Tim says vacation cut for students & teachers

Re: Tim says vacation cut for students & teachers

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 9:56 am

Sky wrote:^^ I love how your link not only shows a study of American jobs to be used as your point about Trinidad jobs, but show 3 more stressful jobs than teaching that don't give as much vacation as teaching. You're really winning today.

You studying he? He prolly never held a job where everyday that you're on the job yuh cud dead. I tired ah dis bitchy whining about stress, If'n iz too much stress, press out! You have a job where every single weekend, public holiday, yuh home. Then yuh have yuh sick leave, yuh casual leave, yuh normal vacation. Thas nuh enuff time to de-stress?

Trinis like to be in everything, so they sit and watch good morning america and hear a doctor talk about stress

So instead of dealing with life and accepting reality, the trini prefers to buy his head in the sand and say I am stressed.

Then they put a sticker on their car saying 2blessed2bstressed

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 7th, 2014, 10:21 am

pioneer wrote:Then they put a sticker on their car saying 2blessed2bstressed

Like that woman with she silver panel van on Queen Street? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 12:48 pm

http://scd.org.tt/images/press_release/ ... larity.pdf

Regularity and Punctuality in Secondary Schools in the Teaching Service

The Teaching Service Commission wishes to advise all stakeholders that a report on regularity and punctuality among Secondary School Teachers in the Teaching Service for the year ending 2012 has
been obtained from the Ministry of Education.

From the data presented, the Commission was able to discern the following:

1. A total of 1,099 secondary school teachers have exceeded 14 days sick leave or 14 days ccasional leave or have been late more than 1,000 minutes for 2012. This number represents 19% of the secondary school teacher population.

2. 755 or 14% secondary school teachers have exceeded their sick leave entitlement of 14 days in 2012.

3. 472 or 9% secondary school teachers have been late in excess of 1, 000 minutes in 2012.

4. 149 or 3% secondary school teachers have exceeded the eligibility of 14 days casual days in 2012

I'm guessing "stress" caused em to be late/absent?

What the forum-teachers have to say? Surely google has some site/article that you all can post as an excuse.

Can't wait for the 2013 report.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 7th, 2014, 1:40 pm

http://scd.org.tt/images/press_release/ ... larity.pdf

The Teaching Service Commission wishes to advise all stakeholders that a report on regularity and punctuality among Secondary School Teachers in the Teaching Service for the year ending 2012 has

1. A total of 1,099 secondary school teachers have exceeded 14 days sick leave or 14 days ccasional leave or have been late more than 1,000 minutes for 2012. This number represents 19% of the secondary school teacher population.

2. 755 or 14% secondary school teachers have exceeded their sick leave entitlement of 14 days in 2012.

3. 472 or 9% secondary school teachers have been late in excess of 1, 000 minutes in 2012.

4. 149 or 3% secondary school teachers have exceeded the eligibility of 14 days casual days in 2012

so by extending the teaching terms these figures going to go down? or the same delinquent teachers juss gonna get more time to reach late, to exceed the allowable leave and sick leave entitlement? PP logic amazes me..........this sounds more like Sat Maraj ranting
I guess once more the 50%+ teachers that don't do this gonna suffer.

Postby 16 cycles » January 7th, 2014, 1:52 pm

what's the stats for # of teachers reaching early to school in excess of * minutes

# of teachers that didn't use up sick or occasional leave etc.

stats need to be balanced....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 7th, 2014, 3:10 pm

He mad

If vaca cut, votes cuttin too...simple as that

Postby nemisis » January 7th, 2014, 3:12 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:He mad

If vaca cut, votes cuttin too...simple as that
the people affected directly not old enough to vote though.....

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 3:52 pm

16 cycles wrote:what's the stats for # of teachers reaching early to school in excess of * minutes

# of teachers that didn't use up sick or occasional leave etc.

stats need to be balanced....

There's no such thing as "early minutes" as a public servant.

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2014, 4:34 pm

pioneer wrote:http://scd.org.tt/images/press_release/TSC%20regularity.pdf

I'm guessing "stress" caused em to be late/absent?

What the forum-teachers have to say? Surely google has some site/article that you all can post as an excuse.

Can't wait for the 2013 report.

2012 stats will show elaborated data, if i remember, that was the year teachers engaged in strike action so the stats will obviously be high

2013 should be less

and its very simple, put things in place to deal with delinquent teachers
but its clear that the nation fosters delinquency since we have delinquent teachers, public servants, police officers etc etc and nothing is done to weed them out

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2014, 6:34 pm

are these stats accurate ?
do schools have proper HR personnel to keep track of these things ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 7th, 2014, 6:55 pm

delinquency seems to be the norm throughout......

