Should I get a Credit Card?

Re: Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2023, 8:56 pm

CC arent for everybody, you need to be diligent with your spending habits and not incurring stupid debt.

I use CC for basically everything and pay it off totally each month.
I find its a great way to track my recurring expenses, gas, pricesmart, grocery etc
For all the years I using cc I must have missed payment late less than 5 times and because I missed the date or something.

I happy to get back 1% cash back, covers the annual fee and a good end of year bonus.

Trinis are nowhere close to having the kind of cc debt americans do.

In usa banks and other financial institutions will offer to take over your existing credit card debt and give you a payment plan(with interest) plus another credit card, all with some fees of course.
This is quite the norm and just puts ppl in further debt but america is the land of debt, leased cars and so on, it is a way of life for them.

Here banks are very conservative and no financial institution has ever reached that point with our cc users here to rip them off even further.
Our banks dont take those risks at all, they just squeeze directly as its a small market.

Postby paid_influencer » September 19th, 2023, 9:03 pm

zoom rader wrote:For all those Idiots who say they use CC and pay off my bills and get free flights ect .

Watch the clip

https://youtu.be/hR8ul1CIKVo?si=6ErIMvDgZThRMscO

this is a good clip, explains it nicely.

i doh want to be a rat in a maze chasing a piece of cheese.
some people here apparently real running around for that cheese tho

chant and be happy

Postby st7 » September 19th, 2023, 9:08 pm

ok so someone who doesnt have a credit card has the following real world expenses:

1. purchasing groceries, clothes, etc at local retail -- pays with debit card. there's a $0.75 extra charge to the debit card if the linx machine used isnt issued from the same bank as the person's debit card

2. paying for a trip -- goes to travel agent, and pays about 25% more than they would booking it themselves on airline site.

can you imagine how everyone is fooled into the credit card con, my gosh. it's a personal responsibility but you want to blame the system. by zoom logic, bars is a con -- they exist to drink out ur money.

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2023, 9:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
zoom rader wrote:For all those Idiots who say they use CC and pay off my bills and get free flights ect .

Watch the clip

this is a good clip, explains it nicely.

i doh want to be a rat in a maze chasing a piece of cheese.
some people here apparently real running around for that cheese tho

chant and be happy
You spend 10k to get $200 back while paying interest and some fly miles but have have to pay taxes on ur ticket.

How stupid can ppl be to fall for the marketing tricks

Postby j.o.e » September 19th, 2023, 9:12 pm

Watch the clip

I listen to Ramsey but his big focus is getting people out of debt so he needs to demonize CC. Not everyone has the discipline. I am going to pay bills, buy gas, buy groceries. Points and miles are as a result of that, I’m not spending $1000 to get cashback. I would have to spend that anyway

Postby st7 » September 19th, 2023, 9:13 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Watch the clip

I listen to Ramsey but his big focus is getting people out of debt so he needs to demonize CC. Not everyone has the discipline. I am going to pay bills, buy gas, buy groceries. Points and miles are as a result of that, I’m not spending $1000 to get cashback. I would have to spend that anyway

this

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2023, 9:15 pm

st7 wrote:ok so someone who doesnt have a credit card has the following real world expenses:

1. purchasing groceries, clothes, etc at local retail -- pays with debit card. there's a $0.75 extra charge to the debit card if the linx machine used isnt issued from the same bank as the person's debit card

2. paying for a trip -- goes to travel agent, and pays about 25% more than they would booking it themselves on airline site.

can you imagine how everyone is fooled into the credit card con, my gosh. it's a personal responsibility but you want to blame the system. by zoom logic, bars is a con -- they exist to drink out ur money.
U can use cash to pay for ur items if u wish to advoid paying 75c and u can use a debit card to pay for travel.

I collect rents in cash so I buy my items in Cash.

Simple basic financial planning beats the banks marketing con job.

But by all means feel free to use ur CC

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 19th, 2023, 9:18 pm

I got 2 questions for the experienced tuners.

1. An open question for small business owners (possibly Phone Surgeon). How do you go about getting a credit card if you are self employed ie have a business? Do you have to already have the business up and running and have consistent sales or can you get the CC to start off your initial purchases of stuff? :roll:

2. Can you travel to other countries without the use of a CC? What are the alternative ways to finance yourself if you want to leave the island but don't have a CC? :?:
Last edited by AlphaMan on September 19th, 2023, 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby st7 » September 19th, 2023, 9:20 pm

lol and to whom are you paying your debit card for travel? unless airlines are accepting debit cards online, you paying a travel agency more money to do so as a result.

you trying to defy logic to prove a point

Postby st7 » September 19th, 2023, 9:21 pm

AlphaMan wrote:I got 2 questions for the experienced tuners.

1. An open question for small business owners (possibly Phone Surgeon). How do you go about getting a credit card if you are self employed ie have a business? D9 you have to already have the business up and running and have consistent sales or can you get the CC to start off your initial purchases or stuff?

2. Can you travel to other countries without the use of a CC? What are the alternative ways to finance yourself if you want to leave the island but don't have a CC?

for 2. you can, you just need to buy US/CA/EU from the bank, and you have to go in multiple days to do so because the banks on sheit with their miniscule limit lol

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 19th, 2023, 9:23 pm

st7 wrote:

1. An open question for small business owners (possibly Phone Surgeon). How do you go about getting a credit card if you are self employed ie have a business? D9 you have to already have the business up and running and have consistent sales or can you get the CC to start off your initial purchases or stuff?

2. Can you travel to other countries without the use of a CC? What are the alternative ways to finance yourself if you want to leave the island but don't have a CC?

for 2. you can, you just need to buy US/CA/EU from the bank, and you have to go in multiple days to do so because the banks on sheit with their miniscule limit lol

Withdraw or buy over the counter? If you got no foreign currency to your name what do you do?

Postby st7 » September 19th, 2023, 9:31 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
st7 wrote:

Withdraw or buy over the counter? If you got no foreign currency to your name what do you do?

you purchase the currency.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 19th, 2023, 9:39 pm

Can we blame the Venezuelans for sending US to Venezuela?
Is this still being done?

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2023, 10:28 pm

to get a credit card is not much harder than opening a bank account
BUT the credit limit on the card is a different story, they will ask for a job letter to show you can pay or history of verifiable income. otherwise you might just get a card with $300usd limit.

Postby adnj » September 19th, 2023, 11:48 pm

zoom rader wrote:99% of people can not manage a CC nor have financial responsibility.

The mere fact that u took out a CC shows u don't understand financial responsibility.

Sorry. The people that can't handle a credit card are the subprime customers. A "good" credit score is about 700.

https://libertystreeteconomics.newyorkf ... mic-pause/

Postby adnj » September 19th, 2023, 11:58 pm

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:its really a trap that most people easily fall into without realizing
I don't see how anyone can spend more money than they have, and not know it.
Americans House holders are in debt by 6k US

https://www.nerdwallet.com/article/cred ... -household

Average US household income is about $87,000 per year -- that's about 3½ weeks' income.

If a person's income is not substantial enough, I can see how that $6000 cost of painting the house or installing a new kitchen countertop may appear to be a bridge too far.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 7:51 am

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:its really a trap that most people easily fall into without realizing
I don't see how anyone can spend more money than they have, and not know it.
Americans House holders are in debt by 6k US

https://www.nerdwallet.com/article/cred ... -household

Average US household income is about $87,000 per year -- that's about 3½ weeks' income.

If a person's income is not substantial enough, I can see how that $6000 cost of painting the house or installing a new kitchen countertop may appear to be a bridge too far.
That 6k is what they owe and are struggling to pay off.

Another point is the CC companies target the non white communities especially the black community with Lower income

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 7:55 am

adnj wrote:
zoom rader wrote:99% of people can not manage a CC nor have financial responsibility.

The mere fact that u took out a CC shows u don't understand financial responsibility.

Sorry. The people that can't handle a credit card are the subprime customers. A "good" credit score is about 700.

https://libertystreeteconomics.newyorkf ... mic-pause/
Again the credit scoring system is another con job designed to Streer u in a direction of using CC and taking out loads. Banks came up with scoring to make money

I advise all on tuner to watch the clip

https://youtu.be/QNa-4LSuN-s?si=uwjYy7RZm4UZWuRK

Postby adnj » September 20th, 2023, 8:23 am

st7 wrote:i feel zoom get ketch in the 'con' cause he constantly repeats it over and over. if iz not that, iz red government
No son,

I have family & friends that got caught with the CC con. I saw how their lives turned in misery owning CC debt. One had to sell his ranger just to pay off a 100k CC bill.

I did tons of research on CC and found out super rich folks don't use CC.
You simply have friends and family that don't pay their bills, can't pay their bills, don't have the money that they spend, are too stupid, too poor, unlucky, lack financial responsibility, or a combination of these.
Last edited by adnj on September 20th, 2023, 8:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » September 20th, 2023, 8:32 am

st7 wrote:i feel zoom get ketch in the 'con' cause he constantly repeats it over and over. if iz not that, iz red government
No son,

I have family & friends that got caught with the CC con. I saw how their lives turned in misery owning CC debt. One had to sell his ranger just to pay off a 100k CC bill.

You didn't do any research.

American Express Centurion Card -- known as the AmEx Black Card.

You only get it by invitation. You must spend nearly a half-million dollars per year to keep it.

JP Morgan has a black card. Citibank has a black card. Others have cards targeting the very wealthy.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 20th, 2023, 8:47 am

yeah, banks target folks like you who don't have financial discipline.
Is best you stick to cash for true.
Leave credit cards for those of us who can manage finances effectively.

snatman wrote:Partner, if managing a credit card – including paying your bill in full each month and practicing responsible spending – feels like a challenge, you're def not alone. Credit cards are not suitable for everyone, especially if they lack financial discipline, as you seem to. Definitely people without that discipline should not consider credit cards.

