***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby Dizzy28 » October 28th, 2015, 11:55 am

pete wrote:Curious, where did you get that data? Is there somewhere you can put in a commodity code and see how many items for the year are imported?

Pete,
My data was from CSO. Contrary to popular belief they did collect and compile data for the past 5 years however they do suffer with other constraints such as the platform with which to put it up (they have revamped their website and are starting to do this now though) as well as office space etc.

Apart from CSO where you will be provided with a information as you request it I can't think of a resource/database where you can input commodity codes and get data for that specific item. I think they would provide at the HS code level up to a certain level of detail. My internet very lagy or else I would run a search and see now. However registration is free.
http://www.macmap.org/AdvancedSearch/Ra ... untry.aspx

Postby sMASH » October 28th, 2015, 12:36 pm

My thing with the train is when one leaves, when would another available?

Fault tolerance
If one fails, how much of a set back would it be.

An individual water taxi may be more than a rail car, but the total maintenance cost may be on par. When u take into consideration that with the rail there would be a highly sophisticated and powerful engine and a lot of network rails to maintain. With the taxi, the individual taxis and the hubs. with no real figures and just an industrial experience of how these things scale, I not seeing a wide divide in operating costs.
But we already have the water taxis... I think we should expand it in the interim.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 28th, 2015, 1:25 pm

man.. everyone already knows this train thing is a bad idea. the ones who supporting it just supporting pnm and dont understand the ramifications. everyone likes to have some big project on their name to demonstrate they are a good 'project manager'. then they use it to boast on the podium if successful or say nothing on their way out while the next government examines and magnifies their failures.

this pnm always doing something to help the economy and always causing inflation, always failing big projects, down to something as simple as hdc housing the built purposefully on shifting land so their contractor padna will get constant work patching up the buildings for the rest of his life. these kinda shady economic stimulus ideas they come up with does be starving for value. in other words, they practice no economic management but just talk about it. why cant they just appreciate a5 year uneventful term? that is something i think is highly valuable. for citizens to look back 5 years from now and be saying... wow, nothing bad happened this year. no new taxes, no rise in food or transport, no rise in unemployment, no rise in cost of rent and real estate. i think that in mitself would serve as not just good, but excellent news considering the oil market and world economy status. as the saying goes.. no news is good news.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 1:35 pm

rspann wrote:On a different note ,you see how you have a car and use it to go to work? That is everybody's goal too,every young person wants a car for freedom and mobility. That is one thing thats not going to change,

You want to see that change? Let the Government remove all fuel subsidies, place back the restrictions/ban the importation on foreign used vehicles and increase taxes and duties on new cars and see how fast that goal harboured by young people be revaluated. Its only that way because despite what people in this country may think it is relatively easy and cheap to own a car compared to many developed countries.

Slartibartfast wrote:Let me ask you this Dizzy, if the taxes on cars were raised and fuel prices increased would you sell you vehicles and use only public transport from now on?

Dizzy28 wrote:Not now.........but if there was a very good integrated transport option available as major European cities have[trains, trams, buses] then maybe yes.

So even you admit that raising taxes and gas prices won't work to reduce congestion. And you suggested it!

Now what you said about a very good integrated transport system is the way to go if that could take someone like you and I (that like to drive our own vehicles everywhere) off of the street and into public transportation. See where I'm coming from?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 1:46 pm

pete wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:@pete, what could a tiny like trinidad, with the most amount of cars in the world possibly import from korea and japan

I'm genuinely interested in how to access the data to find out about some other products.

Can you get the actual latest readings on cars per capita for trinidad? The wiki page showing Trinidad as 49th in the world and not 1st as stated but the info on the wiki page looks very outdated.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 28th, 2015, 1:51 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
rspann wrote:On a different note ,you see how you have a car and use it to go to work? That is everybody's goal too,every young person wants a car for freedom and mobility. That is one thing thats not going to change,

You want to see that change? Let the Government remove all fuel subsidies, place back the restrictions/ban the importation on foreign used vehicles and increase taxes and duties on new cars and see how fast that goal harboured by young people be revaluated. Its only that way because despite what people in this country may think it is relatively easy and cheap to own a car compared to many developed countries.