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2014, 7:42 pm

pugboy wrote:are these stats accurate ?

yeah they do, on a monthly basis before the info goes to the head office, you have to sign stating your leave and minutes late its true and correct....

once there isnt any ratch going on in the school, and MOE tabulates the results properly it should be accurate

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 7:44 pm

wait wait...teachers allowed to strike?

wtf am I hearing

Strike action needs to be outlawed across the entire country. Anyone who strikes should be fired.

Use your vacay days and strike all you want.

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2014, 7:46 pm

^ u probably got it wrong,
if you strike, you have to apply for the day off using one of your allotted days

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 7th, 2014, 7:54 pm

X_Factor wrote:
pugboy wrote:are these stats accurate ?

yeah they do, on a monthly basis before the info goes to the head office, you have to sign stating your leave and minutes late its true and correct....

once there isnt any ratch going on in the school, and MOE tabulates the results properly it should be accurate

Key words highlighted!

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » January 7th, 2014, 7:57 pm

pioneer wrote:Let me simplify - How many actual teaching days are there in:

1. The first week of school
2. During examinations (mid term & finals)
3. The last week of school

Do not count public holidays and sports day. Let's not forget outing too.

or the 1/2 day every month "bank time"

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 8:02 pm

X_Factor wrote:^ u probably got it wrong,
if you strike, you have to apply for the day off using one of your allotted days

Then y de fork dey going over their limit?

You mentioned the strike, if they strike why are they taking additional days?

I does lulz everytime I see dem siddong before tribunal...walk wid mammy an tanty tuh cry for dem

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 8:02 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:delinquency seems to be the norm throughout......

I find you quiet boi :o

Postby UML » January 7th, 2014, 8:11 pm

ttuta want the govt, that trying to reduce teachers time away from classes, to give them training on work ethics. would this training, to reduce time away from classes, not cause more time away from classes to attend this training?

.....yep makes sense!!!

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 8:15 pm

Nah send them on training during school vacation, but wait they might want the gubment to provide them transport and other incentives.

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2014, 8:21 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Let me simplify - How many actual teaching days are there in:

1. The first week of school
2. During examinations (mid term & finals)
3. The last week of school

Do not count public holidays and sports day. Let's not forget outing too.

or the 1/2 day every month "bank time"

ohh gosh, its 2hrs, and other professions get up to a whole day off eh....

and as for exceeding sick, it can happen if someone gets really ill you can easily run over ur sick leave

as for casual leave, well if you exceed that without a really good reason, you should have some sort of repercussion....which i think is they deduct the extra days from your salary

but instead of focusing on vacation there are much more important matters to put the attention onn such as

student support services, which is almost non existent!!! (imagine after 2yrs they now calling and doing follow up on a child who left the school a year ago)

special needs children --get schools specifically for special needs children with learning disabilities

councilors and psychologists for schools to try and nip the deviance where it starts

focus on delinquent parents who really doh give a fack if their child learn or not

Postby UML » January 7th, 2014, 8:57 pm

The "deviance" starts with the teachers!!!

Children spend more time in school than home

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 7th, 2014, 9:25 pm

UML wrote:The "deviance" starts with the teachers!!!

This is what I was sayin!

Postby nemisis » January 7th, 2014, 9:26 pm

what sheit did you just type, if parents on their a game then what the teachers do irrelevant

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 9:28 pm

Extensive sick leave - do they provide proof of their condition?

Or jus say - "I de sick so I de stay home *cough cough*"

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2014, 9:30 pm

nemisis wrote:

what sheit did you just type, if parents on their a game then what the teachers do irrelevant

nah,from that logic it seems everyone taught themselves how to read and write....

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » January 7th, 2014, 9:50 pm

take this as advice

'don't argue with idiots,
they will bring you down to their level of stupidity
and beat you with experience'

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2014, 9:52 pm

Real teachers on chuna boi

Postby tr1ad » January 7th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Don't see what the fuss is about...

The ability to change is always met with the inability to accept change

Postby De Dragon » January 7th, 2014, 9:58 pm

pioneer wrote:Extensive sick leave - do they provide proof of their condition?

Or jus say - "I de sick so I de stay home *cough cough*"

Dem brighter than dat, iz 1 day at a time for that 14 + days