THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby shogun » January 10th, 2014, 12:06 am

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ I can smile now shogun. Yup, I was lucky to quit 'cold turkey'... but that's one of the toughest (& scariest) things that I ever tried to do.
When you quit you get sinus drainage for a few weeks... like the worse head cold in history... but don't give up!!!
Don't want to have to do that again! Thank God it's over... & I can breath easy now. :roll:

Don't have to tell me how hard it is nuh. To this day, every time i have to pull out the card or cash to pay for smokes, i feel like WITCO's b!tch.

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » January 14th, 2014, 9:51 am

shogun wrote:
Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ I can smile now shogun. Yup, I was lucky to quit 'cold turkey'... but that's one of the toughest (& scariest) things that I ever tried to do.
When you quit you get sinus drainage for a few weeks... like the worse head cold in history... but don't give up!!!
Don't want to have to do that again! Thank God it's over... & I can breath easy now. :roll:

Don't have to tell me how hard it is nuh. To this day, every time i have to pull out the card or cash to pay for smokes, i feel like WITCO's b!tch.
. :) u ever try weed bruh?

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 27th, 2014, 9:57 am

Ex-Marlboro man dies from smoking-related disease

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Eric Lawson, who portrayed the rugged Marlboro man in cigarette ads during the late 1970s, has died. He was 72.

Lawson died Jan. 10 at his home in San Luis Obispo of respiratory failure due to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, or COPD, his wife, Susan Lawson said Sunday.

Lawson was an actor with bit parts on such TV shows as "Baretta" and "The Streets of San Francisco" when he was hired to appear in print Marlboro ads from 1978 to 1981. His other credits include "Charlie's Angels," ''Dynasty" and "Baywatch." His wife said injuries sustained on the set of a Western film ended his career in 1997.

A smoker since age 14, Lawson later appeared in an anti-smoking commercial that parodied the Marlboro man and an "Entertainment Tonight" segment to discuss the negative effects of smoking. Susan said her husband was proud of the interview, even though he was smoking at the time and continued the habit until he was diagnosed with COPD.

"He knew the cigarettes had a hold on him," she said. "He knew, yet he still couldn't stop."
A few actors and models who pitched Marlboro brand cigarettes have died of smoking-related diseases. They include David Millar, who died of emphysema in 1987, and David McLean, who died of lung cancer in 1995.

Lawson was also survived by six children, 18 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren.

http://news.yahoo.com/ex-marlboro-man-d ... 50253.html

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2014, 11:19 am

Seems he lived a full life.

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 27th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Hook wrote:Seems he lived a full life.

Since he died from:

chronic obstructive pulmonary disease,

I doubt the last 15-20 years of his life would have been considered to be "filled" with anything but pain, choking, uncontrollable coughing, endless medication... etc.

"Full Life"?

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2014, 12:12 pm

You speculating or you know this for a fact?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 27th, 2014, 12:50 pm

^ ^ ^ Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ after suffering from the effects of smoking for 27 years myself and getting "too damn close for comfort"... and knowing at least 3 sufferers of COPD and emphysema personally... I'll agree that they didn't have much "quality of life" for the last 10 years or more. No speculation necessary for me at all.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 27th, 2014, 12:53 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:855 days smoke free!

Well done

21 days :|

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 27th, 2014, 12:57 pm

Hook wrote:You speculating or you know this for a fact?

Marlboro Man dead: Star of iconic cigarette ads Eric Lawson dies from chronic lung disease

Eric becomes the third Marlboro Man to succumb to a smoking-related illness

Actor Eric Lawson has become the third Marlboro Man cowboy to die of a smoking illness, it was revealed today.

Lawson, 72, had played the rugged puffing character in the cigarette adverts for three years in the late 1970s.

Dozens of real-life cowboys, rodeo riders and actors have played the Marlboro Man in various guises from massive billboards signs, TV adverts and even on the back playing cards.

Two of them, David Millar died of emphysema in 1987, and David McLean, said to have had to smoke five packs a day to give him that “ rugged” look,passed away from lung cancer in 1995.

Wayne McLaren died from lung cancer aged 51 in 1992 after he had appeared in promotional pictures for Marlboro and had sued manufacturers Philip Morris.

The cowboy look was first brought in 1954 to give the filter cigarettes a more manly look.

Latest victim Lawson suffered chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, which has been linked to smoking, as well as other ailments.

Lawson, who smoked from the age of 14, died at his home in California’s San Luis Obispo, according to his wife Susan.

As well as the Marlboro adverts, Lawson also appeared in hit US tv shows Baretta, and the Streets of San Francisco. He is also had roles in Charlie’s Angels, Dynasty and Baywatch until his acting career ended in 1997 due to a film set injury.

But Lawson later appeared anti-smoking commercials, using the Marlboro-man look as a parody.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news ... uaPV9JZSmw

Postby sharkman121 » January 27th, 2014, 1:14 pm

83 days..

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2014, 1:18 pm

I didn't mention anything about the quality of his life. He lived to 72, acted in a bunch of stuff and had six children, 18 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren. I'd say he lived a full life. He's done more than some of us will ever do, and at 72 he's lived a lot longer than a lot of other famous people. If he coughed and wheezed his way through the last 10 yrs of it, that was his doing.

See, I'm playing Devil's advocate here, giving a smoker stories like this is preaching to the choir. We knew the dangers, we've seen the commercials and the pictures of the autopsies, we've coughed up phlegm and blood, yet we still lit up another one.
As a quitter, stories like these are an inspiration, but as a smoker it would just be internet fodder.

