rspann wrote:Sat does talk shat sometimes, but if you listened to the whole speech, you will understand what he meant . He said that young people like to experiment and if by chance one gets pregnant, they should have the option for the families to get involved and get them married-if they want to. He asked why the priest don't interfere in the business of the ones that getting pregnant and making children at fourteen .
I see it as a reference to non- indo girls, because. Of the context he spoke it in.
tiger balm wrote:mrtrini45 wrote:
On the surface their positions sounds rational, until you check with the registrar and realise that there are no child marriages taking place in T&T despite what the law allows, and if no marriage officers are performing underaged marriages, why the sudden brouhaha?
Eh?? If child marriages haven't actually been taking place, Sat Maharaj, Bro. Harrypersad and the IRO would've ended the debate long time. They wouldn't be fighting it down so. The marriages are probably registered elsewhere.
2WNBoost wrote:I think the challenge with child marriages happens when a twenty something or older man wants to marry a fourteen or sixteen year old.
It just seems wrong.
Limit the marriage of under 18's to a two year age difference. That way if you young people are in love and want to get married the families are there for support.
But keep away them dutty old men who looking to take advantage of an innocent child.
My 2 cents.
Edit: Or once you are under 18 years old you can only marry another under 18 year old.
Newsday wrote:Views on child marriage myopic
By AZARD ALI Thursday, June 2 2016
A MUSLIM cleric has described as “legal window dressing”, calls for the change in the legal age of marriage among girls to coincide with the Sexual Offences Act, saying that sexual abuse of children lies not in the age of marriage, but with criminal conduct.
Siddiq Nasir took a jab at Roman Catholic Archbishop of Port of Spain Father Joseph Harris, who last week described child marriages as legalised statutory rape. Nasir said that the Archbishop has a very myopic and partial view of the issue. In fact, Nasir who is an Islamic scholar, said that the Code of Canon Law of the Catholic Church 1083 (1) states, “A man before he has completed his sixteenth year of age, and a woman before she has completed her fourteenth year of age, cannot enter into a valid marriage.” By virtue of that Canon Law, Nasir said, Christianity supports marriage of a girl once she has reached the age of 14. It is therefore passing strange that Harris who heads the Catholic church in Trinidad and Tobago, he explained, could view the marriage of a 14-year-old girl, “as legalised statutory rape”. The Muslim cleric bemoaned sexual activity among young teenagers before marriage, but he warned that it had nothing to do with the Marriage Act under the Laws of Trinidad and Tobago, the Muslim Marriage Act, the Hindu Marriage Act or the Orisha Marriage Act.
Nasir said that if promiscuity is rampant, it is an illness of a society that must tackle the problems that lead to such acts, such as incest, abortion, sex before marriage and rape. He asked, “Maxi taxi drivers are enticing young girls into sexual activity.
Will changing the legal age of marriage do anything to save these young girls?” He said, “We must protect our children – however not only physically, but morally and spiritually as well. Many efforts of many well-meaning persons to guard children against everything that is detrimental to them, are proving ineffective and even counter-productive. Our children are being bombarded by a deluge of influences explicitly, implicitly and subliminally, and unless a holistic approach is adopted, we will continue to fail in our efforts to protect them. A partial, very myopic approach is the present crusade to change the age of marriage so that children (in the definition of the Children Act, human beings under the age of eighteen) are protected from getting married.” Nasir argued that not allowing young girls to marry, but allowing them to have sex outside of marriage among themselves, “is quite amazing”. He said that it is more than passing strange that the Head of the Catholic Church in Trinidad, Archbishop Harris, could categorise the marriage of a fourteen year old girl, which the Canon Law says is valid, as “ legalised statutory rape” (unless he was misquoted).
Nasir went on to say that in the state of New York, a male or a female age fourteen, can marry with parental and judicial consent and that a male or female aged sixteen, can marry with parental consent. This, he added, was according to the Laws of New York, Domestic Relations, Article 3, Section 15, Subsections 1, 2, and 3, and Section 15-a). Nasir further stated that in the State of New Hampshire, Canada, a male age 14 to 17, and a female age thirteen to 17, can marry with parental and judicial consent.
