Why 2 lanes on CRH westbound in front GB?

Re: Why 2 lanes on CRH westbound in front GB?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 10th, 2013, 11:38 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:Change is part of development. Some people claim that they want 1st world status and development but think with a third world mentality. You can't expect things to change and improve without having any disruption. It is obvious that the best time to do any testing of traffic flow is when school closes. Yes there will be less traffic but this will be taken into consideration when making a decision. The mentality of most is don't inconvenience me because I am selfish and I want everything to work in my favour. I from the East and I don't care about the South people. Let them suffer. Don't inconvenience me. If you need to reach earlier then wake up earlier. South people didn't complain when the traffic got worse in the morning because the East traffic was coming at a faster rate.

But by basic logic..south people are coming onto the east west people road.
So the people coming on has to pay a higher price than the people already on the road.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 10th, 2013, 11:53 am

You started off well but descended into the the emotive not linear thinking at the end . Everyone want little disruption if possible . Some bright sparks not too long ago decided to make a section on Evans St no entry for traffic coming from the CRH . The route takes you through Alice St and then a small connection road that has cars parked on both sides , then onto a very rough Watts St. A straight drive of 50 meters , changed to a drive of 250 meters with narrow and rough roads . This is traffic from the highway not from a market .

This new merging is a wait and see but all the traveling public, needs much more attention .

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 11:56 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:Change is part of development. Some people claim that they want 1st world status and development but think with a third world mentality. You can't expect things to change and improve without having any disruption. It is obvious that the best time to do any testing of traffic flow is when school closes. Yes there will be less traffic but this will be taken into consideration when making a decision. The mentality of most is don't inconvenience me because I am selfish and I want everything to work in my favour. I from the East and I don't care about the South people. Let them suffer. Don't inconvenience me. If you need to reach earlier then wake up earlier. South people didn't complain when the traffic got worse in the morning because the East traffic was coming at a faster rate.

The world's longest internet paragraph

Postby Dizzy28 » December 10th, 2013, 11:58 am

cornfused wrote:You started off well but descended into the the emotive not linear thinking at the end . Everyone want little disruption if possible . Some bright sparks not too long ago decided to make a section on Evans St no entry for traffic coming from the CRH . The route takes you through Alice St and then a small connection road that has cars parked on both sides , then onto a very rough Watts St. A straight drive of 50 meters , changed to a drive of 250 meters with narrow and rough roads . This is traffic from the highway not from a market .

This new merging is a wait and see but all the traveling public, needs much more attention .

I fail to see the Evans Street example and how it relates to the Highway.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 10th, 2013, 12:12 pm

Its no secret that the back up from the merging of 3 lanes heading east to 2 at the Trincity Bridge is long . On an afternoon it extends westward to the Curepe intersection and beyond . For vehicles wanting to get to St. Augustine , Tunapuna , St. John or El Dorado . Evans St is the first easy point of departure from the eastbound on the CRH .

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 10th, 2013, 12:55 pm

pioneer wrote:Why would westbound drivers coming from the east merge if someone is trying to merge infront them? :?
The obvious choice is either blow ur horn and deny the merge or slow down and let the person merge...as it was before and it caused no problem.

It is well known fact that trinis never like anybody to merge in front of them!
Therefore with the old system they “drivers” always begin to merge to the RHS Lane as I showed in the 1st pic.
There is then always a scuffle at this outermost RHS lane when everyone scrambles to merge here to avoid the south drivers interference.
If you don’t know that this happens every day then u clearly are not coming from the East and you clearly are not a regular driver.
I really can’t believe that you denied that common every day fact!
No one ever “blows their horn” at a merger in front of them... the minority just rushes up and tries to “squeeze” them out, while the majority merges to the RHS to maintain their flow of driving.
This merging to the RHS is what used to cause a lot of traffic both from the East and from the South.
I think with so many words and sketches....I’ve explained enough on that aspect already.

pioneer wrote: Those south people are still goin to try to dart all the way from the left to the right lane into POS...they always hog the right lane for some stupid reason....jus check what they do on evenings...the exact opposite.

If you choose to highlight that idiotic aspect of the trini driver then, like I said, there’s no solution to that problem. Roads can’t be built/designed/redirected to facilitate an idiotic driver... take that query to the Licensing Office where they bought their license or got it without ever passing a test.

pioneer wrote:This plan is full of flaws and once again the ministry duncee heads didn't really think it through.

Any plan that is put in place to provide an immediate result will always have flaws especially since the politricians of the past never designed the country initially for development.
All I was saying was to just let it play off for a while and see how it goes after people get accustomed to the arrangements.

pioneer wrote: I hope people start driving on that "closed" off lane just for spite.

Is because of this same dotish thinking, why people always run to the fast lane and just stay there...
*see my location*

pioneer wrote: No offense to new species if you're one of those ministry duncee heads.

By just aligning me with a Ministry is an insult enough aside from the “dunce head” ting...

Let us not forget which initial political party started this entire design for these ramps and overpasses...
Here is where the real “dunce heads” exist... dem pawns in all the Ministries just take orders and follow them...(when dey get de time).
If some people put aside their political alliance and consistent inertia, they might see some potential...

In my humble opinion that entire “RAMP” and the associated “CHOAS BRIDGES” is simply a huge pile of CRAP, that was “engineered” by the PNM “saviours”.
But I was just trying to look at only this portion of the entire shitty idea and make some sense of it.

Anyway... like I always say:
Same sheit.... Different Day!

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 1:44 pm

Fella there is nothing new about your species, idiots have existed for centuries.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 10th, 2013, 2:17 pm

men stil using the lane to the extreme right which has the diagonal lines on them.utter sheit imo to use 2 lanes.

