*****The OFFICIAL Corruption Thread*****

Re: *****The OFFICIAL Corruption Thread*****

Postby Habit7 » February 5th, 2015, 9:08 am

Dude you now find out about Calabar. Those allegations were put the IC long time now, they were investigated and MM was cleared.

Only because Louis Lee Sing didn't get chosen for the seat, he went public with the allegations.

But unlike most allegations, these have been independently probed and concluded. If you dont want to accept it, then we should reignite the PM's stay at the Gopauls and the contracts which are still flowing.

Postby eliteauto » February 5th, 2015, 9:10 pm

Hyperion wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/King-I-was-fired-over-Ish-and-Steve-extradition-290993051.html

King: I was fired over Ish and Steve ‘extradition’

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Feb 5, 2015 at 8:20 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 5, 2015 at 8:20 PM ECT

Former Government minister Mary King said on Wednesday she was fired from the Cabinet because she supported the extradition of businessmen Ishwar Galbaransingh and Steve Ferguson.

In May, 2011, King was fired as then Minister of Planning, Restructuring and Gender Affairs after questions were raised as to whether she breached the law when she failed to disclose her pecuniary and family interest in a software engineering company, Ixanos Ltd, which won a $100,000 Government website development contract from her ministry.

King said in a letter to the Express she was fired because of her position that the businessmen be extradited.

Galbaransingh and Ferguson are charged with a series of criminal offences arising out of the construction of the Piarco Airport Development Project dating back to 2002.

“Sometime after I was fired it was reported to me that in conversation with a Cabinet minister my name came up and that minister’s aggressive response was that ‘she wanted to extradite Ish and Steve, our colleagues and financiers’,” King said.

“Indeed, I was very strident in my advice to the AG, Ramlogan that their (Ish and Steve) alleged comrades in crime had been already tried and jailed in the US so we should stop dragging our feet and get on with the case to extradite them,” she continued.

“With the Section 34 fiasco yet to come to the Cabinet and then to the Parliament, it would appear that I was a liability to the success of what appeared to keep them not only out of jail in the US but out of jail, full stop!” she stated.

“I had to go and one COP ex-minister was very vocal in broadcasting this message to the public, while others fed misinformation via the media,” stated King.

She pointed that investigations into the allegations made against her with respect to the contract resulted to nothing.

She stated that an investigator from the Global Organisation of Parliamentarians Against Corruption (GOPAC), Canada, came to this country to investigate the complaint against her since she was and still is the secretary to that organisation

“In his report he stated that he found no fault in my activity. Still, I was humiliated and my family publicly embarrassed,” stated King.

King stated that Anand Ramlogan was fired as Attorney General because the consensus in the public domain was that he had to go.

“However, Messrs Griffith and West who stood up for what is correct and for justice were roundly and verbosely condemned by the PM; one was fired and the other recommended to the President for dismissal. Principle and integrity are of no import to this governing administration,” stated King.

smh, what they did to Gary Griffith was in keeping with their modus for the past 5 years. Misdirection, create distractions, engage the spin doctors and paid bloggers, falsely accuse persons to tarnish their reputations thereby reducing their credibility.

