BF0000]digestive enzymes[/color]. This helps you digest your food, replacing the enzymes that's missing in your body. I had acid reflux real bad, but when I take digestive enzymes, even if my diet isn't all that good it works. Digestive Enzymes is the key here, just take it for like 3 months to get your body back in sync. Tell me how it works. The brand I use is one of the best, Digestion Essentials. I get it from the herbal store upstairs Town Centre Mall POS.

So basically its staying away from acidic foods, drinking pure water and not tap water and taking your digestive enzymes. And it's not a drug so no side effects. And oh eat on time.

partsman

Postby partsman » November 30th, 2010, 3:59 am

oops , made a slight mistake : "take nexium about half hour before meals" should be " take a nexium once a day ". I usually took it before dinner . I use Braggs apple cider vinegar as well . The above post about rough skin lemon is true ; i didn't know it but lemon juice is alkaline in nature .

Postby X_Factor » November 30th, 2010, 6:22 am

u all should try using the power of the mind in helping you get over it
remember ur brain controlls all parts of ur body and you control your brain

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » May 18th, 2012, 12:48 pm

Hey folks, yesterday my doc said I have acid reflux. Prescribed Pantecta for 2 mths.
I read the above posts and will try the ACV.

Postby AllTrac » May 18th, 2012, 1:00 pm

http://www.livestrong.com/article/47626 ... id-reflux/

go gluten free, just try it for one month, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain.
One month only, if you dont see a, improvement then you could say alltrac talking BS.

Postby Damien » May 18th, 2012, 6:31 pm

acid reflux could be cured without meds, those medications cause more damage than anything

what you eat, when and how much.

khandman

Postby khandman » May 18th, 2012, 7:28 pm

Just to share me personal experience. For years, i ate poorly, never on time and plenty pepper, curry etc. Used to use dica, zantac whenever it acted up and then once it passed in a few days, back to not eating on time etc. Any how, I have a very stressful job and in ending up Dec 2011 ( christmas week to be exact, was just feeling weak, heart racing off and stool was black for a couple days. Thought it was just stress. On boxing day, ended up in sfgh, no pain just the above symptoms. Spent almost 3 weeks in the hospital. Apparently, I was bleeding in my stomach and i did not know. By the time i did an endoscopy (southern medical while still warded) the bleeding had stopped. After receiving 4 pts blood cause blood count had dropped to 6, was discharged and put on nexium or pantecta(was given the choice) 40 mg for 3months.
It is now almost 5 mts since this ordeal and so far i am ok. I have drastically changed my lifestyle to avoid relapse. I hardly eat any oily, curry, pepper, or spicy food. 2beers maxium, always eating on time and plenty fruits especially apples and paw paw. The stress at work cannot be controlleed but my diet and choices can be and is most important. Oh just for perspective, I turned 28 while warded. The only issue that i have is the back of my neck is almost always sore.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 18th, 2012, 7:47 pm

cinco wrote:
Damien wrote:
cinco wrote:do you chew gum?
that was one of the worst irritants for my ulcers when they flared up
if i chew gum now once every 3 months thats plenty

yeah i chew gum a bit they say its good for acid reflux because saliva goes down in the stomach and dilutes the acid. i tried it and then didnt try it, the only thing i aint do yet is go by ah obeah man

hmm a doc told me the opposite
he said it flares more when i chew gum because my stomach thinks food is coming down so it starts producing acid to digest the food that it expects when all it gettin is spit and air...

^correcto

A nice tip is after a large meal chew a piece of gum, helps digestion and cleans the teeth pretty well

i used to suffer with h pilori which is basically a type of infection occurs when a type of bacteria called Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) infects your stomach, usually during childhood. A common cause of peptic ulcers, H. pylori infection is present in about half the people in the world.

Most people don't realize they have H. pylori infection, because they never get sick from it. If you develop signs and symptoms of a peptic ulcer, your doctor will probably test you for H. pylori infection, because it can be treated with antibiotics.

i got it pretty bad and my stomach was pretty shot. tried nexium and its side effects took its toll on me, stomach got inflamed and such

end up changing diet with a course of antibiotics and im pretty good now

zanemo

Postby zanemo » May 19th, 2012, 8:30 am

try this..... peel a medium sized potato ( aloo ) and grate it finely ...squeeze and drink the raw juice............. keep aloe vera plants close at hand and you can use this daily if needed, but do not swallow in chunks, grate finely and add some water to the liquefied gel....... lemons and limes, though highly acidic, are among the top ALKALIZING foods.... try to keep your diet as alkaline as possible..... you can google ALKALIZING FOODS.............................hope this helps

or you could try some of TCL strike camp food.... last Tuesday's lunch.... provision and salt fish ..... Waka could real cook.... Damien could hook yuh up :-)

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 1:15 pm

getting this acid reflux all of a sudden.. three days now.
apple cider vinegar working good. but it smells bad, yuck!

