Don't let your children watch Peppa Pig.

Havoc

Re: Don't let your children watch Peppa Pig.

Postby Havoc » December 9th, 2016, 11:02 pm

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 10th, 2016, 6:27 am

Les Bain wrote:
uncle sam wrote:
Havoc wrote:I preaching this month's nw tho
If u actually pay attention to tht show u'll notice it teaches children some really bad life lessons

You letting a kids show teach your child life lessons..
hahaha get the fk outta here

The thread title has no merit because there is no hard evidence. The article did not even support the title.

The article title supported the article though.

Religious leaders push for Muslim alternative to Peppa Pig

Imagine how Catholics would feel if a Mexican children's show involving a young goat named Mendez was the big thing.

Ramadan (/ˌræməˈdɑːn/; Arabic: رمضان‎‎ Ramaḍana, IPA: [ramaˈdˤaːn];[note 1] also romanized as Ramazan, Ramadhan, or Ramathan) is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar is observed by Muslims worldwide as a month of fasting to commemorate the first revelation of the Quran to Muhammad according to Islamic belief.[3][4] This annual observance is regarded as one of the Five Pillars of Islam.

Rama (/ˈrɑːmə/;[1] Sanskrit: राम Rāma) or Srī Rāmachandra ( Sanskrit : श्री रामचन्द्र ) is the seventh avatar of the Hindu God Vishnu

Dāna (दान) is a Sanskrit and Pali word that connotes the virtue of generosity, charity or giving of alms in Indian philosophies.[1][2] It has also been spelled as Daana.[3][4]

In Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism and Sikhism, dāna is the practice of cultivating generosity. It can take the form of giving to an individual in distress or need.[5] It can also take the form of philanthropic public projects that empower and help many.[6]

According to historical records, dāna is an ancient practice in Indian traditions, tracing back to Vedic traditions.

Them muslims need to get an identity of they own and stop trying to play victim "cause they is muslim" Their main text starts with the sanskrit word om, their biggest religious holiday is made up of 2 hindu words. stop beating up and just go about life till god ready for yuh.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 10th, 2016, 12:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:the only thing those links prove is why you shouldn't let the internet decide your parenting choices

This

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 10th, 2016, 1:25 pm

I think the beatup is because the character in question is a pig.
Had 'she' been any other animal, I don't even think they would have made this an issue.

There are shows/cartoons way worse than PP with respect to morals and values that are marketed towards kids.
How come they aren't singling out those?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 10th, 2016, 3:25 pm

Arcmanov wrote:I think the beatup is because the character in question is a pig.
Had 'she' been any other animal, I don't even think they would have made this an issue.

There are shows/cartoons way worse than PP with respect to morals and values that are marketed towards kids.
Spongebob, Caillou, etc

You can find negatives in anything. But how kids are brought up will determine how they react to these things. Upbringing will determine how a child reacts when they see another child behaving badly, if to imitate or if to reverse the actions.

When a teen plays Call of Duty and wants to go shoot up the school, that is not the fault of Call of Duty, it is the fault of the upbringing of that child.

We are all just the sum of our experiences.

Postby rspann » December 10th, 2016, 5:58 pm

Pig ,haram, talk ,done.

Re: RE: Re: Don't let your children watch Peppa Pig.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 10th, 2016, 8:05 pm

rspann wrote:Pig ,haram, talk ,done.

Haram but tasty!!!!!

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 10th, 2016, 9:38 pm

Arcmanov wrote:I think the beatup is because the character in question is a pig.

Spongebob, Caillou, etc

You can find negatives in anything. But how kids are brought up will determine how they react to these things. Upbringing will determine how a child reacts when they see another child behaving badly, if to imitate or if to reverse the actions.

When a teen plays Call of Duty and wants to go shoot up the school, that is not the fault of Call of Duty, it is the fault of the upbringing of that child.

So how when you say it, no backlash? When I say it, beat up... like they are afraid of you?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 11th, 2016, 12:50 am

uncle sam wrote:

Spongebob, Caillou, etc

So how when you say it, no backlash? When I say it, beat up... like they are afraid of you?
well I guess no backlash yet?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 11th, 2016, 5:07 am

so if them muslim pull a HAMstring do they chop off their leg?

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » December 11th, 2016, 1:43 pm

Can Muslims eat hogplum?

Postby bluefete » December 11th, 2016, 8:01 pm

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/peppa-pig-focu ... sm-1595869

Peppa Pig as a focus for the latest Muslim controversy is just sloppy journalism
Crucial in this day and age is how the media chooses to portray Muslims.

By Rohail Waseem
December 10, 2016 16:01 GMT

Peppa Pig owner Entertainment One to reveal today that it has rejected an ITV takeover offer
Entertainment One owns a majority stake in the children’s cartoon franchise Peppa Pig filmGetty Images

Everyone around me seems to be talking about the latest Muslim controversy over Peppa Pig, thanks to the corporate media which will go to any length for its latest scoop. The controversy surrounds a Muslim imam Sheikh Shady Alsuleiman who, one gathers from reading articles about him, pushed for a "Muslim alternative to Peppa Pig". As consuming pork is forbidden in Islam, the implication that is hard to miss — is that this was done out of religious fervour.

However, digging deeper, a different story unfolds.

Alsuleiman had recently posted a video on YouTube which stated that Muslim audiences should have better alternatives to mainstream cartoons. It was a generic statement and there was no mention of Peppa Pig in the footage. The video's original intent was to raise funds for a project called Barakah Hills, a cartoon show with Muslim characters catering primarily to Muslim children.

It was, in fact, the director of One4Kids, the media house that is seeking funds to produce Barakah Hills, who had originally compared Barakah Hills to Peppa Pig. Even so, the comparison was not out of a disdain for pigs.

He clarified to the BBC, "I'm a fan of Peppa Pig like many people are... Muslim, non-Muslim, pig haters, pig lovers. We thought, maybe we should produce an alternative that is about everyday life. Why not have a show that is similar to Peppa Pig?"

BBC later apologised, stating: "An earlier version of this story stated mistakenly that Islamic leaders in Australia had pushed for a Muslim alternative to Peppa Pig".

It was essentially a socio-economic motive which was disingenuously portrayed as a religious one to pander to the sentiment that Muslims cannot integrate in Western societies. At the heart of free-market capitalism lies the concept of identifying and catering to the pockets of audiences not catered to. No one bats an eyelid when mega-corporations make billions from niche marketing, but apparently when a product caters only to Muslim audiences, that is seen as evidence for integration issues among Muslims and the pitfalls of multi-culturalism.

He added: "The headline incorrectly implies that Sheikh Alsuleiman made the disparaging remarks about the cartoon. In fact, the body of the news report correctly quotes him endorsing the concept of producing religious alternatives while stating clearly that children should not be stopped from watching different cartoons."
Finance over facts

That commercial considerations take priority over independent and impartial journalism today would be hard to argue against, especially in this era where click-bait journalism is now the norm rather than exception.

To construe his statements in the manner that the media adopted is not only disappointing but also worrying. Especially in times such as these when Donald Trump, the US president-elect talks about barring Muslims entry and far-right political parties in the Europe are gaining tract.

Crucial in this day and age is how the media chooses to portray Muslims. As a reformist Muslim, I am the first to admit and embrace fair criticisms - such as those surrounding perception of the LGBT community and their innate rights. Anyone who reads my writings would testify to that.

None of this is to say that the media must be biased in favour of Muslims. Only that it should play a balanced role as it ought to do. It must not sensationalise Muslim news or cater to a growing segment of the population who are intent on singling out Muslims as the bane of Western civilisation today.

The question for major publications is this; Will journalistic and integral standards be held in the face of increasing competition from non-reputable blogs and declining revenues from print media? Do we prioritise the long-term brand image over short-term profits?