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 2:27 pm

I doh blame them...they leaving people with no choice...some people end up blocking the intersection due to the 7 second light by valsayn...leaving the north valsayn crew also stranded

People have no choice but to drive on the blocked off piece of road in order to not block the intersection

Wonderful piece of research done with great scientific methods used.

Hooray

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 10th, 2013, 2:31 pm

so anyone has the real answer as to how such this bullsheit idea sufficed?????

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 10th, 2013, 2:36 pm

It has really eased the traffic coming from south , shortened my trip by atleast 10 minutes....usually pass there about 6:15am

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 2:39 pm

South people have no traffic lights to deal with, a lil wait by the intersection won't kill them.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 10th, 2013, 2:55 pm

living south and west..... not affected... about time...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 10th, 2013, 3:13 pm

• From Arima there are 11traffic light intersections that need to be crossed before reaching this area .
• The new 2 lanes scheme in this area it has caused more traffic heading west form Arima, Mausica, Maloney, Piarco , Trinicity , Macoya , Pasea , UWI, Curepe , Valsayn North and South.
• If these traffic lights were efficient and changed every 3 minutes . A road user would spend 33 mins by these intersections alone , before reaching the now narrowed area.
• The widening of the bridge at Trincity has taken 5 years to commence.

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 3:21 pm

I've noticed all the westbound lights timing has been changed...they remain green for a shorter time.

The valsayn one is disgusting...an entire 7 seconds...I counted it two mornings in a row

But hey maybe a guy shutdown on the beetham, the possibilities are endless.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » December 10th, 2013, 3:30 pm

There is a general sentiment that people everywhere will tolerate temporary disruption for a long term benefit.

The problem here is that it never appeared that 2 lanes was the solution. To build 3 lanes and then revert to 2 indicates there was little analysis from the onset and this appears knee jerk.

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 3:34 pm

It is political victimization, the ppg needs a way to punish people of TPRC and grande for the resounding defeats they suffered

Let's not forget St. Joseph

Postby SR » December 10th, 2013, 5:23 pm

Loving how decisions are made by people who "ocassionally" traverse from the east heading west peak time on a morning and imaginr lane changed over the weekend on monday to adjustments on tuesday.....what poor planning and foresight not even a week before a change is made shows the pure stupidity and lack of data before making that decision in the first place

Postby SR » December 10th, 2013, 5:25 pm

Drawings look good on paper what about the actual volume of traffic flowing from south to west opposed to east to west at the gb intersection...as well as what type of vehicles private/commercial

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 10th, 2013, 6:31 pm

pioneer wrote:I've noticed all the westbound lights timing has been changed...they remain green for a shorter time.

The valsayn one is disgusting...an entire 7 seconds...I counted it two mornings in a row

But hey maybe a guy shutdown on the beetham, the possibilities are endless.

u ever check the timing of the light to go into Pricesmart in Piarco...dat sheit worse

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2013, 6:43 pm

for those who traverse daily in peak times,
did you ever notice any officials on site at the peak hours monitoring and taking notes ?

I see that off the northbound to west there is a car counter wire in the two lanes but I cant say I have seen ministry officials doing actual live surveys.

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 8:01 pm

Saw absolutely nobody besides the papers man and the fruit man does be there on a morning.

There was a helicopter flyin up n down the length of the CRH...possibly ministry genius' in there looking on?

I'm with SR on this, extremely POOR decision made...most of these ministry decision makers always usin the PBR anyhow so they won't be in the know.

Some idiot clearly tried to be bright in a meeting on richmond street...and has clearly failed the population.

Open back the third lane NOW.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 10th, 2013, 10:50 pm

pugboy wrote:for those who traverse daily in peak times,
did you ever notice any officials on site at the peak hours monitoring and taking notes ?

I see that off the northbound to west there is a car counter wire in the two lanes but I cant say I have seen ministry officials doing actual live surveys.

For the uninformed.
Go look up pneumatic road tubes (the authorities used them for about two weeks for counting cars).
Why have people manually counting when you can just use reliable and readily available technology?

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 10:52 pm

ITT neckbeards use big words and terms, yet have failed to traverse the route themselves at peak hours.

Yeah bro, continue to sit behind your keyboard and pretend you have the answers to our traffic problems, cuz thaz what the computer told you.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 10th, 2013, 10:53 pm

But by basic logic..south people are coming onto the east west people road.
So the people coming on has to pay a higher price than the people already on the road.

By YOUR basic logic, south people should only benefit from all the oil and gas money.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 10th, 2013, 10:57 pm

pioneer wrote:ITT neckbeards use big words and terms, yet have failed to traverse the route themselves at peak hours.

Yeah bro, continue to sit behind your keyboard and pretend you have the answers to our traffic problems, cuz thaz what the computer told you.

The technology was used.
I'm just informing the uninformed.

Go write your MP bro.
Continuing to sit behind your keyboard and whine about it on tuner not helping your cause.

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 11:02 pm

Nuh really, we go jus jive on de closed piece ah road and cause it on de wessbong.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 11th, 2013, 12:18 am

I say we settle this by having a war between East and South/Central. Winner gets the additional lane.
South/Central might have more people but East has a higher population density of guntas, so it should be an even battle.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 11th, 2013, 6:25 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:For the uninformed.
Go look up pneumatic road tubes (the authorities used them for about two weeks for counting cars).
Why have people manually counting when you can just use reliable and readily available technology?

The pneumatic road tubes are useless where you have standstill traffic. The manual counters that you may see on the road may be actually checking turning movements of traffic at an intersection, which the pneumatic road tubes cannot do, or they may be checking traffic volumes in areas where there is standstill traffic.

Irrespective of the above, it is still good practice to calibrate the tubes against manual counts with respect to total volume of traffic and volumes of the respective classes of traffic.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 11th, 2013, 6:41 am

not affected...