Watch Netflix in Trinidad on PS3,PC, XBOX 360, etc.

iDynamic

Re: Watch Netflix in Trinidad on PS3,PC, XBOX 360, etc.

Postby iDynamic » September 6th, 2011, 3:43 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Duane, i dont agree that Netflix has a great listing of movies available to US viewers. Matter of fact its content is primarily old i find. Had it for 6 months an ended up deleting it.

Hope this VUDU i now gonna install is much better than Netflix.

Well vudu has the most recent movies but their prices per movie is ridiculous , sometimes $21.99 us per movie , madness ....but hulu plus and netflix has a great unlimited collection for only $7.99 ...you would get more for your money using those ...

Only dis advantage with netflix You will find movies in 2011 but it won't be those Bess movies that was in cinema recently ..that was disappointing for me but I mainly watch documentaries and action on Netflix for hours and hours , works great especially with the curfew

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2011, 5:04 pm

^ and it's going to get even worst for netflix since STARZ pulled out from listing movies on netflix. STARZ was one of the bigger suppliers of new movies to netflix up until now.

sharkman121 wrote:Duane, i dont agree that Netflix has a great listing of movies available to US viewers. Matter of fact its content is primarily old i find. Had it for 6 months an ended up deleting it.

yuh misunderstand what I said

Netflix in Canada has even less movies than in the US. SO I was saying that we may also get a limited selection as well in T&T.

So if you think the US selection is bad, it's even worst in Canada and soon to be in the Caribbean.

I agree netflix has old movies, but that's why I also have Vudu!!!
I used to buy movies on bluray that I want to see. That was until I got vudu, now I just buy titles that I want to collect and watch the movies I want to see on Vudu for a fraction of the cost of a bluray disc that I may never watch more than once.

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2011, 5:12 pm

yuh misunderstand what I said

Netflix in Canada has even less movies than in the US. SO I was saying that we may also get a limited selection as well in T&T.

So if you think the US selection is bad, it's even worst in Canada and soon to be in the Caribbean.

I agree netflix has old movies, but that's why I also have Vudu!!!
I used to buy movies on bluray that I want to see. That was until I got vudu, now I just buy titles that I want to collect and watch the movies I want to see on Vudu for a fraction of the cost of a bluray disc that I may never watch more than once.

How much is a movie on vudu? Does it work through your tv via playstation or xbox? Or is it only through the computer? I won't mind checking it out. What's the price of a movie?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 6th, 2011, 5:53 pm

I have it for my ps3 ....saw some standard def movies to rent from about $3.99 the highest price I saw was about $22

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2011, 7:06 pm

It works on your PS3 and some newer TV's and bluray players have vudu and netflix built in.

Vudu to rent a movie for 24hrs
SD - $2.99
HD - $3.99
HDX - $4.99

To buy (you can watch it as many times as you like forever) may be around
SD - $14.99
HD - $19.99
HDX - $19.99

There are daily specials with a 99c movie each day.

SD = 480i
HD = 720p
HDX = 1080p and 5.1 audio

Read more about HDX here
http://supports.vudu.com/questions/209/What+is+HDX%3F

ALL of this is streaming - there is nothing to download to watch a movie and it starts playing immediately

daquijones

Postby daquijones » September 6th, 2011, 7:23 pm

this may sound off topic but has anyone been able to sign up for hulu plus???

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 6th, 2011, 7:26 pm

can anyone recommend a bluray/dvd/netflix device to use netflix?

anybody with hands-on experience? i need to get netflix in the bedroom tv, i was gonna buy another PS3 because of the WIFI, but I guess I can possibly run a wired connection

what are my options?
looking at cheaper than a PS3, easy to use control for browsing - with the PS3 control its so easy
price- not more than a PS3, otherwise i'll just buy a PS3
WIFI is a plus

i'll be in MIA weekend, so i want to pick this up one time

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » September 6th, 2011, 7:36 pm

you have a laptop with intel wireless display?

you can just buy the netgear push2tv (100us) and stream wirelessly from ur laptop to ur tv in full 1080p

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2011, 8:08 pm

^ the laptop and push2TV is not at all as elegant as a standalone BD player, PS3 or TV with netflix and vudu built in.

it's for his bedroom and the last thing he'll want is have to start up a PC, run software then try to get the signal on the TV tralalalalalaaaa.

Just like cable TV, you want to turn on your TV and cable box and it's there, running already. EASY!

Check these BD players with Netflix and Vudu and other built in
http://reviews.cnet.com/blu-ray-dvd-pla ... _20137177_

the PS3 IMO is the best since it is forward compatible with upcoming streaming services since they will just have it as a new app to download - but it might be overkill for a bedroom.

and yeah try to go wired gigabit to the PS3 or BD player. While wireless will exceed the bandwidth of your net connection (for now) its always good to ensure you have max bandwidth when streaming HD video.

daquijones wrote:this may sound off topic but has anyone been able to sign up for hulu plus???
hulu plus is tough for us to sign up for because you MUST have a US based credit card

I paid a relative the US$ in cash and used their credit card to sign up for hulu plus

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2011, 8:30 pm

Thanks for the info on the vulu, I'll try it out. Unfortunately my HDTV isn't able to run it. I'll have to use my PS3 :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2011, 11:09 pm

Stephon. wrote:Thanks for the info on the vulu, I'll try it out. Unfortunately my HDTV isn't able to run it. I'll have to use my PS3 :|
it's VUDU, not VULU

www.vudu.com

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2011, 11:12 pm

Stephon. wrote:Thanks for the info on the vulu, I'll try it out. Unfortunately my HDTV isn't able to run it. I'll have to use my PS3 :|
it's VUDU, not VULU

http://www.vudu.com

Thats what I meant :lol:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 7th, 2011, 9:17 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the laptop and push2TV is not at all as elegant as a standalone BD player, PS3 or TV with netflix and vudu built in.

it's for his bedroom and the last thing he'll want is have to start up a PC, run software then try to get the signal on the TV tralalalalalaaaa.