Postby eliteauto » February 5th, 2015, 9:12 pm

eliteauto wrote:MEDIA RELEASE
STATEMENT TO THE MEDIA- 05th Feb, 2015
CLARIFICATION OF MATTERS PERTAINING TO MY REMOVAL AS MINISTER OF NATIONAL SECURITY
I wish to clarify specific matters pertaining to my removal as Minister of National Security, as there have been many rumors and perceptions about this matter
Further to recent developments, I wish to state that I remain committed to the stance I maintained throughout this unfortunate turn of events.
I have no regrets .
My removal was not for any of the following reasons;
• It was not based on performance. I leave with a fairly passing grade of my last full year in office having the lowest serious crime rate in this country in 31 years and ironically, in the last 25 days in office, the homicide rate was equated to less than 200 per annum, which was never accomplished in a decade.
• It was not based on breeching Cabinet confidentiality or making statements that Cabinet pressured me to lie, as was related to a totally false, misleading and mischievous release made by the Minister of Communications.
• It was and could never be based on my involvement in the Police investigation as it has been confirmed that I am in no way a suspect, implicated or a person of interest in any way, but merely a volunteer witness who can ensure that the Police investigation is completed in quick time
• One can note that even though, I am not a suspect in any way, the Prime Minister spent a few seconds discussing the Attorney General but went to task to attempt, unsuccessfully, in trying to allude that I should have informed her.
So an Attorney General calls me to get in contact with someone saying” Gary, I can’t get through to David. He was supposed to withdraw a document, so please check and find out the status please”, or words to that effect.
Now we have the Prime Minister making a nationwide media conference to state that I should have ran and contacted her and told her that.
What was there to tell ?
There was absolutely nothing of substance in the message, a message by the way that was made weeks after the appointment of the PCA Director, which is why it was done and which is why I am not under any type of investigation.
But more importantly, if we can all recall, this is the same Prime Minister who has constantly said that anytime, anyone who has any knowledge of any wrong doing must take it straight to the Police. Never to her.
So if I was aware of any wrong doing, my obligation was to forward it to the Police and not her, which I have done.
I am not perfect. But I know when the line must be drawn.
I would expect that in the coming days and months ahead, many attacks would be launched against myself and my family, both on social media and other various channels as has become customary with this Government, as that is the style and operation campaign for the upcoming election, which is ‘ if you are not fully on board with us and you have a different view about anything, then you are a PNM ”, as Minister Bharath has already hinted about me , in a childish attempt to discredit me.
It is also to be noted that for five full days after the Prime Minister returned from abroad, she never once asked to see me, so it may seem that the decision was made not based on the subject matter but on me being adamant that I was obliged to speak the truth.
It must also not be forgotten of the false, misleading, reckless and desperate media release approved, quite coincidentally by Minister Bharath himself, on behalf of the Government that I breeched Cabinet confidentiality and accused Cabinet of pressuring me to lie. This was the red herring excuse that was to be used to fire me. But in their haste to attempt to deceive the country into believing that this was the reason, they did not check, upon which they would have known that at no time have I ever done so, so the Government lied to the nation, in a form of deceit to be used to cloud the real reason for removing me.
They then resorted to their Plan A , which was to state that I am part of the investigation. But if by that logic that if any Minister is part of a Police investigation, then by right all Government Ministers in the email gate probe should also have stepped down, and more importantly, they were being investigated and in this case, I am not.
This is a straight case of “ do as I say, but not as I do”.
If the Prime Minister had simply stated that this is a delicate matter, and seeing that I am a witness, whilst also the line Minister that the Police Service falls under, and seeing that another Minister may be a suspect, so to avoid public perception, it may be prudent that I step down until the matter is fully investigated, the public would have believed and accepted that.
But to have her Communications Minister blatantly lie in a release to discredit me and then jump with an outrageous red herring of why I did not inform her that the AG was trying to contact the PCA Director about a document, as a reason to fire to a Minister, it reveals the desperate attempt to hide from the true reason.
I have no desire to change my position and would not sell my principle for personal gain.
I have no regrets for the stance I took and would do so again.
Politics must stop having a morality of its own

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2015, 9:12 pm

^^^ A tale of sour grapes for King, she thought she could try PNM methods in PP, but she got booted out.

Postby UML » February 5th, 2015, 9:26 pm

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

She cyah be serious!!!

Postby UML » February 13th, 2015, 10:38 am

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Multi-Million Shaw Park Cultural Complex Fails Fire inspection

THE multi-million dollar Shaw Park Cultural Complex has failed its fire inspection.

Media Groups have learnt that fire officers toured the structure last weekend and found it lacked adequate lighting and storage space and that there were no proper directional signage in the case of an emergency. The complex, which was started in 2005, will seat up to 5,000 people when it is finished.

There will now be a re-inspection by the fire service. NIPDEC, which manages the project, now has three months to address the failures, and to get the facility ready for public use.

The Divisional Fire Officer, David Thomas, says, “We are almost very happy with what was done. There are some areas in which we need to partner with the contractor to have rectified so everyone can be happy.”

