The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

ProgressiveTT

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby ProgressiveTT » October 27th, 2011, 12:08 am

Anybody else getting any issues with iOS 5.
Everything seems to be running much faster, except of all things, the keypad. Sometimes i get lapses of up to three seconds before anything registers and sometimes it doesn't register at all.
But EDGE is much faster in loading.

Bmobile amazing when they ready. Don't know why most of Independence Square doesn't seem to get Wimax connections.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 27th, 2011, 12:15 am

Zeroman wrote:Anybody else getting any issues with iOS 5.
Everything seems to be running much faster, except of all things, the keypad. Sometimes i get lapses of up to three seconds before anything registers and sometimes it doesn't register at all.

Bmobile amazing when they ready. Don't know why most of Independence Square doesn't seem to get Wimax connections.

My iPad 2 has been crashing and freezing alot since I updated to ios5

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » October 27th, 2011, 12:19 am

RapToR wrote:

My iPad 2 has been crashing and freezing alot since I updated to ios5

Ah, good to know a not going mad. Thought a was typing too fast.
Ask the serious apple people about these kinda issues and you would swear a cuss them bout the mudda.

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 12:34 am

yuh mudda.. :|

i had lots of issues in the beta... but thats because it was ... a beta lol. ill let u guys know weekend if i get the time to do anything... i might be doing iOS 5 finally. need to take my mind of a few things.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 27th, 2011, 8:18 am

This morning i launched safari and the whole page loaded on the top left hand quarter of my screen. Since that, every single thing i launch loads in the upper left quarter. REAL ANNOYING!!!!

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 27th, 2011, 8:26 am

and i dont have SB Settings installed

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 27th, 2011, 9:14 am

M_2NR wrote:yuh mudda.. :|

i had lots of issues in the beta... but thats because it was ... a beta lol. ill let u guys know weekend if i get the time to do anything... i might be doing iOS 5 finally. need to take my mind of a few things.

ios crashes using skype, safari and the fb app

after apple logo show up on screen for a few min then restarts the ipad

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 12:14 pm

did you all restore cleanly and setup as a new device? or restored from a backup?
for iOS 5 with icloud n all and im sure some may be jailbroken too... never restore from a backup when jumping up a new version. Possibly now with iCloud iOS 6 might be better but in previous years, it is unadvised you restore from a backup like that.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 27th, 2011, 12:18 pm

M_2NR wrote:did you all restore cleanly and setup as a new device? or restored from a backup?
for iOS 5 with icloud n all and im sure some may be jailbroken too... never restore from a backup when jumping up a new version. Possibly now with iCloud iOS 6 might be better but in previous years, it is unadvised you restore from a backup like that.

i didn't get time to restore yet.............no time to do it

mine not jailbroken

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 27th, 2011, 12:20 pm

bet all of ya'll are jailbroken ;)

iOS 5 running like a Ferrari FXXX

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 12:30 pm

i know raptor isnt jailbroken daz y i say some.

I'll probably do iOS 5 this weekend just for the hell of it. although ill miss iFile and the ability to move my files around my OS.

RapToR, do a clean restore. Put it into DFU mode etc and do a clean setup. Because iCloud uses a new way to backup information, it's better to start a fresh with iCloud.

Bezman, if it cuts off in the middle of the highway... ill stop there :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 27th, 2011, 12:35 pm

well just like any ferrari i expect my iphone 4 on ios 5 to randomly catch fire and burn to the ground

RapToR

Postby RapToR » October 27th, 2011, 12:41 pm

M_2NR wrote:i know raptor isnt jailbroken daz y i say some.

I'll probably do iOS 5 this weekend just for the hell of it. although ill miss iFile and the ability to move my files around my OS.

RapToR, do a clean restore. Put it into DFU mode etc and do a clean setup. Because iCloud uses a new way to backup information, it's better to start a fresh with iCloud.

Bezman, if it cuts off in the middle of the highway... ill stop there :lol:

i'm taking it back to apple in nov.

will let them see about it

i'm to lazy :|

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 27th, 2011, 1:05 pm

i just relaised how useful www.icloud.com is when i logged into it , its just like on my ipad , just i can access my data from anywhere with net without my iDevices

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 1:50 pm

when a new firmware drops... you could just to an OTA and boom everything restored... no need for iTunes

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » October 27th, 2011, 2:35 pm

LOL, See wah a talking bout.

