***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

EmilioA

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby EmilioA » November 17th, 2015, 9:50 am

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ Some one mentioned it above the percentage of people and services that are located in Kingston what is that figure for PoS?

3% of the population or thereabouts lives in PoS.

Correct.

Though it should be noted that Kingston is 35 times larger than POS in land area. POS city limits should truthfully be expanded

Postby Habit7 » November 17th, 2015, 1:46 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ Some one mentioned it above the percentage of people and services that are located in Kingston what is that figure for PoS?

Correct.

Though it should be noted that Kingston is 35 times larger than POS in land area. POS city limits should truthfully be expanded
Yeah, what is officially considered POS is far more specific than what is considered Kingston. But having lived there I would comparatively say Kingston is about 3x the size of POS.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 17th, 2015, 1:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Correct.

Yeah, what is officially considered POS is far more specific than what is considered Kingston. But having lived there I would comparatively say Kingston is about 3x the size of POS.

i comparing the 'Kingston and St Andrew Corporation' to the 'Port of Spain Corporation'. Otherwise the population of Kingston Parish is the same as POS.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 17th, 2015, 4:36 pm

What percentage of the population goes into PoS to work?
Last edited by Numb3r4 on November 17th, 2015, 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 17th, 2015, 4:42 pm

If only such a small percentage lives in PoS then shouldn't if be easy to encourage movement out of the city? Not the population but of some services or even the businesses that have a workforce that is made up of folks outside of the area.

Postby desifemlove » November 17th, 2015, 4:56 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:What percentage of the population goes into PoS to work?

I don't have firm figures...maybe 20%?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 17th, 2015, 5:03 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:What percentage of the population goes into PoS to work?

I don't have firm figures...maybe 20%?

You kidding right

Postby desifemlove » November 17th, 2015, 5:09 pm

no. it's an honest guess, since 200,000 is roughly 20%.

but then people need to check in wit you ent? hahaha... 50 year old man saying dis, eh?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 17th, 2015, 5:13 pm

Right now can someone give a breakdown of that 20%? Seriously.

Postby Habit7 » November 17th, 2015, 9:10 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:If only such a small percentage lives in PoS then shouldn't if be easy to encourage movement out of the city? Not the population but of some services or even the businesses that have a workforce that is made up of folks outside of the area.

Services are already available outside POS. Businesses will go where ever it is profitable to them. In the 4 square miles that is POS it might be 3% of the population but the surrounding areas are some of the most densely populated areas in the country.

The problem is not just workforce going to POS. On Saturdays when most ppl are going to business and schools, there is still traffic.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 18th, 2015, 4:05 pm

So what causes the traffic then? Why are so many people going into PoS if they can do it outside of the city?

Daran

Postby Daran » November 18th, 2015, 4:07 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:So what causes the traffic then? Why are so many people going into PoS if they can do it outside of the city?

Bottlenecks son.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 18th, 2015, 4:51 pm

Daran wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:So what causes the traffic then? Why are so many people going into PoS if they can do it outside of the city?

Bottlenecks son.

well bottlenecks can be solved i think by adjusting and synchronizing traffic light timings based on the average rate of traffic they process in each direction daily. with separate settings for peak and off-peak periods. would have to synchronize at least the most used routes. and tackle based on the most frequented locations. some adjusting of the way traffic runs in and around pos might help. also, exiting pos has to be just as efficient as getting in to compensate for the new bottleneck created by freeing up the entry and navigation routes.

in the end id say bottlenecks are solved by how efficient you make the filtration system. allowing vehicles to turn unto a new road within a 'reasonable' amount of time. i just feel an adjustment of how traffic runs in pos may still be necessary. and if 55% of the people entering pos just coming to go and do business on frederick street. then make a swift route for who want to just zip in and out of pos. only stopping point is frederick street corner. that will eliminate a massive amount of traffic that may or may not back up other roads since people will prefer to use the swift route.

the final thing to address. is parking. it needs to be accessible. pnm like to build stuff. maybe i dont know, if there are some available properties with close and easy access to central pos they can build some multistory parking garages for the public. maybe im bias but i think its a better idea than rapid rail. cheaper too.