It's a key question and one which will define how Muslims are viewed in the years to come.

abducted

Postby abducted » December 11th, 2016, 8:55 pm

bluefete wrote:Alsuleiman had recently posted a video on YouTube which stated that Muslim audiences should have better alternatives to mainstream cartoons.
why?
bluefete wrote:The intent was to raise funds for a project called Barakah Hills, a cartoon show with Muslim characters catering primarily to Muslim children.
Why? Should they produce shows with Hindu characters that cater to Hindu children? How bout white characters to cater for white children? If you want to make a cartoon then make a cartoon, but don't claim you are doing it because what is there not good enough for your kind. UDFR with that.

Postby K74T » December 11th, 2016, 10:37 pm

Don't let your children breathe air in Charlieville and especially Munroe Road.

#beatupnah

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » December 11th, 2016, 11:24 pm

abducted wrote:
bluefete wrote:Alsuleiman had recently posted a video on YouTube which stated that Muslim audiences should have better alternatives to mainstream cartoons.
why?
bluefete wrote:The intent was to raise funds for a project called Barakah Hills, a cartoon show with Muslim characters catering primarily to Muslim children.
Why? Should they produce shows with Hindu characters that cater to Hindu children? How bout white characters to cater for white children? If you want to make a cartoon then make a cartoon, but don't claim you are doing it because what is there not good enough for your kind. UDFR with that.

Aren't there already cartoons dedicated to hindu children?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 12th, 2016, 5:53 am

The Paleontologist wrote:
abducted wrote:
why?

There are cartoons such as flying house growing up in trinidad where the story depicted events from the bible. There was circle square and superbook. All with white children. IBN shows cartoons from the Koran for muslim children. Hindus have cartoons from the ramayan for hindu children.

It is now christmas season and almost everyone here in trinidad would sing a oldie christmas carol with lyrics "joy to the world the lord has come" It does not make us less hindu, muslim, or watever cause we all hadda go to wuk the next day.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » December 12th, 2016, 8:28 am

screwbash wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
uncle sam wrote:
Havoc wrote:I preaching this month's nw tho
If u actually pay attention to tht show u'll notice it teaches children some really bad life lessons

You letting a kids show teach your child life lessons..
hahaha get the fk outta here

The thread title has no merit because there is no hard evidence. The article did not even support the title.

The article title supported the article though.

Religious leaders push for Muslim alternative to Peppa Pig

Imagine how Catholics would feel if a Mexican children's show involving a young goat named Mendez was the big thing.

Ramadan (/ˌræməˈdɑːn/; Arabic: رمضان‎‎ Ramaḍana, IPA: [ramaˈdˤaːn];[note 1] also romanized as Ramazan, Ramadhan, or Ramathan) is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar is observed by Muslims worldwide as a month of fasting to commemorate the first revelation of the Quran to Muhammad according to Islamic belief.[3][4] This annual observance is regarded as one of the Five Pillars of Islam.

Rama (/ˈrɑːmə/;[1] Sanskrit: राम Rāma) or Srī Rāmachandra ( Sanskrit : श्री रामचन्द्र ) is the seventh avatar of the Hindu God Vishnu

Dāna (दान) is a Sanskrit and Pali word that connotes the virtue of generosity, charity or giving of alms in Indian philosophies.[1][2] It has also been spelled as Daana.[3][4]

In Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism and Sikhism, dāna is the practice of cultivating generosity. It can take the form of giving to an individual in distress or need.[5] It can also take the form of philanthropic public projects that empower and help many.[6]

According to historical records, dāna is an ancient practice in Indian traditions, tracing back to Vedic traditions.

Them muslims need to get an identity of they own and stop trying to play victim "cause they is muslim" Their main text starts with the sanskrit word om, their biggest religious holiday is made up of 2 hindu words. stop beating up and just go about life till god ready for yuh.

You need to take a vacation. Stop toting nah man forget them and the non sense if them want to do that let them.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » December 12th, 2016, 8:30 am

K74T wrote:Don't let your children breathe air in Charlieville and especially Munroe Road.

#beatupnah

So wha happen to san juan others ?

HSA

Postby HSA » December 12th, 2016, 11:57 am

the air in monroe road smells like attar (rasta oil) it is one of the safest communities i know as the muslim occupants look out for each other....

HSA

Postby HSA » December 12th, 2016, 11:58 am

screwbash wrote:
The Paleontologist wrote:
abducted wrote:
why?

There are cartoons such as flying house growing up in trinidad where the story depicted events from the bible. There was circle square and superbook. All with white children. IBN shows cartoons from the Koran for muslim children. Hindus have cartoons from the ramayan for hindu children.

It is now christmas season and almost everyone here in trinidad would sing a oldie christmas carol with lyrics "joy to the world the lord has come" It does not make us less hindu, muslim, or watever cause we all hadda go to wuk the next day.

i bet screwbash get brace from a muslim thing and totin

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 13th, 2016, 6:47 am

at the end ah d day my trini brothers and sisters no matter if we Indo Trini or n***a or unc or pnm or muslim or hindu or christian we all wake up in the morning an still hadda go to wuk and wuk hard for we money. we still hadda pay $5 for a doubles, still hadda pay $5 for a bottle water and $5.75 for a liter of premium gasoline.

Why beat up over peppa pig? why beat up over cartoon for musllim children cause when they go to school dem aint seeing no cartoon dey, what they seeing is live porn, alcohol, narcotics, violence and allyuh studying peppa pig. If that the case all the muslim families should pack up dey bags and move to a muslim country and keep their children safe and sheltered with other muslims.
Last edited by screwbash on December 13th, 2016, 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 6:57 am

screwbash wrote:at the end ah d day my trini brothers and sisters no matter if we indian or n***a or unc or pnm or muslim or hindu or christian we all wake up in the morning an still hadda go to wuk and wuk hard for we money. we still hadda pay $5 for a doubles, still hadda pay $5 for a bottle water and $5.75 for a liter of premium gasoline.

Why beat up over peppa pig? why beat up over cartoon for musllim children cause when they go to school dem aint seeing no cartoon dey, what they seeing is live porn, alcohol, narcotics, violence and allyuh studying peppa pig. If that the case all the muslim families should pack up dey bags and move to a muslim country and keep their children safe and sheltered with other muslims.

As long as there are people who use derogatory names for other groups , there will be problems. You call your race Indian, but another ni99a, why not call them the Afros or Africans to match your description of your race by your country of origin?
Why should any group not be free to choose what they want to see ( although it has been shown that the headline was misleading) and make decisions for their well being?

Postby eliteauto » December 13th, 2016, 7:04 am

rspann wrote:
screwbash wrote:at the end ah d day my trini brothers and sisters no matter if we indian or n***a or unc or pnm or muslim or hindu or christian we all wake up in the morning an still hadda go to wuk and wuk hard for we money. we still hadda pay $5 for a doubles, still hadda pay $5 for a bottle water and $5.75 for a liter of premium gasoline.

As long as there are people who use derogatory names for other groups , there will be problems. You call your race Indian, but another ni99a, why not call them the Afros or Africans to match your description of your race by your country of origin?
Why should any group not be free to choose what they want to see ( although it has been shown that the headline was misleading) and make decisions for their well being?

*bonx* well said
Ppl does reveal themselves and not know it

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 13th, 2016, 7:17 am

rspann wrote:

the reason i use that term is to show how no matter what we do or say or have hate or each other we still hadda go to wuk in the morning.

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 7:22 am

I get the point, but it is a derogatory term. You didn't say cool lee for the other description though.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 13th, 2016, 7:29 am

i forget that yes. what the arse, the site change coo lee to indo trini lol

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2016, 11:33 am

rspann wrote:I get the point, but it is a derogatory term. You didn't say cool lee for the other description though.

Thas not the Pow man in Puna??

Postby crazybalhead » December 13th, 2016, 11:44 am

This thread:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 13th, 2016, 5:11 pm

screwbash wrote:the reason i use that term is to show how no matter what we do or say or have hate or each other we still hadda go to wuk in the morning.
so we shouldn't discuss anything other than work in the morning?

Postby SR » December 13th, 2016, 5:16 pm

Plenty reveal thier true selves and views in this thread