Pros and Cons Ipad2 vs bb playbook

TK!

Re: Pros and Cons Ipad2 vs bb playbook

Postby TK! » February 22nd, 2012, 12:13 am

BB playbook - pros- price, bbm, web browsing speed

iPad - pros - apps, most popular device by a large margin. has RTA apps ;-)

tablets are really about apps. if u want a non apple device for whatever reason, an andriod based one makes better sense than a RIM based device. cuz rim just sucks. and i'm a bb user :-(

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 22nd, 2012, 2:39 am

^you sure yuh playbook come with bbm...

Playbook also has FLASH... And with one of the fastest browsers on any platform... I remote desktop to my pc from my playbook and use my blackberry phone as a keyboard and mouse.

RIM has stated repeatedly that the pb and the new qnx/pb OS2.0 is their new platform. They are going to support the pb, it's Not getting dropped regardless of bad rumors...

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 22nd, 2012, 7:13 am

waititng until ipad 3 releases in march

Postby SR » February 22nd, 2012, 8:32 am

just updated the pb with the new softare liking it so far

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 22nd, 2012, 9:14 am

office testing ht esamsung and the ipad.

i personally LOVE the samsung over the ipad as i have used both extensively in teh past 2 weeks

however as much as i hate to say this... i am recommending we go ipads due to the very high use of Sharepoint. the galaxy can't open nor edit sharepoint files. the ipad can open in read only but not edit.

this is in sp 2007

in sp 2010 the ipad outperforms the galaxy as well.

if it was not for sharepoint we would be buying 30 smasungs next week.. however since we are going ipads, i am waiting on the laucnh of hte ipad 3 and then buy them

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 9:49 am

bigga514 wrote:^you sure yuh playbook come with bbm...

Playbook also has FLASH... And with one of the fastest browsers on any platform... I remote desktop to my pc from my playbook and use my blackberry phone as a keyboard and mouse.

The 40 million (just verified) iPad users basically told Adobe that they don't care about Flash, and as a result, Adobe dropped Flash for mobile.

I guess the 1 million Playbook owners can rejoice with their Flash :)

And by the end of 2012, the 50 million iPad users would be crying because they don't have Flash. It's all about apps. You don't go on the web to use flash, you open an app for your needs. Remember... whatever there is... "there's an app for that".

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 22nd, 2012, 10:24 am

my whole gripe about the interface of the ipad, is de lack of widgets.

compared to the galaxy, i can quickly glance at my calander, mail ( corporate and personal) and other stuff that i deem important without having to go in an app to get updated. in terms of interface, the ipad is seriously lacking in that area. for a busy professional, i find it painful to get the info i required quickly. thats my only gripe, plus i cah stream movies from online sources due to no flash support

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2012, 10:40 am

MadCrix wrote:my whole gripe about the interface of the ipad, is de lack of widgets.

compared to the galaxy, i can quickly glance at my calander, mail ( corporate and personal) and other stuff that i deem important without having to go in an app to get updated. in terms of interface, the ipad is seriously lacking in that area. for a busy professional, i find it painful to get the info i required quickly. thats my only gripe, plus i cah stream movies from online sources due to no flash support

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 10:47 am

MadCrix wrote:my whole gripe about the interface of the ipad, is de lack of widgets.

Good point.
If Android suits you better, then by all means.

But the issue with the Playbook is really... well market share. The iPad is the dominant tablet in education, health/fitness, games, military (probably the biggest secret reason)... so if you want the apps to do your stuff, you pick the iPad or an Android.

The Playbook, while having some unique features, still don't make it a serious choice when you weigh in the options.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 22nd, 2012, 10:50 am

nah we forced to go ipad as de galalxy not compatible with Sharepoint

so i depressed really lol

Postby pete » February 22nd, 2012, 10:58 am

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 11:05 am

MadCrix wrote:nah we forced to go ipad as de galalxy not compatible with Sharepoint

so i depressed really lol

The biggest deterrent to Andoid tablet adoption is SECURITY. And that's because of Google does things, allowing any app; no active managing. They need to do as Apple does to succeed. That's the problem with an 'open' system.