Slartibartfast wrote:Let me ask you this Dizzy, if the taxes on cars were raised and fuel prices increased would you sell you vehicles and use only public transport from now on?

Dizzy28 wrote:Not now.........but if there was a very good integrated transport option available as major European cities have[trains, trams, buses] then maybe yes.

So even you admit that raising taxes and gas prices won't work to reduce congestion. And you suggested it!

Now what you said about a very good integrated transport system is the way to go if that could take someone like you and I (that like to drive our own vehicles everywhere) off of the street and into public transportation. See where I'm coming from?

I was addressing the point on car ownership though. It has to be nipped in the bud from very early that it is not a right to own a car. Trinis with our lovely entitlement attitude will take some measure of drastic action to get them to not use their cars even when gas subsidies have been taken away.

I am sure a vast majority of people hope that public transport eases up traffic so that they can reach to work faster in their private cars.

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2015, 3:36 pm

sMASH wrote:My thing with the train is when one leaves, when would another available?

Fault tolerance

An individual water taxi may be more than a rail car, but the total maintenance cost may be on par. When u take into consideration that with the rail there would be a highly sophisticated and powerful engine and a lot of network rails to maintain. With the taxi, the individual taxis and the hubs. with no real figures and just an industrial experience of how these things scale, I not seeing a wide divide in operating costs.
But we already have the water taxis... I think we should expand it in the interim.

One every 4 minutes at peak hours and 8 at off peak.

I don't know if you know how these trains work but they are 3,4,5 or 6 cars in tandem each with its own electric motor mounted on top. If one car is not working it can be replaced or still be drawn by other cars.

Maintaining water taxis is a lot more than a train that works for 16 hrs a day. The current WTs are two diesel engines that requires an engineer, 4 deck hands and 2 pilots to operate on board for the 2-4hrs a day. A train needs an engineer on board. A control centre will monitor but it is still more efficient. An electric engine 1 or 2 moving parts, the two Diesel engines....

WT can only serve the two cities that are on the sea, Point Fortin and Chaguanas are not walking distance from the sea. WT cannot solve EW corridor traffic.

I can go on but I'm sure you get the point.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 28th, 2015, 3:36 pm

You are right because I do not use my vehicle during peak times so I would love to continue to do so :)

Postby Redman » October 28th, 2015, 4:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:My thing with the train is when one leaves, when would another available?

Fault tolerance

I don't know if you know how these trains work but they are 3,4,5 or 6 cars in tandem each with its own electric motor mounted on top. If one car is not working it can be replaced or still be drawn by other cars.

Maintaining water taxis is a lot more than a train that works for 16 hrs a day. The current WTs are two diesel engines that requires an engineer, 4 deck hands and 2 pilots to operate on board for the 2-4hrs a day. A train needs an engineer on board. A control centre will monitor but it is still more efficient. An electric engine 1 or 2 moving parts, the two Diesel engines....

WT can only serve the two cities that are on the sea, Point Fortin and Chaguanas are not walking distance from the sea. WT cannot solve EW corridor traffic.

Of course the CAPEX changes the picture immensely.
but we could ignore that.

Park and ride...proven concept
but we could ignore that too.

When we get a feasibility study that is current and independent...post it please.
thx.

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2015, 4:07 pm

Right after we receive the feasibility study of the BRT, decentralisation, telecommuting and other alternatives you believe will solve the problem.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 4:14 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

I was addressing the point on car ownership though. It has to be nipped in the bud from very early that it is not a right to own a car. Trinis with our lovely entitlement attitude will take some measure of drastic action to get them to not use their cars even when gas subsidies have been taken away.

I am sure a vast majority of people hope that public transport eases up traffic so that they can reach to work faster in their private cars.
What makes you more entitled than anyone else? Why don't you set the example by selling your car and using only public transport?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 28th, 2015, 4:21 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

What makes you more entitled than anyone else? Why don't you set the example by selling your car and using only public transport?

This. Don't know why it's put out to stop those other people from getting. Men be talking bout too many cars but buying cars themselves. Raise fuel prices after mass transit. Fine. Making it harder to purchase vehicle? Not fine.

Postby Redman » October 28th, 2015, 4:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:Right after we receive the feasibility study of the BRT, decentralisation, telecommuting and other alternatives you believe will solve the problem.

no need to get petulant.
If there isnt one ..there isnt one.

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 4:24 pm

bluesclues wrote:man.. everyone already knows this train thing is a bad idea. the ones who supporting it just supporting pnm and dont understand the ramifications. everyone likes to have some big project on their name to demonstrate they are a good 'project manager'. then they use it to boast on the podium if successful or say nothing on their way out while the next government examines and magnifies their failures.

this pnm always doing something to help the economy and always causing inflation, always failing big projects, down to something as simple as hdc housing the built purposefully on shifting land so their contractor padna will get constant work patching up the buildings for the rest of his life. these kinda shady economic stimulus ideas they come up with does be starving for value. in other words, they practice no economic management but just talk about it. why cant they just appreciate a5 year uneventful term? that is something i think is highly valuable. for citizens to look back 5 years from now and be saying... wow, nothing bad happened this year. no new taxes, no rise in food or transport, no rise in unemployment, no rise in cost of rent and real estate. i think that in mitself would serve as not just good, but excellent news considering the oil market and world economy status. as the saying goes.. no news is good news.

i support it, i'm no PNM, never have been? I support it cos a country needs a good infrastructure to be economically sound. this includes transportation and not just one mode (,i.e. car).

as for failed projects, how? where? like the twin towers? housing now government depts., and Parliament? Hyatt? Government campus? Grand Bazaar interchange? Sando to Pt. fortin highway (a PNM idea, she jus took it on, she ent conceive it so cyah tek no credit for it..)

i'd favour economic development and social development over slackers who does only want to use car or have no macroeconomic understanding....name a country that don't see developed transportation important?

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2015, 4:25 pm

Redman wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Right after we receive the feasibility study of the BRT, decentralisation, telecommuting and other alternatives you believe will solve the problem.

no need to get petulant.
but need to be consistent.

Postby Redman » October 28th, 2015, 4:27 pm

This. Don't know why it's put out to stop those other people from getting. Men be talking bout too many cars but buying cars themselves. Raise fuel prices after mass transit. Fine. Making it harder to purchase vehicle? Not fine.

Especially since it was GOVERNMENT policy that encouraged broader ownership of cars.

And the approach is to do the same react.....the govt should be guided by a plan...not reacting to problems created by spastic decisions that snowball.

Cars represent the second largest asset owned by many...if not the largest.

but its now become for or against....no middle ground.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 4:57 pm

How is raising the cost of owning a car any less reactive?You just said it won't work on you. It doesnt reduce the number of cars already on the road so what are you basimg your argument on?

And again, What makes you more entitled than anyone else to own a car? Why don't you set the example by selling your car and using only public transport?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 28th, 2015, 5:19 pm

desifemlove wrote:
bluesclues wrote:man.. everyone already knows this train thing is a bad idea. the ones who supporting it just supporting pnm and dont understand the ramifications. everyone likes to have some big project on their name to demonstrate they are a good 'project manager'. then they use it to boast on the podium if successful or say nothing on their way out while the next government examines and magnifies their failures.

i support it, i'm no PNM, never have been? I support it cos a country needs a good infrastructure to be economically sound. this includes transportation and not just one mode (,i.e. car).

as for failed projects, how? where? like the twin towers? housing now government depts., and Parliament? Hyatt? Government campus? Grand Bazaar interchange? Sando to Pt. fortin highway (a PNM idea, she jus took it on, she ent conceive it so cyah tek no credit for it..)

i'd favour economic development and social development over slackers who does only want to use car or have no macroeconomic understanding....name a country that don't see developed transportation important?

so its important. noone saying its not 'a cool thing to have'. however id just prefer we do it after we get our selves at least reasonably out of deficit while doing it and negate the need for ridiculous taxing schemes.

i will make a list of all the new taxes. pnm done implement at least 5 different tax already. they might as well have raise vat to 30%. but by the time the rail halfway finish that is what it will be anyway.