Postby mero » November 18th, 2015, 5:24 pm

Large amount of unnecessary traffic within cities which Ppl don't take into consideration is the average pedestrian crossing the road whenever, wherever and however they like.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 18th, 2015, 6:35 pm

bluesclues wrote:well bottlenecks can be solved i think by adjusting and synchronizing traffic light timings based on the average rate of traffic they process in each direction daily. with separate settings for peak and off-peak periods. would have to synchronize at least the most used routes. and tackle based on the most frequented locations. some adjusting of the way traffic runs in and around pos might help. also, exiting pos has to be just as efficient as getting in to compensate for the new bottleneck created by freeing up the entry and navigation routes.

in the end id say bottlenecks are solved by how efficient you make the filtration system. allowing vehicles to turn unto a new road within a 'reasonable' amount of time. i just feel an adjustment of how traffic runs in pos may still be necessary. and if 55% of the people entering pos just coming to go and do business on frederick street. then make a swift route for who want to just zip in and out of pos. only stopping point is frederick street corner. that will eliminate a massive amount of traffic that may or may not back up other roads since people will prefer to use the swift route.

the final thing to address. is parking. it needs to be accessible. pnm like to build stuff. maybe i dont know, if there are some available properties with close and easy access to central pos they can build some multistory parking garages for the public. maybe im bias but i think its a better idea than rapid rail. cheaper too.

How familiar are you with POS really ?

Its a serious question not meant to belittle you. Its just I find some of your questions and statements kinda odd , like you dont really know the city.

Frederick Street is already a quick zip in and out in theory. Come over Lady Young, turn past the Savannah and you on Frederick Street. Then to leave continue down Frederick , straight down Broad Street (edit: meant Broadway) and you out.

In the end Frederick Street is still a finite area which can hold a fixed number of cars and if more than that number of cars enter the street the overflow must back up somewhere.

2. Parking spaces is a good idea. A very good idea. So good that the PNM already built the Parkade, the parking tower by Hyatt and Nipdec car park in the Twin Towers.

Now ideally DOMA should have shelled out some money to turn the existing parking lots into multi storey towers. But our business men have no idea how to actually conduct business without a Govt handout. So Govt really should buy out the existing parking lots and turn them into parking towers.

Also Powergen going to be vacant soon. That would a be an excellent spot for a next parkade.
Last edited by EmilioA on November 18th, 2015, 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » November 18th, 2015, 6:46 pm

Broad street ,I not familiar with POS ,where is that?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 18th, 2015, 7:05 pm

rspann wrote:Broad street ,I not familiar with POS ,where is that?

Sorry mistyped. Meant Broadway. The street that runs from the Lighthouse to Cipriani's statue

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 18th, 2015, 7:28 pm

if its such a quick zip in and zip out why are people complaining about traffic? i work in pos for a few years. to me the bottleneck starts at the first traffic light by rafmon on beetham. past that is bottleneck bottleneck bottleneck to reach anywhere in pos u want to go. i went pos a few weeks ago. 11am and real traffic rboth sides of the promenade and all the northbound streets.

point is. can it be improved. and how would u go about increasing traffic efficiency with things the way they are NOW.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 18th, 2015, 7:31 pm

bluesclues wrote:if its such a quick zip in and zip out why are people complaining about traffic?

I said its theoretically a quip zip.

i work in pos for a few years. to me the bottleneck starts at the first traffic light by rafmon on beetham. past that is bottleneck bottleneck bottleneck to reach anywhere in pos u want to go. i went pos a few weeks ago. 11am and real traffic rboth sides of the promenade and all the northbound streets.

point is. can it be improved. and how would u go about increasing traffic efficiency with things the way they are NOW.

Because a street can only hold X amount of cars and if more than X amount of cars are on the street the result is traffic. Why is this a hard concept ?

Let we go back to your " , swift route for who want to just zip in and out of pos" How would you make Frederick street swifter than it is now ? What would you change ?

Postby zoom rader » November 18th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Be prepared this government that misled ppl voted for plans to remove 50% of private cars off the road.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 18th, 2015, 10:20 pm

zoom rader wrote:Be prepared this government that misled ppl voted for plans to remove 50% of private cars off the road.

Nah, I hear its 97.2% they plan to remove.

Postby pete » November 18th, 2015, 10:36 pm

T vehicle ftw. :|

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2015, 11:18 am

pete wrote:T vehicle ftw. :|

That will mean more revenue for the PNM. Every year you have pay for inspection.