Millions of dollars in taxpayers’ money has been already spent on the complex. In September, the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) announced that it would be putting pressure on NIPDEC to complete the complex by early 2014. As of 2008, the project’s estimated cost was $196 million and was to have been completed in 2010 at a cost of $250 million. Last year, the estimated cost of the project stood at $400 million.

The THA has publicly complained about its budget allocation from Central Government, and the affect it will have on major projects. It wanted an allocation of $4.95 billion; instead it only received $2.477 billion, an increase from the amount settled in the last fiscal year of $2.356 billion. The THA has announced that in 2013-2014 it is allocating $200 million to complete the Shaw Park Cultural Complex.

The official website of the Shaw Park Cultural Complex states that the structure will be the island’s premiere arts and cultural centre, which aims to promote, support and advance the arts in Tobago. It will have performance spaces, a cultural library, dressing rooms, meeting and conference rooms and a bar. A working group was set up in January 2010, which is chaired by John Arnold. The group liaises with NIPDEC and also aims “to ensure that the facility satisfies the needs and expectations of the Tobago public.”

The website states that the complex is an “ambitious and unique initiative of the THA.” It also states that the complex was scheduled to open in the third quarter of 2011.

A few weeks ago, Tobago News reported that work on the roundabout outside the complex, which is costing six million dollars, is facing delays. Construction was due to be completed by October 13th but the Division of Infrastructure and Public Utilities told Tobago News that the deadline has now been moved to the end of December.
http://tobagojustice.blogspot.com/2013/ ... tural.html

Safety concerns about the Shaw Park Cultural Complex dismissed

Sunday, 08 February 2015 10:01 Written by Tobago News

DESPITE claims that it isn’t safe for public use, the long overdue Shaw Park Cultural Complex finally opened its doors to the public this week.

The inaugural event on Tuesday was an interfaith service. This was followed two days later by the Inter-department Calypso Monarch and Personality Competition.

Earlier in the week, the President of the Public Services Association (PSA), Watson Duke had threatened to prevent the interfaith service from going ahead. He claims that, based on his investigations, the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) does not have the mandatory approvals from the Water and Sewerage Authority, the Fire Service, the Infrastructure Division and the Health Division for the cultural complex. He also stated his intentions of filing an injunction to stop the use of the building.

“The PSA’s meticulous investigation exposes a stiff-necked and recalcitrant THA who deliberately refuses to focus on complying with the OSH (Occupational Safety and Health) Act choosing to blatantly disregard, disrespect and abandon law and order, life and limb so as to satisfy their shallow thirst for political mileage on the heels of the General Elections 2015,” says Duke, who states that the building took 10 years to build and has cost taxpayers $1 billion.

Tobago News tried to contact Duke following the hosting of the inaugural event. Up until press time (Friday, 12pm), all calls went unanswered.

Meanwhile, the THA’s Chief Secretary, Orville London hit back, rubbishing claims about the safety of the building. “Let me just say that the roof is not going to cave in and it has not shifted and will not shift,” he stated.

“I was present when they did the piles and I went down there one day and they explained the whole piling system to me and the number of piles they have to put in and the depths to which they have to go and so on. One of the things I have learned in this job is that you leave technical things to the experts,” says London, who wouldn’t confirm the final cost of the cultural complex, as work is still being carried out.

He said that he had received a copy of Duke’s concerns and had forwarded the correspondence to the State Counsel and National Insurance Property Development Company (NIPDEC) officials (the project managers), both of whom have stated that there is no reason to be unduly concerned. He also said he is in receipt of approval from the Fire Service for the activities to be staged.

During Tuesday’s interfaith service, ‘United in Praise’, London urged Tobagonians to have pride in the cultural complex and “adopt the mind-set that would allow us to maximise the myriad of opportunities available in this space.”

He also told the gathered audience that he believes the facility will help improve tourism. “We (are) also looking at having us getting more involved in convention tourism and we want to become the Religious Convention Centre of the world to bring people here.”