Postby sMASH » October 28th, 2015, 5:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Fault tolerance

Thanks u cleared it up a lot.

But I needed to see it, and then by chance I land up on the first page... seems a lot more fault tolerant than what I had in mind... Which were Japanese bullet trains.

The_Honourable wrote:Since this is going to be a mega project bigger than the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway that involves taxpayers dollars, this deserves a thread of its own.

Much has been said of the rapid rail in the General Elections 2015 thread so i expect repetitive posts, once in relates to the thread.

So to start it off, Imbert makes it clear that the project is going full speed ahead:

TRINITRAIN - Rapid Rail project Proposed in 2009. 3 Videos:

But my question now is why is that so expensive? It doesn't seem to be billions of dollars. Probably two or three...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 28th, 2015, 5:26 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:How is raising the cost of owning a car any less reactive?You just said it won't work on you. It doesnt reduce the number of cars already on the road so what are you basimg your argument on?

And again, What makes you more entitled than anyone else to own a car? Why don't you set the example by selling your car and using only public transport?

ditto

talkin and he probably have 3 and a panel van. or he have nun and will never have one so he jealous. i drivin my car right thru. i would never use the train save for very special circumstances. once in a blue moon.

but that is beside the point. see how pnm drivel always comes out as tyrannical and bull pestle-ish? based on what im seeing. by the time the 3rd year in power, doubles will be $8 for one.

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2015, 5:42 pm

sMASH wrote:]But my question now is why is that so expensive? It doesn't seem to be billions of dollars. Probably two or three...
Quantity survey much?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2015, 5:48 pm

Nah if the train comes I would be first on it once it's easy enough to get to. The only time I rather a car over an efficient public transport system is if I going somewhere where I need to carry a lot of stuff or I going somewhere nice and hada dress up (like to a wedding or something) and short trips to the corner shop.

Everyday work and even some late night limes I would rather the efficient public transport. It really dont care what it is (train, bus, redman panel van) as long as it convenient, reliable and efficient I would leave my car home in a heartbeat. But till then, motorcycle for it yes.

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2015, 6:12 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:]But my question now is why is that so expensive? It doesn't seem to be billions of dollars. Probably two or three...
Quantity survey much?

Geez ... These questions I swear.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 28th, 2015, 6:17 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

Now I would not because there is no valid alternative to using a private car. After an efficient system is in place I have no issues with not owning a car.

Postby rspann » October 28th, 2015, 6:40 pm

Everybody on this forum are tuners ,lovers of cars . Like I said the ones who talking want ban or limitation on cars but would not want their privilege taken away. Why can't a proper road network solve the traffic problem?

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2015, 7:37 pm

rspann wrote:Everybody on this forum are tuners ,lovers of cars . Like I said the ones who talking want ban or limitation on cars but would not want their privilege taken away. Why can't a proper road network solve the traffic problem?

You love cars more than the proper development of your people...
Please don't have kids!

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2015, 8:01 pm

rspann wrote:Everybody on this forum are tuners ,lovers of cars . Like I said the ones who talking want ban or limitation on cars but would not want their privilege taken away. Why can't a proper road network solve the traffic problem?

cos more cars means more roads. and then if these get blocked, more roads again? i like cars, i don't see how the two mutually exclusive.

Postby rspann » October 28th, 2015, 8:06 pm

Rasc,You are either an as shole or you just dunce. Where did I say that I love cars more than proper development. We have roads already and they need to be developed but we have to wait years while the train comes on stream.What do we do in the meantime.You do not discuss or bring any points you only try to sheit up people. Hear what to do ,you alone post and you alone answer ,because you don't want anybody to say anything as long as it conflicts with your simpleminded single track sheit of a brain.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 28th, 2015, 8:57 pm

rspann wrote:Rasc,You are either an as shole or you just dunce

I think he's a bit of both...

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 28th, 2015, 9:14 pm

What is your proposed proper road network ? Our problem is that 1/2 the country trying to drive to POS in the morning and getting trapped on the CRH/ EMR
Last edited by EmilioA on October 29th, 2015, 4:54 am, edited 1 time in total.