offshore ppl ........your views.

13''strong

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby 13''strong » November 18th, 2014, 11:21 am

hey gooday can anyone direct me to any companies hiring '' i don't understand what @zoom rader means by shut down work and how the phonebook will have that info trying to get a job in this industry for 4 years now ..... most positive feedback was recently from Coloured Fin hopefully waiting on a call back for orientation

Roustabout (NESC )
Roughneck (NESC )
HSE ( NESC )
Basic Seaman class 4 ( caribbean fisheries )
PLEAPASS

NB: I know someone can guide me along the lines to a company that hiring or some advice ..??? please

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 18th, 2014, 2:15 pm

13''strong wrote:hey gooday can anyone direct me to any companies hiring '' i don't understand what @zoom rader means by shut down work and how the phonebook will have that info trying to get a job in this industry for 4 years now ..... most positive feedback was recently from Coloured Fin hopefully waiting on a call back for orientation

Roustabout (NESC )
Roughneck (NESC )
HSE ( NESC )
Basic Seaman class 4 ( caribbean fisheries )
PLEAPASS

NB: I know someone can guide me along the lines to a company that hiring or some advice ..??? please

dude still??

how come??

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » November 19th, 2014, 1:23 am

yea bro pain...... when you ask for sumn like this ppl does assume u want it handed to you i applied to countless companies even went as far as to seeking help from the MP of my area with a personal recommendation in which stating anything i needed or qualification necessary i would be sent do it whilst employed and to no avail ....won't lie it hard

pluggie

Postby pluggie » November 19th, 2014, 2:08 am

Dude first look for a job on an onshore petrochemical facility or refinery (maintenance or turnarounds) to get used to the work and build your resume then start looking for jobs offshore... No Facilities manager will want a unless (person with no industry experience / high risk) person on his offshore facility taking up a productive person's space onboard.

Postby tr1ad » November 19th, 2014, 7:16 am

What he said....
I wouldn't test fate by placing a "green" man outside with a crew at all....
People aim for offshore... My suggestion, get a job elsewhere and keep applying... Can't see how MP helping here

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2014, 1:00 pm

pluggie wrote:^^^

Dude first look for a job on an onshore petrochemical facility or refinery (maintenance or turnarounds) to get used to the work and build your resume then start looking for jobs offshore... No Facilities manager will want a unless (person with no industry experience / high risk) person on his offshore facility taking up a productive person's space onboard.

This is why I tell guys that they need to start small by doing shut down work and working their up by securing some kind of contracting work even if the pay is small. Offshore hires skilled and safe men only.
Doing the necessary offshore courses will help but industrial skills tops all else.

Normally contractors dont advertise jobs positions as they always have steady seasoned work staff on stand by.
Men need to go out and show that their they are willing to work. Go out visit contractors offices put your name down for any available work. It's better to visit offices rather that phoning. This is why I say the phone book is your friend. Get addresses and visit offices and try and speak to the hiring team, normally it's the owner that will do the hiring.
Once you get your foot in industry you can only improve and work your way up.
Some guys are lucky as they have family and friends that give them a lead for a start offshore. Sometimes that does not help as the company (bg, bp ect) that hires contractors do extensive background checks on contractor employees to see if they fit the position.
You could get hired by a contractor but the final say is with the operating company, BG, BP ect.

Personally hand in your CV/resume, list all your industrial skills, leave out useless stuff like you play football and do gardening .Offshore employers don't want to know about those, they want to know what you can do and how you solve problems.

Offshore hires Skilled and Safe personal only from Deck hands to OIMs.

Postby janfar » November 20th, 2014, 12:06 am

This man... I start off cleaning fence and painting support boxes. You have to lower your standards to get that first start then push you way up by showing your potential.

If you want to start offshore then you already wasting time.

Postby tr1ad » November 20th, 2014, 7:36 am

Ent? People still believe offshore glamorous ?

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » November 20th, 2014, 10:42 am

yea i still trying no worries ...... just watch the ppl that get those jobs started with nothing and work there way up like wise i have sumn small or at least relevant to the job or industry ...everyone that got into this industry got a helping hand someway or the other just looking for mine it might not be the right approach but i trying it still .... @ tr1ad what happen to a MP recommendation :/

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » November 20th, 2014, 11:01 am

U have all those qualifications an still can't get an offshore job .. Try getting an onshore job first den work Yuh way

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2014, 12:21 pm

13''strong wrote:yea i still trying no worries ...... just watch the ppl that get those jobs started with nothing and work there way up like wise i have sumn small or at least relevant to the job or industry ...everyone that got into this industry got a helping hand someway or the other just looking for mine it might not be the right approach but i trying it still .... @ tr1ad what happen to a MP recommendation :/

Make yourself known to offshore contractors. Go visit them in person and present an updated CV. Make yourself marketable. Make sure you have a professional CV.
Send out CVs to the operators eg BG, BP

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2014, 12:23 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:U have all those qualifications an still can't get an offshore job .. Try getting an onshore job first den work Yuh way

Having work skills tops, u need to show that you can work, slove problem and be safe.