This event was not the official opening of the complex. London says that this won’t happen until everything is perfect.
http://www.thetobagonews.com/news/item/ ... -dismissed

UML wrote:
UML wrote:Cost "overruns" and unaccountable/nontransparent budgets....the modus operandi of the PNM :roll:

THA always complaining for more money...u see why :wink:

No opening date for Scarborough Library

Sunday, 09 November 2014 00:47
Written by Elizabeth Williams

No opening date for Scarborough Library
IT has been over ten years, and to date the People’s National Movement led Tobago House of Assembly is yet to deliver the Shaw Park Cultural Complex and the Scarborough Library.

The Secretary of the Division of Infrastructure and Public Utilities, Gary Melville says he remains hopeful that both projects will be handed over to the people of Tobago by the end of the year.

The Scarborough Library initial completion cost was $28 million. Today, this has risen to $86 million. Ten years and counting, the project is yet to be completed. “MTS (National Maintenance Training and Security Company Limited) has informed us that the main contractor on the project will hand over the building to the project managers MTS in the coming week,” states Melville. He says the fire suppression system and the information communication technology systems are to be ready by mid-November. “We at the Division of Infrastructure and Public Utilities have every confidence that while we cannot give the public a set date today for the opening of the library, that within an outside time of 6-8 weeks, that we would be able to have a final opening day within that particular period,” says Melville.

Meanwhile, the Shaw Park Cultural Complex, originally budgeted for $196 million, is now projected to cost a whopping $634 million, and Melville says that while there continues to be challenges, work on the project has accelerated. The main contractor is Yorke Structures Limited, with NIPDEC as project manager. “The Tobago House of Assembly is leaving no stone unturned, and resources and systems are being applied towards the completion of those works by the end of this year,” says Melville.
http://www.thetobagonews.com/news/item/ ... gh-library

Dr Rowley, your silence on these important issues is deafening!!!

THA to investigate injury at Shaw Park
February 10, 2015

Chief Secretary Orville London has said the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) will thoroughly investigate an incident where a woman fell into a hole outside the Shaw Park Complex recently.
During yesterday press conference at the Administrative Complex in Calder Hall, Scarborough, London confirmed that the incident has occurred, and stated that the THA is currently gathering all information related to the incident, and will take “appropriate action” once this is completed.
“I want to make it very clear; this Assembly is a responsible institution. And not only responsible, but sensitive. And therefore, we will take responsibility in any situation where any individual is justified in claiming liability,” London said.
The injured woman, Sharon Phillips-Greig, fell into a hole last week while preparing a queen to go on stage at the Inter-Department Personality and Calypso Show (5 February, 2015). Phillips-Greig had been back stage near the car park when she fell. She reportedly sustained no broken bones but suffered injuries to her face, hand, shoulders and back. The Chief Secretary said the area was initially covered, but the cover was moved.
London said the issue was placed in the public domain before the THA was made aware of the situation but insisted the matter will be fairly dealt with.
“What is necessary, of course, is that there has to be meaningful communication so that the information can flow and therefore appropriate action can be taken,” he stated.
London indicated that he advised Chief Administrator Raye Sandy to contact Phillips-Greig “so she can provide us with the details and those details can be evaluated and appropriate action taken.”
“We’re open to further communication, but obviously we cannot take appropriate action unless we have all the information, especially where you have medical issues.”
Loop News Service
Source:: Loop TT
http://www.ttonline.org/2015/02/10/tha- ... shaw-park/

ah find the media namely the Express eh reporting this at all :shock: :roll:

only 500 seats..so that is $1,500,000 per seat!!! :shock: :|

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 13th, 2015, 4:52 pm

Kevin Baldeosingh wrote:Kamla the grandmaster

By Kevin Baldeosingh

Story Created: Feb 12, 2015 at 8:24 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 12, 2015 at 8:24 PM ECT

In chess, a player who is at a disadvantage will often try to complicate the board. This is a good strategy because although a complicated board increases the chances of either player making a mistake, any error is worse for the player who is in a better position.

This was the approach used by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (and, presumably, ad agency owner Ernie Ross) in her address to the nation two Mondays ago. The political chatterers have made much of the red herring nature of the firings and hirings, failing to realise that their own irrelevant responses proved just how effective Kamla’s empty speech was.

This is not only demonstrated by the amount of air spent discussing Police Complaints Authority director David West, but by the fact that a commenter’s race was the best predictor of their opinion on whether West was in the right or wrong—ie, almost all Indo commentators argued he should resign and almost all non-Indo ones argued he had done nothing wrong.

The most pertinent point, in my view, came from attorney Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, who pointed out that Mrs Persad-Bissessar, in her address, cited no law, regulation or code of ethics which West had broken nor had she explained how his post brought him into conflict with politicians.

Also irrelevant was commentators’ speculation about a rationale for firing Senate President Timothy Hamel-Smith, since arbitrariness was the very point of Kamla’s reshuffle.

The elevation of non-entities like Garvin Nicholas and Raziah Ahmed, respectively and disrespectfully, to be Attorney General and Senate President reinforced this, sending a pointed message about prime ministerial autocracy to the Cabinet members who had remained unscathed.

As political scientist Bruce Bueno de Mesquita notes in The Dictator’s Handbook, “The best way to stay in power is to keep the coalition small and, crucially, to make sure that every­one in it knows that there are plenty replacements for them.”

In all this, the only real puzzle was the firing of Gary Griffith. Given that lack of integrity is the main monkey on the Government’s back, it would have been politically bene­ficial for Kamla to retain Griffith who, from the time he took the National Security portfolio, loudly and repeatedly stated he was not going to tolerat­e the kind of political corruption that was fuelling the crime rate. So why did Kamla not keep him in the fold as she heads into a general election?

I can think of only three possible reasons, none of which excludes any other. The most benign is that prime ministers cannot tolerate any underling who defies them, especially when such defiance may threaten party financiers. If this is so, it also means Kamla understands, as poll numbers from previous elections demonstrate, that voters in this place do not actually vote out political parties because of corruption.

The second possibility is that Anand Ramlogan agreed to resign only on his own highly beneficial terms, which included Kamla firing Griffith even if such a move freed Griffith to reveal skeletons in Cabinet’s closet. If this is so, it means that Anand is aware of many more bones than Griffith, which would also explain why Kamla virtually defended her erstwhile Attorney General in her address.

The third possibility is that Kamla calculated Griffith would prove more dangerous to her prospects for re-election within Cabinet than outside it. In this context, she needed to deprive him of political office and the related protection of the State.

Given all this, both Kamla’s critics and her supporters have missed the point. It is not that she makes bad selections or that she is a leader who stands on principle. It is that all her decisions are determined solely by calculations about retaining unchecked power. So, even in the zugzwan­g she was forced into, Kamla lost her rook: but she remains the queen.

—kevin.baldeosingh@zoho

Trinidad Express Newspapers

Postby Morpheus » February 15th, 2015, 10:03 am

Baldeosingh is a boss.....

Postby Habit7 » February 20th, 2015, 8:34 pm

Speaking of wining in San Fernando...

Postby UML » February 23rd, 2015, 1:13 pm

$859m owed to contractors

EMBD blames poor management

Geisha Kowlessar

Published:
Saturday, February 21, 2015

Lall, who said he took over some 18 months ago, told the JSC the organisation’s operations were financed by the Ministry of Finance. He said when the current board took over it realised there were significant cost escalations and a multi-million dollar debt to contractors. “So we had claims for hundreds of millions of dollars that came to us. We could not get the validity of some of the claims because there was work stoppage, suspension, contractors walking off because of lack of payment.

“So we decided to keep the projects going, ask the contractors to remain on the site and continue working but we will not pay for loss of profit and downtime. We will pay for certified work by the consultant...work that we could see on the ground,” Lall said. He added one of the critical problems encountered was lack of funding, especially to pay contractors on time.

Committee member and Minister of Public Administration Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan said what she had noticed throughout the EMBD’s entire submission was reference being made to an Independent Consulting Company. Walker said there were currently five consulting engineers with the EMBD. Lall said when the board took over in 2013 it had to go with the existing prequalified list of contractors.

“Last year around October we decided to open it up to the public again...to open the prequalification listing,” Lall added. Walker concurred, adding that the consultant engineer was hired as an independent firm in accord with the contract conditions.

