my dad calls it "legal bush rum"

Re: Angostura Single Barrel Rum

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2011, 5:32 pm

ras_elmo wrote:
MG Man wrote:lol couldn't put it better
Seems more like marketing than a genuine effort
Years ago they did a 5 year old dark, which was remarkably smooth...this new thing they touting was very disappointing to me
If I can't sip it neat, it ain't up to standard
As an alternative to scotch, nah

^^ That was the genesis of Single Barrel rum....it was sold in a bottle similar to Royal Oak and got the facelift with all the other rums except 1919 & 1824

Got two bottles about 3 years ago in a hamper. I put them ting out fuh real limes and noone touch dem! When it was launched and hyped up, men rush it. There is a noticeable taste difference though :?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 12th, 2011, 2:47 pm

Had a tasting event last night ...

Started by a light taste of the Single Barrel, which while drinkable, was outclassed by everything else sampled later in the night ...

Rum: Mount Gay extra Old 8 year old and El Dorado 15 year Old special Reserve

El Dorado is just as black cake tasting as I remember. It's very nice, mild bite at the end ... complex.
http://rumdood.com/2009/01/29/rum-revie ... -year-old/
http://www.refinedvices.com/el-dorado-s ... 5-year-old

Mount Gay, heavier on the nose, rich molasses flavour, simpler in taste profile, but individual notes more pronounced. Has a definite rum bite at the end.
http://rumdood.com/2008/02/10/rum-revie ... extra-old/
http://www.tradertiki.com/rum-review-mo ... ra-old-55/

Of the 4 tasters, I preferred the Mount Gay slightly, two tasters preferred the El Dorado slightly, the last taster had no preference.

I think the two can be interchanged equally, to be honest and The Mount Gay is cheaper ...

Scotch : Chivas Regal 12 year old and Johnny Walker Green

Chivas is very clean on the palette. Short finish mild and smooth ... Definitely a friendly choice if you are new to scotch. The nose was fragrant with dark chocolate notes, a touch of smoke and others I forget now ... Very nice indeed in my opinion.
http://www.connosr.com/reviews/chivas/c ... character/

Johnny Walker Green, let me preface this by saying, I can't stand Johnny Walker Black. Way to heavy and oily tasting to me. The taste of the Green is really complex ... A lot going on, but this one I can tolerate neat, unlike the Black. Still has that house / family taste ... you know you are having Johnny Walker, but something much more refined than the Black. If you like the Black, you will love the Green. Me ... I'm gonna stick with the Chivas.
http://www.connosr.com/reviews/johnnie- ... -pleasure/

Of the 4 testers, 2 preferred the Chivas, by a lot. 1 preferred the Green by a lot. 1 had no preference per say, but liked each for different reasons.

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2011, 3:20 pm

bleh Johnny Green is not what it used to be
it is terrible now
dont like the mount gay i prefer the eldorado

good objective response though but to me alcohol is like women everyone has a different taste and preference

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2011, 3:27 pm

u still lookin fuh dat?
that done 2 bottles ago is a new one crack 1hic

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2011, 3:36 pm

why wud i call mehself :|

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2011, 3:38 pm

doh study it we hadda organise someting soon men just busy dese days
i in wuk rite now :|

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 12th, 2011, 5:28 pm

cinco wrote:bleh Johnny Green is not what it used to be
it is terrible now
dont like the mount gay i prefer the eldorado

good objective response though but to me alcohol is like women everyone has a different taste and preference

Thank you for the compliment and appreciate the frank response ... I'm new to the whiskey world, having been an avid rum / gin / tequila fan prior...

I should add the Single Barrel makes an excellent rum & coke, with none of the guilt associated with mixing a super premium rum with sugar water.

Also noted the Johnny Walker green and soda was absolutely horrible (just an experiment).

Any whiskey recommendations from a personal standpoint?

Postby cinco » February 12th, 2011, 11:51 pm

personally i enjoy the glenlivet nadura for a single malt
the glenlivet 12 is alot easier than the 15 also
glenfiddich 12 is pretty good also
this is all if you prefer a single malt flavour and body as opposed to blended scotch
i really cant say there is any blended scotch i really enjoy

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 13th, 2011, 12:13 am

cinco wrote:personally i enjoy the glenlivet nadura for a single malt
the glenlivet 12 is alot easier than the 15 also
glenfiddich 12 is pretty good also
this is all if you prefer a single malt flavour and body as opposed to blended scotch
i really cant say there is any blended scotch i really enjoy

I've seen the Glenlivet 12 in hi lo ... where would I get the glenlivet nadura?

That nadura has nothing but top reviews online ...

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » February 13th, 2011, 10:12 am

did u try "old parr" ?

Postby cinco » February 13th, 2011, 11:30 am

nadurra is a very smoky scotch
i buy my alco duty free :lol:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 13th, 2011, 6:16 pm

dadio wrote:did u try "old parr" ?

No sir, but in doing some more reading and drinking, I've realised I'm really more of a Bourbon person .... see:

Spirit Showdown: Scotch vs Bourbon
http://coedmagazine.com/2009/06/18/coed ... s-bourbon/

From the link:
Choosing between the two: Don’t, you can drink both! If you are new to whiskeys in general, start with what you like: If you prefer cookies over beef jerky as a snack, I’d go with Bourbon first. If it’s the other way around, aim towards Scotch whisky. Single malt Scotches will often be bold and intense. Blended Scotches (various single malt Scotches, mixed with a lighter grain alcohol), like Johnnie Walker and Dewar’s, will be easier to drink than single malts, since that’s why blended whiskeys were invented in the first place.

