Flow Internet Thread

Re: Slow FLOW

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 7th, 2011, 1:17 pm

used to get 500KB/s a second, last week all i was gettin was 15KB/s max.... but like you guys have it worse than me.. even with torrents with over 1000 seeds,

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » February 7th, 2011, 1:21 pm

sudesh wrote:dude, that is painfully slow. I have the same 5mb Flow connection as you and my download speeds with torrents usually are between. 500-600kbps, sometimes over. Also, what is important is looking at the number of seeds the torrent has...

exactly, torrents will be slow if the number of leechers are higher than the number of seeders, even with the highest internet speed. do like everyone and buy pirated dvds if all else fails.

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2011, 1:33 pm

other downloads working good? like from download.com?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 7th, 2011, 1:43 pm

http://www.johntp.com/2006/04/19/how-to ... -utorrent/

i did some of the the stuff here but saw no improvement

tool-band

Postby tool-band » February 7th, 2011, 1:53 pm

guys flow is throttling p2p downloads any other down load works fine the best solution is
the TOR browser.

Tor is a system intended to enable online anonymity, composed of client software and a network of servers which can hide information about users' locations and other factors which might identify them. Use of this system makes it more difficult to trace internet traffic to the user, including visits to Web sites, online posts, instant messages, and other communication forms.[5] It is intended to protect users' personal freedom, privacy, and ability to conduct confidential business, by keeping their internet activities from being monitored.[6] The software is open-source and the network is free of charge to use.

http://www.torproject.org/projects/torbrowser.html.en

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 7th, 2011, 1:54 pm

did none of this mentioned, and im getting 27 - 35 kBps now on the same file...28.1%

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2011, 2:06 pm

i downloaded torrents on flow about 2 weeks ago at about 300-500 kilobytes/s without issues- if u use encryption in utorrent does it work?

Postby M_2NR » February 7th, 2011, 2:59 pm

been hearing torrents not working well. TBH i never use torrents. Rapidshare/FS/HF and Usenets FTMFW.

I /hate/ waiting for seeds. Now if you using private trackers for torrents... then yuh talking but I bet most trini's will just be a leecher and never seed :? i hope ulyuh not like that :|

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » February 7th, 2011, 3:40 pm

Strangely I've noticed quite the opposite... My torrents d/l at up to 500-600KB/s on the same package. The upload seems to have increased significantly as well... getting >100KB/s upload.
Anyone know if they upgraded the package to 5Mb/s down and 1Mb/s up?

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » February 7th, 2011, 3:40 pm

which area are you guys getting throttled??

Postby wagonrunner » February 7th, 2011, 3:47 pm

Terabyte wrote:Strangely I've noticed quite the opposite... My torrents d/l at up to 500-600KB/s on the same package. The upload seems to have increased significantly as well... getting >100KB/s upload.
Anyone know if they upgraded the package to 5Mb/s down and 1Mb/s up?

yup to 5 down 1 up. been so a while now. maybe christmas.

i too have no issues wiith torrents.
ddint have to do any simidimi with meh router, or pc configs either. just one simple port forward. and ll machines can pull happily on that port.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 7th, 2011, 6:45 pm

just got home, the file is done... :mrgreen:

Postby pete » February 7th, 2011, 7:00 pm

Where yall getting your torrents from? I've found since I started to use demonoid to get torrents I always get fast downloads. Torrents from other websites have varying success.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 7th, 2011, 7:02 pm

just saw a maximum of 13 kbps there for a while but back to 1.2 :?

and did the port forwarding to this laptop still ridiculously slow

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 7th, 2011, 7:55 pm

getting 100 kBps using utorrent to dl zietgeist moving forward...

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 7th, 2011, 7:56 pm

I'm glad other people are noticing this.

There's definitely something going on with flow and torrents, atleast in my area.

The best way to test it is to download ubuntu or fedora from torrents that you know are well seeded and can easily max out any consumer internet connection.

Postby Stephon. » February 7th, 2011, 8:26 pm

ITT: Public Torrent Site Users :|

If my limit wasn't set to 1000kb/s I would be on 2.4MB/s

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 7th, 2011, 8:32 pm

blink I sure fkn worse....is months now the damn thing slow!!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 7th, 2011, 8:33 pm

blink I sure fkn worse....is months now the damn thing slow!!!!

Postby Stephon. » February 7th, 2011, 8:36 pm

ent^ BTW for those of you that SWEAR flow is the enemy, go to preferences > bittorrent and change the option to Forced.

sudesh

Postby sudesh » February 7th, 2011, 8:55 pm

Flow upload speeds really improve to 1MB

Postby Stephon. » February 7th, 2011, 9:23 pm

Hey guys, just passing through.

EDIT: I am an idiot, i completely forget there was a BluRay version of this movie out, also have anyone seen you're cut off???

sudesh

Postby sudesh » February 7th, 2011, 9:41 pm

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 8th, 2011, 12:15 am

things looking normal on my side

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » February 8th, 2011, 9:26 pm

pc has been dmz-ed and port forwarded

in the st augustine area

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2011, 9:29 pm

ragzinc wrote:pc has been dmz-ed and port forwarded

in the st augustine area

as it dmz'd, where would it be forwarding the port to?

Postby Stephon. » February 8th, 2011, 10:23 pm

What is DMZ :?

Postby wagonrunner » February 8th, 2011, 10:32 pm

Stephon. wrote:What is DMZ :?

a spot on your local network, that is not shielded by your router.
meaning anything / anyone on the internet can contact / connect to it, unless the devices there are using their own firewalls, and not depending on the router for that purpose.

Postby Stephon. » February 8th, 2011, 10:52 pm

So it's basically port forwarding?

Postby wagonrunner » February 9th, 2011, 7:29 am

Stephon. wrote:So it's basically port forwarding?

if ubuntu is basically windows, because they both let you power up a machine, and surf the net, then yeah.

port forwarding, exposes and maps specific custom ports on your machine, to specific custom ports on your routers internet interface.