“The EMBD in its initial stages started off under different management and because of what they didn’t do we are now reaping the [consequences] of that. The causal factors has to go back to the pre-planning process. Before you start any development you ought to have all your approvals which is done in the pre-planning stage. “So the cost that we are seeing now is the EMBD trying to react to all these things that should have been done in the era between 2004 to 2009,” Walker said.

He said between 2004 and 2008 more than 20 sites were procured without proper studies, resulting in poor site selection. On the issue of poor performance by both consultants and contractors, he said those who failed to perform had had their contracts terminated. Seepersad-Bachan said if there were effective and efficient project management there would not have been cost overruns and delays.

About the meeting
The committee was headed by Independent Senator Dhanayshar Mahabir who said the objective of the public hearing included the following:
1. To assess the systems in place for the administration of contracts for the development of land
2. To examine the status of outstanding payments and the arrangements in place for compensating contractors
3. To understand the relationship between the EMBD and the other state entities, in particular, Housing Development Corporation (HDC), Caroni Ltd, Ministry of Food Production, Land Settlement Agency, Environmental Management Agency, Town and Country Planning and the National Insurance Property Development Company Limited (Nipdec).
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-02- ... ontractors

Postby pete » February 23rd, 2015, 1:48 pm

It would be interesting to see how much money all state run companies spent on Carnival fetes this year and for the past 15 years.

I'm sure donations to whatever charities would go a lot further than the same money in a carnival fete.

Postby j.o.e » February 23rd, 2015, 1:58 pm

pete wrote:It would be interesting to see how much money all state run companies spent on Carnival fetes this year and for the past 15 years.

I'm sure donations to whatever charities would go a lot further than the same money in a carnival fete.

Charity? To them this is about state sponsored liquor, food and woman...charity is just the excuse

Postby UML » February 23rd, 2015, 2:37 pm

UML wrote:
Repairing Shoddy work done by the PNM administration

Water and Electricity conduit pipes which were laid down at the Reform Village residential development site in Williamsville

Shoddy EMBDC work to cost taxpayers $100m

Yvonne Webb
Published:
Thursday, June 9, 2011

WASA’s chief executive Ganga Singh, second from right, points to the exposed water and electricity conduit pipes which were laid down at the Reform Village residential development site in Williamsville during a site visit yesterday. Next to Singh is WASA’s communications manager Ellen Lewis and WASA’s general manager, project implementation, Mano Bridgelal. PHOTOS: RISHI RAGOONATH
Taxpayers will have to fork out $100 million for remedial water works at ten Estate Management and Business Development Company Limited (EMBDC) sites. So said CEO of the Water and Sewage Authority (WASA), Ganga Singh, yesterday. He blamed shoddy workmanship by private contractors under the former administration. Singh, who toured one of the projects at Reform Village, South Trinidad, found water and electricity lines running parallel to each other underground, use of materials condemned by WASA more than 20 years ago and leaking pipes.

Accompanying Singh on the tour were EMBDC’s CEO Seebalack Singh, general manager, project implementation, WASA, Mann Bridgelal and Carol dos Santos, manager new service, WASA, who is also co-ordinating the team appointed by Food Production Minister Vasant Bharath to review the project.
Singh (S) explained more than $429 million already was spent on the projects undertaken five years ago, on some 4,700 residential lots on former Caroni (1975) Limited lands which should have been delivered within 15 months. He said to date not a single lot had been delivered. He added that the cost to develop the plots could increase significantly.

He said the contractor responsible for the unacceptable job was no longer in the employ of the EMBDC. However, he could not say whether that contractor would face any penalties. The tour took place following comments by Opposition Senator Fitzgerald Hinds in the Upper House on Tuesday that WASA is doing remedial work for EMDBC for more than $100 million, without tendering. He also accused Singh (G) and a woman identified only by the initials CD, of being involved in the activities taking place at the EMBDC. At a news conference on the site, Singh (G) confirmed: “WASA is in fact doing work for the EMBDC, but not with the kind of insinuation, or the kind of innuendo Senator Hinds speaks of.”

