Swisha

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Swisha » July 23rd, 2010, 7:31 pm

shogun wrote:
mitch wrote:Duane question:

i'm doing the MCACC test and it's detecting that one of the speaker's phase may be inverted even though i'm sure the wiring is correct. suggestions?

Are all the speakers wired the same way?

yep. one side of the wire came marked with a black line so i used that side only for the negative terminals and the other side for the positive terminals

Postby SR » July 23rd, 2010, 10:46 pm

sigh just reverse the phase on the wire you are probably getting reflections which in tunr is causing a phasing issue with your auto measurments

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 24th, 2010, 12:14 am

^ yup same thing when I did it and had to reverse the phase (actually run the wrong phase!) on some speakers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 24th, 2010, 12:20 am

Dig this piece of badass equipment

WIRELESS HDMI in full res 1080p uncompressed!

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=8255

plug your TV or HD projector into one and plug your receiver or source into another and boom!

Extend HDMI at 1080p/60 Hz up to 10 meters (30 feet) away!
The Wireless for HDMI 60 GHz Extender extends high-quality uncompressed HDMI 1.3 audio/video at resolutions of up to 1080p/60 Hz to any remote display location up to 30 feet away without the hassle of wires. The Wireless for HDMI 60 GHz Extender employs advanced high-frequency radio technology to support the high multi-gigabit data transfer rates of HDMI 1.3 with 8-channel digital audio.

Postby SR » July 24th, 2010, 5:43 am

heres the catch though

"For optimal quality HDMI signal transmission, we recommend installing the Wireless for HDMI 60 GHz Sender and Receiver units in a horizontally level, line-of-sight orientation in open space without tightly enclosing walls or ceilings. Tightly enclosed spaces such as cabinets will block the radio signal and significantly reduce the range. Obstructions in the radio wave path by furniture and other similarly sized objects should be avoided"

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » July 24th, 2010, 7:59 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Dig this piece of badass equipment

WIRELESS HDMI in full res 1080p uncompressed!

http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=8255

plug your TV or HD projector into one and plug your receiver or source into another and boom!

Extend HDMI at 1080p/60 Hz up to 10 meters (30 feet) away!
The Wireless for HDMI 60 GHz Extender extends high-quality uncompressed HDMI 1.3 audio/video at resolutions of up to 1080p/60 Hz to any remote display location up to 30 feet away without the hassle of wires. The Wireless for HDMI 60 GHz Extender employs advanced high-frequency radio technology to support the high multi-gigabit data transfer rates of HDMI 1.3 with 8-channel digital audio.

sweet....but dais small ting for u...my powerseller go contribute to getting that for u :lol:

nick009

Postby nick009 » July 24th, 2010, 9:14 am

sharkman121 wrote:
nick009 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:^ Yeh the pictures really didnt do it justice, coudve sworn it was smaller.

The lighting and color adds a lot to the room though.

Send me the link for the sketchup as well. This is my samsung 56" also but after reading the link on calibration yesterday i believe mine really needs calibrating badly.

U said u werent finished, what else u intend on doing to the room?

say there sharkman is this the led dlp version?
did you get it locally?

Actually its the plasma dlp version..and i got it @ Circuit Zone.

errrr, what is led dlp version and plasma dlp version?

as far as I know there are plasma tv's, dlp tv's and lcd tv's
some newer lcd tv's use LED lighting instead of fluorescent CFFL bulbs

But I've never heard of a plasma dlp or a led dlp TV :?

Well theres not really a plasma version.
The light source in his own is the standard lamp and it has a colour wheel .
The LED DLP has led light sources and a fancy chip with a couple million tiny mirrors to redirect the light.
I only ask cause mine was stolen from my house and it looked pretty close to his own and i pretty sure it was the only one in the country

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 24th, 2010, 12:07 pm

jus watched some scenes of Dark Knight blu-ray on the new setup...my word! :shock:

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 24th, 2010, 1:14 pm

mitch wrote:jus watched some scenes of Dark Knight blu-ray on the new setup...my word! :shock:

so ah 2nr lime at your place soon then :?: :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 24th, 2010, 1:43 pm

dadio wrote:sweet....but dais small ting for u...my powerseller go contribute to getting that for u :lol:

LOL hahaha :lol:

nah I like cables, hardwire gives me peace of mind knowing the signal is not degraded.
Same reason I dont like wireless speakers

wireless is for wifi and phones

maybe later on when they get better at wireless HDMI and uncompressed or lossless wireless data to speakers

mitch wrote:jus watched some scenes of Dark Knight blu-ray on the new setup...my word! :shock:

did you calibrate the TV?

RapToR

Zealth Audio

Postby RapToR » July 26th, 2010, 11:40 am

Postby sharkman121 » July 26th, 2010, 1:09 pm

nick009 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
nick009 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:^ Yeh the pictures really didnt do it justice, coudve sworn it was smaller.

The lighting and color adds a lot to the room though.

Send me the link for the sketchup as well. This is my samsung 56" also but after reading the link on calibration yesterday i believe mine really needs calibrating badly.

U said u werent finished, what else u intend on doing to the room?

say there sharkman is this the led dlp version?
did you get it locally?

