50 Criminals to be pardoned for Independence Anniversary

Re: 50 Criminals to be pardoned for Independence Anniversary

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2012, 1:14 am

toyota2nr wrote:50 criminals to be freed? Keith Rowley will be pleased.

Nope. Kamla and Sandy will be pleased: http://www.tntmirror.com/2012/06/03/143 ... -walk-free

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 3:11 am

Murder victim's dad slams Govt
Plan to release 50 inmates...

By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jul 24, 2012 at 10:53 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 24, 2012 at 10:53 PM ECT
THE FATHER of a murder victim has slammed the Government on its plan to release 50 prisoners as part of the celebrations for this country's 50th anniversary of Independence.
Last month Justice Minister Herbert Volney announced that in commemoration of the country's 50th anniversary of Independence, Government is to recommend to President George Maxwell Richards that 50 prisoners be pardoned.
In a telephone interview with the Express yesterday Volney said the list of 50 prisoners would be completed and forwarded to Richards by August 17.
Independence Day is August 31.
The process to determine the list of the 50 prisoners was still ongoing, Volney said.
Volney said the Mercy Committee met on Monday and several names have already been approved.
He did not reveal the names of those already selected.
The entire initiative to have 50 prisoners released is however not sitting well with Saul Gajadhar whose son, Larry, was murdered on May 24, 1985.
Ken Martin Noel and Vernon Trotman were both found guilty of Larry's murder and sentenced to hang.
However, because of the delay in hanging them, the sentence was reduced to life imprisonment.
Gajadhar in a letter to the Express yesterday stated that he was "dumb struck" when he heard Volney announce the initiative to release 50 prisoners.
"I got a call from two probation officers in South Trinidad who asked my opinion on the release of one of the murderers. I told them bluntly 'No, no way'," Gajadhar stated.
Gajadhar said to date his family has not received any counselling as a result of the trauma caused by Larry's murder.
He said his two daughters had to flee the country because they were not offered any protection.
"Today I say yes free him/them but first free me/us from the hurt, pain, anguish, sickness, medical bills, restlessness, sleepless nights, worries, nightmares, etc," Gajadhar stated.
"Free us/me from the visions I still see of the naked dead body of my son in a dump heap, free me from the 14 stab wounds I saw on his body, free me from seeing the cuts on the palms of his hands where he tried to shield himself, free me from the visions and the gaping hole I see in his throat," he stated.
"Yes if or when the President, the Prime Minister, the Attorney General, Honourable Herbert Volney, Honourable Prakash Ramadhar, the entire Judiciary system, Honourable Jack Warner and the list can go on, can free me/us from the list above, then I say free them," Gajadhar stated.
He stated that for the past 27 years he has been supporting his son's killers with "food, clothing, medicine, doctor visits" by paying taxes.
"Today I demand my 'pound of flesh'. Free them but compensate me and the other victim with a minimum of $2 million each. You cannot but leave us the victims with all that we suffered and have to endure," Gajadhar stated.
"I am sure that many of the families of the victims will agree with me," he stated.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Murder__victim_s_dad_slams_Govt-163644696.html

homeboy

Postby homeboy » July 25th, 2012, 6:48 am

^Remember the government have crime under control so they can let some out and still have a grip on crime..........can't wait for next election....

Postby cinco » July 25th, 2012, 8:23 am

they better convict baboolal son fast so he can get a pardon
and the girl who lick down d police woman

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 25th, 2012, 8:37 am

utter nonsense!!!!!

Postby Greypatch » July 25th, 2012, 9:52 am

cinco wrote:they better convict baboolal son fast so he can get a pardon
and the girl who lick down d police woman

nah hoss delay ..delay & delay...ppl will forget and family will be frustrated and move on..

in the mean time they playing this tune..

kevcam

Postby kevcam » July 25th, 2012, 10:37 am

"I got a call from two probation officers in South Trinidad who asked my opinion on the release of one of the murderers."

Well so much for the hope that they not looking to release murderers.

Two interesting comments about the article.