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 27th, 2014, 2:59 pm

Hook wrote:I didn't mention anything about the quality of his life. He lived to 72, acted in a bunch of stuff and had six children, 18 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren. I'd say he lived a full life. He's done more than some of us will ever do, and at 72 he's lived a lot longer than a lot of other famous people. If he coughed and wheezed his way through the last 10 yrs of it, that was his doing.

See, I'm playing Devil's advocate here, giving a smoker stories like this is preaching to the choir. We knew the dangers, we've seen the commercials and the pictures of the autopsies, we've coughed up phlegm and blood, yet we still lit up another one.
As a quitter, stories like these are an inspiration, but as a smoker it would just be internet fodder.
k

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 27th, 2014, 5:12 pm

After I made this thread I went back to smoking and quit twice.

then in the month of January 2013 I quit again and to this date have never picked up a single cig.

Thats 1 year I have been smoke free, but I do have breathing problems now as a result of the cigs.
However they have cleared up 80%

Postby shogun » January 27th, 2014, 5:23 pm

Well done man. Don't look back.

What was your daily damage EFFECTIC DESIGNS, if i may ask?

Postby shogun » January 27th, 2014, 5:36 pm

wagonon20's wrote:
shogun wrote:

. :) u ever try weed bruh?

Yeah! i used to smoke, but stopped years ago. friends started experimenting further and i wasn't having that sh!t... was never one to follow, so i just kinda stopped. Lost a few friends when i stopped, buh say wah.

I dunno, we used to smoke with grown assed men at the time and to me them heavy smokers ALWAYS seemed "slow." All that is what kinda convinced me to slow down, then stop.

What about you?

Toilet Cleaner

Postby Toilet Cleaner » January 28th, 2014, 12:39 pm

Well I almost made 2 months after quitting cold turkey, but people at work kept annoying me for no reason, as usual. Today was the breaking point. I was on the verge of slapping up some people and losing my job and probably ending up in a worse position.

So I ended up smoking a dunhill retail to calm myself. I immediately regret it now. But I think I made the better choice and will probably quit the job by choice now so I wouldn't have to deal with these fags. And by fags I mean cigarettes AND the annoying people.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 28th, 2014, 9:50 pm

shogun wrote:Well done man. Don't look back.

What was your daily damage EFFECTIC DESIGNS, if i may ask?

Half pack a day.

Sometimes a lil more. Cycling everyday, losing weight and time has almost healed my breathing problems developed from smoking. Figured I is only 28 years old so I have real time to live, I eh want to die yet, want to play my video games LOL :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 24th, 2015, 8:04 pm

today makes it 4 years since I quit smoking. Having done so for many years.

The trick to it was simply changing the food you are accustomed to eating where you would normally take a smoke after you are finished eating.

And also doing some calculations on how much money you waste on cigs for the year then take that money and buy yourself something nice, and justify it by not smoking. The feeling of spending that money and knowing you have to stop smoking to justify it makes you feel like not smoking at all.

Its all a mental thing really just a little bit of will power. I did it cold turkey but took atleast 30 tries

So allyuh who posted on this thread you had a long time to quit smoking, what are the progress? let us know. I feel great not having to smoke a sig just to feel "normal"

Invisible

Postby Invisible » May 24th, 2015, 9:24 pm

3 & 1/2 years here. Still going strong!

Computerman

Postby Computerman » May 25th, 2015, 9:34 am

I smoked for over 22 years. I Quit smoking 6 months ago. No regrets.

Postby dougla_boy » May 25th, 2015, 9:40 am

i still tryna quit....down to a pack of switch a week a week and a half.....sometimes more depends how i lime and whatnot

Postby shogun » May 25th, 2015, 10:29 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:855 days smoke free!

Well done

21 days :|

Wha wrong with you dred?... 21 days is awesome. I'd settle for half that. Still trying to go more than a couple days, over here. Srs.

dougla_boy wrote:i still tryna quit....down to a pack of switch a week a week and a half.....sometimes more depends how i lime and whatnot

F'real.

The liming with friends is what really takes the toll on my habit. Keep trying though man.

Computerman wrote:I smoked for over 22 years. I Quit smoking 6 months ago. No regrets.

Damnit!!!!!!!!!!!

Well done man.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 25th, 2015, 10:54 am

I trying to stop, help?

Postby Hook » May 25th, 2015, 10:58 am

Computerman wrote:I smoked for over 22 years. I Quit smoking 6 months ago. No regrets.

Well done, meng! How's your breathing improved since then?

dougla_boy wrote:i still tryna quit....down to a pack of switch a week a week and a half.....sometimes more depends how i lime and whatnot

Quitting the habit part is way harder than getting off the nicotene, but you're making good progress. Keep at it.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 25th, 2015, 11:13 am

The habit part is really hard,,,,when I home I don't smoke, but as I leave,,,must have one..help please

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2015, 11:22 am

Rahtid wrote:The habit part is really hard,,,,when I home I don't smoke, but as I leave,,,must have one..help please

is cigarete yuh talkin about dey, or noonoose?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 25th, 2015, 11:28 am

Rahtid wrote:The habit part is really hard,,,,when I home I don't smoke, but as I leave,,,must have one..help please

is cigarete yuh talkin about dey, or noonoose?

The cigarette part lol, when I home, I don't smoke, cuz I will get real drama, and I normal without it, but as I leave,,must must have one

dhircat

Postby dhircat » May 25th, 2015, 11:48 am

I completely stopped smoking since mid February, only pulling on my pipe now (e-cig that is) and feeling normal about it, once you set your mind to it, you can stop

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » May 25th, 2015, 11:57 am

i know ah padnah stop smoking and pornography/masturbation addiction, pornography/masturbation addiction habit was much harder to "break". forgive the pun

Postby Hook » May 25th, 2015, 12:37 pm

uh huh... "ah padnah" :lol: