The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

mojosodope

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » July 29th, 2011, 11:55 am

could anyone with an Apple TV second gen tell me if everything works perfectly without a vpn here? I know netflix will only work with a vpn but what about streaming, any region restrictions?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 29th, 2011, 3:27 pm

What's a good case you would recommend for the i4 ?

Otterbox Defender, Commuter or Element Vapor (Pro) ?

Or are there better? Was going to purchase a Ghost Armour invisible shield but I looking around still.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » July 29th, 2011, 4:01 pm

Parvin wrote:What's a good case you would recommend for the i4 ?

Otterbox Defender, Commuter or Element Vapor (Pro) ?

Or are there better? Was going to purchase a Ghost Armour invisible shield but I looking around still.

I always liked the INCASE cases when I used my iphone.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 29th, 2011, 4:11 pm

Go otterbox, you won't be disappointed, but go to the commuter series.. I have an otterbox defender on my iPad and the commuter on my iPhone 4's and I love this thing. It just feels like a different phone in your hand, it may not be for everyone but if you take care of your phone and want to protect it against falls etc, then this is the case for you. PM me if you're interested. Btw be careful where you buy otterbox,element, and incase products, they're a lot of reproductions out there.

And whatever you do I do not recommend element cases, yeah they do look pretty badass and they are perfect compliments to the iPhone 4 form factor but in terms of signal degradation, you'll want to stay away from all variants. Plus the pro is so damn expensive.
Last edited by mojosodope on July 29th, 2011, 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 29th, 2011, 4:22 pm

What about the thickness of the Otterbox cases bro?

I think that is my main concern right now.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 29th, 2011, 4:43 pm

to give you an idea, it's considerably thicker, but it's worth it.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 29th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Hmmm,

Well judging by the pic, it's almost the same thickness as the one I have on mine at present.

you check your pm?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 29th, 2011, 5:04 pm

^ ^ replied

I walked in the trincity bmobile store the other day, they real have nice brochure and thing for the iPhone 4 man... too bad when you ask them a question they just repeating the same thing in the brochure and they try convincing me that carrying around that '4G Hotspot' is more convenient than using the 3G built in the phone... smh. And when I told them about the hotspot feature already built in they had absolutely no idea what I was talking about, till I created my own hotspot with my i4 and showed them first hand.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 29th, 2011, 5:08 pm

lol.

Well I figured they would not have known much since they probably using android devices na.

I still on the 4.2.1 using the regular gevey. I have the Pro as back-up since the buyer had not called back to take the regular one.

Postby Chimera » July 29th, 2011, 5:11 pm

sigh..guess i screwed until something new is released to update baseband on 4.3.5

is there anyway to add the baseband as you can add ultrasn0w via diskaid etc?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 29th, 2011, 5:20 pm

^ ^

there aren't any tools released to do that yet, on PC/Mac, best thing to do is wait or risk permanently bricking your phone.

@ Parvin sell the gevey pro and make a lil profit na : P haha

I sure there are still people looking for genuine ones.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 29th, 2011, 8:36 pm

A new report claims iTunes 11 will feature a redesigned layout and deep iCloud integration. IDownloadBlog on Friday cites a reliable source in stating that the next major release of iTunes will be “revamped from the ground up.” The report claims Apple’s new version of iTunes will feature a brand new user interface as well as iCloud integration. Mobile device app data and backups will also reportedly be integrated with iTunes 11, effectively mirroring iOS device backups and app data/settings that are automatically synced to iCloud. Apple has made major investments in its iCloud service, including the billion-dollar data center it built in North Carolina, so it would certainly be a logical move to showcase the service right out of the gate when it launches this fall.

------

Of all the product tie-ins Apple never approved, getting an iPod for predicting a death has got to be the worst.

Cynical journos have long had newsroom betting pools on when public figures would meet their makers but website whenwillamywinehousedie.com brought that gallows recreation to the Internet public back in 2007.

The prize? An iPod Touch.

“Since we launched this site we’ve had hundreds of thousands of hits, 237 hate mails telling us we’re the devil in disguise and 96,026 people who left their predictions,” reads a note posted on the site two days after Winehouse’s death. “Out of all those entries only 4 were correct. The first person to do so did it on December 21st 2007 and we’ve called her the winner of the iPod Touch. We will be contacting her via email.”
The bare-bones site features pics of the singer at her most disheveled and out-of-sorts along with a form inciting readers to “use the form to guess Amy’s final breath and be crowned Mr. Or Mrs. Death.”

