San Fernando Grand Prix - Nov 14th 2010

Red Dawg

Re: San Fernando Grand Prix - Nov 14th 2010

Postby Red Dawg » November 12th, 2010, 3:37 pm

Team Loco wrote:well i was told i dont have the motorsport experience.

let me see:

competing in solodex since 1998. only missed 6 events
served on the executive of CARS for 3 yrs
participating in nav rallies since 1996 (although this does not apply)
one of Kamikaze's navigators in high speed stages
silently plotted virtually all nav rallies for TTRC last yr....for kamikaze

and .....i have no experience. but i will be at the briefing tonight. i still believe there are some good people invloved in the event. i will speak to them.

They want drivers with circuit racing experience.
That should be easy to get, if we had a circuit track with regular circuit racing meets.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 12th, 2010, 4:54 pm

We expect to be there from start to finish... as spectators of course. :D

Postby MG Man » November 12th, 2010, 6:25 pm

Red Dawg wrote:
djaggs wrote:Iwant to know y its called San Fernando Grand Prix and there are no Grand Prix cars in it. They need some marketing help or something?

what pray tell is a grand prix car, sir?
and following your logic / lack thereof, is a cycling grand prix a bicycle race with grand prix cars?????????????????????????????

Actually the phrase "Grand Prix" is French and simply means Grand Prize.
While all F1 races are now called Grand Prix's it does not mean that it solely refers to F1 cars.
The term Grand Prix's comes from the early days of motor racing, predating F1 when all of the big races were called Grand Prix's.

Just for those who did not know, this is not the first San Fernando Grand Prix.

I was hoping djaggs would figure it out himself :roll:

QG

Postby QG » November 12th, 2010, 6:37 pm

Bezman wrote:they couldnt find a better girl for the flyer??

Freal

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 12th, 2010, 9:21 pm

As long as they photoshopping the flyer, photoshop in some breassesess.
I have an ironing board with more curves than that.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 13th, 2010, 12:13 am

So, with such strict rules for entry, say I was to show up in something ridiculously special on the day.... eg. one of the few astons or ferraris floating around the country.. You saying they wont let me run?
They certainly would have to!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 13th, 2010, 12:14 am

Anyway why so much emphasis to roll cage? The course has about 3 turns if you can call it that, and the crowd have no protection whatsoever from the competitors cars, and they worried about rollcages?

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 13th, 2010, 7:02 am

OH be serious
You really questioning the need for a roll cage?
I may not agree with TTASA but the rules are basically the same anywhere in the world.
You cant expect to enter a race car in a sanctioned race without a roll cage, Be Serious.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 13th, 2010, 7:44 am

CD4Accord wrote:Anyway why so much emphasis to roll cage? The course has about 3 turns if you can call it that, and the crowd have no protection whatsoever from the competitors cars, and they worried about rollcages?

was at the venue until late last night with members of the city corp and a lot of work is being done..the track is lined with tires and barricades....safety is being put on top for this event....

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 13th, 2010, 8:49 am

If this turns out to be annual event, then I will consider building a circuit race car.
I looking for an up to date copy of the TTASA rule book regarding the classifications and categories for the cars.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 13th, 2010, 10:10 am

CD4Accord wrote:So, with such strict rules for entry, say I was to show up in something ridiculously special on the day.... eg. one of the few astons or ferraris floating around the country.. You saying they wont let me run?
They certainly would have to!

So what you are saying is because you have a carbon fiber bike it automatically qualifies you entry in the Tour De France?
i see your logic

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 13th, 2010, 11:12 am

Rules are rules
If the rules say that you must run a roll cage, then you must run a roll cage.
If you can afford to run an Aston or a Ferrari, certainly you can afford a roll cage.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 13th, 2010, 11:29 am

either way, you cannot just show up on the day and run.
There were numerous driver training sessions and seminars over the past few days and weeks and your car had to be scrutineered at the scrutineering event held lat week Saturday

the car and driver had to meet certain standards to be able to compete

if you were to show up with an Aston or a Ferrari as you mentioned, they may let you drive slowly around the course during the exotic car parade. Certainly not to race.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 13th, 2010, 11:30 am

the Official Itinerary has been added

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 13th, 2010, 11:54 am

Does anyone have a list of the drivers names and the vehicles they are competing in?

