RBphoto wrote:
AYSN wrote:wedding price going up like hell

caterer price
photographer price
wedding cake price
pundit price

Correct.

nah. PM me and I go handle yuh with a reasonable price

Where your powerseller status dey breddaman?

bluesclues

Re: 12.5% VAT to be added to computers, tablets etc

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 4:21 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
bluesclues wrote:how short is this short term you speak of?

How about two periods? This calendar year and over two calendar years of low energy prices?

more than enough to reap the benefits of food production on a larger scale. not like we dont have the land. most crops take 3 months from seedling to harvest. we could just run short crop and longcrop simultaneously until the long crop starts producing.. thing like breadfruit, ackee, avocado etc that need trees to mature. this also has the side effect of creating jobs. why overlook food production for something else when you have nothing else? a bird in the hand.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 4:33 pm

bluesclues wrote:

How about two periods? This calendar year and over two calendar years of low energy prices?

more than enough to reap the benefits of food production on a larger scale. not like we dont have the land. most crops take 3 months from seedling to harvest. we could just run short crop and longcrop simultaneously until the long crop starts producing.. thing like breadfruit, ackee, avocado etc that need trees to mature. this also has the side effect of creating jobs. why overlook food production for something else when you have nothing else? a bird in the hand.

You gonna make up the deficit of billions in debt by going into agriculture over a one year period?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 4:35 pm

bluesclues wrote:

You gonna make up the deficit of billions in debt by going into agriculture over a one year period?

for a start. yeah why not?

better than trying to get the money from tax payers while corporations bleed the foreign exchange supply.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 4:48 pm

bluesclues wrote:

better than trying to get the money from tax payers while corporations bleed the foreign exchange supply.

I don't think it's very realistic. If it was that simple business men would be exploiting a significant portion of it already. There is nothing stopping individuals from selling those crops now but for some reason they not already doing it?

How much revenue you would expect from your agriculture plan over the first year?

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2016, 5:04 pm

I wonder if customs will be checking for ipads etc and bracing you with duties on return

Postby S_2NR » January 12th, 2016, 5:05 pm

"it was a gift from a relative". firetruck them

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 5:09 pm

In the past if they saw it they couldnt tax it. Now they can. Doubt they would do it if you have one new one in box but anymore than that and they wud jam u

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » January 12th, 2016, 5:45 pm

What you bringing the box home for ? Throw the box away. Smudge up the item and put some stickers on it. They cant claim you going to sell it then.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 5:46 pm

Just unbox it and say it's your personal tablet.

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2016, 6:31 pm

I don't think it's very realistic. If it was that simple business men would be exploiting a significant portion of it already. There is nothing stopping individuals from selling those crops now but for some reason they not already doing it?

The main issue that remains a challenge is labor.

In Nov last year I spoke with some second generation farmers and that was THE issue.

Cant get people to work and if you do they are totally un reliable...

I cant help but think we need a dose of hard times so that this generation would appreciate a fair wage.

I hear what BC is saying-it should be simple to do but there are reasons that it has not been done yet.

If I was Rowley I vocally push it....bring it into every sound bite ...Buy local...eat local....mandate that All GORTT/state enterprise functions only use local goods where they exist...

Set a challenge to the all inclusive s to use TOTAL local local content..

Challenge the population to eat total local for one day.....

Get a marketing campaign and beat it for a 6 onths.....

people will start to demand more local stuff....

get the demand up..prices will rise and attract new supply....let the private sector sort it out,
Ministry of Agric can facilitate.
get the kids WANTING to eat local instead of fast foods from franchise...in fact why cant the franchise develop local based dishes....

We need to ask why not more....not just assume it cant be done.

Let people get interested and plant their own gardens.....
its a culture change we need now ...not more facking gortt dependency
Last edited by Redman on January 12th, 2016, 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 6:31 pm

bluesclues wrote:

How much revenue you would expect from your agriculture plan over the first year?

it depends on the investment. right now the agricultural sector and small farmers in particular have trouble getting certain approvals for things like to run water and put down tank to water their crops. to be able to put down a structure to live in and tend the land. without those approvals its much more difficult to tend your crops, some have to pay expenses in transport as startups because they dont have their own and the additional costs and energy required to harvest keeps going up. we have to make it easier for farmers to be comfortable, on their land and able to fend off thieves. making it easier for them to go more largescale.