Postby 16 cycles » December 24th, 2014, 7:11 am

whaz the christmas day menu offshore?

Postby zoom rader » December 24th, 2014, 8:32 am

16 cycles wrote:whaz the christmas day menu offshore?

Will tell you tomorrow or better yet may post a pic.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 24th, 2014, 12:02 pm

Go tell you tomorrow. If i get a chance. beyotches gonna ramp up work from today:?

Postby nervewrecker » December 24th, 2014, 5:19 pm

icefox wrote:
icefox wrote:Hey peeps, I need yall assistance...I am looking for off shore employment. An any way I tried it has been 2 no avail..I don't have any big qualifications wen It comes to the offshore industry, the onli thing I have completed is my TBOSIT. Can any one give me any assistance

Read over chead this had been discussed already.
You need at least a tech cert in PPO, EET, MET or IET.

Ok I will read it over, but wat I'm sayin I no ppl wit none of dese courses, dat got tru with offshore wrk an started off as a utility hand or roustabout an den did courses an worked dere way up!!!

Those roustabouts are entry level and bottom of the ladder. If you want a head start then get a tech paper and do some offshore safety courses . Spend two years preparing and build you resume, do some contracting shutdowns jobs.

Wat I'm sayin is I'm willing to start from d bottom of d ladder an work up, but it's jus to get in is d problem...

You need to seek out oil service contacting jobs for this.

An dese will include places like where

Dude do some home work and don't expect to be spoon fed in how to get a job offshore.
Pick up the phone book and look for oil service contractors and call them up.
Ask for a job go and visit them make yourself known.
Read the small employment adds in the newspapers, you will be surprised to find offshore jobs are listed in very small ads.

Don't sit on your butt and expect a job to come to you when you don't have the necessary qualifications.

Some of us eh even know the name of these contractors associated with these companies.
I was amongst some employees sometime back and hearing all different names of contractors that hired them. Never even heard of some of these places / contractors.

Wouldn't even know where to start to find the names of these companies.

I tried spamming the industry with resumes already and reached as far as the guards. Got to know how to talk to people too.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 24th, 2014, 6:50 pm

Off shore is nice during the holidays.

Postby zoom rader » December 24th, 2014, 7:14 pm

^^^ One thing that most ppl screw up is their resume. You need a plain and simple resume straight to the point.
If you see a job advertised you need to match your wording with want they looking for.
Leave out things like hobbies, sports and references. They don't care if you do gardening, play basketball or Rollingstock knows you as reference. HR these days will pick up the phone and call your last place of work without you even knowing.
List what projects and achievements that you worked on or made. Don't lie, engineers can pick up on things when you get interviewed.
Employers don't read a full resume, they skim and look for key words that match what they looking for.
Normally resumes are selected by HR to be read by an engineer in what ever trade they looking for. It's the engineer that does selections, cause he's knows the key words and jargons. HR is just the in between. Crappy resumes will get binned

As for employers try IAL, Wood group, Ansa tech, not sure if insertech still around. I think SIS does some engineering work in PSC. Randy Rampersad in Couva, not sure if he's still around. He used to supply ispat with techs at one time. Theres franklin and Errol. Lambeth E & I for PSC.
There are loads of other small time Contractors.

Postby 1UZFE » December 24th, 2014, 8:29 pm

Holding u on this...

Postby nervewrecker » December 24th, 2014, 10:37 pm

Thanks zoom.

Will do a few more next year.

Postby nervewrecker » December 24th, 2014, 10:38 pm

Insertech and Wood group weren't both under massy BTW?

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 24th, 2014, 11:02 pm

Woodgroup, im not sure about insertech

Postby nervewrecker » December 24th, 2014, 11:10 pm

I remember addressing applications to insertech, it was under massy energy iirc.

Google still brings it up as nm insertech.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 25th, 2014, 12:49 am

Insertech wood group and igl all fall under massy now. Also add Kenson stork hydrotech damus iss/he rental/superior etc to the list

Postby zoom rader » December 25th, 2014, 8:21 am

1UZFE wrote:

Holding u on this...

As promised

Menu,
Prawn cocktail, Angus beef, roast duck, pork and Turkey with all the trimming.
Drinks all u can think about, but no alcohol. Becks beer non alcohol

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 25th, 2014, 9:02 am

waysssssssssssss, and man does say offshore life aint nice??

does it taste as good as it looks??

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 25th, 2014, 10:13 am

Nice life indeed

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 25th, 2014, 10:29 am

Zoom you the chef ?

konartis

Postby konartis » December 25th, 2014, 10:45 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:waysssssssssssss, and man does say offshore life aint nice??

does it taste as good as it looks??

U ent see how fat some offshore men does get, i have a partner started wrkin offshore he was real small...he probally 250lbs nw

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 27th, 2014, 10:15 am

Always looks nice in the accommodation.......then you go outside....and there's just metal, scaffolding, pipes and sea.

Never be fooled into thinking choosing a profession based on an accommodation pic. Sometimes it does say something about the facility tho.