Look at Windows in the 1990's. Didn't matter what other OS there were. People had to adopt what the majority had if they wanted to get anywhere. The only exception was in niche sectors where AmigaOS, MacOS and Solaris did things better.

Now the tables have turned. Apple is now the dominant player. I don't think people recognize that fact. The industry now has to jump when Apple says so. For now, as much as Android is fun and open, it's Apple for anything serious and where security and wide-scale implementation matter.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 22nd, 2012, 12:24 pm

Strauss wrote:

The 40 million (just verified) iPad users basically told Adobe that they don't care about Flash, and as a result, Adobe dropped Flash for mobile.

And by the end of 2012, the 50 million iPad users would be crying because they don't have Flash. It's all about apps. You don't go on the web to use flash, you open an app for your needs. Remember... whatever there is... "there's an app for that".

I swear fan boy logic is hilarious....
Flash wasn't killed they just going html5 for mobile, flash still on regular. Browsers for years to come. So you could stay there andwait till flash "dead" but until half the web converts most sites still run flash, (the Internet is for porn).
Much better camera, faster, great at multitasking...
Oh and I can carry my playbook anywhere in my pocket, while most pads stay at home.
Can't even use a mouse on a iPad....

Sharepoint app on playbook edits also, and is very easy to set up... Cost 20$ but you can use trial the test on your own...

Postby pete » February 22nd, 2012, 1:56 pm

Question - The ads on this forum are HTML5 or Flash?

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2012, 2:01 pm

bigga514 wrote:(the Internet is for porn). ..

that's all I needed to know

Postby pete » February 22nd, 2012, 2:05 pm

Is there a browser for the playbook which allows it to be seen as a full desktop browser? One thing I like about Dolphin Browser on the Android is that ability.. that way ya don't get directed to the mobile sites which you usually have to pay to access... errr n/m

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 22nd, 2012, 2:05 pm

bigga514 wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Flash wasn't killed they just going html5 for mobile, flash still on regular. Browsers for years to come. So you could stay there andwait till flash "dead" but until half the web converts most sites still run flash, (the Internet is for porn).
Much better camera, faster, great at multitasking...
Oh and I can carry my playbook anywhere in my pocket, while most pads stay at home.

Sharepoint app on playbook edits also, and is very easy to set up... Cost 20$ but you can use trial the test on your own...

I must ask, why would yew need a mouse?

Postby pete » February 22nd, 2012, 2:14 pm

Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, connect tablet to a TV and use it like a PC. Seen a video of something like that with a samsung galaxy s2

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 22nd, 2012, 2:26 pm

Dbl post
Last edited by bigga514 on February 22nd, 2012, 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » February 22nd, 2012, 2:33 pm

Regular browser is desktop view, few sites (1) that I know off tries mobile version 1st and it has desktop version link at bottom of that page.. (wordpress hosted) Allhiphop.com set once and forget...

Kurpal if you intend to remote login to use a pc or even some server side software a mouse is critical for use...

Or to hook up to a big tv and use as a media player etc.... Or some games, or when yuh fingers are just not precise enough....

casper

Postby casper » February 22nd, 2012, 2:52 pm

some rel fan boys in here for real...i have an ipad2 and i must admit that having no flash is just stupid...and for the rest of the world that adores apple so much and went with the ipad it's mainly cuz of a sense of security as in most tried and tested out of the rest...

to be honest thats the only reason i bought one too...cuz most people have it and seem to like it but dont wanna admit that no flash is just retarded specially for a device that boast so much about "great web experience" ...u click on almost any vid online and guess what??? it most likely gonna tell u ur device doesnt support adobe flash...why d hell wud u as a company do that??? are they trying to force people to confine to their ways alone?? :?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 2:55 pm

bigga514 wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Flash wasn't killed they just going html5 for mobile, flash still on regular. Browsers for years to come. So you could stay there andwait till flash "dead" but until half the web converts

Yes APPLE KILLED FLASH. You seem to have missed the news about Flash for mobile. Adobe will continue to support Flash for existing devices. But you know how that goes once HTML5 spreads more. Read all the blogs. Adobe was under pressure from Steve Jobs because Apple did not adopt Flash because of the need to have more power hungry processors and lower battery life. Only much later did Adobe admit Flash had problems (after telling everyone otherwise). Here's an early link:

http://mashable.com/2011/11/11/flash-mobile-dead-adobe/
"No matter what we did, the Flash Player was not going to be available on Apple’s iOS anytime in the foreseeable future,” — Mike Chambers, Adobe.