He said Carol dos Santos, the person referred to as CD, was appointed to co-ordinate the various State agencies, following a meeting in April, called by Bharath, which included the various stakeholders, T&TEC, WASA, EMBDC, and the Ministries of Food Production, Works and Drainage. Dos Santos explained that no approval was granted by the regulatory bodies for the sites and they were redoing work which had not been done properly to bring it up to the required standards. “Clearly on the basis of Reform, here, the water (lines) cannot co-exist alongside the electricity. This is a definite no, no. It is a safety hazard, it is a health hazard and it can lead to fatalities,” Singh (G) said. He added: “To do this remedial work, it would naturally incur additional costs. We have projected on the ten sites, for the water sector, approximately $100 million.

“Once more, the taxpayer is called upon to bear the burden because of the incompetence of the private sector contractors and the lack of supervision by the EMBDC in the last regime,” the WASA CEO said.
The Reform site, which comprises 737 lots, is to be handed over by the end of August, he said. Bridgelal explained that based on the current inspection, the drawings of the site were not up to mark. He added: “The infrastructure existing is not what is on the drawings. Several items are missing and we cannot accept the drawings to begin with. “Secondly, the materials used on these project sites for the water aspect are not consistent with the standards set by WASA. “There is a pipeline existing here that has been condemned by WASA over 20 years ago. “These things must be checked and verified before WASA could accept the infrastructure here to put our precious water.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/06/ ... ayers-100m

Postby UML » February 23rd, 2015, 2:44 pm

UML wrote:$130m to repair flaws on HDC Houses

The government would have to find about $130 million to repair flaws on houses built by the PNM administration.

...slippy is this what you mean by PNM houses should be given to PNM ppl even if 80% complete....but these completed eh!!! :roll: :roll:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 24th, 2015, 1:30 pm

How come this thread only have 22 pages ??

Postby UML » February 24th, 2015, 2:25 pm

Long-awaited Scarborough Library opens
Eleven years later...

By Elizabeth Williams

Story Created: Feb 23, 2015 at 10:10 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 23, 2015 at 10:12 PM ECT

The controversial decade-old Scarborough Library has now been completed at a cost of over $86 million, double the original estimated cost.
Construction of the spanking new building which started in 2004 was finally opened to members of the public yesterday.
It has been a long wait as many thought it would have never been a reality, but the final of three mega projects by the present PNM-led Tobago House of Assembly (THA) has been delivered to the people of Tobago.
Following an earthquake in 1997, the library facility was damaged considerably and later demolished. Head of Library Services Tobago, Helen Johnson, told the Express the building is also accommodating wheelchair bound persons and the visually impaired.
“It’s a big sense of relief. We have been in Signal Hill since 2000, so it’s good to be able to come back to Scarborough and once again offer the full range of services to the members of the public,” Johnson said.
Education Secretary Huey Cadette was observed sitting through a story-telling session in the presence of former senator Dr Eastlyn McKenzie.
He called the opening of the facility a significant one under his tenure. “I am extremely proud. I think this is a step into the future, a significant step into the future for all of Tobago, young people, children, youth of yesterday, young adults, everyone. The visually impaired, everyone can find a peace at the library,” Huey Cadette said.
Among the sections of the library are the Eastlyn McKenzie Children’s Library, the Anne Mitchell-Gift Auditorium, the James Biggart Adult Library and the Susan Graig-James Heritage Library.
McKenzie had this message for the children of Tobago: “Let them come in, let them read, let them research and let them be inspired by the people who they would see.”
The Library is open to members of the public from 8.30 a.m, Monday to Saturday
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Lon ... 66311.html

PNM THA with the infamous COST OVER-RUNS AGAIN!!!! :roll:

Imagine when they "return" to government!!! :shock:

dey eh even finish it when PNM was in government!!! :shock:

PNM celebrating an embarrassment!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » February 24th, 2015, 2:39 pm

I see you back-pedalling from saying the PPG has no cost overruns.

But since you equate cost overruns with corruption and not consider mitigating factors like material sourcing, municipal approvals, labour shortfalls, price escalation and government funding...

Postby UML » February 24th, 2015, 2:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:I see you back-pedalling from saying the PPG has no cost overruns.

