Postby firstchoicett » June 20th, 2012, 8:19 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1340237943.783248.jpg

Looks green

Re: Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby DVSTT » June 20th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Mizaf wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Did they sell all the Diamond Jubilee coins already?

They want $900 for d coin

Lol, yea, that's what they usually go for!
They appreciate in value so it's an investment.

Postby zoom rader » June 21st, 2012, 8:28 am

achillies wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Stephon. wrote:I can't wait! Is this going to be permanent or is it going to be temporary like those 100 dollar bills we had a while ago?

were there temporary $100 bills?......so whats this blue note I have in my pocket?

Didn't we had a temporary CHOGM 100 dollar bill circulating for some time?

Yes we did

CHOGM 100 dollar bills are no longer made. They were a one time issuse only never to printed again.There are very few around, A normal bill only last for 6mths . You can buy one for about $65US. Most trinis dont know the value of these bills.

The 1977 $50 Bills are now worth $2000-$4000tt, How much to do think the CHOGM 100 dollar bills are going to be worth in 20yrs time?

firstchoicett

Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby firstchoicett » June 21st, 2012, 9:09 am

^ will b worth alot I see in that states 1 dollar note sells for 10,000 USD

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 9:17 am

As nice as it is to have a $50 note, we need to have polymer or "plastic" notes. Try counterfeiting a transparent note.

Postby TRAE » June 21st, 2012, 9:23 am

yuh know the only time them kinda high notes does get printed is when we money going to be utter sheit, and we hadda spend more for everything

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2012, 9:33 am

Couldn't they make the new $50 a different colour with a completely new design so people can identify it without close examination? Counterfeiters going to bleach $10 bills now and printing $50 on it with fake watermarks. You can buy custom hologram stickers online.

Polymer notes? HA! They can't and won't even replace the $1 with coins, you thinking too far ahead. Polymer notes also last up to 10 times longer, so it would save money compared to printing new bills with recirculation.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 21st, 2012, 11:36 am

TRAE wrote:yuh know the only time them kinda high notes does get printed is when we money going to be utter sheit, and we hadda spend more for everything

same can be said for the US currency then? :?

Postby nemisis » June 21st, 2012, 12:01 pm

What is the desire for $1 coins, i hate using the Canadian small denominations. Walking around with man purse and the like or sound like a child's piggy bank...

Daran

Postby Daran » June 21st, 2012, 12:07 pm

This $50 bill honestly is a stupid idea. I'd really like to see some economic reasons for this.

Also, the olive green color looks quiet ugly. They should have gone either yellow or orange or maybe even a dark blue.

What is needed is a $500 bill due to the high rate of inflation plus the high number of cash transactions that occur.

A $1 coin is also a good idea, but they not cut out the $1 bills totally. The one cent coin needs to GTFO.

Postby Stephon. » June 21st, 2012, 12:10 pm

Ok you have nothing nice to say about the 50 dollar ote yet you're approving a 500 dollar note and a 1 dollar coin?

You just talking cause it free or?

Daran

Postby Daran » June 21st, 2012, 1:21 pm

Stephon. wrote:Ok you have nothing nice to say about the 50 dollar ote yet you're approving a 500 dollar note and a 1 dollar coin?

I see no logic in your criticism.

A $500 bill is needed much more than a $50 because:
1. Tonnes of people do high value transactions by cash everyday. Such as daily paid workers, rent, ticket sales, used goods, lessons etc. A $500 will speed up transaction time. Time = money.
2. Simple math, a $50 is equivalent to two (2) $20s and one $10.....a $500 is 5 $100s....space in wallet = less.
3. The $100 bill was introduce in 1977. Assuming 5% inflation every year since then, that same $100 bill is now worth ~$18!
4. Apply the same for a coins and you'll see why a $1 coin is needed.
5. Having $1 coins would save A LOT of money since coins are cheaper than paper bills.

Postby Stephon. » June 21st, 2012, 1:27 pm

With your logic, they should also make a 200,000 dollar bill

Cars are being sold everyday and the average price of a mid spec car now is 200grand.

It would save me from having all those 100 dollar bills when walking into Neal and massy.

See how bogus and unrealistic that sounds? Lol, let's be real here, the only people that have "high value" transactions day by day by CASH are clearly into drugs and people like that appreciate the feeling of having a thick stack in their wallets everyday anyways so you're dismissed.