I really vexed about this. People getting robbed, raped and killed everyday. We hardly catching the criminals. The judges giving them bail and the few that eventually go to prison getting good treatment. More money spent on them than on the senior citizens that built the nation. But to top it off they adding insult to injury with this one.

I don't like to wish bad things but it would really be poetic justice if one of the released criminals distress Volney or his close family.

what a chaotic state of affair!! they can't ketch 10 murderers but want to leggo 50... this man, Mr Gajadhar is so right and should start a huge demonstration with only families of murdered victims and the country will see the Disaster as it really is....what a shame to this gov't...This is the worse to be seen...

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » July 25th, 2012, 12:47 pm

the PP is a waste ah jizz

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » July 25th, 2012, 1:03 pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 2nd, 2012, 11:30 pm

SOME GOOD NEWS???

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Vol ... 42486.html

Volney: Not all 50 inmates secured release
By Jensen LaVende jensen.lavende@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 2, 2012 at 10:54 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 2, 2012 at 10:54 PM ECT
THE Government's hope of releasing 50 prisoners in time for Trinidad and Tobago's 50th anniversary of Independence has been slowed by the Mercy Committee's rejection of over 20 of the recommended prisoners.
In a telephone interview with the Express yesterday Justice Minister Herbert Volney said the release of the inmates, who were scheduled to complete their sentence within 12 months, could not be completed before the August 31 Independence Day celebrations. He described the proposed pardon of the prisoners as a "sort of propelled" release.
"As far as I know it will be in excess of 30 (prisoners approved by the Mercy Committee) and building. You see 50-plus people were put for release but the Mercy Committee has rejected many, many of the persons recommended for release because it was felt given the sensitivity of the particular case that it wouldn't be proper to release those persons as they were not proper persons to be released" Volney said.
He said the list had to be re-opened to facilitate the 50 prisoner benchmark adding they have to be very careful of releasing persons. Volney said as far as he was aware no prisoners have been released, but that was a matter for Commissioner of Prisons Martin Martinez.
In a telephone interview with the Express, Martinez said no official word had come to him to release any prisoner whose name had been proposed for the Independence pardon scheme.
Volney said the identity of the prisoners will not be released for privacy reasons as some of the former inmates may not want people to know they were incarcerated.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » September 3rd, 2012, 7:44 am

It should be 50 for 50!!!

silver

Postby silver » September 3rd, 2012, 9:17 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:SOME GOOD NEWS???
Volney said the identity of the prisoners will not be released for privacy reasons as some of the former inmates may not want people to know they were incarcerated.

bwdmc i readin here...securing identity of prisoners to protect their pride? since when being sentanced to prison is a private matter?
keep digging that hole volney...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 3rd, 2012, 4:13 pm

silver wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:SOME GOOD NEWS???

bwdmc i readin here...securing identity of prisoners to protect their pride? since when being sentanced to prison is a private matter?
keep digging that hole volney...

republic banana bro....

Postby DVSTT » September 3rd, 2012, 4:57 pm

I find they should have at least provided the public with a list of the "pardoned" inmates. We struggling to catch them but yet we letting them go. Really don't understand the logic behind this move. :?

Postby stev » September 3rd, 2012, 5:12 pm

question though: some of those prisoners are coming out of prison to do what? they givin them a job when they release them? how are they to survive?

Postby redmanjp » September 3rd, 2012, 5:23 pm

DVSTT wrote:I find they should have at least provided the public with a list of the "pardoned" inmates. We struggling to catch them but yet we letting them go. Really don't understand the logic behind this move. :?

Isn't it already public record who is convicted? I sure we have a Freedom of Information Act which we could demand that info.

not happy about this at all- i cud understand if is petty theft or something but even murderers getting released? and are the victims consulted b4 a decision is made?
Last edited by redmanjp on September 3rd, 2012, 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » September 3rd, 2012, 5:28 pm

stev wrote:question though: some of those prisoners are coming out of prison to do what? they givin them a job when they release them? how are they to survive?

This.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 3rd, 2012, 5:38 pm

Hook wrote:
stev wrote:question though: some of those prisoners are coming out of prison to do what? they givin them a job when they release them? how are they to survive?

This.

they do what criminals do best yahhhh???