besides that, government itself can take an interest in the agricultural sector and provide jobs. for a start, a budgetary allocation of no less than 2-2.5 billion dollars as an investment to lay the foundation and setup all equipment, purchase seeds, hire personnel and prepare lands for planting. and increasing over the next few years to 5-6bn. once all that is in place cost of production will decrease and then its just about maintaining the equipment and allocations we already have. as a result i expect us to generate 100s of millions to a couple of billion in foreign currency from the export market annually with profit margins soaring after we break even. those profit margins are what we looking at that will help to mitigate outward cash flow. immediate side effects will include the significant lowering of the cost of local produce to consumers.

but we lack many agricultural technologies that could vastly improve the efficiency of our land usage. this is why we will need a large initial investment and greater encouragement for people to get into agriculture through less strict land usage policies where agriculture is concerned.

but i can tell you from first hand knowledge. a single farmer, with a spray can, and a $100 tin of seeds working 2 hrs a day and 4hrs once in a while depending is able to generate thousands of dollars in income from one crop per day! a $120 tin of cucumber seed for example holding 3000 seeds. and each vine that sprout from that giving u endless cucumber right up until the vine dry up. he literally, cannot harvest his crops fast enough to sell. and tonnes of it rot back into the ground. ocro is another one.. corn. and they giving u back seeds easy easy you dont even have to buy again once u get a good first harvest.

that is how agriculture works. it takes money to get started. but done efficiently.. it runs itself and just delivers money after a while at next to no cost in comparison. the majority of work is just in preparation and then harvest. if you could keep the cycles of cropping and re-cropping efficient and hire enough harvestors... millions can be generated by a simple small farmer per year. and we not even talking about the main government agricultural project. simple small farmers with small plots of land.. if they had a way to harvest all their crops and get it sold for export, would probably accrue an easy extra $200million in foreign revenues. those figures may not be impressive now. but over time and say 5 - 10 years it could generate billions per year in Profits from export. and with a government program that employs organic farming methods, the cost of production is reduced even further. further increasing your profit margin.

seen it myself. a few rows of corn in 100 foot beds is 30-50k in sales and if u spent $2000 to prepare those beds you spent plenty. u just cah pick 50k worth of corn in a day by yourself and you cant sell it in a day either. so men will just pick about 4-$500 worth of goods. pay transport to take them with their produce to the market. siddong and sell it and do that any time they need money again. meanwhile everyday.. ocro drying out.. pumpkin rottenin all the other produce what they cant pick and get sold rottenin.

this is just ONE of the areas i would tackle. but when we talking about generating foreign income. we talking about selling anything that we have that the international market seeks to outsource. that means not only products, but also services. services are beautiful in that you have no export costs. telephone tech support services for example are outsourced from india and ireland by a number of countries and corporations. some of them are even WORK FROM HOME where you answer calls from international customers and follow a manual on helping treat with their problem. its no-brainer work that pays. all you have to do is setup the infrastructure and hire and train your employees. india has been making a name for itself in that area for the past 10 yrs.

these are just 2. agriculture and service export. i have more. conjoining all the methods of generating foreign income i would expect a minimum annual 5billion usd being generated by these sectors. one of which allows us to sell energy on the international market at rates parallel to $80 a barrel even now and through further decline in oil price. unfortunately i prefer not to share details on that plan at this time. but basically, again, like the agriculture, it will require an initial investment, with a break even in about 3 months. after which, avoiding transportation costs and whatnot would leave us with monthly profit margins of 90% in comparison to the cost of running the operation for the month. real cold hard cash. but unlike the agricultural proposition, this already has a target market and buyers lined up.

the economic activity generated from the employment opportunities in these projects will also spurn on gdp growth. leading to a cascading effect of money untop of money and gradual reversal of our deficit position in 10-15 yrs. 15 years to repay the deficit of 50+Bn dollars and be in good economic standing at the same time is reasonable enough short term management where a nation is concerned. the deficit was not accrued in one year, and will not be paid in one year. we mismanaged our money. the shortest road out of hell now.. is a bit lengthy.

Postby Morpheus » January 12th, 2016, 6:34 pm

^^Damnnnnn that need an Intermission like The Ten Commandments movie yes....

