Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby mero » April 8th, 2016, 4:54 pm

Well at least we dont have a yearly fx currency spending limit like in 1st world Barbados

Postby pete » April 8th, 2016, 4:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yeah but PNM didnt raise the budgetary expenditure by 25%, run a full term of deficit budgets and then walk away after a 35% drop in revenue.

How exactly did the UNC walk away?

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Re: RE: Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » April 8th, 2016, 4:56 pm

AYSN wrote:ummmm....50% tax on luxury vehicles?

What classifies a luxury vehicle?

Hilux?

Hilux...

Nah - hilux is a gyarden van...

Vigo, Revo, Navara, Ranger those should be considered "luxary" as in 75% ownership I'm sure, add little or no value to the nation by providing goods or services, however dey benefit from a reduced cost of fuel...
In instances like these, prospective buyers of such vehicles should be assessed & if dey don't fall in the category as stated above, their MVT etc should be much higher at Licensing stage & should be Registered "P"...

Inadvertently, LESS USELESS ROAD HOGS!!!
Last edited by Twin Isle Cars n' Parts on April 8th, 2016, 4:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » April 8th, 2016, 4:57 pm

I heard $200,000. If that is the case then Hilux and Toyotas are now luxury vehicles.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » April 8th, 2016, 5:03 pm

Where all the Pnm supporters I find them real quiet boy whey, all of a sudden now we ain't short on USD wasn't suppose to be in a recession but pnm rather let the country suffer more well done. Fellas stop saying they did nothing for the last 7 months they doing more than enough putting this country in the same status as dog shiet.

Postby S_2NR » April 8th, 2016, 5:03 pm

Hahaha. My car luxury yes. Dotish mc pnm. firetruck Rowley.

Postby Slartibartfast » April 8th, 2016, 5:05 pm

WarrLordd wrote:Where all the Pnm supporters I find them real quiet boy whey, all of a sudden now we ain't short on USD wasn't suppose to be in a recession but pnm rather let the country suffer more well done. Fellas stop saying they did nothing for the last 7 months they doing more than enough putting this country in the same status as dog shiet.

Except dog sheit don't hada worry about land tax

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 5:11 pm

WarrLordd wrote:Where all the Pnm supporters I find them real quiet boy whey, all of a sudden now we ain't short on USD wasn't suppose to be in a recession but pnm rather let the country suffer more well done. Fellas stop saying they did nothing for the last 7 months they doing more than enough putting this country in the same status as dog shiet.

When the totie have ah PNM label on it, it does slide right in........................

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » April 8th, 2016, 5:11 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Seeker wrote:No MVT on CNG and Electric vehicles....hmmn

Wasn't this always so....

No there was simply no VAT there was still duty and MVT I believe..

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » April 8th, 2016, 5:11 pm

That online tax is a blow to small business or people who are self employed so if men start raising their product from today I say it good for allyuh cause when the rich already rich they to nasty to not let the poor get a piece to stink is this government and I done hearing some money was spend before they even gotten approval for that kiss meh ass stadium that go full allyuh belly

Postby mero » April 8th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Look how men who star post in the sufferers ched crawling on dey belly now nah

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2016, 5:16 pm

is it 50% or 15% on luxury vehicles?
99e94165-2a5d-447b-a61a-820f43e093c1.jpg

Postby 1UZFE » April 8th, 2016, 5:19 pm

Wait nah. Drunken Kamla jus blow dem way...

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2016, 5:21 pm

What is classed as a luxury vehicle?

Any one cares to comment, Habit7?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2016, 5:24 pm

Luxury vehicles = cars costing over 500,000 before tax etc

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2016, 5:27 pm

Obviously anything licenses for commercial use is not a luxury vehicle.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2016, 5:29 pm

^^^ Thanks for the clarification

Postby 1UZFE » April 8th, 2016, 5:30 pm

Way rfairy?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » April 8th, 2016, 5:31 pm

So basically if I don't want the extra taxes on my Range Rover, I license it as a commercial vehicle? T plate Range Rover Sports coming soon.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 8th, 2016, 5:32 pm

Ranger, Hiluxes, vigos, Navaras, all dem Chupid spaceships getting hit for ah $40,000 increase, anyone who was expecting to buy one soon, you just got served.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » April 8th, 2016, 5:32 pm

Bezman wrote:Obviously anything licenses for commercial use is not a luxury vehicle.

Once it doesn't add value to the nation by providing goods and services... Should be that way...
Again the Vigo, Revo, Navara, Ranger, etc...
License em "P" & charge more taxes at point of registration...

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:
Bezman wrote:Obviously anything licenses for commercial use is not a luxury vehicle.

Once it doesn't add value to the nation by providing goods and services... Should be that way...

How exactly do you determine that?

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » April 8th, 2016, 5:36 pm

Personal assessment of the prospective buyer by Licensing Division...
Some go grease & get tru, after all iz Trini, but most others wouldn't...

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 5:43 pm

Personal assessment of the prospective buyer by Licensing Division...
Some go grease & get tru, after all iz Trini, but most others wouldn't...

So show up in ah ol' merino and Indian skateboard and yuh GTG? :? :?

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 5:47 pm

I think all would agree that our affairs unfortunately are in the hands of incompetent, blustering, preening fools who only care about cheap politicking than genuinely being concerned for our welfare. The kind of childish behaviour and one-upmanship that I saw in that presentation was deplorable.

Postby sliderz1 » April 8th, 2016, 5:53 pm

and determine that by?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2016, 6:00 pm

They don't need to put the 4x4 Diesel pickups in that class. They will no longer be popular soon when diesel is fully unsubsidized. Range rovers are luxury vehicles. No way around it.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 8th, 2016, 6:06 pm

W2J wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:7% tax on internet shopping/online purchases for foreign goods not taxed locally
To take effect from Sept 2016

Increased taxes on alcohol and tobacco products

Increased taxes on luxury vehicles by 50%

Super is now $3.58
Diesel is now $2.00

what is considered Internet shopping? Amazon and Ebay?

No once it reach ur sky box then customs will add the 7% + 12.5% and then duties

So if u bringing in car parts u gonna pay
30+7+12.5. = 49.5%

Correct me if I am wrong

They mentioned they would have to liaise with the Banks and Credit Card companies to do this, so it seems the government is going to know exactly what you bought and how much you paid for it

Luxury cars are anything with a 2.0 litre or bigger engine

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 8th, 2016, 6:06 pm

visited Toyota pos today sales rep said "all new vehicles gone up today " fully loaded hilux gone up by $40K ,Rav 4 by $30K
fully loaded yaris is now $187 K

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2016, 6:14 pm

^^^ Is a 4x4 classed as a car?