But don't assume that others share the same carelessness with their finances. I've had a credit card for ~20 yrs, always paid in full. And the cashback/reward features cover the annual fee. I and many others who manage their finances properly, actually profit by using the card.

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
After the credit card application is completed, they run a credit score on you with Transunion. The report shows all your previous and active credit facilities. So if you have a credit card at one bank and you think that is just to get another card at another bank, it's not that easy and will only allow you if they see you are managing all your debt properly (no defaults, no delinquent debts, paying on time, and especially your income is much higher than your expenses).

You can beat the system a bit if a family member you trust (and also trusts you) applies for a CC.

Just drop the limit on the republic card so you only at the US limit of 5000 then apply for a credit card elsewhere for the other 5000 that was cut

Drop your credit limit - lower your credit score.
Close a credit card - lower your credit score.
Increase your credit utilization rate - lower your credit score.
Apply for new credit - lower your credit score.
The credit card con job
If you can't get credit, for whatever reason, it's really not necessary to to blame everyone else.
The system is designed for you to take out a CC. The credit score only favors banks to keep u in debt.

It's very easy to get a CC, which is a basically a Job and a loan history with ur bank.

CC are designed to trap u in debt. Not spending enough then they increase ut credit limit for that Rolex or Carnival costume that u want. They don't care what u buy, all they want is for u to pay interest.

CC is for suckers .

The best freedom u can have is being debt free
99% of people can not manage a CC nor have financial responsibility.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 8:51 am

adnj wrote:
No son,

You simply have friends and family that don't pay their bills, can't pay their bills, don't have the money that they spend, are too stupid, too poor, lack financial responsibility, or a combination of these.
These are the ppl CC companies like and target.

If they pay or don't pay, they still make money.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 8:54 am

snatman wrote:yeah, banks target folks like you who don't have financial discipline.
Is best you stick to cash for true.
Leave credit cards for those of us who can manage finances effectively.

snatman wrote:Partner, if managing a credit card – including paying your bill in full each month and practicing responsible spending – feels like a challenge, you're def not alone. Credit cards are not suitable for everyone, especially if they lack financial discipline, as you seem to. Definitely people without that discipline should not consider credit cards.

But don't assume that others share the same carelessness with their finances. I've had a credit card for ~20 yrs, always paid in full. And the cashback/reward features cover the annual fee. I and many others who manage their finances properly, actually profit by using the card.

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Just drop the limit on the republic card so you only at the US limit of 5000 then apply for a credit card elsewhere for the other 5000 that was cut

Drop your credit limit - lower your credit score.
Close a credit card - lower your credit score.
Increase your credit utilization rate - lower your credit score.
Apply for new credit - lower your credit score.
The credit card con job
If you can't get credit, for whatever reason, it's really not necessary to to blame everyone else.
The system is designed for you to take out a CC. The credit score only favors banks to keep u in debt.

It's very easy to get a CC, which is a basically a Job and a loan history with ur bank.

CC are designed to trap u in debt. Not spending enough then they increase ut credit limit for that Rolex or Carnival costume that u want. They don't care what u buy, all they want is for u to pay interest.

CC is for suckers .

The best freedom u can have is being debt free
99% of people can not manage a CC nor have financial responsibility.

No son,

The credit card companies never loose.

They are insured if u don't pay. That's why they use a scoring system to see if they can get insurance when u take out a CC or loan. They always cover their looses

Watch the vid

https://youtu.be/bua07BbeJC0?si=XpcPO9-W_q-_8oSG

snatman

Re: Should I get a Credit Card?

Postby snatman » September 20th, 2023, 9:18 am

where you see me say credit card companies lose??

I and other saying financially disciplined persons can profit from using credit cards responsibly.

If you're not disciplined, that's on you.

Postby st7 » September 20th, 2023, 10:06 am

lol all this beatup from zoom because he, his friends and family not financially responsible.

zoom bai, you can keep braying about credit cards being a con every chance you get. that'll show em.

Postby MaxPower » September 20th, 2023, 10:39 am

Open this thread and the first thing i see is desifemlove…

Heart skip a beat yes.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 20th, 2023, 10:46 am

MaxPower wrote:Open this thread and the first thing i see is desifemlove…

Heart skip a beat yes.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 10:48 am

st7 wrote:lol all this beatup from zoom because he, his friends and family not financially responsible.

zoom bai, you can keep braying about credit cards being a con every chance you get. that'll show em.
Son, use as many CC as u like.

I value my financial freedom and its why I retired at a very early age in my life. Guys in the their 40s, 50, and up to 70s still paying back banks and CCs

I owe no one except Jah.

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2023, 10:49 am

MaxPower wrote:Open this thread and the first thing i see is desifemlove…

Heart skip a beat yes.
Nah I exposed that fraud

Postby j.o.e » September 20th, 2023, 11:39 am

st7 wrote:lol all this beatup from zoom because he, his friends and family not financially responsible.

Pretty much …. Man only talking of the downside which is easily avoidable if you responsible. Heading to Mexico in a few weeks, I would NEVER use a debit card there(fraud). If CC is not for you well kudos for knowing yourself