Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby gt4tified » August 29th, 2013, 2:58 pm

DJ wrote:^^is it really that nescessary? I mean if its for primarily for your own satisfaction, then by all means, but if you planning on using it for business purposes, you can forget the practicality and mobility vs return on investment.

In Trinidad, unfortunately, the art of scratching is NOT at all really a big thing. And thats about the ONLY good thing a pair of 1200's serves. Most DJ's who make the money in trini are just beat matchers and selectors, who got 'hooked up' with someone they know for the big events to DJ in. Its a real fight down scene with the DJ thing, its all about who you know.

Good luck lugging around a pair of heavy mkII1200's in a coffin to every job you have to play for, and get rel small money.

Another man will carry he laptop hookup to a BCD3000, play more music than you, and get the same money. No offence, just using an example of being practical.

But as I said, if its for strictly personal use, then go ahead by all means.

Laptop still heavy (unless a macbook pro). iPad is de new flick now!

DJ

Postby DJ » August 30th, 2013, 9:29 am

^^na yuh still behind, Ah see ah man using he IPhone wid some kind app and dj-ing in a car show.
Not beat-matching properly due to latency issues, but nevertheless,, most importantly....................... it looked cool!!!!

Postby gt4tified » August 30th, 2013, 3:14 pm

I DJ'd a house party with my iPhone5 earlier this year, but ah tort it was me alone and i didn't want to brag, but say wah!

Postby sMASH » August 30th, 2013, 3:28 pm

^^u mean did not want to sell it out

Postby gt4tified » August 30th, 2013, 4:47 pm

What? The app? Nah...I think I paid like $5 for it if not free. And btw, DJ iphone and latency don't belong in the same sentence so it had to be the fella was just shitty at BM.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 2nd, 2013, 9:55 am

It depends on the app.
I've seen some DJ apps with horrible issues with latency. Like that pause after you hit play and when the song actually starts -__-

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 4th, 2013, 7:12 am

I'm looking for a pair of QSC 5050s...

Postby X_Factor » September 6th, 2013, 7:42 pm

lookin for a pair of powered boxes anyone have a link?

giovanni

Postby giovanni » September 6th, 2013, 8:16 pm

Nice post kasey well I have a 4x4 im using 4 pacrim scoops loaded with 4 bnc tbx 1000 my tops is 4 850 tops loaded with 4 rcf n850 4 nsc 10 inch and 4 rcf 15 inch my amps are 3 xti 4000 a ca12 crest and a jbl eq not to sure of the model and a bbe maximizer will up load pis later

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 7th, 2013, 3:51 pm

^^^Nice system.
Does anyone know if there's an authorised QSC dealer in Trinidad?
I emailed QSC last week and got no response.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 8th, 2013, 9:02 am

fellers...advise meh dotish bone kick in and i get an idea...hear me out and lemme know what you think:

I'm thinking of building a pair of boxes to hold double 15's each as portable subs that will kick...based on the design of a jbl jrx 125.

from the manuals that i have the original box works out to be 6.5cuft, so i'm thinking i could make it no higher than 3 ft, (jbl's are 5 ft tall) make it square instead of trapezoid, use the same design for the ports (more like holes for those who know the jbl box), and use woofers with similar t/s specs because i doubt i getting the original woofers (M115-8A) at all in trinidad and if so, for any reasonable price. Also the use of dacron to line the inner walls of the box.

boxes used for internal purposes only so will be made of mdf, painted not carpeted though.

boxes will be powered by a small amp- probably qsc rmx 2450, speakers wired down to 4ohm.

no internal crossover, box will be crossed via processing. Box might be crossed kinda high, as high as 120hz..

The aim would be to produce a box that will use both woofers strictly for bass (unlike the jbl's). box can be equed similarly to the jbl's on the lower end to beef up the sub-80hz frequencies.

why do this?
1. for kicks

2. box should have incredibly small footprint, taking up less space on van tray, and floor space for gigs

3. I just love how the jbl's sound, and seeing as they use one 15 for bass and the other for mids, why not build a box that uses the two for bass only and see what happens. this might actually cost less than two powered 18" or 15" subs, and won't need much power - probably not more than 5000-750 wrms per box.

4. I tired lugging the pacrims around. They loud, but they are folded horn, the size and weight just killing me (dem beyotches are abt 135 lbs each). based on the weight of the jbl's these should come in at under 100lbs. apiece.

5. I have yet to come across a reasonably priced powered/passive 15" sub that is as loud as these jbl's

6. did i say for kicks?

this would be used for small venues and the jrx's or even smaller monitors can be stacked on top of them (installing pole mount receptacle in the box).
fellow diy'ers is this a really stupid idea?

Is there something better i could do using the same amount of power? considerations here are footprint, weight, and spl.

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2013, 10:41 am

what you need to do is get 4 pro speakers that can work in small enclosures and work from there

the mdf wont last for touring purposes, unless you give it a couple layers of fiberglass to the bottom as compared to the ply, while transporting, if you encounter a good shower of rain and you in problems
and simple lifting, dropping, dragging etc

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... er=290-420
this seems decent for the application, small enclosure, good reviews but may cost 2k for 1

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 8th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Anyone looking for POWERSOFT K20?

Postby gt4tified » September 8th, 2013, 11:05 pm

Smokey, if you have the time, by all means do it! I getting old and mih back tote enuff heavy, big box in my lifetime so I would rather spend the lil extra and get powered subs...EV are a good set as they come in 12"...4 ah dat and yuh good.

But eef if for kix, do what pleases you brah.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » September 15th, 2013, 4:14 pm

hey guys i need someone to check a powered monitor for me, who do u recommend, im located south so if closer it will be better

DJ

Postby DJ » September 16th, 2013, 11:37 am

firstchoicett wrote:Anyone looking for POWERSOFT K20?

