sMASH wrote:ok, the use of yaweh as the name instead of the term god is reasonable. no! its unreasonable and illogical to do so, even when the name YAWEH is used the term God is still needed as YAWEH is just the name of the God
u say god is almighty and his name is yaweh. let us substitute god for almighty; god=almighty
so we get:
yaweh is almighty
jesus is almighty
the holy ghost is almighty
this reduces the legitimacy of the term 'almighty'. almighty means nothing else is greater, but then there are three at the top. ok, the three is one so the god head is almighty, but then each is not almighty, but co-mighty.
your argument is invalid!!!
almighty is an attribute of God
the same as Holy, love or merciful
YAWEH is a name not an attribute you cannot mix them
it should be stated like this
YAWEH is God
Jesus is God
Holy spirit is God
God is almighty
one of the reason why Jesus and YAWEH are considered one its because they made claims that can only be held by one
for example :YAWEH said "I am the first and I am the last. There is no God but Me
and Jesus said "I am the First and the Last, and the Living One. I was dead, but look—I am alive forever and ever"
according to the laws of logic both cannot be the first and both cannot be the last
therefore it is sufficient to conclude that both are one and the same
ok, there are three, they are distinguishable from each other, then they must have different purposes, what are they?
if any part fulfills its purpose, does it have to stay or can it depart, or cease to exist? or does it always have work to do?there are not three there is only one
ok, if the 'rules' say that one part must die to remove the sin from man, when that part regains life, does man get back the sin? if they don't get back the sin, then the rules are broken because the death is circumvented.
if the rules of 'death to remove sin' is not broken and the life is regained then the death is not a real death, or the rule is not a real rule. your argument is invalid!..... understand that there is a price to pay for your sins and that is death, when Jesus died he payed in full the price for the sins which is death , since the price is already paid there is no debt.. when Jesus was resurrected he triumph even over death, so not even death can have hold on anyone who put their faith in Him...
now that's awesome!!
turbohead wrote:but mega yuh eh comment on the part about Yaweh being put into the bible? click on the site.
d spike wrote:Good grief.
When I realized that megadoc had finally found a Muslim counterpart, and they had happily started hitting each other with their misconceptions of each other’s religion, I thought it best to leave them to their debacle. They are not going to achieve anything – apart from exercising their pride, and possibly setting the scene for future embarrassment (assuming they actually learn something when the dust has settled)… but this is now bordering on ridiculous.
This Muslim vs. Christian squabble is not appropriate… certainly not in this thread. Duane has already pointed this out, but these two fighting cockerels have only eyes for each other.
Turbohead, megadoc knows very little about Christianity. Expecting him to come up with answers (that he can’t cut n’ paste from websites) is wasting your time, and gives others a poor impression of you (somewhat like that of a person who taunts children – and not very bright ones at that).
Megadoc, this person you are arguing with, has a few things in common with you. He displays the same attributes you paraded a while ago. He has also shown that (like you) whoever taught him about Christianity clearly didn’t understand many concepts held by that religion.
If the both of you are so caught up in your own religions, why are you hammering at each other? Shouldn’t you be finding a way that you both can work together in an effort to make this world a better place? Unbelief has now become a way of life for many. The loss of faith is tied to the loss of hope. Can you two not find some common ground with your wealth of faith to assist in lifting others?
Smash, after all your “discussion” with megadoc, do you really expect him to be able to explain the Christian concept of the Trinity? That’s like asking a parrot to explain how his cage is built: he honestly believes it exists, he will make a long and noisy attempt to answer, but he has no idea of what he is talking about.
First of all, in order to better understand how this seemingly illogical concept (three being one?) you need to first understand the theological concepts of person and nature – they are not the same.
Also, "Yahweh" isn't a "name" as is being implied. It means "I am who is", simply a way of saying that the deity is singular in existence - for a name is our way of differentiating between like things, and if there is only one supreme deity, then a name is clearly unnecessary. Moses asked him his name, and "Yahweh" was the response... another way of saying, "Is only me here". Fussing over his name implies that there is a possibility that you might accidentally address another deity.
I dare say that, thanks to that charming couple, this thread has lost whatever sense of intelligent questioning it might have acquired – a battleground makes a poor classroom.
Cheers
d spike wrote:turbohead wrote:but mega yuh eh comment on the part about Yaweh being put into the bible? click on the site.
Perhaps you should read it first.
First of all, it states that JWs put the YHWH in THEIR bible - a version that is only accepted as being correct by JWs, not orthodox Christianity;
Secondly, it clearly states that these erroneous insertions were done in the New Testament - certainly not implying in any way that the word/name YHWH is an error in itself, as its origin is in the Old Testament (Moses and all that).
I might point out to you that JWs are not considered Christians by orthodox Christians, so to consider any actions on their part as reflecting the belief of Christianity as it stands, is most unfortunate.
By Jesus' time, the name "Yahweh" was considered so holy by the Jews, that they never even said the name, except once a year in the Temple - and that was only done by a specifically chosen priest within the Holy of Holies (the sacred spot/room where the Ark was). This custom of not using that name out of awe and respect is still practised today by most Jews.
turbohead wrote:i understand all that is just he was banking on the Yahweh name in previous post so i was just showing where christians scholar denounced it as fake
turbohead wrote: i understand all that
turbohead wrote: i was just showing where christians scholar denounced it as fake
megadoc1 wrote:I used YAWEH to refer to my God
brainchild wrote:The problem with mega is dat he focuses on wat divides as opposed to wat unites
brainchild wrote: it still boggles me that mega could speak wit so many people here of different beliefs and not see what we have in common.
what boggles you is the fact that you think i don't see what we have in common or maybe you don't understand what we have in common, d spike said a bit of it hereDoesn't it make sense that Man would attempt to locate the source of that which is good? If you believe that man was created by God, then there must be some intrinsic goodness in all of us that, in turn, would draw us to goodness.
I believe that God have put something in all of us that causes us to seek after truth.
even the ones who don't believe in God makes an attempt to locate the source of his existence, also he searches for a reason and his purpose here,this is our common ground
This is why i'm urging him again to give up these arguments and take some time to reflect/meditate on the moral of the story.
this is said with the assumption that I am not familiar with the moral of the story but with the advice that comes after this clearly contradicts what you are saying
Ignore the fine print mega...
even when this is done both stories are still in contradiction when reflected/meditated upon, anyone familiar with the messages
cannot ignore their core opposing content
if u truly believe wat u believe then u should know that it doesn't matter wat a person calls their God,what if a man's car is his God?
we all sprang from the same source and we shall all share the same fate in reality.
this is not entirely true..we all sprang from the same source alright
but we do not share the same fate in reality ever
If there were a worldwide famine now we would all starve together regardless of religious belief! food is available now regardless of our religious belief...your point is?
megadoc1 wrote:brainchild wrote: it still boggles me that mega could speak wit so many people here of different beliefs and not see what we have in common.
what boggles you is the fact that you think i don't see what we have in common or maybe you don't understand what we have in common, d spike said a bit of it hereMy point here is that u don't focus ur discussions on common ground, u argue differences. If i go to hunt with a chinese stranger and when we get to the forest i sit and talk about how different we are, we'll never get any hunting done, but if i focus on wat we came to do and we work well together we will both come out appreciating eachother even moreDoesn't it make sense that Man would attempt to locate the source of that which is good? If you believe that man was created by God, then there must be some intrinsic goodness in all of us that, in turn, would draw us to goodness.
I believe that God have put something in all of us that causes us to seek after truth.
even the ones who don't believe in God makes an attempt to locate the source of his existence, also he searches for a reason and his purpose here,this is our common ground
This is why i'm urging him again to give up these arguments and take some time to reflect/meditate on the moral of the story.
this is said with the assumption that I am not familiar with the moral of the story but with the advice that comes after this clearly contradicts what you are saying
Ignore the fine print mega...
even when this is done both stories are still in contradiction when reflected/meditated upon, anyone familiar with the messages
cannot ignore their core opposing content Nope, once again your focusing on the fine print, the moral of the story doesn't lie in the wording...it's the overall message which is "be good to ur fellow man and u'll go to heaven"... mind of a child remember? don't complicate it.