Postby wagonrunner » November 13th, 2010, 11:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:either way, you cannot just show up on the day and run.
There were numerous driver training sessions and seminars over the past few days and weeks and your car had to be scrutineered at the scrutineering event held lat week Saturday

if you were to show up with an Aston or a Ferrari as you mentioned, they may let you drive slowly around the course during the exotic car parade. Certainly not to race.

Correct. like this, which passed inspection

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 13th, 2010, 12:00 pm

WTF? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 13th, 2010, 12:31 pm

I want meh royalties for that pic, eh wagonrunner. lol :P
But seriously, that can't be safe at all. Hopefully this car did not pass, for safety of the driver and others around. For the least, it should be modified to pass inspection befor the actual event.

Postby wagonrunner » November 13th, 2010, 12:40 pm

zodiaque wrote:I want meh royalties for that pic, eh wagonrunner. lol :P
But seriously, that can't be safe at all. Hopefully this car did not pass, for safety of the driver and others around. For the least, it should be modified to pass inspection befor the actual event.

yeah man, yeah man, we go deal with that before d race start, doh hutt up yuh head, *swigs malibu & orange juice (ran out of pine)*

and yuh "royalties" will be there meng.
Porn Star wrote:WTF? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

this is one grand priX, where yuh have to place the emphasis on the X, when yuh pronouncing it.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 13th, 2010, 12:44 pm

Porn Star wrote:WTF? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

OMG
That passed inspection
There is no protection between the driver and the fuel cell.
The fuel cell is not properly or permanently mounted, Nylon straps are not a fuel cell mount.
There is a sharp metal edge below the plastic fuel cell.
Fuel spills are not contained and will fall directly on the hot exhaust.
The location of the fuel cell means that the fuel cell has to be filled from inside the driver compartment.
and thats just from the one picture, I would hate to see the rest of this car.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 13th, 2010, 12:51 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the Official Itinerary has been added

what's the mayor's marathon by chance?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 13th, 2010, 12:55 pm

starting at city hall and ending in skinner park i believe

Postby wagonrunner » November 13th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Dawgie.
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=0&t=338710&p=4868011&hilit=loophole#p4868011
link wrote:It's an FIA/NACAM training course....certification recognised worldwide
the protocol regarding FIA licences & ASNs communicating with each other is a different issue.

the safety standards probably have the same communication protocol problem.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 13th, 2010, 1:28 pm

I suppose that passing scrutineering depends on you affiliation.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 13th, 2010, 1:45 pm

Porn Star wrote:Does anyone have a list of the drivers names and the vehicles they are competing in?

rampie4u

Postby rampie4u » November 13th, 2010, 10:07 pm

is there going to be live TV coverage of this event ?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 13th, 2010, 11:05 pm

So, two sets of tyre walls about 6 feet apart is the crowd protection... I am not convinced...

Anyway, at least the racers go be safe with their roll cages... What can I say

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 13th, 2010, 11:15 pm

CD4Accord wrote:So, two sets of tyre walls about 6 feet apart is the crowd protection... I am not convinced...

Anyway, at least the racers go be safe with their roll cages... What can I say

Just passed there.
There are concrete highway dividers behind the tyre walls on the side by Laughlin.
They seem to be putting up wire fences as well.

I still not convinced though.

speedadict

Postby speedadict » November 14th, 2010, 3:11 am

(short pants + slippers + vest + Alcohol) - (roll cage -helmet - extinguisher) X (ferrari/aston martin x more Alcohol (to share)) = YOU RACING

professor

Postby professor » November 14th, 2010, 6:43 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:either way, you cannot just show up on the day and run.

Correct. like this, which passed inspection

This did not pass inspection!!!!! A lot of drivers brought their unfinished cars to meet the stipulated deadline. They were given a list of defects, on completion of the repairs, they are to contact the competition chairman, who, would arrange for a re-inspection.