Daran

Postby Daran » June 21st, 2012, 1:28 pm

Stephon. wrote:With your logic, they should also make a 200,000 dollar bill

Cars are being sold everyday and the average price of a mid spec car now is 200grand.

It would save me from having all those 100 dollar bills when walking into Neal and massy.

See how bogus and unrealistic that sounds? Lol, let's be real here, the only people that have "high value" transactions day by day by CASH are clearly into drugs and people like that appreciate the feeling of having a thick stack in their wallets everyday anyways so you're dismissed.

*facepalm*

Are you an idiot, or are you trolling?

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 1:29 pm

If it costs $70 to make a very accurate counterfeit $100 note, it will cost $70 to counterfeit $500.

Which note will now become the least trustworthy note?

Solution: try to reduce cash transaction because they have no paper trail, and the black market uses it.

Postby Stephon. » June 21st, 2012, 1:36 pm

Daran wrote:

*facepalm*

I am just saying that your theory is stupid as hell. People hardly even walk around with the amount of cash to pay workers, pay rent etc. Everything is done digitally through the bank now, where everything is done by cheque, online or by plastic, the need for a 500 dollar bill is pretty unnecessary, I can see why they made a 50 dollar bill, because it's a huge jump from 20 to 100 and I agree with it.

If they do make a 500 dollar bill though, I'd be more worried about our (already horrid) value of money, rather than just having less notes to walk around with.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 21st, 2012, 1:38 pm

:lol: 2nr full of economists yes...

the main reason the $50 bill is being put into circulation is to celebrate 50 years of Independence, nothing else. the $50 bill fits celebrating 50 years.

heard they are also minting a commemorative coin as well for Independence, not too sure of how true it is though.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2012, 1:41 pm

Daran wrote:

*facepalm*

I kinda agree with him tbh.

Daran wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Ok you have nothing nice to say about the 50 dollar ote yet you're approving a 500 dollar note and a 1 dollar coin?

I see no logic in your criticism.

A $500 bill is needed much more than a $50 because:
1. Tonnes of people do high value transactions by cash everyday. Such as daily paid workers, rent, ticket sales, used goods, lessons etc. A $500 will speed up transaction time. Time = money.

ALl of which are being substituted by other cashless ways of paying (credit cards, cheques etc) and in most of those cases time does not equate to money.

2. Simple math, a $50 is equivalent to two (2) $20s and one $10.....a $500 is 5 $100s....space in wallet = less.

Think of this if you wanna argue practicality, which is easier to lose 5 $100 bills or 1 $500 bill? And how does space in wallet affect anyone? If yuh wear normal pants and not the leggins yuh trying to squeeze into it really doesnt become cumbersome yuhno..

3. The $100 bill was introduce in 1977. Assuming 5% inflation every year since then, that same $100 bill is now worth ~$18!

So in that case if I give you $18 you will in turn give me $100?

4. Apply the same for a coins and you'll see why a $1 coin is needed.
5. Having $1 coins would save A LOT of money since coins are cheaper than paper bills.

Soooooo we gonna save money by taking the largest current paper money out of circulation and spend money to buy new machines/dyes whatever have you to make new coins to save money? Isnt that taking one step forward and two back?

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 1:44 pm

Daran wrote:This $50 bill honestly is a stupid idea. I'd really like to see some economic reasons for this.

Also, the olive green color looks quiet ugly. They should have gone either yellow or orange or maybe even a dark blue.

What is needed is a $500 bill due to the high rate of inflation plus the high number of cash transactions that occur.

A $1 coin is also a good idea, but they not cut out the $1 bills totally. The one cent coin needs to GTFO.

You were making sense up until that $1 dollar coin talk. #paradox

A $50 bill IMO is a waste of time. A $500 not would have made more sense. Walking around with $500 is a norm these days due to inflation. Many people blow +$500 daily in cash transactions daily without raising suspicion. It's not odd at all.

Did the people who came up with this idea go to school?
Why the hell would you begin printing notes of a smaller value($50) than the current highest value($100) when inflation is on a RISE :? :? :?