I restored from back-up as well but seeing that is the only problem so far, not really a issue.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 27th, 2011, 2:37 pm

is it possible to revert from 4.3.5 back to 4.3.3? i rather the untethered jailbreak available for 4.33

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 2:48 pm

Bezman wrote:well just like any ferrari i expect my iphone 4 on ios 5 to randomly catch fire and burn to the ground

:lol: :rofl: :lol:
no sir leave that for the 458's and the lambos.

gfbl wrote:is it possible to revert from 4.3.5 back to 4.3.3? i rather the untethered jailbreak available for 4.33

if it came with 4.3.5 nope.
still try tinyumbrella and see if any SHSH saved for 4.3.3 but i doubt it if it came with 4.3.5.

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 2:51 pm

Zeroman wrote:

LOL, See wah a talking bout.

I restored from back-up as well but seeing that is the only problem so far, not really a issue.

hoss that is an annoying issue :lol: dont be lazy do a restore :lol:

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 27th, 2011, 3:00 pm

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2011, 3:14 pm

gfbl wrote:http://www.ijailbreak.com/how-to/how-to-downgrade-from-ios-4-3-44-3-5-to-the-ios-4-3-3-firmware/

would this work?

Note: You must have your SHSH blobs saved on the iOS 4.3.3 firmware or you will not be able to downgrade. There is no if, ands, or buts. This is a requirement.

try TinyUmbrella and see if anything saves for 4.3.3 :)

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 27th, 2011, 3:16 pm

ohhh.. thanks

casper

Postby casper » October 27th, 2011, 3:34 pm

yea boi that www.icloud.com realllllll bad for true hoss i now check it out dey :o

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » October 27th, 2011, 7:08 pm

Mail stopped being pushed to my phone since the IOS5 update
not jailbroken here

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 27th, 2011, 7:23 pm

The Steve Jobs 'I finally cracked it' moment was Apple realized you could just talk to your television, reports the New York Times.

Apple engineers had been tasked by Jobs to find a way to simplify the television. Alternative ideas included a wireless keyboard and mouse, or using an iPod, iPhone or iPad as a remote. None of their ideas worked until Siri came along.

It's the stuff of science fiction. You sit on your couch and rather than fumble with several remotes or use hand gestures, you simply talk: "Put on the last episode of Gossip Girl." "Play the local news headlines." "Play some Coldplay music videos." Siri does the rest.

Nick Bilton, from the New York Times says he heard about Apple's television plans over a year ago. At the time his source said he had seen some "large parts floating around" that belonged to Apple and believed that it "looked like the parts could be part of a large Apple television."

I immediately began snooping around, asking Apple employees and people close to the company if a full fledged Apple Television was in the works. Several people, all speaking on condition of anonymity for obvious reasons, told me that nothing was actively being built, but - and this was a big but - I was told repeatedly that Apple would eventually make a television. "Absolutely, it is a guaranteed product for Apple," I was told by one individual. "Steve thinks the industry is totally broken."

Bilton says the company still has quite a bit of work to do on the project and may need to wait until cost of large displays falls; however, he says the company is now close enough that it could announce the product by late 2012 for release in 2013.

It is coming though. It's not a matter of if, it's a matter of when.

------

While Apple rolls out iOS updates rapidly to its iOS devices three years after their release, Android phones often ship with outdated software that is rarely updated, even during the device's original contract term.

A report by blogger Michael Degusta of the the Understatement graphically recounts how it is that 45 percent of Google's installed base of active Android users is still stuck using software released in the middle of last year: vendors are simply refusing to make updates available for their phones.

Degusta contrasted iPhones introduced by Apple and the last three years of US Android phones. While all iPhone models have received the latest iOS updates for at least three years following their introduction, only three Android models have been kept relatively up to date for more than a year, and none of them appear eligible to receive the latest Android 4.0 Google just announced.

Google's own Nexus One has received the best support, but the company just announced that it won't be getting the new Android 4.0 "Ice Cream Sandwich," even though it's not yet two years old.

Two other popular Android phones, Verizon's Motorola Droid and Sprint's HTC Evo 4G, have received sporadic updates but are similarly unlikely to get the new software. The original Droid had already fallen a year behind in major Android updates this summer.

Other Android models fared far worse, with 7 of the 18 models never shipping with nor ever being updated to the current version of Android, and 5 more only ever ran the current version for a few weeks during their lifetime.

Google's previous release for smartphones, Android 2.3 Gingerbread, was first made available in December 2010, but 15 of the 18 models still can't run it nearly a year later.