But since you equate cost overruns with corruption and not consider mitigating factors like material sourcing, municipal approvals, labour shortfalls, price escalation and government funding...

where did I backpedal?

providing a PICTURE for cost over-runs......das a first!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

post the details let us see....for all we know that could be an edited picture....just like Emailgate!!!

Postby Habit7 » February 24th, 2015, 2:46 pm

Postby UML » February 24th, 2015, 2:54 pm

only seeing PNM corruption dey bai and an allegation like a pie in the sky.

where the details of the cost over-runs for the PPG?

bring details not propaganda, misinformation and PICTURE :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » February 24th, 2015, 3:13 pm

I can't make you see what you don't like to see...
Rowley.jpg

Postby UML » February 24th, 2015, 3:19 pm

where the details to support your PROPAGANDA AND MISINFORMATION about PPG cost over-runs?!!!

Postby Habit7 » February 24th, 2015, 3:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=316865&p=8433097&#p8433097

You are making my point
Habit7 wrote:I can't make you see what you don't like to see...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 27th, 2015, 12:10 pm

Why does it cost about one million dollars to build/buy a house (inc purchase of land) but about 6 million dollars to build a pavement ??

Postby Dizzy28 » February 27th, 2015, 12:15 pm

djaggs wrote:Why does it cost about one million dollars to build/buy a house (inc purchase of land) but about 6 million dollars to build a pavement ??

Because Range Rovers cost over 1 million and any contractor worth his salt in Trinidad has to have at least two Range Rovers.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 27th, 2015, 12:19 pm

pete wrote:It would be interesting to see how much money all state run companies spent on Carnival fetes this year and for the past 15 years.

Always wondered about this. Why not just give the directly to the charity e.g. UWI Endowment Fund, Cancer Society etc. And isn't charitable donations a 150% tax allowance or do they count fete tickets as charity too??

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 27th, 2015, 12:20 pm

djaggs wrote:Why does it cost about one million dollars to build/buy a house (inc purchase of land) but about 6 million dollars to build a pavement ??

Because Range Rovers cost over 1 million and any contractor worth his salt in Trinidad has to have at least two Range Rovers.

Ohhhh, I see........so what you saying is, if I want my kids to drive a Range Rover when they grow up, I should just tell them to go learn to build pavement, forget studying.

Hmmmm.......the land of opportunity.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 27th, 2015, 1:12 pm

Why is it that contractors in the US can build highways at an approx. cost of about 5 to 7 USD million per lane mile but in Trinidad where we have a natural pitch lake and cheap fuel it costs about 121 million USD per lane mile ( at estimated cost of 7 billion TTD for 9 miles ) ??

nismoid

Postby nismoid » February 28th, 2015, 9:54 am

PPG never had and will never have cost overruns because all accepted tenders from their preferred contractors include kickbacks.
Example - actual cost of project = 10M. Tender from preferred contractors (accepted)= 30M
$20M difference is to be split like this -$10M for preferred contractor and $10M for minister to be paid to a paper company as a subcontractor

That's how it works

Postby rspann » February 28th, 2015, 8:39 pm

Such comparisons (as quoted above) are nonsensical because the comparisons themselves are not balanced. You quote lane/mile prices for the US highways but an overall for the local The length is not correct either. The Point Fortin highway is 47 km of four lane and 2 km of two lane highways. The $7 b figure you quote is the cost of compensation of relocation of residents and squatters ( $2 b), the cost of moving /capping wells ,all the interchanges (grand bazaar interchange alone cost $ .5 b) ,the bridges overpasses and other related works and costs .So if we are comparing lets do it fairly.

Work out the actual cost ,subtracting all the other costs, subtract the cost of all bridges and other infrastructure, use the remainder to calculate the actual cost ,working with the correct length,(not 9 miles) and use the correct no. of lanes then tell us what is the cost.

The other thing is paving a highway vs. constructing a highway from scratch is a totally different matter. I observed some of the pics are for reconstruction and widening that will cost a lot less than starting from the foundation up . Also the type of soil we have in the southland is totally different.
Last edited by rspann on February 28th, 2015, 8:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.