Also found:

And right after that I went hunting and found some 1960's red and black label bottles from when my folks used to entertain ... way back when. The black label bottles are unopened, but the red had been sampled before. I took a whiff, and it's definitely a LOT less harsh to the nose than a current bottle of black. Will sample some night this week I think.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 13th, 2011, 8:36 pm

Ok couldn't wait .... Note the old school bottle from the 60's I believe:

I can vaguely tell this belongs to the Johnny Walker family ... but only vaguely. As outlined in the video above, in a blind taste test, you couldn't tell. It's unbelievably smooth ... Everything I hate about the standard Johnny is now oh so refined after 40 or so years ... not busy at all, smooth, subtle ... A completely different experience even to the JW green I had just Friday night.

I think I also spied 4 bottles of untouched JW black that have been sitting since 1970 ... All mine beyotches :-)
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on February 14th, 2011, 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 13th, 2011, 9:59 pm

damn you go slow!!!! but enjoy it to the max!!!!

Postby Rooki3 » February 13th, 2011, 10:04 pm

red label = :sick: :sick: :sick:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 13th, 2011, 11:02 pm

Rooki3 wrote:red label = :sick: :sick: :sick:

Watch the vid brother ... 40 year old red label does NOT equal red label ... Trust me :mrgreen:

Postby Country_Bookie » February 15th, 2011, 11:20 am

We need to step up our game ppl!! Can't let the Europeans and Ruskies have all the fun!

THE world drank the equivalent of 6.1 litres of pure alcohol per person in 2005, according to a report from the World Health Organisation published on February 11th. The biggest boozers are mostly found in Europe and in the former Soviet states. Moldovans are the most bibulous, getting through 18.2 litres each, nearly 2 litres more than the Czechs in second place. Over 10 litres of a Moldovan's annual intake is reckoned to be 'unrecorded' home-brewed liquor, making it particularly harmful to health. Such moonshine accounts for almost 30% of the world's drinking. The WHO estimates that alcohol results in 2.5m deaths a year, more than AIDS or tuberculosis. In Russia and its former satellite states one in five male deaths is caused by drink.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 15th, 2011, 2:47 pm

Off the charts good ... Highly recommended!!

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 15th, 2011, 5:06 pm

Saw this in hi lo:

Can someone buy and review?

dani22

Postby dani22 » February 15th, 2011, 5:10 pm

smooooooooooooooooooooooooooth!!!!!!!!!1
tasty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
best on d rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » February 15th, 2011, 6:13 pm

Forget Single Barrel... Drink Double Black!...

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 15th, 2011, 6:17 pm

dat's racist...

Postby eliteauto » February 15th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Double Black is heavily overrated

Postby r3iXmann » February 15th, 2011, 6:42 pm

eliteauto, how does it compare to the others?

rossi

Postby rossi » February 15th, 2011, 8:43 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

No sir, but in doing some more reading and drinking, I've realised I'm really more of a Bourbon person .... see:

Spirit Showdown: Scotch vs Bourbon
http://coedmagazine.com/2009/06/18/coed ... s-bourbon/

From the link:
Choosing between the two: Don’t, you can drink both! If you are new to whiskeys in general, start with what you like: If you prefer cookies over beef jerky as a snack, I’d go with Bourbon first. If it’s the other way around, aim towards Scotch whisky. Single malt Scotches will often be bold and intense. Blended Scotches (various single malt Scotches, mixed with a lighter grain alcohol), like Johnnie Walker and Dewar’s, will be easier to drink than single malts, since that’s why blended whiskeys were invented in the first place.

Also found:

And right after that I went hunting and found some 1960's red and black label bottles from when my folks used to entertain ... way back when. The black label bottles are unopened, but the red had been sampled before. I took a whiff, and it's definitely a LOT less harsh to the nose than a current bottle of black. Will sample some night this week I think.

How is it possible for them to have unopened bottles for soo long? That's really kool though.
As for the video, it's weird that the logo's are facing different directions.
I liked the part when he talked about the demand for whiskeys and it making them taste different.
This is definitely off the whiskey topic but I noticed the same thing happen with Angostura Black Label, White Oak and Black and White. They all had their "times" and crashed soon after, well in my opinion anyway.
As for JW, real ppl screw up they face (but drink it anyway :lol: ) when I had Royal Oak and JW Red last Xmas but I simply wasn't feeling the usual JW Black. For me, it's kinda played out, for now anyway.

But good find with regards to the video. 8-)

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » February 15th, 2011, 8:43 pm

Soundwave wrote:dat's racist...

:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby cinco » February 15th, 2011, 10:20 pm

havent tried the double black yet but tbh johnnie walker has become a drink to get tight scotch for me it is not the sipping and enjoy scotch anymore
blue is way too costly for the level of enjoyment i get out of it

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 20th, 2011, 9:12 am

Tried this (Old Parr) last night ... At a wedding so don't know if it was one of those bottles pulled out from the days of Babylon, but I thought it very one note ... mild and uninteresting ... Was not impressed with my sampling at all ...

But like I said, could have been an old and badly stored bottle.

My current top pick:

the 12 year old is $260 in pricemart ...

Next purchase:

$315 in hilo glencoe