Stephon, c'mon. Do you purchase a brand new vehicle with cash. If that was common, then yes, it would be wise to prints such high value notes but it isn't. Is it common to purchase $500 in groceries on a Sunday morning? Yes. A country's currency must be able accommodate the average cash transaction.

Postby Stephon. » June 21st, 2012, 1:46 pm

equipped2ripp wrote::lol: 2nr full of economists yes...

the main reason the $50 bill is being put into circulation is to celebrate 50 years of Independence, nothing else. the $50 bill fits celebrating 50 years.

heard they are also minting a commemorative coin as well for Independence, not too sure of how true it is though.

Then why did that one guy from central bank was talking about "creating a bridge between 20 and 100" :lol:

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 1:57 pm

You won't go into a country like Guyana where a loaf of bread is $240 and see their largest value note being $100, right? Imagine how many notes a person is going to have to carry around to make groceries or any other average cash transaction...... right tr1ad?
What would be the point of them printing smaller notes when their prices are this relatively inflated :?

Celebrate 50 years of Independence in some other way u stupid farks. They should know the impact this could have on our economy.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2012, 2:00 pm

Bizzare wrote:You won't go into a country like Guyana where a loaf of bread is $240 and see their largest value note being $100, right? Imagine how many notes a person is going to have to carry around to make groceries or any other average cash transaction...... right tr1ad?
What would be the point of them printing smaller notes when their prices are this relatively inflated :?

Celebrate 50 years of Independence in some other way u stupid farks. They should know the impact this could have on our economy.

Iz you living in guyana bra?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 21st, 2012, 2:05 pm

[quote=".

A $1 coin is also a good idea, but they not cut out the $1 bills totally. The one cent coin needs to GTFO.[/quote]

Have to disagree there with the one cent coin leaving since a lot of business have .99 in the end of there prices . That one cent makes a big difference in some customers eyes .

Postby Stephon. » June 21st, 2012, 2:11 pm

Bizzare wrote:Stephon, c'mon. Do you purchase a brand new vehicle with cash. If that was common, then yes, it would be wise to prints such high value notes but it isn't. Is it common to purchase $500 in groceries on a Sunday morning? Yes. A country's currency must be able accommodate the average cash transaction.

No I don't buy a vehicle with cash money, I was just making a point, and yeah walking around with 500 dollars may be common for some people, but when you go to the grocery, do you pay with cars or by a credit or debit card? I dunno about you but most people pa with cards when they go to the grocery, or anytime they plan to even spend more than 500 dollars. I may do it sometimes, on rare occasions but I really don't see the need to walk around with 500 dollars in your pocket.

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 2:11 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Bizzare wrote:You won't go into a country like Guyana where a loaf of bread is $240 and see their largest value note being $100, right? Imagine how many notes a person is going to have to carry around to make groceries or any other average cash transaction...... right tr1ad?

Iz you living in guyana bra?

Nah, but I don't have to be living there to know.

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 2:14 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Bizzare wrote:Stephon, c'mon. Do you purchase a brand new vehicle with cash. If that was common, then yes, it would be wise to prints such high value notes but it isn't. Is it common to purchase $500 in groceries on a Sunday morning? Yes. A country's currency must be able accommodate the average cash transaction.

No I don't buy a vehicle with cash money, I was just making a point, and yeah walking around with 500 dollars may be common for some people, but when you go to the grocery, do you pay with cars or by a credit or debit card? I dunno about you but most people pa with cards when they go to the grocery, or anytime they plan to even spend more than 500 dollars. I may do it sometimes, on rare occasions but I really don't see the need to walk around with 500 dollars in your pocket.

There was that thread where I was talking about phasing out cash. I fully agree with that. But we know that not gonna happen anytime soon and his thread is not really a about cash vs cashless payments. But $50 not vs $some higher currency. And $50 is a waste IMO.

Mastermind

Postby Mastermind » June 21st, 2012, 2:16 pm

Daran wrote:This $50 bill honestly is a stupid idea. I'd really like to see some economic reasons for this.

It looks like we need a 'fashionista' to start designing our money that we may use to wipe our ass with... lmao

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2012, 2:22 pm

Mastermind wrote:

It looks like we need a 'fashionista' to start designing our money that we may use to wipe our ass with... lmao

Hi geometron.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 21st, 2012, 2:23 pm

^ lol

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 2:24 pm

really? :lol: