Re: Home Security Measures And Solutions

Postby alfa » June 8th, 2024, 9:09 pm

pugboy wrote:ppl need to secure their property
proper fencing, spikes
perimeter alarm
don’t wait until it’s too late

Proper locks on doors and burglar proofing too. I always wonder how intruders manage to get into homes if all entrance and exit points are properly locked.

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2024, 10:30 pm

usually windows, not doors so much

out of curiousity what type of windows do you have ?

alfa wrote:
proper fencing, spikes
perimeter alarm

Proper locks on doors and burglar proofing too. I always wonder how intruders manage to get into homes if all entrance and exit points are properly locked.

Postby alfa » June 8th, 2024, 11:21 pm

pugboy wrote:usually windows, not doors so much

out of curiousity what type of windows do you have ?

alfa wrote:
proper fencing, spikes
perimeter alarm

Pvc but burglar proofing on all made with a thicker grade flats than normal

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2024, 12:19 am

Solid square may have been the better choice^. Men moving with blow torch etc

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2024, 5:18 am

flats are the worst
they twist off flats with a wrench in one
seen it happen a few times

and if bars have long spacing they use scissor jack easy
scissor jack is used in general

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2024, 5:39 am

IMG_1351.jpeg

wing

Postby wing » June 9th, 2024, 7:17 am

proper fencing, spikes
perimeter alarm
If you can retrofit but especially for new construction, a safe room with no windows, reinforced door and dedicated battery backup. No cash, household item or vehicle is worth a life. Depending on the authorities will get you killed eventually.

Re: Home Security measures and solutions

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2024, 9:15 pm

Fun fact
It's actually not entirely illegal to booby-trap inside your house.

Postby gastly369 » June 9th, 2024, 9:46 pm

Whe forensic come they have to walk with a mop and shovel diz all ah saying...

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2024, 8:04 am

pugboy wrote:a traditional wired security alarm is still the best defence and with motion sensor as mentioned or beams
window sensors will be last line of defence
cameras are nice to see how you got beaten up and robbed…
Where sells these beams sensors?

I am also looking for some motion sensors. Most of what selling here seems to be rubbish. Bought a heap of stuff from modern electrical and 3/4 of them are malfunctioning.

Have a dwos-j sensor to try in a few. Not sure how well that one works.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2024, 8:21 am

check them places that supply DSC alarms
don’t buy them cheap price alarm ting
nothing in modern does last
the big names ones like dsc and honeywell not that much more expensive

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2024, 8:43 pm

pugboy wrote:check them places that supply DSC alarms
Sure right about modern. I buy 4 led bulbs with motion sensors and like none works..

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2024, 8:58 pm

pugboy wrote:check them places that supply DSC alarms
Sure right about modern. I buy 4 led bulbs with motion sensors and like none works..

I had better luck with modern than Boodoos and their bogus Green Energy brand which is a hit and miss most times. Modern you get a five year warranty on their LED floodlights.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2024, 9:24 pm

everybody i know who use modern led downlighters
end up changing all after a year

Postby Dave » June 30th, 2024, 9:57 pm

Modern has good prices for a reason.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2024, 7:31 am

What's the going rate for electric fence now?

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2024, 7:59 am

everything on amazon

Postby alfa » July 1st, 2024, 8:18 am

pugboy wrote:everything on amazon

Can you bring that in without a permit of some sort? I think you need a licence to set up an electric fence.
Alternatively you could diy reverse wire a 440/220V control transformer to feed the fencing, use a single strand copper wire run on some insulators

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2024, 8:21 am

i know a few ppl who brought it via skybox
never heard of any regulations

abbow

Postby abbow » July 1st, 2024, 9:08 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What's the going rate for electric fence now?

Was given a est quote last week, ~ 25k TT for a 50 x 100 ft lot with flat perimeter walls.

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2024, 9:15 am

the power units are around $100usd
the labour is in setting up the poles to string the cables

Postby 88sins » July 1st, 2024, 8:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What's the going rate for electric fence now?

Expensive.

The real question you should ask tho, is how effective are electric fences.
And the answer is, they are VERY effective...
At making you and your premises a target.

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2024, 8:20 pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 1st, 2024, 9:50 pm

These are nice, but it's not for here. People like me bending that and climbing over.
They havs a tendency to throw towels over barbed wire but from what I saw they fit between the barbed wire and the fence at my aunts place next door.

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2024, 10:05 pm

spikes and those contraptions have to be high up so you don’t have it easy to fiddle with them to climb over

the raptor one doesn’t look easy to bend since it rotates, would need extra help to hold it whilst trying to bend

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2024, 7:17 am

Just now the gangs will start using breached entry with flash bang and thing.

High walls? Buss the wall with some C4. They already have military guns and grenades. What's to stop them? The Hinds brand pepper spray that nobody get a permit for yet?

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » July 2nd, 2024, 9:12 am

Air horn > AR15

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2024, 11:01 am

a padna tell me a car battery and two alligator clip shorting out a electric fence

i dunno the science or explanation behind it myself

Postby alfa » July 3rd, 2024, 11:28 am

Chimera wrote:a padna tell me a car battery and two alligator clip shorting out a electric fence

i dunno the science or explanation behind it myself

Dunno about the battery part but if all phases are bonded together and connected to a ground spike theoretically it's supposed to short out the system and create a zero potential.
Would have to alligator clip all the wires together and connect to a ground spike

Postby MaxPower » July 3rd, 2024, 12:05 pm

Team,

Whats the costing for the motion sensors with alarm in T&T?

I will order my sheit but curious about what kinda price bussing these days locally.