All the major sites ARE converting, now even faster because Adobe dropped mobile Flash. You know why? Because they acknowledge 40 million + iPad users. You need to wake up and smell the coffee. Apple is the largest publicly traded company in the world, sitting at a almost 1/2 trillion dollar market cap. Apple is now running the industry, if you didn't realize. I know it's hard to imagine, but they are now larger than Microsoft and Google combined. That means they get to call the shots as Microsoft did in the 1990's.
http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=AAPL

bigga514 wrote:most sites still run flash, (the Internet is for porn).

The mobile versions of porn sites are going HTML5 with H.264 (Apple's Quicktime) and dropping flash since MOST mobile devices do not support mobile flash. Times are changing. Flash will be around for a while yet.

bigga514 wrote:Much better camera, faster, great at multitasking...

That's great for you. And yes you can use a mouse and keyboard on an iPad, but WHY would you? The device was made to FREE us from logging around extra peripherals like the dreaded stylus.

At the end of the day, boasting about having Flash is like telling everyone your car comes with those black louvres on the back glass, then laughing at everyone else who uses tint, because their car "doesn't ship with louvres". And Flash is not searchable and so bots can't crawl in it. But guess what.. they can do that with HTML5 with video.

Wake up. Apple is now King until someone else comes to overthrow them, as the cycle normally goes.
Last edited by Strauss on February 22nd, 2012, 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 2:58 pm

pete wrote:Question - The ads on this forum are HTML5 or Flash?

I know right. I'm scared because I can't see all these great Flash ADs. Disable flash and check the holes in your browser. Most are just ads. And the sites that are still heavy flash... sooner or later will need to move to HTML5.

Old tech is old tech.

Postby pete » February 22nd, 2012, 3:09 pm

I'm just asking cuz if I was an advertiser I would want my ads viewable by everyone, so IMHO they should be HTML5.

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2012, 3:14 pm

^^^depends on what percentage of tuner's browsing population uses devices that do not support flash...

casper

Postby casper » February 22nd, 2012, 3:14 pm

so what about youtube??? youtube is mostly flash

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 3:15 pm

pete wrote:I'm just asking cuz if I was an advertiser I would want my ads viewable by everyone, so IMHO they should be HTML5.

Even Google is dropping mobile flash with Chrome on Android.

Those advertisers who don't want to move to HTML5 will just fall behind. Everything will work itself out. The market will decide.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 22nd, 2012, 3:41 pm

casper wrote:so what about youtube??? youtube is mostly flash

C'mon tuners, you're slacking off.
http://www.youtube.com/html5

Besides you have a YouTube APP for that. No Flash required.

casper

Postby casper » February 22nd, 2012, 3:58 pm

^^^yea but the youtube app tends to show different results than the normal youtube

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2012, 4:02 pm

pete wrote:I'm just asking cuz if I was an advertiser I would want my ads viewable by everyone, so IMHO they should be HTML5.

our ads are flash with a jpg/gif/png fallback image. If the user doesn't have flash installed, Google ad manager (which we use for all our ads) will show a fall-back image that the browser does support. that ensures that the advertiser's brand is shown regardless.

We would love to switch all our ads to HTML5 right now, however not all browsers support HTML5 and CSS3 properly
25% of our users use IE
Even IE 9 does not support HTML5 very well if at all and major websites know this
check http://www.apple.com/iphone/ in Firefox, Safari or Chrome and you see the phones on the pages animated and moving. Look at it in IE9 and it doesnt move, just goes from frame to frame. Some pages with HTML5 and CCS3 IE9 can handle, but not all. We can't take that chance with our advertisers ads until the percentages get much lower.

HTML5 doesnt require a plugin like Flash does and it's less power hungry than flash is.
HMTL5 is the future, flash isn't.