Postby desifemlove » November 19th, 2015, 12:39 pm

bluesclues wrote:if its such a quick zip in and zip out why are people complaining about traffic? i work in pos for a few years. to me the bottleneck starts at the first traffic light by rafmon on beetham. past that is bottleneck bottleneck bottleneck to reach anywhere in pos u want to go. i went pos a few weeks ago. 11am and real traffic rboth sides of the promenade and all the northbound streets.

compulsory purchase derelict land to turn into car park space. and an intra-city bus service that goes around the city at 15 min. intervals. pay $30 for a week pass, $5 day pass.

and which traffic? i does work in town and i only see serious traffic in rush hour. as of now, i doubt it's a hassle to get in and out.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 20th, 2015, 4:07 pm

Exactly how do they plan to get vehicles of the road?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 20th, 2015, 4:08 pm

I would also like to think that there are more cost effective ways to solve traffic bottlenecks.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 20th, 2015, 4:50 pm

EmilioA wrote:
bluesclues wrote:if its such a quick zip in and zip out why are people complaining about traffic?

I said its theoretically a quip zip.

i work in pos for a few years. to me the bottleneck starts at the first traffic light by rafmon on beetham. past that is bottleneck bottleneck bottleneck to reach anywhere in pos u want to go. i went pos a few weeks ago. 11am and real traffic rboth sides of the promenade and all the northbound streets.

Because a street can only hold X amount of cars and if more than X amount of cars are on the street the result is traffic. Why is this a hard concept ?

Let we go back to your " , swift route for who want to just zip in and out of pos" How would you make Frederick street swifter than it is now ? What would you change ?

everything i said has to be taken into consideration. we cant consider a swift route without considering we may have to change the way traffic flows throughout pos. we must also include traffic light synchronization. imagine we may have streets that need to handle 3000 cars but its traffic timing is set lower than the adjacent street which only handles 500 or so. just to give an example. stuff like that needs to be ironed out. but most importantly, if we have to engage any any of those activities which naturally calls for eachother in conjunction..

that we must begin with a study. a manual on foot study of crowd and traffic movement through pos to determine the streets that have the most activity and at what times. it's a whole project. this study will give us a better idea of what streets we can reassign for different directional traffic flow.

but let's just say that the study determines that federick steeet really is the most active street and that 95% of those who arrive at frederick street from city gate keep heading north up federick street it might make it wiser to make it a northward oneway instead of southward. and create a sort of oneway causeway that gets you into pos, up frederick street and out either to the left to continue heading west or to the right to head back towards arima side.

u need to set up pos for easy access to services and parking. it would make the taxi routes more efficient as well.

i mean i have a vision of something but it might be alot easier to explain it with a map. the objective however is to create enough roadway flowing in the direction that the majority of cars NEED to travel in to get to their daily business in pos. the majority of traffic comes to pos from the east anyway. so why not rearrange the flow of traffic to accommodate the higher influx on the eastern side of pos? just throwing this out there i havent done a study.. yet. but could making both sides of the promenade one way heading west, and all connecting northbound streets made one way north work? you could always keep heading west and back on the highway at the end of the promenade. or if u have business in pos, make ur northbound turnoff, handle your business wherever in pos and either make your way west to get back on the highway to go east, or over the ladyoung, or through any other escape route we can devise to set an exit for eastbound traffic.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 21st, 2015, 10:48 pm

^^^Yeah that seems fair and it goes to reiterate what I have been saying we need to study what we have and how we can modify and make the best of it...then we can truly determine what we need.

These types of solutions might even go a longer way in helping to develop a better mentality and modify the culture in some way.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 21st, 2015, 11:58 pm

well between increasing the efficiency of traffic movement through pos and the removing of traffic lights from grande to pos. i am convinced a virtual free flow of traffic into, through and out of pos can be designed with the current road system. couple that with easy and direct access to parking and we have less cars spending time on the road looking for a park adding to the traffic.

lets see how the pnm handles it. rearranging pos wont be a walk in the park because ppl are generally resistant to change. but it just seems that the time has come, and the current arrangement has outlived its usefulness. roads have been adjusted here and there over time, but a full overhaul may be necessary now. the project will have to be well coordinated to avoid confusion. not like last time where they forget to put signs and remove signs.. old paint still on the ground pointing to go in the wrong direction since the adjustment etc. i feel its something that has to be done. train or no train.

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 6:30 am

^^^ This government can't handle that.