$$Engineer Vs Medicine (PROS AND CONS)

Re: $$Engineer Vs Medicine (PROS AND CONS)

Postby nervewrecker » April 17th, 2018, 10:11 pm

A172 wrote:where u reach in life?

For starters, better than most of the blue eyed science class graduates.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 17th, 2018, 11:50 pm

kinnie wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
kinnie wrote:
Daran wrote:Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.
I have mixed feelings about it

Cause my secondary school is a waste of time.
Sometimes I like it but other times im like "ok that making any sense? "

Kinnie you young. Stay in school and learn and come off the internet when you in class. We already saturated in Tuner with teenagers
If you have nothing to contribute then shut up, unlike you I wanna be able to live a normal life and be able to provide for my family.
I wasn't in class, im gonna have to choose which class I want, science, business ect and thats why I made this post so that It can get help me understand what im getting into.
Ah yes, the science vs business choice. Hsb still common to both classes?
I remember how all thr rich parents made sure their kids did sciences. Wonder where they are all now?

I did business and sucked at it. Sucked at physics and chem.

Book smart and street smart is two different things. Book smart dont apply to trinidad, supply and demand laws dont apply here.
Anyhow, I had to do physics as part of my degree. Never picked up physics so fast in my life. Today its my holy grail. If you come from nowhere they will tell you that you destined to fail (in school). I would love to meet some of my high school teachers that said id never amount to anything. I would love to hear what they have to say when I tell them where I reach in life and to f**k off.
Nice to hear that you were successful, most people that I know have little faith in me too, but im gonna do it just to piss them off.. and its a win win cause I like science

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » April 18th, 2018, 1:56 pm

kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:You can always become an airline pilot. It's a very rewarding career.
Nahh, what if I crash? Lol

I wasn't being facetious when I mentioned that. Although it may start off a bit slow as you'd be junior, if you look at the airline industry over the past 5 to 8 years, many large airlines are now doing pilot cadet programs. BA, Emirates, Ryanair, etc all want pilots as a lot of them are expanding their fleets and those planes NEED pilots. There is a 25 year old guy from Tobago who just became a 1st officer at Emirates on the 777. He was a 2nd officer for only 2 years...it's a very rewarding job if you decide to throw your energy behind it.
In addition to that, while being a pilot you can do your studies in Aviation Management or some other field while using your years of seniority to slide into a management position of the airline.

And about that crash thing...you're more likely to be in a car accident than be the victim of a plane crash.
Last edited by SimSimmer69 on April 18th, 2018, 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » April 18th, 2018, 2:08 pm

Mark007 wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:You can always become an airline pilot. It's a very rewarding career.

Yes, provided one can afford the tuition etc. I believe it's best to pursue it in one of those foreign schools as well.

True. These days you don't really need tertiary education to become a pilot (although I recommend it), just lots of flight time and money for flight school. As I mentioned to the OP, quite a few large airlines are on a massive recruitment drive for young pilots and if the OP thinks he's up for it, a career as an airline pilot (once started at a young age) becomes very rewarding.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 18th, 2018, 3:07 pm

Follow your passion.

If you hate your job it ain't make sense fully immersing yourself in the field.

What's your hobbies? Most times hobbies can tell you what job you'll enjoy the most.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 18th, 2018, 3:26 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Follow your passion.

What's your hobbies? Most times hobbies can tell you what job you'll enjoy the most.
Sports (football) and coding(software, games), I like it but I can't see myself doing those things for the rest of my life

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 18th, 2018, 3:30 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Yes, provided one can afford the tuition etc. I believe it's best to pursue it in one of those foreign schools as well.

True. These days you don't really need tertiary education to become a pilot (although I recommend it), just lots of flight time and money for flight school. As I mentioned to the OP, quite a few large airlines are on a massive recruitment drive for young pilots and if the OP thinks he's up for it, a career as an airline pilot (once started at a young age) becomes very rewarding.
Lets say I wanna pursue medicine, after I get my undergradute (bachelors degree) in medical science I need to go abroad and study in a medical school, where do I go? Which country does UWI give scholarships to?

Oh and after I complete the medical school abroad, could I come back with it and work in trinidad?
Or is there a process?

Postby The_Honourable » April 18th, 2018, 3:52 pm

kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Lets say I wanna pursue medicine, after I get my undergradute (bachelors degree) in medical science I need to go abroad and study in a medical school, where do I go? Which country does UWI give scholarships to?

Oh and after I complete the medical school abroad, could I come back with it and work in trinidad?
Or is there a process?

After studying for 5 years at Mt Hope, Jamaica, or St George's Grenada, you do an internship at any of the local hospitals. Once you finish, have to wait for a job typically at one of the RHAs. If you get thru, you are now a House Officer. Some run with it for a few years while others who have the funds specialize immediately.

You usually have to go abroad (most choose the UK) to specialize in a certain field eg Dermatology, Cardiology, Urology, ENT, etc. Yes you can come back to work in Trinidad after getting your specialist degree but make sure there is a demand for that particular field, and also if the RHAs and private sector is hiring specialists. Again, goes back to pay as we have specialists in the hospitals as house officers and they are waiting for a promotion.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 18th, 2018, 4:50 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Or is there a process?

After studying for 5 years at Mt Hope, Jamaica, or St George's Grenada, you do an internship at any of the local hospitals. Once you finish, have to wait for a job typically at one of the RHAs. If you get thru, you are now a House Officer. Some run with it for a few years while others who have the funds specialize immediately.

You usually have to go abroad (most choose the UK) to specialize in a certain field eg Dermatology, Cardiology, Urology, ENT, etc. Yes you can come back to work in Trinidad after getting your specialist degree but make sure there is a demand for that particular field, and also if the RHAs and private sector is hiring specialists. Again, goes back to pay as we have specialists in the hospitals as house officers and they are waiting for a promotion.
Okay so basically, (correct me if im wrong please)
I study here in Trinidad (Mount Hope) I get my bachelors and medical degree, and I can work as a doctor here but if I wanna specialiaze in anything I need to go abroad (preferably UK)

So I can be a doctor here in trinidad but if I wanna specialize I need to go abroad correct?
Btw I wanna be a OBGYN

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 18th, 2018, 4:52 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Or is there a process?

I don't "have" to specialize in anything, its optional correct?

skygod

Postby skygod » April 18th, 2018, 9:03 pm

Wit and or wisdom comes with age how ever it is said age brings wisdom and wisdom brings experience
Without experience you make poor decisions and suffer the consequences
At your age miss you need to turn to God
How about a career in church

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2018, 9:49 pm

kinnie wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Or is there a process?

Okay so basically, (correct me if im wrong please)
I study here in Trinidad (Mount Hope) I get my bachelors and medical degree, and I can work as a doctor here but if I wanna specialiaze in anything I need to go abroad (preferably UK)

So I can be a doctor here in trinidad but if I wanna specialize I need to go abroad correct?
Btw I wanna be a OBGYN
You know you can count the number of neurosurgeons we have here on one hand right?
The sky is the limit if you have a passion for it.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 18th, 2018, 10:13 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Or is there a process?

To do postgraduate work is not automatic. Most UK and US schools require you to pass entry exams such as USMLE for the Sates.

So giving an MBBS and internship is not a free passage to becoming a specialist. Cater about 10 years of your life. That is why specialists charge 400 for a 10 minute visit.

So in the mean time, go to church, study and walk the dog now and then

francis1979

$$Engineer Vs Medicine (PROS AND CONS)

Postby francis1979 » April 18th, 2018, 10:48 pm

Postby The_Honourable » April 19th, 2018, 12:42 pm

kinnie wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Or is there a process?

You don't need to specialize at all. There are some doctors who are house officers for decades for different reasons such as lack of funding, marriage/children responsibilities, no guarantee for promotion by the RHA, location of study, or they simply content.

As for your previous post, you don't need to go abroad as you can do some of the specialties locally. OBYGYN is one of them that is available locally (stand to be corrected). Competition for spaces may be high (not for all specialties) so if you get thru, well done. At times, foreign universities in partnership with the RHA recruit doctors for a particular specialty where the tuition costs, accommodation and the RHA hiring you afterwards are worked out. If you want to do OBYGN, I highly recommend you seek out a doctor who specializes in that field who can give you full details and experiences.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 19th, 2018, 3:26 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
kinnie wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
kinnie wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:
Mark007 wrote:

Or is there a process?

You don't need to specialize at all. There are some doctors who are house officers for decades for different reasons such as lack of funding, marriage/children responsibilities, no guarantee for promotion by the RHA, location of study, or they simply content.

As for your previous post, you don't need to go abroad as you can do some of the specialties locally. OBYGYN is one of them that is available locally (stand to be corrected). Competition for spaces may be high (not for all specialties) so if you get thru, well done. At times, foreign universities in partnership with the RHA recruit doctors for a particular specialty where the tuition costs, accommodation and the RHA hiring you afterwards are worked out. If you want to do OBYGN, I highly recommend you seek out a doctor who specializes in that field who can give you full details and experiences.
Thank you so much, you've been the most helpful (among others) ill ask a friend whose currently studying to get into medicine and who knows if I get the opportunity to meet a doctor I'll ask them too

Thanks

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 19th, 2018, 4:59 pm

kinnie wrote:

Sports (football) and coding(software, games), I like it but I can't see myself doing those things for the rest of my life

It seems like you like science fields doh. Run with that for now.

You in form 3 doh. It's good that you thinking far ahead but goddamn.
You still haven't been on this earth long enough to know your true interests, pursue some hobbies.

This kind of drive can take you far, but it can also lead to indecisiveness. Take it light, but not too light.

Check out www.stumbleupon.com
It's a site that takes you to random other sites based on what interests you select. It's a good starting point for people to discover themselves. Blessnins

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 19th, 2018, 8:27 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
kinnie wrote:

You still haven't been on this earth long enough to know your true interests, pursue some hobbies.

This kind of drive can take you far, but it can also lead to indecisiveness. Take it light, but not too light.

Check out http://www.stumbleupon.com
It's a site that takes you to random other sites based on what interests you select. It's a good starting point for people to discover themselves. Blessnins
Thanks, ill check it out

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 19th, 2018, 9:50 pm

kinnie wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
kinnie wrote:

Thanks, ill check it out

Do the research and your home work too. Ambition without good grades will get you nowhere Miss.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 20th, 2018, 7:18 am

randolphinshan wrote:
kinnie wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
kinnie wrote:

Thanks, ill check it out

Do the research and your home work too. Ambition without good grades will get you nowhere Miss.
I hate people like you, what do you think im doing? The opposite? Im not like the average people, I need to figure out what I want and how im gonna get there before I start studying like a dog, so mind your business

You think I want something and I don't wanna do what it takes?
"Ambition without good grades" please lmao I know what I gotta do (grades wise)
I just don't know how to get there (reason what I made this post)

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 20th, 2018, 12:57 pm

kinnie wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
kinnie wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
kinnie wrote:

Thanks, ill check it out

I hate people like you, what do you think im doing? The opposite? Im not like the average people, I need to figure out what I want and how im gonna get there before I start studying like a dog, so mind your business

How about you start by changing your attitude Miss. If every time you people don't tell you what you want to hear and you throw a tantrum, you will get nowhere.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 20th, 2018, 1:48 pm

OP...sounds like youre still searching for a vocation to pursue.

Note there's usually a vast difference b/t a vocation and a calling....the latter being something u would do for free.

The happiest people are usually those who get paid for their calling and have a balanced lifestyle...friends...family...community...church...etc. So now IMHO iz the time to effectively search high and low...for a suitable vocation...by meeting people in the field....volunteering...working part time or starting your own lill business from home.

Does Couva Sec have a career day? If so that may be a chance to meet face to face and ask question of professional in the fields in which you are interested.

Bear in mind that in the Medical Cartel....younger doctors have to pull a heavy workload to subsidize the lifestyles of older doctors...and many public hospitals in sweet T&T...dont have functioning equipment and nuff prescription drugs due to socialized medicine.

For eg. Pardner of mine (OBGYN) had to walk with his own soap cuz POSGH frequently didnt have enuf when he was scrubbing for a procedure.

Postby RBphoto » April 20th, 2018, 2:06 pm

Dis sheit again? Long story short, if you don't know how to invest your money and make both passive and active income apart from your professional work, you will be doomed to a life of abject failure no matter your career route. Study hard and reach the top o your career in both education and experience, but try to let the goal be for your other sources of income to surpass your primary professional salary.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 20th, 2018, 2:53 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
kinnie wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
kinnie wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
kinnie wrote:

Thanks, ill check it out

How about you start by changing your attitude Miss. If every time you people don't tell you what you want to hear and you throw a tantrum, you will get nowhere.
Lmao what the hell are you talking about? Apparently
You said ambition without good grades will get you nowhere as if you were stating that towards me, which is true lol the reason im even on.. uh look I don't even have to explain myself to you lolz im just gonna ignore you, revise for my NESC and do what I gotta do

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 20th, 2018, 2:57 pm

Miktay wrote:OP...sounds like youre still searching for a vocation to pursue.

Note there's usually a vast difference b/t a vocation and a calling....the latter being something u would do for free.

The happiest people are usually those who get paid for their calling and have a balanced lifestyle...friends...family...community...church...etc. So now IMHO iz the time to effectively search high and low...for a suitable vocation...by meeting people in the field....volunteering...working part time or starting your own lill business from home.

Does Couva Sec have a career day? If so that may be a chance to meet face to face and ask question of professional in the fields in which you are interested.

Bear in mind that in the Medical Cartel....younger doctors have to pull a heavy workload to subsidize the lifestyles of older doctors...and many public hospitals in sweet T&T...dont have functioning equipment and nuff prescription drugs due to socialized medicine.

For eg. Pardner of mine (OBGYN) had to walk with his own soap cuz POSGH frequently didnt have enuf when he was scrubbing for a procedure.
Lmao yeah I know that trinidad hospitals aint "high class" but is ight, so far obgyn is the only thing that interests me and im gonna pursue it
And no, my school does not have a career day (which sucks)

Postby The_Honourable » April 20th, 2018, 5:21 pm

kinnie wrote:Thank you so much, you've been the most helpful (among others) ill ask a friend whose currently studying to get into medicine and who knows if I get the opportunity to meet a doctor I'll ask them too

Thanks

Not a problem. I have a serious outta timing question to ask you, but there is a reason i'm asking because it may impact you to a degree in the health sector.

I'm basing on your profile photo but want to be sure, are you afro-trinidadian (black)?

Postby rspann » April 20th, 2018, 5:28 pm

15 yrs old ,wants to be a doctor,and all that attitude and language ?

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » April 20th, 2018, 9:05 pm

rspann wrote:15 yrs old ,wants to be a doctor,and all that attitude and language ?

This. Our youth gone yea, no manners.Kinnie you 15, check me in 3 years I go teach you a thing or 2.

Postby tr1ad » April 20th, 2018, 9:26 pm

rspann wrote:15 yrs old ,wants to be a doctor,and all that attitude and language ?

Young, inexperienced, nothing new... But at least she's asking some questions

Postby rspann » April 20th, 2018, 9:28 pm

Somebody has to let her know that's not the way for a young woman of her age and aspirations to carry on.