Animal Pak wrote:personally i fine offshore on a platform is prison.....
yea d food bess 'at times'
d money nice and they wash ur clothes
buh how much direc tv yuh could watch? how much cards yuh could play
and how much bs yuh could talk with the same ppl over and over again
mindxlabz wrote:noobie wrote:mindxlabz wrote:and money isnt everything. you would envy other people who have families.
noobie, please define YOUR version of being a looser or loser however you want to call it, or what loosing means in your book?
Thank you.
Skanky wrote:geodude at the end of the day you have to make the decision and you have to live with it so you have to decide which aspect of your life takes priority.
If your woman used to work offshore and you staying on land, more than a week would pass before your mind start to stray and you looking to brush outside ting? Now imagine six weeks and how a wife would feel.
janfar wrote:noobie... sadly that is how almost all Trini's (inexperienced to the life) thinks. And its why most ppl tend to not like the job... their inability to live without a enclosed social circle deters them from jobs like this... which is better for the guys that can handle it... Then most want to know why they have a white man/ expat working for them and getting big house and car, not to mention families accomocation and schooling paid for. Its because they made their sacrifice early...
Once i go to a country and I can get internet and a good gym im good. When im home i do everything i can when i can because i can...
tfm34 wrote:i think that most men have questioned there presence offshore at some point in time. for me finding the right person to share life with has enhanced the rewards of working a rotation. it took me a while to get there and cost me in terms of relationships but it was worth it. i feel that if you were to get into a regular rotation with equal time you would fell more comfortable. the job is only a means to provide for the family. the family is the focus not the job. in this type of job you need to carefull evaluate ppl and look for those that have the same focus, values and goals that you do. and time is what will eventually expose peoples hearts to you. one makes a living by what one gets, one makes a life by what one gives.
janfar wrote:Lol 35days... picnic on the beach... it have men whose rotation are 9/2 and myself that does 3 weeks home followed by unknown time out (not in TT) Right now im on day 40 and will be out till just before christmas...
kimerly wrote:Hey I really not sure what field I looking to go into.. I just know thats what I want to do. I did the Pre Sea course from UTT and the Bosiet from Falck Nutec...and now I'm going to do the Maritime Training from Ensafe.. I just want to get into the door.get some experience,really like the Maritime field so willing to work from the bottom up.
Triniclub.com wrote:Whats the average salary like. I'm hearing how offshore pays well....... Wanna see some figures if y'all don't mind
geodude wrote:Animal Pak wrote:personally i fine offshore on a platform is prison.....
yea d food bess 'at times'
d money nice and they wash ur clothes
buh how much direc tv yuh could watch? how much cards yuh could play
and how much bs yuh could talk with the same ppl over and over again
very different view here we are so different dude
i guess you used to work on the same rig constantly,
i jump from rig to rig some times during one hitch i may visit about 3 rigs, because there is always a problem which the office says they need my expertise on.
Since i have been in Brazil its only ultra deep water projects i have been on all in excess of 2000m water depths and trust me these new drill ships in the game yo.
A few wells i have done are even in waters over 3500m deep, its a whole different ball came when operating with these water depths,
and like i said i am loner so apart form the times where its necessary to speak to the driller of give answers to someone, i usually don't speak to anyone.
I am the only senior person i know that works night shift, the reason, well i prefer to look over the reports of the Junior persons before i submit them so i won't have to answer questions about their mistakes, and most importantly, night shift requires very little human interaction, i have gone weeks without having more than 2 minute conversations with ppl,
Finish work at 6, give hand over, eat and i sleeping by 6:30 yo, get up at 5:30 bathe and work again, this is the best part, for me life is simple out here, we are hare to work, everyone has their job to do and then you go home, life and work are extremely isolated and shouldn't mix,
shaun04 wrote:jus saw this thread and was wondering wat's d average salary for an offshore worker a month
geodude wrote:you are correct am in Mudlogging, i is ah Data eng