Postby brams112 » September 3rd, 2012, 5:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
DVSTT wrote:I find they should have at least provided the public with a list of the "pardoned" inmates. We struggling to catch them but yet we letting them go. Really don't understand the logic behind this move. :?

Isn't it already public record who is convicted? I sure we have a Freedom of Information Act which we could demand that info.

not happy about this at all- i cud understand if is petty theft or something but even murderers getting released? and are the victims consulted b4 a decision is made?

maybe it have caps with them fellas name on it.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » September 3rd, 2012, 6:16 pm

THE FATHER of a murder victim has slammed the Government on its plan to release 50 prisoners as part of the celebrations for this country's 50th anniversary of Independence.
Last month Justice Minister Herbert Volney announced that in commemoration of the country's 50th anniversary of Independence, Government is to recommend to President George Maxwell Richards that 50 prisoners be pardoned.
In a telephone interview with the Express yesterday Volney said the list of 50 prisoners would be completed and forwarded to Richards by August 17.
The process to determine the list of the 50 prisoners was still ongoing, Volney said.
Volney said the Mercy Committee met on Monday and several names have already been approved.
The entire initiative to have 50 prisoners released is however not sitting well with Saul Gajadhar whose son, Larry, was murdered on May 24, 1985.
Ken Martin Noel and Vernon Trotman were both found guilty of Larry's murder and sentenced to hang.
However, because of the delay in hanging them, the sentence was reduced to life imprisonment.
Gajadhar in a letter to the Express yesterday stated that he was "dumb struck" when he heard Volney announce the initiative to release 50 prisoners.
"I got a call from two probation officers in South Trinidad who asked my opinion on the release of one of the murderers. I told them bluntly 'No, no way'," Gajadhar stated.
Gajadhar said to date his family has not received any counselling as a result of the trauma caused by Larry's murder.
He said his two daughters had to flee the country because they were not offered any protection.
"Today I say yes free him/them but first free me/us from the hurt, pain, anguish, sickness, medical bills, restlessness, sleepless nights, worries, nightmares, etc," Gajadhar stated.
"Free us/me from the visions I still see of the naked dead body of my son in a dump heap, free me from the 14 stab wounds I saw on his body, free me from seeing the cuts on the palms of his hands where he tried to shield himself, free me from the visions and the gaping hole I see in his throat," he stated.
"Yes if or when the President, the Prime Minister, the Attorney General, Honourable Herbert Volney, Honourable Prakash Ramadhar, the entire Judiciary system, Honourable Jack Warner and the list can go on, can free me/us from the list above, then I say free them," Gajadhar stated.
He stated that for the past 27 years he has been supporting his son's killers with "food, clothing, medicine, doctor visits" by paying taxes.
"Today I demand my 'pound of flesh'. Free them but compensate me and the other victim with a minimum of $2 million each. You cannot but leave us the victims with all that we suffered and have to endure," Gajadhar stated.
"I am sure that many of the families of the victims will agree with me," he stated.

mesue

Postby mesue » September 3rd, 2012, 7:07 pm

kevcam wrote:

I agree Mr. Gajadhar, I feel your pain Sir. Reading this made my heart full and my eyes water. Oh God please, let your Kingdom come to put an end to the pain your people have to suffer. May your nightmares be over soon Sir! Wish there was more I could say or do! SMH

Postby DVSTT » September 3rd, 2012, 9:09 pm

brams112 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

maybe it have caps with them fellas name on it.

We could only hope!

This paragraph was really sad, puts into perspective how hard it is to lose a loved one to the criminals that plague our country. Really hope this guy gets justice and they hang 50 instead of releasing them!

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » September 4th, 2012, 1:03 pm

i say let them go free, cuz nobody gonna miss them wen i snatch one of them and have them in hole in d jungle for a year str8 under rell torturements. das wha gajadhar supposed to be thinkin right now.

Postby crazybalhead » September 4th, 2012, 1:10 pm

Hook wrote:

This.

I know, they usually beg, steal. Knew one guy personally. My mom tried to help him with clothes and a small job. He eventually died at the hands of another "vagrant" in a fight over drugs.