Postby Mark! » January 12th, 2016, 6:48 pm

wtf. dis man writing book

Postby j.o.e » January 12th, 2016, 7:03 pm

2nr need a maximum word limit

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 12th, 2016, 7:08 pm

Great post though...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » January 12th, 2016, 7:13 pm

So is this ready to go? Or does this need to be debated in parliament still?

konartis

Postby konartis » January 12th, 2016, 7:18 pm

What makes me laugh is that the majority of these pnm supporters live pay to pay every month/fortnight/weekly so this added vat added is sending them in a state of confusion....I hear them in work all the time, how they vex, have to cut this and that....then in denial. But what u expect? U vote out pnm last 5 yrs, u feel they wud come better now?

Postby desifemlove » January 12th, 2016, 8:05 pm

i support this.

will people stop buying? why? people need to use computers, ent?

Dr. R knows this, and it meking sense.

Also taxes on alcohol, tobacco and fast food as he said.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 12th, 2016, 8:20 pm

We could do the agriculture thing eh no...but u Hadda realize that trinis have been trained to be opportunists...why u feel pnmites bummy right now? They tort they had a window to betterment instead they seeing Rowley in the Window frame saying tax in alyuh mc. How much of them saying pnm doing the best for the country? So yuh want to give the farmers incentive to plant more etc? While u at it create a regulatory body to deal with the prices of produce and make sure we get a good return on investment.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 12th, 2016, 8:25 pm

Great is the PNM ent
Woft gov't gone taxing pc parts yes.

Postby Mark! » January 12th, 2016, 8:26 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 8:29 pm

Do the agriculture thing. Diversify sure. It won't be as fast as some say it will be though. Hence why a combination of things, taxes included, are needed in the short and long term. I recall not one person crying out for VAT to be removed before it was on the 7000 items.

I don't think you guys were suffering then and I don't think you will suffer now with the 12.5%. Added costs yes. Sufferation? No. If yes to Sufferation best you go identify yourself in the sufferers ched.

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 8:32 pm

konartis wrote:What makes me laugh is that the majority of these pnm supporters live pay to pay every month/fortnight/weekly so this added vat added is sending them in a state of confusion....I hear them in work all the time, how they vex, have to cut this and that....then in denial. But what u expect? U vote out pnm last 5 yrs, u feel they wud come better now?

What informs you that the majority of PNM supporters poor? The EW corridor is dominated by PNM support by 60%-80% and it is the most middle class area in the country. Even Tobago, which is 75% PNM, where prices are higher hold their head above water and dont have a vagrant in sight.

What tells you that PNM supporter are poor and UNC supporters are rich?

konartis

Postby konartis » January 12th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:
konartis wrote:What makes me laugh is that the majority of these pnm supporters live pay to pay every month/fortnight/weekly so this added vat added is sending them in a state of confusion....I hear them in work all the time, how they vex, have to cut this and that....then in denial. But what u expect? U vote out pnm last 5 yrs, u feel they wud come better now?

What informs you that the majority of PNM supporters poor? The EW corridor is dominated by PNM support by 60%-80% and it is the most middle class area in the country. Even Tobago, which is 75% PNM, where prices are higher hold their head above water and dont have a vagrant in sight.

Me compared to you...hahahahaha...smh at poor pnm supporters....brain dead as usual and clouded by race and ignorance. You guys wudnt see that the pnm was in power so long and nothing good came out in this country...

Postby DVSTT » January 12th, 2016, 8:54 pm

Sigh, just as I was about to order some tablets....

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 8:55 pm

konartis wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Me compared to you...hahahahaha...smh at poor pnm supporters....brain dead as usual and clouded by race and ignorance. You guys wudnt see that the pnm was in power so long and nothing good came out in this country...
I think you are right, PNM gave this country nothing good.

To cement this view for me, can you name two significant revenue streams formulated and executed by the UNC?
Last edited by Habit7 on January 12th, 2016, 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 12th, 2016, 8:56 pm

Imagine if this was 1986 and you all had to face going from paying 0% VAT to 15% VAT. And you all complaining now.

Postby desifemlove » January 12th, 2016, 8:56 pm

cos every UNC born rich...every person in Siparia earns the highest tax bracket and the streets paved in gold (not she party's colours..actual gold....)

nothing good like the highway she built...nothign good like GATE...nothing good like NAPA..nothign good like the current exchange rate regime..but UNCs only does have primary school education...

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 8:57 pm

DVSTT wrote:Sigh, just as I was about to order some tablets....

Well dummy order them fast
Yuh have two weeks to get them in