Actually its the plasma dlp version..and i got it @ Circuit Zone.

errrr, what is led dlp version and plasma dlp version?

as far as I know there are plasma tv's, dlp tv's and lcd tv's
some newer lcd tv's use LED lighting instead of fluorescent CFFL bulbs

But I've never heard of a plasma dlp or a led dlp TV :?

Well theres not really a plasma version.
The light source in his own is the standard lamp and it has a colour wheel .
The LED DLP has led light sources and a fancy chip with a couple million tiny mirrors to redirect the light.
I only ask cause mine was stolen from my house and it looked pretty close to his own and i pretty sure it was the only one in the country

Yr pretty sure u had the only led dlp that looked like that in the country ?

Postby sharkman121 » July 26th, 2010, 9:00 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby X_Factor » July 26th, 2010, 9:58 pm

anyone here using mediabridge hdmi cables?....
http://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-Ultra ... 704&sr=8-1
to be exact...

im using a 1US hdmi cable presently and thinking about "upgrading" lol

any thoughts?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 26th, 2010, 10:00 pm

X_Factor wrote:anyone here using mediabridge hdmi cables?....
http://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-Ultra ... 704&sr=8-1
to be exact...

im using a 1US hdmi cable presently and thinking about "upgrading" lol

any thoughts?

PM mitch

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 26th, 2010, 10:24 pm

What frequency are HT subs usually tuned to?

20's? low 30's?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2010, 10:52 pm

^ it entirely depends on the sub in question and application

Velodyne makes some of the greatest subs in the HT business, read what they have to say:
http://www.velodyne.com/vlounge/subdesign.aspx

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 26th, 2010, 11:08 pm

Fs is 32Hz,

application is everything from watching movies to listening to music

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2010, 11:50 pm

this is the sub I have right now

Klipsch Synergy Series Sub-10

FREQUENCY RESPONSE 28-120Hz +/-3dB
AMPLIFIER POWER FTC Rated Power: 200 watts continuous @ 1% THD, Dynamic Power: 420 watts
MAXIMUM ACOUSTIC OUTPUT 115dB @ 30Hz 1/8 space, 1m
DRIVE COMPONENTS One 10” (25.4cm) fiber-composite cone, down-firing woofer
AMPLIFIER BASH(r) digital hybrid
PHASE Switchable 0-180 degrees
ENCLOSURE TYPE Bass-reflex via rear-firing port
INPUTS L/R line-level RCA jacks, L/R high level speaker binding posts
OUTPUTS L/R High level speaker binding posts (passthru)
HEIGHT 17” (43.2cm) H
WIDTH 14” (35.6cm) W
DEPTH 18.9” (47.9cm) D
WEIGHT 37 lbs. (16.8kg)
FEATURES Volume, Lowpass, Phase, Auto Power
VOLTAGE 110/120 VAC 60Hz
EXPORT VOLTAGE 220 VAC 50/60Hz

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 27th, 2010, 5:34 am

speaking of subs,mines freaking out since last week,hope the voicecoil not burnt :(
http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/item/features/549349941/mirage-omni-s8-black

Postby crazybalhead » July 27th, 2010, 6:40 am

The Fs of my sub is 22Hz, and the enclosure is tuned to 24 Hz.

Fs is 32Hz,

application is everything from watching movies to listening to music

^^^ That is not great for movies. Very good for music, but movies go lower than this.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 27th, 2010, 9:01 am

ru$$ell wrote:speaking of subs,mines freaking out since last week,hope the voicecoil not burnt :(

how much did it cost you ?

Postby crazybalhead » July 27th, 2010, 9:33 am

ru$$ell wrote:speaking of subs,mines freaking out since last week,hope the voicecoil not burnt :(

What yuh mean freakin out.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 27th, 2010, 12:15 pm

^it plays really soft,even when the volume is set on 3/4 on it,i have to literally pound the top of the box with my fist to get it to start back playing @ normal volume levels.It starts to work normal after,but sometimes when it does this,and i hit the top of the box,it starts to fap,then i usually hit it again,and it plays normal :(

looks like i gotta order that sunfire sub sooner than expected now,fml

Postby crazybalhead » July 27th, 2010, 12:16 pm

Sounds like a simple short man. Easy to fix.

Postby SR » July 27th, 2010, 12:25 pm

cold solder on the main board doubt anything worng with the sub itself

Postby crazybalhead » July 27th, 2010, 12:29 pm

Right by the RCA Jack on the input most likely.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 27th, 2010, 12:31 pm

^will open it and check it,hopefully it really is what you guys say,gotta carry it now to find out what size torx screwdriver works on it.

@raptor,surprisingly $1800 at Triniwattage.(back in late 2k8,price was $475USD then)

Its more than perfect for my room size,and does a wonderful job with music.for a 8" it goes pretty low as well.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 27th, 2010, 3:08 pm

So i opened it up,this is what the inside looks like and such:

so i put it back together,and its actually playing properly now,i didnt do a thing,just blew it out,put it back together,and tried it,its playing perfect now,like the 1st day i got it,which is strange,didnt even open up the backplate,any idea what could have happened? i have a vid on how it's playing now,will youtube it in a bit as soon

EDIT

ok,here's the vid of the after performance:

Postby crazybalhead » July 28th, 2010, 9:15 am

The terminal connecting the sub may have been loose.