if u truly believe wat u believe then u should know that it doesn't matter wat a person calls their God,what if a man's car is his God?What business is dat of urs? is his heart pure?..... dats wat really matters
we all sprang from the same source and we shall all share the same fate in reality.
this is not entirely true..we all sprang from the same source alright
but we do not share the same fate in reality everIn REALITY...the real world...yes we do share the same fate in reality....if electricity is out by u it is out by ur neighbor too
If there were a worldwide famine now we would all starve together regardless of religious belief! food is available now regardless of our religious belief...your point is?WHAT!!??...say it out loud and tell me if dat still makes sense to u
brainchild wrote:
My point here is that u don't focus ur discussions on common ground, u argue differences.
the discussion at hand is not about the common ground as stated,
in fact its our common ground which is the search for truth is what spark these very arguments... you are accusing me of not focusing on something that is the very source of this discussion
Nope, once again your focusing on the fine print, the moral of the story doesn't lie in the wording...it's the overall message which is "be good to ur fellow man and u'll go to heaven"... mind of a child remember? don't complicate it.
that's not the core message of any of what we speaking about, maybe its your interpretation..
in that case I must excuse you
if u truly believe wat u believe then u should know that it doesn't matter wat a person calls their God,what if a man's car is his God?
What business is dat of urs? is his heart pure?..... dats wat really matters
pure towards what? wow! it doesn't matter ent
In REALITY...the real world...yes we do share the same fate in reality....if electricity is out by u it is out by ur neighbor too
what IF I have solar power and back up?(fine print)this is also a reality, IF the neighbor had an electric stove and I cooking with gas both of us would be affected differently therefore we would not end with the same results
brainchild wrote:Mega...i'm realising dat ur not too good with analogies, metaphors and stuff like dat and the bible is full of them, so perhaps dat is the source of ur problem right there. But allow me to break it down a little and tell me if u get where i'm coming from. Look at God as a huge ball of energy he came down or sent messengers to different tribes at different periods in time (hundreds of years apart), to do this he appeared in different forms to make it easier for the ppl to receive and believe the message. Those who received these messages interpretted them in different ways because of their particular culture, (this can explain names, apperances, meaning of actual words) over time the message was modified in different ways, personal experiences were incorporated into the written versions. U see although God is God, man is also just man...so the wriiten accounts are subject to the mental capacity(I.Q.) of the writer and dat of the person passing on the message. this is your opinion on the matter at hand,with nothing to back it up tell me why should I take your word?
So the most logical thing to do in order to determine what the real message was is to compare them paying special attention to the similarities or COMMON GROUND in them all.
haven't you noticed this is what is being done? you can't just stop there especially when everything else is in opposition
So my advice to you was simply this...if u wish to learn something from these discussions focus on commonalites and you will uncover the truth.
FYI I have personally discovered truth and that's what I am speaking of boldly
brainchild wrote:Things taking place in this world that require more action than prayer,
first of all prayer works, second you are mixing the things that require human action to be taken with things that may require prayer only and at the same time assuming that both cannot be done together
but keep reading it over, maybe wen some catastrophe befalls the planet and u realise ur suffering as much as every1 else and ur bubble stops protecting u....u'll get it then.
I think what you are proposing requires just as much or maybe a bit more faith, as one who believes in God....
megadoc1 wrote:brainchild wrote:Things taking place in this world that require more action than prayer,
first of all prayer works, second you are mixing the things that require human action to be taken with things that may require prayer only and at the same time assuming that both cannot be done together
Alright you just solve this whole ting right there....you really can't read and understand!
Kasey wrote:I reading this thread from the begining and it just goes around in circles.