The thinking behind the macabre game?

According to the anonymous site makers: “We’ll all have a date with our maker someday, but Amy Winehouse just can’t seem to wait. She can write and sing a beautiful tune, but for some reason Amy has landed in a self-destruction derby…Guess her final breath and be crowned Mr. Or Mrs. Death. Winner will be rewarded with a iPod Touch.”

------

It’s been rumored that Apple will eventually introduce Near Fields Communications technology in an upcoming iPhone model, but speculation that such a technology will be implemented this year has been all but debunked.

If you’re itching for the ability to have NFC-like “wave and pay” capabilities on your iPhone 4, then it’s your lucky day. A simple hack has been discovered that turns your iPhone 4 into a NFC-capable device.

Smartphones like the Nexus S have NFC built-in, which enables the user to perform electronic cash transfers in the real world. More banks are beginning to support this new technology, and many banks will give customers a card for their account with implemented NFC technology. With NFC, you can quickly swipe and pay without the need to enter your PIN or signature. NFC payments are typically made for purchases under $20 to avoid the need for authentication.

Unplggd has figured out an easy way to let the iPhone 4 make NFC payments. All you need is a NFC-enabled card from your bank or credit company. These are typically called “Smart Cards” or “Tap and Pay” cards, and they have become pretty common.

The trick involves opening the back of the iPhone 4 and positioning the card between the battery and back casing. The card should be thin enough to let you close the iPhone 4 again without bulging or damaging its internals. To learn how to take the iPhone 4′s back off, we recommend following iFixit’s thorough tutorial.

We’re a little hesitant to open the iPhone and place anything right on the device’s battery, but nevertheless this is still a very cool hack.

------

A few years back this would have been a shocker but with the way the economy is we all kind of know the government is broke. Apple now has more cash reserves than the United States government with a whopping $75.876 billion, this tops the U.S’s $73.786 billion.

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2011, 10:02 pm

Ok... gevey sim guys, how do you all get around the CallerID and Format Fix issue. Im talking ultra users here,
furiousmod messes with CallerID and Format Fix package...

i was thinking to strip furiousmod deb and incorporate the two files from the callerid and format fix deb into it thereby replacing them...

any other simpler solution?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 30th, 2011, 9:26 pm

question

i have my 2g iphone

whapen was today i downloaded sum songs to my phone

after a couple hours i was listening to the songs
it just freeze
noting at all no screen functions (i touched the screen when it was dark and it lit back up so it working normal)

so i came home and hooked it to the pc and clicked restore default settings so it download blah blah

and now its saying put in sim
its nt reading to say open the phone but i seeing like text and thing coming up like what i got in the period

so its stuck with connect to itunes on the screen :S
i gonna try sum blackrain thing

what to do?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » July 31st, 2011, 3:29 pm

try dfu mode and restore to latest firmware ...run the blackra1n after

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 31st, 2011, 8:52 pm

Anyone got through with setting up a trini VISA credit card with the iTunes store?

I still can't get through despite contacting support and trying all different possibilities as well as calling the CC company to make sure everything ok wig the card, which it is.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 31st, 2011, 9:54 pm

iDynamic wrote:try dfu mode and restore to latest firmware ...run the blackra1n after

i restored it and now its asking for a sim to activate it

my digi sim nuh working to put it on :shock:

what to do

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2011, 10:07 pm

u hadda use at&t sim to activate....

Postby Ted_v2 » July 31st, 2011, 10:11 pm

wey i getting one?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2011, 11:53 pm

Apple will reportedly launch a HDTV in March 2012 with three screen sizes and price points, according to Trip Chowdhry with Global Equities Research.

In a note to investors on Sunday, Chowdhry shared a "converged view" on an anticipated Apple HDTV, with information based on details culled from a number of developer events he attended, reports AppleInsider.

Chowdhry says his "converged view" of data from various developers is "probably" 75 percent accurate, and that it will "probably" be launched in March of 2012, with developer sessions at the Worldwide Developers Conference in June.

The television will reportedly have just one cable and be about 2 inches thick with 16 speakers. "These 16 built-in speakers gives a complete surround sound experience, without the need for any external speakers," he said.

Chowdry says "The DSP chip in Apple HDTV is a brand new chip based on Apple's acquisition of PA Semi. As of now, this new chip is not in mass production."

There have been numerous rumors of an Apple branded television in the past. Most recently a report claimed knowledge of the device from a former Apple executive.

Postby M_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 12:21 am

sound boy 64 wrote:wey i getting one?

just use redsn0w plz... point it to fw 3.1.2 if you used 3.1.3 k?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2011, 7:36 am

will do

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » August 1st, 2011, 9:24 am

SRASC wrote:Apple will reportedly launch a HDTV in March 2012 with three screen sizes and price points, according to Trip Chowdhry with Global Equities Research.

In a note to investors on Sunday, Chowdhry shared a "converged view" on an anticipated Apple HDTV, with information based on details culled from a number of developer events he attended, reports AppleInsider.

Chowdhry says his "converged view" of data from various developers is "probably" 75 percent accurate, and that it will "probably" be launched in March of 2012, with developer sessions at the Worldwide Developers Conference in June.

The television will reportedly have just one cable and be about 2 inches thick with 16 speakers. "These 16 built-in speakers gives a complete surround sound experience, without the need for any external speakers," he said.

Chowdry says "The DSP chip in Apple HDTV is a brand new chip based on Apple's acquisition of PA Semi. As of now, this new chip is not in mass production."

There have been numerous rumors of an Apple branded television in the past. Most recently a report claimed knowledge of the device from a former Apple executive.

ANd I sure we gonna hadda jailbreak this sheit to watch Tv6.

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 9:26 am

apple television will be an epic fail..too much proprietary BS

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2011, 9:28 am

M_2NR wrote:

um anyone on tuner willing to help me with this part?

willing to pay idk what to do :S

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 1st, 2011, 8:58 pm

Anyone get through with the T&T iTunes store setting up a credit card?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 1st, 2011, 9:21 pm

After launching iCloud.com beta for developers, Apple has released a beta upgrade of their suite of iWork iOS apps to developers. This updated iWork package – with Pages, Keynote, and Numbers – allows developers to begin a document on their iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch and view on their other devices – in addition to the iCloud.com portal. This might even be iWork.com’s successor, but we will have to wait and see what Apple does with the new feature. Of course, this new suite ties directly into Apple’s Documents in the Cloud feature. In addition, Apple announced iCloud storage pricing today, something that heavy iWork users will want to look into.

In addition, as you can see in the screenshot above, Apple released an updated version of iPhoto – which will replace Apple’s current public release for users – that tied in with the iCloud Photo Steam service. For those wondering, Apple will thankfully not count Photo Stream storage against the overall tally.

------

As a part of today’s iCloud.com launch for developers, Apple has revealed the price points for extra iCloud storage for end users. As you can see in the screenshot above, iCloud will come with 5GB of free storage – as previously noted by Apple – but users will be able to upgrade their account to up to an extra 50GB. iCloud.com storage can be purchased through iOS 5′s settings application by end users. The best part about iCloud storage is that your Photo Stream images – which stay in the cloud for 30 days – don’t count against your tally.

------

Apple has just opened up the iCloud.com web interface for developers. The website is in beta and features all new web apps for Mail, Calendar, Contacts, and more. In addition, it appears that iCloud.com will offer a portal for users to view their iWork documents that are stored in the cloud via iCloud. On top of all of this Find my iPhone is an integrated web application. As you will see, the interface for the website is very iPad and iOS-like.

Postby M_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 10:21 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

um anyone on tuner willing to help me with this part?

willing to pay idk what to do :S

could you clearly state exactly what u did? like what F/W you used etc? thanks

Parvin wrote:Anyone get through with the T&T iTunes store setting up a credit card?

nope not bothering. Don't know why u bothering to either... its safer to use cards. last year itunes accounts were compromised.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » August 1st, 2011, 11:20 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
iDynamic wrote:try dfu mode and restore to latest firmware ...run the blackra1n after

what to do

I have an AT&t sim

so I can activate it for u ...

pm me if u not getting thru

Postby Ted_v2 » August 2nd, 2011, 5:16 pm

iDynamic wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:

what to do

I have an AT&t sim

so I can activate it for u ...

pm me if u not getting thru

:( i sold it already