Price is the deciding factor.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 16th, 2013, 12:11 pm

DJ wrote:

Only 65000 Brand New with All warranty.

DJ

Postby DJ » September 17th, 2013, 8:50 am

firstchoicett wrote:
DJ wrote:

Only 65000 Brand New with All warranty.

Er........ok. Thas an amp not for Trinidad. One can never make back that money (in Trinidad) wen yuh chargin ppl $1000 for a party. Men does be rinchin tuh spen $8,000 on ah QSC much less for $65,000.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 17th, 2013, 8:57 am

^^You'd obviously be surprised at the equipment guys have down here.
A K20 is basically 4 QSC 5050s at 1/10th the weight.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 17th, 2013, 10:22 am

silent_riot wrote:^^You'd obviously be surprised at the equipment guys have down here.

For carnival ppl make back over .5 million in contract with bands. Whenever PP have there feta RAA does make atlease 1/4 million or more according to sources.

My rack I have 2 crown marcotech 12000 cost me 6000 usd each brand new from crown my rack is about 100ibs and I can push a 6x6 easy.

I was upgrading to the K20 less weight more power 2 k20 and 2 k10 2 k8 1 k6.

That would of been sweet for next year mass.

dsstt

Postby dsstt » September 17th, 2013, 10:56 am

firstchoicett wrote:
silent_riot wrote:^^You'd obviously be surprised at the equipment guys have down here.

For carnival ppl make back over .5 million in contract with bands. Whenever PP have there feta RAA does make atlease 1/4 million or more according to sources.

UHH WHAT? PROVIDE SOURCES OF INFO PLZ.

Postby gt4tified » September 17th, 2013, 11:11 am

I don't think 65k is bad considering a friend of mine paid $100k for a used 2x2 D.A.S. from Lalo (RIP) a couple years ago.

dsstt

Postby dsstt » September 17th, 2013, 11:16 am

yrs ago u said bro, also if its a complete 2x2 thats price is fair considering this is just 1 amp for 65k

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 17th, 2013, 11:51 am

dsstt wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:

UHH WHAT? PROVIDE SOURCES OF INFO PLZ.

Cant give your sources but know the money is there to be made.
"A fisherman never gives out his best fishing spot".

DJ

Postby DJ » September 17th, 2013, 3:27 pm

firstchoicett wrote:

My rack I have 2 crown marcotech 12000 cost me 6000 usd each brand new from crown my rack is about 100ibs and I can push a 6x6 easy.

I was upgrading to the K20 less weight more power 2 k20 and 2 k10 2 k8 1 k6.

That would of been sweet for next year mass.

Dont know who you werkin 4 or wey u gettin info, but this is a bit misleading. Your trying to make seem easy to make back the money, but it not. The reality is that there are only a few sound companies that really make money, and it is not only from doing Sound Systems. RAA is a business, they sell, rent, install, and service Equipment and this is where they make the money.

It is a real fight down to get decent money for Sound System services. My pardner Kasey does charge bands $2000 to put down a 4X4 System and ppl does still cry down for discount (cause it have men who does do it for less!!). And that price includes 18 channels of main and monitor mix, four stage monitors, a drum monitor, three workmen, and transport!!! Yuh have to charge small $ to get work out there pal.

Realistically, most (not all, MOST!!) sound men dont make THAT much MONEY for Carnival, and only get jobs for elections by who you know.

Reddis

Postby Reddis » September 17th, 2013, 3:36 pm

^ Is that a typo. Or did you really mean $20,000

DJ

Postby DJ » September 17th, 2013, 3:36 pm

Edit to you quote:

"A Stingy fisherman never gives out his best fishing spot"......and will go to hell.

"A Kind Hearted fisherman gives out his best fishing spot"....and will go to Heaven.

dsstt

Postby dsstt » September 18th, 2013, 7:59 am

lets be realistic, firstchoice has money from whatever sources thats non existent in real life anymore.
(thats as much i would say)

just to share some light no sound company makes .5million at an event not even RAA (unless its UNC meeting) when there's BIG Thumb who have alot of $$$ and invests into music and his prices are relatively cheaper than Company`s in his Class.........

but...... if ur relating to making .5Mil in bands as in trailers, ur sources are wrong, especially when band leaders are bending and crying to pay $60,000.00 for a 40ft

Postby X_Factor » September 18th, 2013, 9:04 am

firstchoicett wrote:
Kasey wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
X_Factor wrote:^ the guy who uses the danley's uses original lab gruppen on the subs i think

i got this pic off someone's profile off facebook as to the power for the set

Some great amps dread I was planning on replacing my I tech 12000HD with the Powersoft K20 someone told me those amps play the 850 real best.

the SB850? According to the specs, the k20 is a 18,000watt amp!!! If this is true that WILL bun DONG THE sb850 WITH EASE (well unless you dont max it out, but then you wasting the power of the amp). I find that the K10 will actually suit the 850'S better. Its 10,000WATTS total @5000 damping factor. Any other opinions?
Economically it will work out better and you will not be wasting power.

Was planning on using a K20 tp [;ay about 8-10 SB850 Boxes.

Right now im using the 1 Itech to play 4 SB850 and the amp barely sweat.

like i needed to quote back this pic to show the kinda stuff that ppl use locally

for the average person .5mil is alot
but for any of the larger sound companies, i am sure they clear well over that for a carnival season

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 18th, 2013, 10:41 am

I was not talking average person I was talking about big sound company who put out over 5 trailers on the road for carnival.

RAA do all the stage and lighting sounds effects for PP anniversary party. I meet a guy who was the head in organizing everything for those events and he said it cost over 1.5 million for all that on a single night.

When JW launch his party he talk about how much they spend on stages.