OFFICIAL CLICO THREAD

sk1111

Re: OFFICIAL CLICO THREAD

Postby sk1111 » January 12th, 2012, 6:21 pm

[quote="W2J"][quote="sk1111"][quote="Country_Bookie"]^Then you get paid in government bonds. Bonds which mature in 1-10 years can be sold to any of the commercial banks. Bonds which mature in 11-20 yrs can be exchanged for shares in NEL 2, which is a holding company for CLICO's shares in RBL.[/quote]

OK, thank you for the answer. Any word on when we're suppose to send in paperwork ?[/quote]

[quote]Surname Processing Date
A-B Dec: 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
C-D Dec: 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
E-H Dec: 19, 20, 21, 22, 23
I-L Jan 2012: 4, 5, 6, 9,10, 11
M Jan 2012: 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 23
N-Q Jan 2012: 25, 26, 27, 30
R Feb 2012: 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9
S Feb 2012: 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 22
T-Z Feb 2012: 23, 24, 27 [/quote]

[url]http://www.clico.com/stipsproducts2.jsp[/url][/quote]

Thanks Gerrard :)

It's Sharif from Naisa

Postby gt4tified » January 14th, 2012, 12:36 am

So Karen playing ostrich in de sand yet quick to call it a coincidence that she was able to pull out her money just in time before almost every other depositor get fcuked?

Allyuh listening to what this dotish woman telling the country? She just lucky I didn’t have a red cent in CLICO...or I woulda pelt she mc down with gander egg going and coming from that building where they holding the COE.

Once again, another politician who feel everybody more chupid dan she.

As 3Canal would say, “talk yuh talk, yuh mocking pretender..."

Postby Country_Bookie » September 3rd, 2012, 4:23 pm

Time to ressurect this ched.

One of Lawrence Duprey's biggest mistakes was to over extend CL Financial by buying Lascelles deMercado, and worse yet, to pay US$9 per share for it (which was a 50% premium on the share price then). The gov't is selling it off now, but the price they getting is half of what Duprey paid for it.

Gruppo Campari has reached an agreement with the majority owner of Lascelles deMercado and Company to takeover the spirits conglomerate, in what it describes as the company’s third largest acquisition in its history.

Campari has already reached an agreement to acquire 81.4 per cent of Lascelles with the majority shareholder, but will make a formal offer for 100 per cent of the company.

The deal transfers Jamaica’s oldest company J. Wray & Nephew Limited at 186 years old to European ownership. It also gives Campari ownership of the iconic Appleton rum brand and assets.

The deal prices the Lascelles group at US$414,754,200, which amounts to US$4.32 (J$388.48) per ordinary share. The stock last closed at J$275.17 on the Jamaica Stock Exchange.

Lascelles deMercado was sold by its Jamaican owners to CL Financial Group of Trinidad in 2008 at a price that was double the Campari offer. The company fell into the hands of the Trinidad and Tobago government in 2009 when the state mounted a rescue of CL Financial and its insurance group CLICO. Trinidad owns 87 per cent of Lascelles but has 92 per cent voting rights.

“The addition of the Appleton, Wray & Nephew and Coruba rum brands as well as a portfolio of local Jamaican brands will help us build our critical mass further in key North American markets, provide a leading market position in Jamaica, a major destination in the Caribbean, whilst laying the foundations for future international growth across all major usage occasions of the growing and premiumising rum category,” said Campari chief executive officer Bob Kunze-Concewitz in a statement.

“When completed, this acquisition will give a further boost to the internationalisation of Gruppo Campari, further expanding our business outside of Italy, as well as strengthening our largest and most profitable business, the spirits segment,” he said.

Last year, the rum and spirits portfolio achieved total sales volume of 3.5 million nine-litre cases.

Lascelles had previously identified a buyer for Globe Insurance and is finalising negotiations. But it also operates in the merchandising and transport sectors.

Campari said that when the deal closes, the acquired business would “Appleton Estate, Appleton Special/White, Wray & Nephew and Coruba, the related upstream supply chain, as well as its successful local consumer products distribution business.”

Campari expects to close the acquisition in the fourth quarter of 2012.

xaira

Postby xaira » October 3rd, 2012, 1:01 pm

i searched but could not find anything, if i have money in HCU, how to get it?

xaira

Postby xaira » October 8th, 2012, 8:00 pm

anyone?

Postby sMASH » October 8th, 2012, 8:29 pm

take a few bricks and chairs and sell them... liquidate

xaira

Postby xaira » October 10th, 2012, 10:12 am

so nobody aint get their money yet?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » October 10th, 2012, 3:11 pm

why would you invest money in HCU to begin with, especially knowing Harry was in charge :?

jus sayin..

Postby sMASH » October 16th, 2012, 10:03 pm

so hear nah, what went on with the MHTL arbitration? i hear that it went to the germans, in the form of CEL. did the government really loose the clico shares in MHTL?

any body with real info?

ninjamage

Postby ninjamage » November 6th, 2012, 12:42 am

So. In simple English. The GORTT issued (or WILL issue, that is still unclear) $5.1B in (10 yr?) bonds with a 4.25% coupon/rate to set up the Clico Investment Fund to exchange those units for $5.1B of 11-20 yr zero-coupon bonds issued to policyholders.
You would think the simple solution would be to just EXCHANGE the bonds dollar for dollar, right?
But no.
Policyholders must now jump through hoops and pay fees at every stage, while facing the RISK of the unit values being less than that when issued.
So WHY do this at all? Well, from reading the prospectus, 25% of Republic Bank's VOTING shares will move out from CLF/Clico's hands and the VOTING rights placed in Republic Bank's own hands as the Trustee.

ninjamage

Postby ninjamage » November 6th, 2012, 12:45 am

The MHTL shares are still with Clico, reportedly placed in the Stat. Fund, but since apparently even CBTT doesn't know what assets are currently in the Stat Fund until the "report is ready at the end of this year", that is just educated speculation...

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » November 11th, 2012, 10:32 pm

READY TO TELL ALL
Former CLICO director broke and facing eviction in Canada

By Irene Medina Associate Editor
Story Created: Nov 11, 2012 at 9:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 11, 2012 at 9:57 PM ECT
Facing eviction from his home in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada as Christmas approaches, former consultant and director of Colonial Life Insurance Ltd (CLICO), Gene Dziadyk, is willing to tell all to the police, in the wake of a criminal investigation into key executives of the former insurance giant.
"I absolutely stand ready to give information to the police or to anyone else. I have nothing to hide," he said in an interview with the Express.
Last Thursday Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Roger Gaspard stated via a press release that a full criminal investigation had been started by the police into the conduct of CLICO and CL Financial executives and others involved in the collapse of the financial institution.
Dziadyk said, "I had written voluminous documents in my seven years at CLICO commenting on inappropriate and unlawful behaviour, including complicity by the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago, removing funds from the CLICO statutory fund, and warning of the impending disaster of operating CLICO in accordance with the 'capital appreciation" business model' that I had consistently claimed was inappropriate for a financial institution, and the authorities have these documents."
Dziadyk said after he was invited to join CLICO in 2001 as CEO he sold all his assets in Canada and together with his wife handed over their life savings, reportedly over $35million into the Executive Flexible Premium Account (EFPA).
After six months as CEO he was fired by executive chairman Lawrence Duprey but was retained as a consultant until 2008. Upon joining the company, Dziadyk said he tried to effect sustainable changes but these changes were rejected by the board and he was subsequently fired.
He said he presented to the CLICO board June 17, 2002 : "ESTABLISHING THE CURRENT POSITION" which stated: "If we cannot agree on the depth and severity of Colonial Life's problems, we will never agree on how to fix CLICO and BA (British American); they owe their existence to ineffective government. How long will that be so, and where will they be when the government wakes up? Saving these companies has to be job #1: This is not 'tweaking,' but an enormous paradigm shift."
Dziadyk, who was fired by Duprey for the second time in April 2008, claimed that his signed contract was ripped up and he was long gone by the time of the January 2009 collapse.
He said he had requested his policy funds before the Memorandum of Understanding and claimed he was assured by CLICO that those amounts would be paid.
As to his current destitute position, the former CLICO consultant said, "I have a October 31, 2012 statement of claim from the bank that due to the indebtedness and default, the bank is moving to possess the property. I have about 60 days to sell before my family is evicted." He added that the indebtedness is almost exactly equal to the accrued value of the confiscated EFPA.
Dziadyk said he is prepared to appear before the Commissioner of Enquiry when it resumes on December 3, but he lacks the resources to do so. "I have been corresponding with the Commission of Enquiry, and I would love to testify before it, but I lost my life savings. My family is impoverished. I have no money to travel, pay hotel fees, and to hire a lawyer to come to Trinidad," he said.
The commission of enquiry into CLICO was appointed in November 2010 by the Government and Sir Anthony Colman named as the lone commissioner.
Dziadyk added, " I am losing all of my properties, my family is distraught, my reputation as an actuary is destroyed. I am planning to sell my properties at half the price."
Having lost everything that he has worked for, the former CLICO consultant had harsh words for the Central Bank, the government and former finance minister Karen Nunez Tesheira.
It's ironic, he said, that "some people say Trinidad is a lawless country, crime in the streets, but I have never been robbed in the streets, but by the governing elites…."
"The government is not giving us information to understand what is happening, we are just left out in the cold," he said.
Asked why he did not remove his money following his firing, Dziadyk said it was a difficult time, and he was forced to stay in the country since he had uprooted his family from their Canadian home, and his daughter was enrolled in school here.
"All of a sudden I was fired, not employed. I did not want Duprey to know that I was in the country as I was on a work permit but without work and my daughter had to finish school in June. I started taking out my money in bits to stay under the radar screen. I felt threatened and the bottom line was I was royally screwed," he said.
As to action he took to recover his funds, Dziadyk said, "in my desperation as a principal casualty of the CLICO fiasco, I have made an absolute fool of myself writing documents nobody cares about because they paint a picture nobody wants to see, or admit to".. He surmised that had the government wound up the company, the liquidator would have sold the assets for their true value and the people would have been paid in cash.
According to him, "I may be the only one who read the Insurance Act. I have unique skills and knowledge and would love to tell the people of Trinidad, a country that we absolutely loved, what I know."
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/REA ... 31261.html

hope he tells his tale.......

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 28th, 2013, 7:32 am

SO the PRoperty that was acquired in FLorida at a cost of Over a BILLION DOllars, where and who has it gone to?
Is it in private hands? or does it still belong to CLICO?
Is this a HIGH RISE ULTRA LUXURY Apartment on the miami beach strip that is NOW owned and lived in by a former head of CLICO?
Who has to answer for such? Not him obviously as he has stated on many occasions that hes sick and that he must be left ALONE.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » February 28th, 2013, 7:57 am

Okay people, there is a reason why none of these assets can be accounted for and there is also a reason why none of these executives can prove they have any money. It's a little know investment vehicle known as a Trust and Private Investment Companies. The latter is owned by the former and the Trust owns all of the individual's assets. The individual transfers their assets to the Trust and they now become the beneficiary of the trust, they maintain control of the Trust but they now own nothing. And under Trust Law this type of vehicle cannot have any legal liability unless approved by the AG of that jurisdiction.

If there are any lawyers here maybe you can share some more details on Trust Law.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 28th, 2013, 12:54 pm

tief tief tief tief, drain the blood out of the people an dem investors, buy yuhself some reel estate and den when yuh retire there, bawl yuh sick so doh bodder yuh.....

Bareback

Postby Bareback » February 28th, 2013, 1:05 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:tief tief tief tief, drain the blood out of the people an dem investors, buy yuhself some reel estate and den when yuh retire there, bawl yuh sick so doh bodder yuh.....

Sick and filthy rich!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 1st, 2013, 7:32 am

AHhhh boiii, ah see a few ppl get ah SUMMONS.

Nyceeeeee................ bring them all down,

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 6th, 2013, 11:39 am

So they were never served? or did they BOTH just say tuh fcuk with trinidad?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 7th, 2013, 7:31 am

is 7.2 BILLION that CLICO owes and has NOT paid, yet no one has stated to date, what happened to the 1.something BILLION dollar investment in the Florida Real Estate purrchase,
The gentlemen who were at the top still have not accounted for anything.

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2013, 9:37 pm

http://mobile.businessweek.com/articles/2013-10-24/jpmorgans-13-billion-settlement-jamie-dimon-is-a-colossus-no-more

businessweek wrote:Thirteen billion dollars requires some perspective. The record amount that JPMorgan Chase has tentatively agreed to pay the U.S. Department of Justice, to settle civil investigations into mortgage-backed securities it sold in the runup to the 2008 financial crisis, is equal to the gross domestic product of Namibia. It’s more than the combined salaries of every athlete in every major U.S. professional sport, with enough left over to buy every American a stadium hotdog. More significantly to JPMorgan’s executives and shareholders, $13 billion is equivalent to 61 percent of the bank’s profits in all of 2012. Anticipating the settlement in early October, the bank recorded its first quarterly loss under the leadership of Chief Executive Officer Jamie Dimon.

That makes it real money, even for the country’s biggest bank by assets. Despite this walloping, there’s reason for the company to exhale. The most valuable thing Dimon, 57, gets out of the deal with U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder is clarity. The discussed agreement folds in settlements with a variety of federal and state regulators, including the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. and the attorneys general of California and New York. JPMorgan negotiated a similar tack in September, trading the gut punch of a huge headline number—nearly $1 billion in penalties related to the 2012 London Whale trading fiasco—for the chance to resolve four investigations in two countries in one stroke. In both cases, the bank’s stock barely budged; its shares have returned 25 percent this year, exactly in line with the performance of Standard & Poor’s 500-stock index.

That JPMorgan is able to withstand penalties and regulatory pressure that would cripple many of its competitors attests both to the bank’s vast resources and the influence of the man who leads it. The sight of Dimon arriving at the Justice Department on Sept. 26 for a meeting with the attorney general underscored Dimon’s extraordinary access to Washington decision-makers—although the Wall Street chieftain did have to humble himself by presenting his New York State driver license to a guard on the street. As news of the settlement with Justice trickled out, the admirers on Dimon’s gilded list rushed to his defense, arguing that he struck the best deal he could. “If you’re a financial institution and you’re threatened with criminal prosecution, you have no ability to negotiate,” Berkshire HathawayChairman Warren Buffett told Bloomberg TV. “Basically, you’ve got to be like a wolf that bares its throat, you know, when it gets to the end. You cannot win.”

The challenges facing Dimon and his company are far from over. With the $13 billion payout, JPMorgan is still the subject of a criminal probe into its mortgage-bond sales, which could end in charges against the bank or its executives. And other federal investigations—into suspected bribery in China, the bank’s role in the Bernie Madoff Ponzi scheme, and more—are ongoing.

The ceaseless scrutiny has tarnished Dimon’s public image, perhaps irreparably. Once seen as the white knight of the financial crisis, he’s now the executive stuck paying the bill for Wall Street’s misdeeds. And as the bank’s legal fights drag on, it’s worth asking just how many more blows the famously pugnacious Dimon can take.

Although the $13 billion settlement would amount to the largest of its kind in the history of regulated capitalism, it looks quite different broken into its component pieces. While the relative amounts could shift, JPMorgan is expected to pay fines of only $2 billion to $3 billion for misrepresenting the quality of mortgage securities it sold during the subprime housing boom. Overburdened homeowners would get $4 billion; another $4 billion would go to the Federal Housing Finance Agency, which regulates Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae; and about $3 billion would go to investors who lost money on the securities, Bloomberg News reported.

JPMorgan will only pay fines (as distinct from compensation to investors or homeowner relief) related to its own actions—and not those of Bear Stearns or Washington Mutual, the two troubled institutions the bank bought at discount-rack prices during the crisis. Aside from shaving some unknown amount off the final settlement, this proviso enhances Dimon’s reputation as the shrewdest banker of that era. In 2008, with the backing of the U.S. Department of the Treasury and the Federal Reserve, who saw JPMorgan as a port in a storm, Dimon got the two properties for just $3.4 billion. Extending JPMorgan’s retail reach overnight into Florida and California, Bear and WaMu helped the bank become the largest in the U.S. by 2011. The portions of the settlement attributable to their liabilities are almost certainly outweighed by the profits they’ve brought and will continue to bring.

JPMorgan seems to have benefited from Dimon’s direct involvement in the negotiations with Holder. A second-term attorney general, Holder held an unbeatable advantage that he refused to drop: the criminal investigation into the mortgage-bond sales. He rejected JPMorgan’s initial offers to pay a significantly lower fine. But in a series of phone calls, Dimon gained a measure of closure for his company. The Obama administration got its record-setting sum, and JPMorgan cleared the civil probes from its slate to focus on the criminal probe and the rest of its litigation woes.

The fate of the remaining investigations will go a long way toward defining Dimon’s legacy. At the height of his postcrisis swagger, Dimon goaded top regulators in public, even as he basked in being known as President Obama’s “favorite banker.” His image has since been diminished; the $6 billion London Whale losses and subsequent penalties have ended all talk of his being the best risk manager on Wall Street. Although he swatted down a shareholder referendum in May on his fitness to serve as both chairman and CEO of JPMorgan, Dimon now cuts a far less intimidating figure in the capital. In a meeting of bank executives at the White House in early October, Dimon was shunted to a corner of the room, according to the Wall Street Journal. The once-plausible notion that Obama—or a successor from either party—might tap Dimon for a cabinet job, such as Treasury secretary, is now a punch line.

That said, the Obama administration didn’t rip Dimon’s throat out—to continue Buffett’s lupine analogy—by insisting on his resignation as part of the settlement package. The negotiation between the two parties was slowed by the government shutdown, which ended Oct. 16, on the eve of a terrifying deadline—a first-ever U.S. default on its debt, which might have unleashed global financial havoc rivaling or even surpassing the 2008 crisis. Dimon may run a bank under a disturbingly dark cloud of federal scrutiny. But with the U.S. facing another debt-ceiling breach on Feb. 7, there is value to the government in having him in the same position that he occupied the last time it needed a savior.

For the foreseeable future, Dimon’s hold on his job is secure. It’s undeniable, though, that he has been cut down to size—still the successful executive of a huge financial institution, but no longer a colossus able to bend markets and policymakers to his will. JPMorgan’s lucrative operations will proceed, but so will the costs of fighting the many investigations in which the bank remains ensnared. Analysts expect the bank to return to profitability in the fourth quarter, earning more than $5.3 billion. On a conference call on Oct. 11, Dimon answered a question about whether the bank’s spending up to $2 billion per quarter on litigation expenses was “the new normal.” Dimon said yes. “It will abate over time, and the underlying power of the company you can see,” he said. “I wish I could give you a better answer, but one day it won’t be a big number.”
Last edited by sMASH on October 24th, 2013, 9:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 24th, 2013, 9:39 pm

You sMASH my eyes with that wall of text there brother.

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Long story short: because of shady business practices, which put their investors investments at risk, and the government having to step into protected citizens' money, and by extension, the economy, they were fined 13 billion US$.

Government need to prosecute clico heads

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 17th, 2014, 8:30 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/11/ ... us-cheques

So what ever became of this woman?

What about the HUGE bonus she gave herself admist the coppapse of Clico?
Did she ever get charged? were her assets Frozen? or like everything else iN Trinidad, shes now ont another company ?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 17th, 2014, 8:32 am

https://guardian.co.tt/news/2013-04-11/ ... -sue-sakal

So you quietly expunge the company of its assets, give to yourself generously and then when there is a national inquiry you want protection from the courts?

This country is really a disgrace!

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 6th, 2014, 7:35 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:https://guardian.co.tt/news/2013-04-11/now-central-bank-clico-sue-sakal

So you quietly expunge the company of its assets, give to yourself generously and then when there is a national inquiry you want protection from the courts?

This country is really a disgrace!

^^ WHERE is she now???????

Postby javishm » May 6th, 2014, 8:46 am

in some country living life like normal

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » March 27th, 2015, 2:14 pm

CLICO policyholders to get $950 million
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/CLI ... 96131.html

Postby Country_Bookie » March 27th, 2015, 3:08 pm

1. Government, as the single largest creditor of CLICO, will receive 4 billion dollars in cash today, and the balance of around 3 billion in lieu of cash upon the transfer of three CLICO assets, Angostura Holdings Limited, CL World Brands Limited and Home Construction Limited.

2. The 1500 non-assenting STIPs policyholders will receive 85 per cent of their claim or about 950 million dollars in 3 months, and the remaining balance after the sale of Methanol Holdings International Limited.

3. Creditors outside of the Statutory Fund such as non-Government mutual fund holders and non-residential Short Term Investment Products policyholders will be paid following the sale of CLICO’s RBL shares and other assets.

4. The policyholders who accepted Government’s offer of bonds and shares in the CLICO Investment Fund will be no worse off. The Minister of Finance and the Economy will provide details shortly on how these policyholders will be treated.

5. The claims of BAT policyholders will also be settled.

Gov't will be the owner of HCL, CL World Brands and Angostura.
Let dem drop the price of White Oak and this election in the bag!

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2015, 8:36 pm

Wait, I thought that MHTL was already proman's

Postby The_Honourable » June 8th, 2015, 9:21 pm

sMASH wrote:Wait, I thought that MHTL was already proman's

It is

Proman takes over MHTL

Methanol Holdings Trinidad Ltd (MHTL) has officially been sold and the company was handed over to Consolidated Energy Ltd (CEL) yesterday.

The sale was concluded one month after the International Court of Arbitration (ICC) ruled that CLICO and CL Financial (CLF) must sell its combined 56.53 per cent shareholding in MHTL to CEL for US$1.175 billion (TT$7.485 billion).

MHTL is now 100 per cent owned by its former minority partner, CEL—a local holding company that combines the interests of Switzerland-registered Proman, Man Ferrostaal and Helm which had a 43.47 per cent stake in MHTL.

Proman’s attorney Johnathan Walker yesterday confirmed that the transaction concluded at about 10 a.m. yesterday but declined to give further details at this point.

CLF chairman Gerald Yetming did not return calls or texts to the Express on the matter. Proman Holdings is chaired by Joseph Cassidy who is also a director of MHTL.

MHTL, with its emphasis on local content, was regarded as one of the jewels of CLICO and its annual dividends provided a steady stream of income for the insurance company.

In 2011, CEL trigged arbitration proceedings against CLICO, arguing that the Government transfer of CLF’s 6.54 per cent of Methanol Holdings (Trinidad) to CLICO gave the insurance company a 56.53 per cent stake in the methanol company—and a majority position in MHTL.

CEL claimed that the shareholders’ agreement which established MHTL provided that they be given the first option to purchase the majority stake in MHTL.

In November 2013, the ICC ruled that all of CLICO’s shareholding be sold to CEL and took some ten months to decide on the value of the MHTL shares.

CLICO had submitted three valuations from international firms—Duff and Phelps, Deloitte (London) and Union Bank of Switzerland (UBS) with MHTL’s worth ranging from US$1.6 billion to US$2.2 billion while CEL had valued the shares at US$875 million.

The arbitrators priced the 56.53 stake at IS$1.174 million and both CLICO and CLF had agreed to abide by the ICC’s decision.

While Finance Minister Larry Howai said the value was significantly lower than what they expected for the shares (Government was hoping for US$2 billion), Central Bank Governor Jwala Rambarran last week said the value was “fair” and “reasonable”.

Government intervened and bailed out CLF in January 2009. The Shareholders Agreement allows the sale of CLF assets to pay off CLICO policyholders. Since the Shareholders Agreement between the government and CLF shareholders was signed in June 2009, the government has sought to recoup its investment from the illiquid company by selling off assets.

In the past four years, collapsed conglomerate CL Financial has sold eight assets for $5.5 billion.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 35091.html