IMAX in Trinidad & Tobago

Humes

Re: IMAX Is Coming To Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Humes » April 11th, 2011, 8:48 am

Alyuh does act in here like the only time to go to cinemas is when they packed up. Trincity cinema is a breeze once yuh doh go on a Friday or weekend.

That whole idea of a cinema big lime doh appeal to me anymore. If I goin a cinema, is to see the movie. And quite a few people think this way. Nobody goin cinema on a Monday night tuh form de ass.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 11th, 2011, 9:07 am

^^^that is when the probability of people having the time to seek entertainment is higher. Most of us already so busy during the week and the only time we get for ourselves especially knowing that the next day is not a working day is on a friday and saturday...unfortunately I fall into this cat and those are the times that are real busy.

But I haven't been to cinema in a while and would love to see the perceived extra space on a Monday, wednesday and thursday night.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 11th, 2011, 9:35 am

I think it's much more a tradition/perception thing than an available time thing. People does find time to do all kinda ting during the week. A cinema lime not that time-consuming anymore, especially since double features done.

Liming when everyone else limes turns recreation into a chore...something exhausting. Once I hadda plan and pack and pick up and coordinate and push and line up tuh "enjoy myself", I rather stay home.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 12th, 2011, 11:11 am

when MovieTowne open, ppl bawl "oh lard...$45 to see ONE movie..we go ded....etc"..
..and now dem same ppl going MT every weekend..

National still bess up now tho...

Postby teems1 » April 12th, 2011, 11:13 am

KURMAman wrote:when MovieTowne open, ppl bawl "oh lard...$45 to see ONE movie..we go ded....etc"..
..and now dem same ppl going MT every weekend..

National still bess up now tho...

was $35 when it opened initially if i remem correctly

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 12th, 2011, 12:58 pm

Trinidadians are firetruck cheap no arse :lol: Get with the times people. If food could be priced around the same as the US, then a movie, zoo, drag racing, etc should be priced around the same.. Inflation in allyuh MC :lol:

WTF could ah $100 buy in Trinidad? That could barely buy yuh 2 burger & ah stag

varung

Postby varung » April 12th, 2011, 1:52 pm

i;ve seen 2 films one was a national geographic doc. on Grand Canyon. there is nothing like this out there now.

if they charge $100ttd a tic, I DEY ! and so will a lot of middle income and upward trinis.
Guntas in MT years now, you can't block dem from no where.

Postby stev » April 12th, 2011, 3:47 pm

sigh...bring back globe cinema... :(

Humes

Postby Humes » April 12th, 2011, 6:07 pm

Globe went somewhere?

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » April 12th, 2011, 8:22 pm

Cant wait, been waiting for one of these since i moved over here from London a couple odd years ago :D

todd61

Postby todd61 » May 10th, 2011, 8:41 pm

this open yet?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 10th, 2011, 10:21 pm

Digicel IMAX Theatre wrote:This is a response from a representative of the Digicel IMAX Theatre Trinidad & Tobago. This serves to advise that the ticket price for 3D films will be approximately $75.00 with discounted tickets for students.

One Woodbrook Place also has sufficent parking within its facility.

The screen will be 40 x 70 feet meeting requirements and our building capacity and everything will be approved by IMAX thus lending to a genuine IMAX experience.

Please feel free to ask any questions and we will answer in a timely manner.

Thank you,
Digicel IMAX Theatre, Trinidad

I was at OWP yesterday however I didn't see any directions leading to the theater, I know you all aren't open yet so:

1. Where exactly in OWP are you all located?
2. What is the opening date?
3. The underground car park was a little too much on the dark side (I was there at 2PM)

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2011, 4:50 pm

hoverauto wrote:A very good source tell me Digicel sponsor the IMAX screen for One Woodbrook Place at a cost of over 1 Million USD. Fack you Digicel, you pelting out that kinda money for screen and all you giving the general public is a measly $20 top up free. Steups......

20$ * say 500000 customers = $10,000,000 cud b more than that :D

Digicel IMAX Theatre

Postby Digicel IMAX Theatre » May 16th, 2011, 3:56 pm

Hi all,

We will be located on the 2nd floor.
There will be additional lighting in the car park
We will be opening in time for the July/ August vacation.

Thank you!
Digicel IMAX

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » May 16th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Digicel IMAX Theatre wrote:Hi all,

Thank you!
Digicel IMAX

well i eh read through the entire thread but what about security?

rossi

Postby rossi » May 16th, 2011, 5:23 pm

so tickets are what....$75 and up?

No scene, once the same ppl who actually go there don't complain about food prices being too high in the sweet T&T.

noobie

Postby noobie » May 16th, 2011, 7:26 pm

This may be unjustified, but I have a real concern about security at One Woodbrook Place. I've been told that the car park is not well lit, and there are plenty dark holes.

Sad when for a new business that under normal circumstances I would love to go to, my primary concern is Crime.Not cost, quality, what they going to be showing first...but worried about car getting stolen, or getting robbed. Sucks. :-\

Postby redmanjp » May 17th, 2011, 1:44 am

Digicel IMAX Theatre wrote:Hi all,

Thank you!
Digicel IMAX

i'm assuming in time for Transformers 3D? :D

xaira

Postby xaira » May 17th, 2011, 11:57 am

thought u wudda b open in time for pirates, was so looking forward to seeing it in imax : (, at least in movietowne i can get a chicken combo

Postby Stephon. » May 17th, 2011, 12:13 pm

hoverauto wrote:A very good source tell me Digicel sponsor the IMAX screen for One Woodbrook Place at a cost of over 1 Million USD. Fack you Digicel, you pelting out that kinda money for screen and all you giving the general public is a measly $20 top up free. Steups......

:lol: Not to mention they cut the commission of the people actually selling Digicel phone cards by 0.5% sometime last year, around the time they started all their Lady Blah Blah promos.

Wizard

Postby Wizard » May 17th, 2011, 1:18 pm

oh gosh

allyuh does go palladium on the regular

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2011, 12:12 am

SO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 24th, 2011, 12:58 am

Digicel Imax Trinidad

We are excited to open the Digicel IMAX doors to you. We are finishing up the last stages of construction and we are aiming to open to show Transformers. However if there is any change in schedule we will advise ASAP. Later this week we will post updates on opening and also procedure to reserve and book tickets. Thank you for your patience!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2011, 1:20 am

Stephon. wrote:

:lol: Not to mention they cut the commission of the people actually selling Digicel phone cards by 0.5% sometime last year, around the time they started all their Lady Blah Blah promos.
if they give $20 to the 300,000+ Digicel subscribers that is 1 Million USD too :idea: 8-)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 24th, 2011, 2:48 am

must monitor this closely......the opening that is.

Postby stev » June 24th, 2011, 3:10 am

ai...dat be true

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » June 24th, 2011, 3:16 am

transformers coming out soon...got to monitor this closely

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 24th, 2011, 3:40 am

I think July 1st in T&T??? I know it's carded for June 29th in US....

Postby redmanjp » June 24th, 2011, 4:39 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:I think July 1st in T&T??? I know it's carded for June 29th in US....

next week friday? cyah wait :) :D

Shio

Postby Shio » June 24th, 2011, 6:46 am

taken from facebook the screen