HBO series: House of the Dragon

pyromaniax

Re: HBO new series: Game of Thrones

Postby pyromaniax » July 8th, 2011, 11:41 pm

i read the season not starting back until next year april... i cant wait so long .... WTB the books

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 8th, 2011, 11:45 pm

I'm not sure if the books go along with the seasons as in book 1 to season 1 and so on but I have never even heard of these books before and watching the first season makes me want to actually read the damn things because thats a long ass time to wait. It's an on going book series too the writer is due to release another installment next week I think and theres one or two after that one. If ratings keep up which it probably will, this could be another Entourage or Sopranos HBO has going on here

Postby Mark! » July 9th, 2011, 1:09 am

Series called A Song of Ice and Fire

1. A Game of Thrones

2. A Clash of Kings

3. A Storm of Swords

A Feast for Crows

4. A Dance with Dragons

5. The Winds of Winter

6. A Dream of Spring

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 9th, 2011, 10:04 am

mojosodope wrote:I'm not sure if the books go along with the seasons as in book 1 to season 1 and so on but I have never even heard of these books before and watching the first season makes me want to actually read the damn things because thats a long ass time to wait. It's an on going book series too the writer is due to release another installment next week I think and theres one or two after that one. If ratings keep up which it probably will, this could be another Entourage or Sopranos HBO has going on here

yes the series follow the books. Season 1 was the entire 1st book and ended the same way the book did.

of course a lot of information was left out and not all the scenes were exactly what happened in the book.

1 example is when Tyrion got knocked the fcuk out at the start of the battle and missed the whole damn thing. :?
i dunno if they were trying to save money or time in that scene but that's not what happened in the book.

Martin has asked for 2 seasons to be dedicated to the 2nd book so i dunno if that will happen.

but if u like the series, do urself a favour and read the books...

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 9th, 2011, 10:07 am

the scene with Catelyn talkin to Jamie when he was tied up to the post and she hit him with a rock didnt happen in book 1 either... that was in book 2

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 9th, 2011, 10:45 am

they put some of the stuff in book 2 in season one due to the way the show was produced, everything was done on purpose and some of the major characters that were left out in season one are going to be in season 2,
http://gameofthrones.wikia.com/wiki/Game_of_Thrones_Wiki

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 9th, 2011, 11:32 am

yea i know..

its a awesome series and an even better set of books :D

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 9th, 2011, 11:36 am

this isn't like other books where the good guy is 1 person ...

I'm guessing its an evolving series ..which kinda mirror's life and the choices ppl make ..

*sigh* i need to start from book 1 .. and continue ..

this show has me so interested now in the books .. and i'm never like this .. i usually read the book then watch the show ..

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » July 9th, 2011, 11:58 am

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 9th, 2011, 12:15 pm

or if u have a kindle send me a PM :D

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 9th, 2011, 3:17 pm

$9 USD on iBooks per book :|

Humes

Postby Humes » July 10th, 2011, 1:19 am

mitch wrote:Martin has asked for 2 seasons to be dedicated to the 2nd book so i dunno if that will happen.

Not the second book. The third. The second book will be one season, most likely ten episodes like the first. He just finished writing the Battle of Blackwater episode, which he had to cut down a bit of course...unfortunately. If handled properly, most of the books can be done in a season. Book 3 might take a longer season, 15 episodes or so. There's a lot that can be cut without really hurting the main story.

The series follows the books very closely. The main difference is that some character development that takes place in later books, starts taking place from early in the show. Best example is Jaime: In the books he's barely actually seen for the first two books. He's mostly spoken about, and in totally negative terms. It's only in Book 3 that you start to see the inner conflict he has with regards to his status as the man who killed the last king.

And that's how it is with most characters in the novels: You feel you know them, but they surprise you.

As someone said higher up, there really aren't any main good guys or bad guys. It's just complex characters with realistic motivations in a trying situation. You will find yourself backing Starks, Lannisters, Tyrells, Baratheons...alyuh have a lot to see still. :lol:

Postby DFC » July 10th, 2011, 10:07 am

yunno every episode haz a name..
allyuh make life easy nah.

i watch some episodes last night..it was good actually.
it haz dragons and nekkid wimmen. !!

ohh..and a midget!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 14th, 2011, 11:25 am

Here, here! Game of Thrones has been nominated for 13 Emmy Awards including Outstanding Drama Series, Outstanding Casting for a Drama Series & Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series (Peter Dinklage).

w00t! Tyrion taking home that award fuh sure!

Postby noshownogo » July 14th, 2011, 2:03 pm

They deserve many accolades, GoT Season 1 trails only Dexter Season 4 for best season of television IMO, outstanding!

Postby noshownogo » July 14th, 2011, 3:10 pm

Season 4 was Trinity killer, man wife end up in a tub full of blood. What could be more win than that? :?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 4th, 2011, 9:56 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 18th, 2011, 9:46 pm

Peter Dinklage aka Tyrion jus won the Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series award! w00t!

Postby Mark! » September 18th, 2011, 9:50 pm

Niceee!!!

He deserved it!

Postby Mark! » September 18th, 2011, 10:24 pm

yah dan

I remember one line he said in one episode

"What do you want?Bronn? Gold? Women?....Golden women?"

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 19th, 2011, 12:42 am

Shaggar: How would you like to die, Tyrion, son of Tywin?
Tyrion: In my own bed, at the age of 80, with a belly full of wine and a girls mouth around my c**k.

:lol: do yuh thing big man!

Postby noshownogo » September 19th, 2011, 2:36 pm

^ :rofl: that line was simply classic, congrats to him!

Postby Mark! » December 15th, 2011, 8:48 pm

hurry up and come April!

stretch

Postby stretch » December 15th, 2011, 11:14 pm

quite frickin april

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » December 16th, 2011, 6:43 am

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 13th, 2012, 4:53 pm

mark d date

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 13th, 2012, 5:07 pm

^^^^ That's a JOKE or the real deal?

April's Fools? Really?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 13th, 2012, 5:26 pm

lol nah that's the official date. it was posted on the facebook page

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 15th, 2012, 10:11 pm

Peter Dinklage just won another award (Golden Globe) for Best Supporting Actor in a TV series 8-)

Postby Mark! » January 16th, 2012, 1:55 am

nice......
April not that far away