GATE - Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses

Re: GATE - Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 6:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:My age is irrelevant to the donkey wine.

Yes but I did not ask it with respect to the donkey wine so again I ask, how old are you?

Postby Spitfir3 » September 12th, 2014, 6:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have a question and I hope someone can answer it. A teacher from COSTAATT said there is no reason to get anything higher than a pass in a degree. He says a first class honors won't get you the Job over someone with a pass or lower second class. Now he is a fulltime COSTAATT teacher but he teaches at different school on some occasions. Today was the first time he mentioned that he teaches at COSTAATT.

Another very interesting thing is he said we should take less courses and put aside time for Carnival. He said carnival is essential for us and we should not study too much we need to get a life.

He is also somewhat anti UWI aswell. I need to know from you guys what you think about this, honestly this does not sound right to me at all. I taught a first class and upper second class honors show that a person studied very hard and took their education more serious than those with pass and those who had to repeat?

He says in the real world this does not matter and that experience means far more. Something just does not ring with him at all but I dunno nah. He could be right for all I know, however I am very anti carnival I think it degrades the human mind and lowers the decency of people. I mean I have never ever seen a scientist or a doctor doing the donkey wine on a vagrant covered in mud.

there is some truth but BS to his story for starters

" teacher from COSTAATT said there is no reason to get anything higher than a pass in a degree. He says a first class honors won't get you the Job over someone with a pass or lower second class"

This may apply to some places because going past a degree means more $$ and not all companies are willing to dish out high salaries for over qualifed workers

"He says in the real world this does not matter and that experience means far more. "

This also has some truth to it doesn't matter how you get to your destination as long as you get there to draw a reference if you use a plane obviously you will to your destination faster but its more expensive meanwhile someone may not be as rich(smart) so you would use a boat which would still get you there albeit a slower pace but you will get there and still learn on the journey

"I am very anti carnival I think it degrades the human mind and lowers the decency of people. I mean I have never ever seen a scientist or a doctor doing the donkey wine on a vagrant covered in mud"

that part i underlined is the problem right there...i know people with Masters who are EXTREMELY smart yet they don't miss a carnival to get on "bad"
there's really not much more to say its all a matter of preference carnival just isn't your thing so be it but that doesn't mean everyone who participates is automatically a dumbass or trying to degrade themselves in the end of the day any wise person would know who they are...some view it as just another celebration that's all

the reason i said there is some BS to the story is because for every point i made there is a counter point

Postby The_Honourable » September 12th, 2014, 6:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have a question and I hope someone can answer it. A teacher from COSTAATT said there is no reason to get anything higher than a pass in a degree. He says a first class honors won't get you the Job over someone with a pass or lower second class. Now he is a fulltime COSTAATT teacher but he teaches at different school on some occasions. Today was the first time he mentioned that he teaches at COSTAATT.

Another very interesting thing is he said we should take less courses and put aside time for Carnival. He said carnival is essential for us and we should not study too much we need to get a life.

He is also somewhat anti UWI aswell. I need to know from you guys what you think about this, honestly this does not sound right to me at all. I taught a first class and upper second class honors show that a person studied very hard and took their education more serious than those with pass and those who had to repeat?

He says in the real world this does not matter and that experience means far more. Something just does not ring with him at all but I dunno nah. He could be right for all I know, however I am very anti carnival I think it degrades the human mind and lowers the decency of people. I mean I have never ever seen a scientist or a doctor doing the donkey wine on a vagrant covered in mud.

His logic probably has to do with the idea of "this is trinidad... jus do so and so and you would get tru." I would not be surprised if he "pull string" and somehow manipulating things to get his way overtly or covertly.

If the job market sucks, then someone who graduates with a GPA of 4.0 while another with a 2.5 would end up in the same boat, unless the 4.0 person migrates. He should of said the following instead and it would make much better sense.

- Do the best you can do, always strive for excellence.
- Even though academics is important, experience will carry you much more and will actually give you and edge.
- Don't spend 100% of your time in books. Have a form of recreation.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2014, 8:10 pm

thanks very much for addressing my questions guys much appreciated.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 13th, 2014, 6:56 am

Sounds like a man content with mediocrity.

I fail to see the link with Carnival being essential and academic achievement being by the way.

Work hard... and when the time is right, play hard as well.

Postby Kenjo » September 13th, 2014, 7:10 am

neexis wrote:

Sounds like a man content with mediocrity.

I fail to see the link with Carnival being essential and academic achievement being by the way.

Work hard... and when the time is right, play hard as well.

That teacher is pretty smart since he wants his students to remain shittongs so that he can keep his job!it has no reason to not excel in academics and have a co-curricula activity like sport or carnival. Anyone who is going to play carnival most likely would be involved in sport or gym. He can't be encouraging no mammpie to go run down the road for 2 days in a bikini

Postby Gladiator » September 13th, 2014, 9:53 am

I have spoken to a couple recruitment officers that have said that they are wary of hiring first class graduates for certain types of jobs, mainly Engineers and Project Managers due to the fact that First Class students prove to be more academically inclined and there is a high probability that they would not do well in the field.

I cant contribute to the Carnival though... I see it as a distraction that the system uses to let the population think they enjoying themselves, when in fact after the euphoria of the season the real issues (poverty, responsibility etc) are still there. I see a handful of people becoming millionaires overnight by exploiting the masses who just giving them their money because of the illusionary "good time"

Postby zoom rader » September 13th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Gladiator wrote:

I have spoken to a couple recruitment officers that have said that they are wary of hiring first class graduates for certain types of jobs, mainly Engineers and Project Managers due to the fact that First Class students prove to be more academically inclined and there is a high probability that they would not do well in the field.

I cant contribute to the Carnival though... I see it as a distraction that the system uses to let the population think they enjoying themselves, when in fact after the euphoria of the season the real issues (poverty, responsibility etc) are still there. I see a handful of people becoming millionaires overnight by exploiting the masses who just giving them their money because of the illusionary "good time"

I have said along the same lines as you over and over again that Trini problem is carnival. People think all year of wine and Jam .

Lance

Postby Lance » September 13th, 2014, 3:59 pm

BS argument lol... Ask the recruitment officers if they have first class honors.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 13th, 2014, 4:32 pm

hmm well thats weird that recruitment officers actually believe a first class Engineering graduate would know far less than someone who has a pass. I have a hard time believing that!! Thats like saying well a doctor with a low grade infact I think a doctor with a low pass can't even be a doctor anyways its like saying that person who failed medicine knows more than a brilliant brain surgeon.

So back to what you said regarding recruitment officers who think less of a first class engineer. A first class engineer would mean that he is more capable of making decisions without errors. If your mathematics is top notch then you are less likely to make bad decisions that would cause the collapse of a huge building or a huge bridge or hell look at Mechanical Engineers. Boeing would never ever hire a mechanical engineer who has a low pass mark, imagine the serious decisions required in designing aircrafts.

Look at Electrical Engineers like Dr David Kirk he is a first class honors from uni of California in Electrical Engineering and he is also the top chief scientist at Nvidia the world's leader in GPU microchips.

Lance

Postby Lance » September 13th, 2014, 4:56 pm

By that recruiter's logic, Ivy League and Russell group universities shouldn't exist.

Postby Kenjo » September 13th, 2014, 4:59 pm

One recruiter and one teacher who are afraid of younger persons being better than them yes! You guys need to be a bit more selective on who you are taking advice from

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 13th, 2014, 6:05 pm

^ you know its funny, I met some guys doing a bunch of resits from a year 2 undergrad engineering program and they have a GPA of 1.2 and have lost GATE. Out of curiosity I asked why they failed and if anyone passed all subjects in 1 shot and they mentioned yeah there were people who passed all in 1 shot and got very high marks.

However these guys went onto say those people who got high marks and didn't have to resit, those people had no life and that normal people cannot pass everything with high marks. These fellas went onto say things like we need to fete and play mass for carnival we need to have a fun life and enjoy life while we young.
Sounds familiar right? they were the exact words that this same teacher used. Now lets say they didn't take this man advice and they studied aiming for highest marks, if they fell short they would still pass.