Postby noshownogo » July 21st, 2012, 2:26 pm

Had an attack a couple months back, never had it before. Got some Himalaya Himcocid and some tablets to take for a week.

Hope to never get it again that badly.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » July 21st, 2012, 8:45 pm

dok_tec wrote:pantecta is better than nexium maybe give it a try. other than the conditions mentioned before i was thinking about a hiatus hernia which would produce alot of your symptoms as well you would need to take a barium meal and xray for it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hiatal_hernia

A lot of people suffer from hiatal hernia and don't know.

There is no clinical evidence that shows pantoprazole significantly superior to esomeprazole or vice versa.

Aribabs

Postby Aribabs » December 3rd, 2013, 7:39 am

Use Digestive Enzymes with your meals. There are lots of good brands out there, ask the lady in the herbal store upstairs Town Centre mall.

My recommendations

1. Chnage your diet by eating less meat, chicken is very acidic. No processed foods like sausages, cheese, macaroni, anything that was made by man and slapped in a can, box or bag is processed.

2. Take Digestive Enzymes with your meals

3. Every morning have a glass of warm, not how water with a half lemonm squeezed in it.

4. Mix 1 teaspoon of baking soda in a glas of water and drink 3 times a day, half hour before meals. Doc told me that baking soda will turn an acidic body in no time. It taste awful, really awful but it works.

I no longer have acid reflux, and look I didn't use any drugs which really make the problem worse and only treats the symptoms.

Postby turbosingh » December 3rd, 2013, 8:34 am

noshownogo wrote:Had an attack a couple months back, never had it before. Got some Himalaya Himcocid and some tablets to take for a week.

Hope to never get it again that badly.

Explain more??Cuz i think i have the same feelings on my chest.I was rushed to the hospital cuz i felt i was having a heart attack .Same with u noshownogo?

Postby noshownogo » December 3rd, 2013, 9:04 am

Wasn't that bad that it warranted going to the hospital but it was all sorts of discomfort. From swallowing to sleeping.

In my case, lifestyle was the biggest factor. Poor diet (eating late at night with lots of spices and pepper), lack of exercise, not handling stress effectively and excessive drinking.

I went on the week long treatment prescribed by my pharmacist and changed my habits.

Never had it since.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » December 3rd, 2013, 9:11 am

i had the same problem. lack of sleep was my issue but it took many years of pain, trying countless things and a visit to farfan. Got some sleep aids and now im good. I was sleeping but not resting properly until i took something to sleep and felt the difference. Now I only take the sleep aids when i work nights to rest in the day.

xhex

Postby xhex » December 3rd, 2013, 10:40 am

its a situation that cannot be cured over night, you shouldn't be looking for a quick relief to something you yourself have caused. don't tell me you haven't, poor diet, stress, NOT ENOUGH WATER, and very little bathroom relief. grease from oily foods lines the stomach and when you decide to have a cold beer or soft drink, it causes that same oil to bone with your stomach and harden so when acid does start to act up it will break off easily and take away parts of your stomach lining as well.

but any way, the path to a future without it should start now. Get zantac effervescent tabs, they cost a lot but it does that which it should and you only have to take it twice a say, 2 as soon as you wake up and 2 before bed.

change your diet, i wont say jump into fruit right away if you're not a fruit person, but start off with paw paw, it helps repair the lining of your stomach. bananas should be in there as well, it will help you go off because the more crap you have stores in your intestines the more you are poisoning yourself. the same liquid that you supposed to pass out does return to the stomach when you don't get rid of it. that adding to your acid is a toxic problem.

DRINK LOTS OF WATER. can't stress that enough, always have water with you, don't have to have big gulps but sip ever so often. the body needs water so much more than you think. especially in this heat Trinidad does be kicking.

MORE veggies, less sugar, whole wheat instead of white bread, nuts (actual nuts not.... right eh!), green tea, or ginger (actual ginger, that you mince and let draw) tea is you're a tea person. leave coffee alone!