Just like cable TV, you want to turn on your TV and cable box and it's there, running already. EASY!

^ what duane said

i just wanna touch the remote button, like what i usually do with the PS3, tv comes on and automatically switches to
the appropriate channel

i guess i'll go with another PS3 then

i like this
http://reviews.cnet.com/blu-ray-players ... 68899.html

Product type: Blu-ray player
Streaming service: Samsung Apps Netflix Vudu YouTube Pandora Blockbuster Twitter
Network connection: Built-in Wi-Fi

but for the price, i might as well buy a PS3

btw i tried netflix on a WII recently, the app itself is slow, the connection is slow, the controls are not as easy to browse as the PS3 either

Postby sharkman121 » September 7th, 2011, 9:30 am

Thing is...with vudu, its strictly movies? There arent any television series or free movies?

So the least ull pay is $20 tt to watch a movie in SD (except for the 99c specials)?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2011, 10:24 am

^ Vudu has alot of TV show series including Top gear, House, Law & Order etc
http://www.vudu.com/movies/#browse/type ... t-watched/

Vudu also has some of the latest movies (non-pirated). They get most movies legally the same day they are released on bluray.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 7th, 2011, 10:39 am

no HOUSE on netflix :(

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 7th, 2011, 10:40 am

just got off the phone with Netflix, just to confirm, Trinidad will get service on the 12th of September, for same price as U.S monthly subscription, and the Trinidad library is the same as the U.S library as per what the customer service girl said. And their Starz contract is up in February and they're looking for another lucrative deal.

daquijones

Postby daquijones » September 7th, 2011, 11:50 pm

daquijones wrote:this may sound off topic but has anyone been able to sign up for hulu plus???
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:hulu plus is tough for us to sign up for because you MUST have a US based credit card

I paid a relative the US$ in cash and used their credit card to sign up for hulu plus

on a scale of 1 - 10...how would u rate hulu plus as opposed to netflix or vudu based on ur experience???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2011, 1:24 am

Hulu Plus is for TV shows
http://www.hulu.com/plus#compare

Netflix and vudu do not compare to Hulu Plus for TV show series etc.
and Hulu cannot compare to Netflix and Vudu for movies and Netflix can't compare to Vudu for new movies.

honestly you need Netflix, vudu and Hulu Plus all together

they each have content that the other doesnt have - there is currently no all round solution that has everything

copper_shot wrote:no HOUSE on netflix :(
house is on vudu and hulu plus

daquijones

Postby daquijones » September 11th, 2011, 7:47 pm

mojosodope wrote:just got off the phone with Netflix, just to confirm, Trinidad will get service on the 12th of September, for same price as U.S monthly subscription, and the Trinidad library is the same as the U.S library as per what the customer service girl said. And their Starz contract is up in February and they're looking for another lucrative deal.

u serious??? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2011, 7:57 pm

According to numerous blogs (As recent as August 2011) the netflix Canada content is limited compared to the US - I doubt the T&T content would be better than the Canada content.

http://www.google.tt/search?rlz=1C1____ ... 05&bih=815

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » September 11th, 2011, 8:10 pm

blame canada...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2011, 8:21 pm

^

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 11th, 2011, 10:51 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:.

hulu plus is tough for us to sign up for because you MUST have a US based credit card

Give this a try https://www.entropay.com/

starscream00

Postby starscream00 » September 12th, 2011, 1:55 am

netflix is available now, i just checked on my ps3 and my computer....anyone gonna try it out?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2011, 1:57 am

^ good to know

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 12th, 2011, 8:36 pm

thelem wrote:Agreed.^^ Now i can cancel my USVIDEO subscription if the Netflix content is the same.

However guys, this could not come at a better time for some of FLOW's customers. Flow is going to increase their movie package rates very soon. So for some of you all, Netflix maybe a viable option.

im trying to sign up but it keeps telling me invalid credit card number?

what to do?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 12th, 2011, 9:05 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
thelem wrote:Agreed.^^ Now i can cancel my USVIDEO subscription if the Netflix content is the same.

However guys, this could not come at a better time for some of FLOW's customers. Flow is going to increase their movie package rates very soon. So for some of you all, Netflix maybe a viable option.

im trying to sign up but it keeps telling me invalid credit card number?

what to do?

Try pay pal? If you have a pay pal account

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 12th, 2011, 9:06 pm

not seeing that option on ps3

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 12th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Alright as of now, the current selection is not as good as the U.S one and a lot of the stuff has spanish subtitles even if you select no subtitles and some shows such as The Office, is in complete spanish, at least from what I checked out.

This will NOT work on your xbox 360 or LG Netcast apps yet, as they have not been updated for compatibility etc. Support told me that the Wii and PS3 and some Samsung TV'S might work along with the western digital tv live plus.