He further went on to state that the Marriage (Scotland) Act 1977 states: “No person domiciled in Scotland may marry before he attains the age of 16.” Nasir concluded that a marriage solemnised in Scotland between persons either of whom is under the age of 16 or that in England and Wales, males and females aged sixteen can get married with parental consent.”
RBphoto wrote:Islamic scholar...lol.. what an oxymoron.
express wrote:Granny eats poisoned meal
Published on Jun 6, 2016, 9:31 am ASTBy Susan Mohammed0 CommentsArticle
Share:FacebookTwitter
[http://www]
A 12 year old boy spent the weekend in police custody after confessing to giving his grandmother a meal laced with insecticide on Saturday.
Police officers investigating the case retrieved a bottle of termite poison from the family home.
Related: Granny eats poisoned meal
Police said that at around 4 p.m. the boy allegedly made a meal of macaroni and eggs and offered it to his 58-year-old grandmother.
The boy's mother, who also lives in the house, was not at home at the time, police said.
Within minutes of consuming the meal the elderly woman became ill and she was taken to the Rio Claro District Health Facility.
Police said upon seeing his grandmother's condition, the boy allegedly confessed that he added poison to the food.
She has since been discharged and is recovering at home.
Officers of the Eastern Division Child Protection Unit are involved in the case.
2WNBoost wrote:Really people?
A 22 year old man taking home a 14 year old girl.
Anyway you slice it, it's just wrong.
BRZ wrote:2WNBoost wrote:Really people?
Yes in Most societies this would be considered as Child Molestation and Peadophilia, but this religion seems to think its Ok, at least that's what they say not so?![]()
BRZ wrote:2WNBoost wrote:Really people?
Yes in Most societies this would be considered as Child Molestation and Peadophilia, but this religion seems to think its Ok, at least that's what they say not so?![]()
RBphoto wrote:You know, I don't hear anyone thinking that sending a 14 year old boy to marry a 50 year old woman is disgusting. Thoughts? What about a 14 year old boy with a 22 year old? Disgusting or not?
Dizzy28 wrote:On those that calling for the Hindu community to speak out against Hindu marriages so far the following have issued statements in support of raising the marriage age -
Hindu Woman's Organization
SWAHA
Varsha Pratipada Sansad who represents -
The Hindu Prachar Kendra
The Chinmaya Mission
Param Dhaama Ashram
The Trinidad and Tobago Federation of Hindu Mandirs
Amarjyoth Sabha
Vishwanath Hindu Social and Cultural Organization
The Centre for Indic Studies
The Hindu Swayamsevak Sangh
The Chacachacare Mandir
SEWA International Trinidad & Tobago
The Jahajee Massacre Committee
The Arya Pratinidhi Sabha
ASTREL
NCIC
We left with just the Maha Sabha as the voice for not touching the legislation.
Habit7 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:On those that calling for the Hindu community to speak out against Hindu marriages so far the following have issued statements in support of raising the marriage age -
Hindu Woman's Organization
SWAHA
Varsha Pratipada Sansad who represents -
The Hindu Prachar Kendra
The Chinmaya Mission
Param Dhaama Ashram
The Trinidad and Tobago Federation of Hindu Mandirs
Amarjyoth Sabha
Vishwanath Hindu Social and Cultural Organization
The Centre for Indic Studies
The Hindu Swayamsevak Sangh
The Chacachacare Mandir
SEWA International Trinidad & Tobago
The Jahajee Massacre Committee
The Arya Pratinidhi Sabha
ASTREL
NCIC
We left with just the Maha Sabha as the voice for not touching the legislation.
I appreciate the fact that Sat Maharaj and the SDMS doesn't speak for all Hindus despite being the largest faction. What I want is for other Hindu factions to condemn Sat's statements like "go to Hell" and "mind your business." The closest to condemn him was the NCIC and they are not an Hindu organisation.
nemisis wrote:2WNBoost wrote:I think the challenge with child marriages happens when a twenty something or older man wants to marry a fourteen or sixteen year old.
It just seems wrong.
Limit the marriage of under 18's to a two year age difference. That way if you young people are in love and want to get married the families are there for support.
But keep away them dutty old men who looking to take advantage of an innocent child.
My 2 cents.
Edit: Or once you are under 18 years old you can only marry another under 18 year old.
If the youth in love why they can't wait till both over 18???