STOP STRESSING OUT! a relaxed mind and body is better than a aggravated one, your blood can turn acid during high points of stress, didn't you know that... (reference water)? try to laugh more, get proper sleep and keep that water flowing, eat more fruits and vegetables, i should mention exercise, but if you're not a exercise buff like me, talk walks at your own pace! cut down on that alcohol, release toxins from your body and you're realize headaches are less frequent, your skin will glow more, your overall well being will be different. you have a smart phone im sure, or an ipod or mp3 player... all trinis do. find some relaxing music to calm you. find the sounds of nature album, that keeps me asleep all night.
i know i sounded like an infomercial, but i was on a list for surgery of my stomach because my ulcers were about to be the death of me. i hated fruit and vegetables... you couldn't get me near a paw paw... i started on zantac effervescent to get the change started because it was literal hell and coughing up blood is no picnic. my mother said try the change for the two months before going to the surgery.

the change was not instant, it was gradual. the trick is to eat general fruit first, wait a half hour to 45 minutes. if your tummy starts growling start on water melon. cut it up so that you can eat it in parts through out your morning till its time for lunch... trust.. the water melon controls that acid level and fills you up. you might not even want to eat lunch when that time arrives. wait till you are ready, meanwhile preparing lunch that would have more veggies in it than meat and peas.

drink a glass of water half hour before eating lunch. (Subway should be your friend.) sip your water during and after lunch, water aids in digestion. hungry again? nuts, ground nuts, cashews etc. nuts can hold you off till you get home. here's the tricky part. some people might be ravenous by the time they get home, you acid may or may not be giving you a hard time, stomach may be growling or all things could be calm. Have soup with a boil egg or two, i like ramen. if you're not up to that, whole wheat, fry fish or cheese, nothing big or oily.... 3 hours before bed.

take that 2 zantac effervescent before going to sleep with a medium sized glass of water, you will wake during the night but not from acid reflux. Toilet. but you will notice the change that nothing in your chest is burning...

now remember, its not going to work immediately but you got to stick with it. besides, what else do you have to loose other than too much acid and toxins?

sheit... i now see how much i wrote. ha ha. sorry!

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 3rd, 2013, 11:31 am

Just to add my 2 cents.

I get acid reflux from time to time and it usually starts happening when I stop exercising.
From the time I start back exercising 3 times a week, I'm basically over it.
If I train really hard then I can actually "eat badly" and still not get any acid reflux.

In the end I believe that exercise has a lot to do with helping a person who suffers with the early stages of acid reflux, coupled with eating right and eating on time.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 3rd, 2013, 12:13 pm

glad this thread popped up i got acid reflux like 2 weeks ago had to get drips etc because i was in a mess.moving on.
since then the upsetness has passed but i still use zantac just in case however im now having a pain in my chest and back area,it feels like that feeling you get the day after you get punched or hit real hard it has eased up a bit but the feeling is still there...been feeling this pain like 4 days now i assume its gas but normally if i do get gas pain it goes in like less than a day time

anyone else had this?what did you take for it

xhex

Postby xhex » December 3rd, 2013, 2:52 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:glad this thread popped up i got acid reflux like 2 weeks ago had to get drips etc because i was in a mess.moving on.
since then the upsetness has passed but i still use zantac just in case however im now having a pain in my chest and back area,it feels like that feeling you get the day after you get punched or hit real hard it has eased up a bit but the feeling is still there...been feeling this pain like 4 days now i assume its gas but normally if i do get gas pain it goes in like less than a day time

That is gas. cut up some garlic and pour boiling water on it, let it draw for 5 minutes before drinking. this is not for taste, but that gas will move. repeat until the pain is no more.

konartis

Postby konartis » December 3rd, 2013, 3:21 pm

stop eating and drinking sheit....join a gym and do some cardio and aerobics get your blood pumping and sweat....post back in a week with the results....no quick fix cant cure years of bad habits....plain talk...

Aribabs

Postby Aribabs » December 3rd, 2013, 4:11 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:glad this thread popped up i got acid reflux like 2 weeks ago had to get drips etc because i was in a mess.moving on.

Try the remedy I stated above. If it doesn't work I will eat a live scorpion. Just kidding. But try it and tell me how it went. Digestive enzymes cost about $120 upstairs Town centre mall in POS, use for at least 3 months.. Use the baking soda water for 2 weeks only, after drinking it you will feel gas coming out your mouth and rear end eh. Drink it half hour before meals. Exercise.