All that has been proven is that:
1) megaduck cannot read/interpret
2) turbohead is a fundamentalist,
3) d_spike is one of the smartest ppl in this thread,
3) brainchild wasting his time beating a dead horse,
4) Duane using this to get his kicks
5) Bluefete is totally clueless
............to be continued.
d spike wrote:illumin@ti wrote:^^ repost spike ,,, i said that before u ,,, many pages back .. lol
Nati, anything I could possibly say on the topic of this two-legged brayer is either a repost or a paraphrasing of something you wrote before... I just happen to be less abrasive!![]()
(Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:20 pm)illumin@ti wrote:We?? Maga is what? english monarch here or yuh issa french pig? doh insult yuhself. i might not be as long-winded as d_spike, but ill give it to u just the same. yuh goin round and round and round and cant see but further than 6 feet ahead of u. Like spike rightly said so many times before this, this ceased being a discussion about God and ended up being your roast. You jump up like a n00b attention whore and got/ sorry/ still getting the attention u deserve. There was intelligent discussion goin on before you kept on rudely interrupting. The OP had very valid questions, ideas were exchanged and so on , so forth. I dont get it tho, why?
Why do u think its ok and right to cast scorn, and damnation and rebuke and tralalee and tralala and not look at the mockery yuh makin of the faith that yuh supposedly representing here. i'm not going to quote from any scripture or anything, i taking it down to a real human level and attempt to find out why from you. This eh no 'rankin ting' i eh come here to look fuh pips or acceptance. Its a public forum and you, I and whoever else here have the right to express ourselves. At the end of the day, no one here needs to like me for me to feel good. That being said.....
why is it that its ok for you to shout and praise and rebuke in the name of God as yuh put it-- yuh want to ram it dong ppl throat, but cant accept nor respect that there are ppl who have different beliefs. you are truly one selfish and ignorant man if you cant grasp the concept that ppl have a right to be different and seek their own way, fortune, values system etc. I have no right to come grab u by the ear and put u to sit down and forcefeed u what i dictate. Then compound it by further trampling on that right by damning all else thats different. That.. incase yuh missed it is bigotry...And thats all we're getting from u
My belief is that the point of us all being different is for us to mingle, share, evaluate and BENEFIT from the knowledge and acceptance of our unique experiences and challenges, not spew hate because one book said that my idol is better than all other idols, and he says that all else is evil.. rah rah rah rah.
You at all in touch with the reality that is life today? yuh know how much suffering going on out here, how many people going to bed starving, how many good christian believers lookin for answers to death, strife, hunger, violence etc and how much of it, if not all of it has nothing at all to to with the all-powerful and merciful God that you misrepresenting here? How do you give them answers to thier questions? do you tell them its all in God's plan? You beyond sad, if as a big man, you have to follow a book penned by men exclusively for guidance in your life, ignoring what you see everyday.
Why cant we be tolerant of our fellow man? and respect another's right to be Muslim, Hindu, SDA, or Bhuddist and let that be it?. You could go on fartin that shyt yuh keep talking from here to when your judgement day comes. And i'll be comfortable if it pleases you to think that you've damned me in some way, you rebuked my evil spirit and i did not heed your warning to repent.. I believe differently. I believe that when your time comes, and ur face to face with the end of your existance here and you hype yourself up for the last time just for that great push into the light you'll still have missed the point of it all.. you'll still be talking about God... running around shouting the sky is falling,, i'll still have my head down, doing the work while you just yap. Ill be enriching the lives of my family and loved ones while you threaten them with doomsday... and i will embody the humility and dedication that earns real rewards..... what by your standards a 'good christian' does.
But eh... yuh and whoever you seein by you dey that makin up that 'we' yuh talkin bout eh dealin with me at all tonight. Get you stories right before yuh open yuh mout. And get over that tragic im-saved-ur-not complex eh. it disturbingmegadoc1 wrote:d spike how can I bring empirical evidence to tuner?[/color]
Do you actually have some? Good! What form/medium is it?megadoc1 wrote:
lets not limit God to a conversation.....d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:d spike it seems all your knowledge and logic on this matter is limited to a conversation
So what other form of communication is there among men other than conversing?
btw d spike did Jesus rise from the dead?
I remembered you had a hard time answering that
I also remember you ignoring quite a few questions...
I didn't "have a hard time" answering that question, my lad... you just had a hard time accepting my answer - apparently, you still can't...