Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Halfbreed07

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 20th, 2013, 1:28 pm

Bout 4" to 5"
Chk out ishtropicals online.

DJ

Postby DJ » September 20th, 2013, 4:25 pm

reason I asked is that Kenrick from Bamboo have a couple that same size for $200. I am considering buying one.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 20th, 2013, 4:44 pm

Really that's a great price, is it good quality, local or imports?
What other new world chiclids does he have?
Directions to him pls.

Postby DVSTT » September 20th, 2013, 6:01 pm

Anyone have a number for petshop boys. Planning on checking them tomorrow

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 20th, 2013, 8:03 pm

(868)653-0675

Postby DVSTT » September 20th, 2013, 10:16 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:(868)653-0675

Thanks Bro!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 22nd, 2013, 8:54 am

You went?
Did they have any new world chiclids?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 7:44 pm

Saw these in the Atlanta Aquarium......... All were over 5". Not really into discus but just decided to post it up for the discus lovers.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 7:45 pm

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 22nd, 2013, 8:08 pm

Did they have all those for sale and where are they located

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 22nd, 2013, 8:42 pm

At the Atlanta (Georgia) Aquarium

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 22nd, 2013, 9:12 pm

Or thanks

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 23rd, 2013, 10:08 am

Beautiful

link

Postby link » September 23rd, 2013, 11:56 am

looking for a good MALE lionhead goldfish (preferably red...really red)...for breeding purposes..
any leads ??
tks asst

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » September 24th, 2013, 11:39 am

need some advice guys... i need to split up my discus into two 4ft tanks currently have one tank and i will be gettin the other tank on wednesday... i did a water changer this morning .. can i use 50 percent of my water in the new tank and add 50 percent new water in each tank... and can i also split my sponge filters across both tanks... will this maintain a cycle?

bir123

Postby bir123 » September 24th, 2013, 11:59 am

This should but if you are removing a sponge filter make sure to add a new one to both aquarims
Btw what kind of discus do you have
And post some pic

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 24th, 2013, 7:51 pm

evil_twin wrote:need some advice guys... i need to split up my discus into two 4ft tanks currently have one tank and i will be gettin the other tank on wednesday... i did a water changer this morning .. can i use 50 percent of my water in the new tank and add 50 percent new water in each tank... and can i also split my sponge filters across both tanks... will this maintain a cycle?

Azoo has an easy tank starter liquid, I would add, run the tank for a couple days then test the water before adding the fish.

1380066600804.jpg

Better pic of flowerhorn

cins

Postby cins » September 24th, 2013, 9:47 pm

Got some scuds (Hyalella azteca) recently... has anyone had experience or advice propagating them?

My main concern is that I recently found dragonfly larvae (which are highly aggressive) in the same tank.

link

Postby link » September 25th, 2013, 9:50 am

cins wrote:Got some scuds (Hyalella azteca) recently... has anyone had experience or advice propagating them?

My main concern is that I recently found dragonfly larvae (which are highly aggressive) in the same tank.

ELIMINATE ALL ...........I had a real bad experience when I set up a growout tank for my pearlscale goldfish...........I thought I secured the tank (1000 gal base )...dragonfly was still able to lay eggs...when I transferred the fry late one evening...I came in the morning to see half-of-fish all over the place...I real cuss...lost more than half my spawn overnight.
empty tank, wash plants, inspect entire tank & refill the same water u removed & replace plants
Brgds

DJ

Postby DJ » September 25th, 2013, 12:08 pm

^^how to identify this? What does the larve look like?

Postby cinco » September 25th, 2013, 12:22 pm

HondaB20B wrote:At the Atlanta (Georgia) Aquarium

i love that place
any fish lover its worth the visit i spend hours in there just sitting looking at the fish
those discus came in at around 2 inches when they opened in 2005

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 25th, 2013, 1:11 pm

DJ wrote:^^how to identify this? What does the larve look like?

A swimming arrow, once you see it trust me, you will jump and know it's not supposed to be there.

DJ

Postby DJ » September 25th, 2013, 1:13 pm

^^and that attacks the fish? How come the fish doh eat it like shrimp?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 25th, 2013, 1:18 pm

It's too quick fella, it's larger that those silly ghost shrimp too. It does fack up fry, it won't usually affect larger fish.

cins

Postby cins » September 25th, 2013, 3:33 pm

how to identify this? What does the larve look like?[/quote]

They are pretty nasty.. look like an alien preditor in your tank and swims like a snake (with legs). Worst part is they look exactly like a plant and are very hard to see when they are small. I tried feeding a couple to some good sized gold fish I had in a tank but they ended up holding on to one of the fish's sides before scuttling out of sight.

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ip3yo6qX_f8/R7g ... G_1006.JPG

http://www.arkive.org/emperor-dragonfly ... 24220.html

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 25th, 2013, 3:46 pm

Anybody know where i cud get gravel to build ah bio filter?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 25th, 2013, 4:06 pm

Bio balls and pot scrub u mean?
Forget gravel.

Postby meccalli » September 25th, 2013, 6:41 pm

I think those trap more debris than provide a good surface for bacteria, a sand filter is the real flick but you need some gear to run it, i like to use this in my hob
http://www.amazon.com/Seachem-Matrix-Bi ... hem+matrix

You can put it in a sump or separate section for a strict biofilter.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 25th, 2013, 6:43 pm

Is not ah small filter i building so those options will cost alot...

cins

Postby cins » September 25th, 2013, 7:00 pm

Just Monday I bought 25 four pack plastic scourers at Westbees for $7.50 a pack. It's not that expensive and beats illegally raiding a river for gravel.