Postby Gladiator » September 13th, 2014, 9:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:hmm well thats weird that recruitment officers actually believe a first class Engineering graduate would know far less than someone who has a pass. I have a hard time believing that!! Thats like saying well a doctor with a low grade infact I think a doctor with a low pass can't even be a doctor anyways its like saying that person who failed medicine knows more than a brilliant brain surgeon.

So back to what you said regarding recruitment officers who think less of a first class engineer. A first class engineer would mean that he is more capable of making decisions without errors. If your mathematics is top notch then you are less likely to make bad decisions that would cause the collapse of a huge building or a huge bridge or hell look at Mechanical Engineers. Boeing would never ever hire a mechanical engineer who has a low pass mark, imagine the serious decisions required in designing aircrafts.

Look at Electrical Engineers like Dr David Kirk he is a first class honors from uni of California in Electrical Engineering and he is also the top chief scientist at Nvidia the world's leader in GPU microchips.

I think you comparing the extremes... a First Class vs a Pass

When I was talking to the individuals they were more comparing First Class and Upper Seconds

Postby zoom rader » September 14th, 2014, 2:53 am

One of the main problems in Trini is that firms tend to employ people that are way too over quailfied for the Job. After a couple of months the employee tends tobe bored and their productivity level drops they futher always looking to move on which ads more cost to the employer in finding a someone to fill the job.

Hiring the best with paper tends to fail unless its a special feild. If employers want to keep staff its best to hire people that fit that role .

Postby Gladiator » September 14th, 2014, 7:46 pm

Also consider the fact that fresh graduates, regardless of the class of degree, ALL have zero work experience at the time of first employment. The ones who learn the work quicker usually succeeds quicker.

Remember also that the work is not read, remember, regurgitate, and write exam...

Postby pioneer » September 14th, 2014, 8:56 pm

Gladiator wrote:Also consider the fact that fresh graduates, regardless of the class of degree, ALL have zero work experience at the time of first employment. The ones who learn the work quicker usually succeeds quicker.

Remember also that the work is not read, remember, regurgitate, and write exam...

Obviously people will have zero work experience at the time of first employment.

That's like the biggest duh ever, I guess you somehow got experience minus having to work? :?

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » September 14th, 2014, 9:23 pm

You guys in this thread are raising arguments based on hearsay which borderlines on
ridiculous stereotypes, portraying and depicting certain institutions and the people who attend them in a bad light.

You guys are despicable and have huge chips on your shoulder over ppl who certainly dont care what you think anyways. Ya'll chats are irrelevant and nothing you say will even make anyone who matters care with your made up stories. Setta neck-beards :|

I hope you heard that :roll:

Postby 1UZFE » September 14th, 2014, 9:25 pm

^^^ mmmkkkayy..

Postby zoom rader » September 15th, 2014, 1:18 am

Crackpot wrote:You guys in this thread are raising arguments based on hearsay which borderlines on
ridiculous stereotypes, portraying and depicting certain institutions and the people who attend them in a bad light.

You guys are despicable and have huge chips on your shoulder over ppl who certainly dont care what you think anyways. Ya'll chats are irrelevant and nothing you say will even make anyone who matters care with your made up stories. Setta neck-beards :|

Fact is COSTAATT is the cepep of Education .

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » September 15th, 2014, 6:31 am

Crackpot wrote:You guys in this thread are raising arguments based on hearsay which borderlines on

Fact is COSTAATT is the cepep of Education .

Nobody cares what you call it Zoom, Costaatt Main Campus still gonna be built in the back of Charlieville and we are still gonna pork all of your sisters and fix the prejudices ppl like you have permanently :|

Postby 1UZFE » September 15th, 2014, 7:11 am

^^ and u c y men like zoom cud give allyuh talk.
Crime cycle begins.
So i guess its "thank u mama for d 9 mths u carried me"

Postby pioneer » September 15th, 2014, 10:39 pm

1UZFE wrote:^^ and u c y men like zoom cud give allyuh talk.
Crime cycle begins.

"Now de guvament hadda mine me"

Postby zoom rader » September 16th, 2014, 12:58 am

Pios what are your views on dem Costaatt public servants.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 16th, 2014, 12:52 pm

1UZFE wrote:^^ and u c y men like zoom cud give allyuh talk.
Crime cycle begins.

"Now de guvament hadda mine me"

I know I kinda late but that recruitment officer and that teacher both on real sh!t. First class honours are extremely hard to get in engineering (except Chemical eng.). The people to get jobs straight out of university were those with first class honours and those with connections. It is possible to lime like once or twice a month and get first class honours if you work real hard, but most first class people have no life... and guess what... engineering employers see that as a huge plus.

They want someone with not life, who they can get to come in early and stay back late and work on weekends without having to be paid overtime. They care only about your work/cost ratio. They don't care about race, background, religion and they prefer if you have not hobbies or spouse (obviously this is not true for the public sector, the people with connections get those jobs)

As far as "just getting a pass" goes, I have a lecturer that said the pass mark should be 75%. Imagine if you have to design some high pressure piping in Point Lisas on one of the plants. You think you could ever have the following conversation with your employer?

You - "Ah 50% sure dis ting goin as stan up"

Blagobinbalgobar - "Buh for how long it goin an stannup"

You - "... Ah 40% sure dis thing goin an stan up."

Blagobinbalgobar - "Yeah man dat good enough"

Also, keep in mind that GPA is not a reflection of "how much of a life" someone has and someone liking carnival does not incapacitate their professional ability. That's why there is normally an interview process.

chippy

Postby chippy » October 3rd, 2014, 2:12 pm

TRAE wrote:stuepz what kinda chupid guy is OP

dougla_boy wrote:stuepz what kinda chupid guy is OP

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:stuepz what kinda chupid guy is OP

Ah wonder who really 'chupid' boy..
Cause rite now I making eenof paper to pay dem and say ....'fork dat'
Wat is your salary TRAE, dougla_boy & Allergic2BunnyEars ..?... 8-)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 3rd, 2014, 2:28 pm

chippy wrote:

Your first post in this thread qualifies you as chupid not your new minimum wage salary.

chippy

Postby chippy » October 3rd, 2014, 3:44 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
chippy wrote:

Your first post in this thread qualifies you as chupid not your new minimum wage salary.

The thread was meant to inform the public at large what is now being enforced with the new E-Gate system...

So Allergic2BunnyEars seeing as you have so much time on your hands (3000 + posts), why yuh doh come down to UWI where ah woking... We could probably try and link yuh up with a lil O' Levels Maths and English...

If yuh pass...den you may qualify to call ppl chupid... :roll:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 3rd, 2014, 3:57 pm

chippy wrote:

The thread was meant to inform the public at large what is now being enforced with the new E-Gate system...

So Allergic2BunnyEars seeing as you have so much time on your hands (3000 + posts), why yuh doh come down to UWI where ah woking... We could probably try and link yuh up with a lil O' Levels Maths and English...

Your thread is akin to making a thread about getting fined for breaking a set law of the land. DUH you will have to pay. It says so on the GATE form so why make a thread about it?

Glad you are in UWI though. You get thru for sure in life. :lol: :lol: :lol:

But please go back to school for your O' Levels English because I'd hate to know you "woking" and not working in UWI. Yuh dumb kant.

chippy

Postby chippy » October 3rd, 2014, 4:05 pm

chippy wrote:

Your thread is akin to making a thread about getting fined for breaking a set law of the land. DUH you will have to pay. It says so on the GATE form so why make a thread about it?

Glad you are in UWI though. You get thru for sure in life. :lol: :lol: :lol:

But please go back to school for your O' Levels English because I'd hate to know you "woking" and not working in UWI. Yuh dumb kant.

Breaking the law he says..... hahaha.... what ah bake you are...