Even makers that promised to release updates have left their buyers stranded."The Samsung Behold II on T-Mobile was the most expensive Android phone ever and Samsung promoted that it would get a major update to [Android 2.1] Eclair at least," Degusta noted. "But at launch the phone was already two major versions behind — and then Samsung decided not to do the update after all, and it fell three major OS versions behind. Every one ever sold is still under contract today."

Similarly, Verizon's Motorola Devour received reviews saying it was “'built to last and it delivers on features.' As it turned out, the Devour shipped with an OS that was already outdated," Degusta stated. In a year, "it was three major versions behind. Every one ever sold is still under contract until sometime next year."

Being stuck with outdated software is a problem for users not just because they're missing features and refinements but also because of security updates. It also hurts app development, because the fragmentation of Android forces developers to "end up targeting an ancient version of the OS in order to maximize market reach," Degusta explains.

"iOS developers, like Instapaper’s Marco Arment, waited patiently until just this month to raise their apps’ minimum requirement to the 11 month old iOS 4.2.1," Degusta wrote. "They can do so knowing that it’s been well over 3 years since anyone bought an iPhone that couldn’t run that OS. If developers apply that same standard to Android, it will be at least 2015 before they can start requiring 2010’s Gingerbread OS."

As to why its such a problem for Android makers to keep their phones up to date, Degusta notes that part of the problem is that Android has to navigate through individual phone makers and carriers, while Apple's iOS updates pass directly to its customers. Additionally, neither the carrier nor the phone makers seem interested in keeping their customers happy.

"Apple’s way of getting you to buy a new phone is to make you really happy with your current one, whereas apparently Android phone makers think they can get you to buy a new phone by making you really unhappy with your current one," Degusta said.

While Degusta is profiling the lack of major releases (noting that most Android phones are a year or two behind), Apple also keeps its iOS customers up to date with many updates throughout the year, ranging from 6 to 10 free minor updates annually that address bugs, add features or provide other enhancements.

Android isn't alone in providing a poor record of updates for phones still under contract. HP terminated support for the Pre Plus generation of phones in webOS 2.0 when they were barely 18 months old, while Microsoft killed off all updates for its Windows Mobile users (and app developers) last winter at the release of Windows Phone 7. RIM similarly released BlackBerry 7.0 only for new phones this summer.

Since then, webOS, WP7 and BlackBerry OS updates have trickled out through carriers at a glacial pace, with Microsoft issuing two feature updates and two minor fixes in the last year that are scheduled and deployed on an individual carrier and model basis.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 27th, 2011, 7:58 pm

like Android does real itch u boy *smh*

[Infographic] Android Fragmentation Visualized... If You Like Biased Information, That Is

Apparently there are a whole slew of pissed off users because Google decided that the Nexus One will not be getting updated to Ice Cream Sandwich. As a result, an infographic was made to represent the fact that Apple can support its four devices better than manufacturers support their ump-teen Android devices. The infographic compares the all the iPhones of the past three years (so it excludes the 4S) to most Android devices of the same timeframe.

Let's have a look before we continue:

At first glance, it seems like a well put together graphic with attention to detail, right? For the most part -- yes. But, there are a few device that should've been included in the list, as they came out around the same time: namely, Droid X and Droid 2. I realize that is only two devices, but those two devices are running the newest version of Android and are still being supported. Granted, neither will probably see Android 4.0, but that's not the point. Those are two devices that are not present to represent the we're still getting updates crowd.

Also, throwing the Devour, BackFlip, Cliq XT, and Ally into the mix? Give me a break -- those phones were doomed before they hit shelves. iPhones are flagship devices. If you want to compare apples to apples, then bring out the Android big dogs to play the game, not the Chihuahuas that weren't intended to hold a candle to the competition in the first place. This brings me to my next point...

So what if the lower end devices were never updated to Gingerbread, or even Froyo? That is still what was in the best interest of the end user. From a hardware standpoint, those devices were not capable of handling newer versions of Android, and while that's less than ideal, the manufacturers made the right choice. How many times have you heard an iPhone 3G owner complain about how awful iOS 4 is on their device? I don't know a single person who had good results with that upgrade -- proof that it shouldn't have been updated. If you want to make sure your device is going to get an update and be able to run it, then don't buy a low end device.

I'm not saying that fragmentation isn't still an issue in some Android devices. We're all aware that there is a problem with certain devices getting updated -- but that isn't Google's fault; it's the manufacturers. Should the Motorola Droid get Android 2.3? No. It runs like crap. Should the LG Revolution (not on this list, just an example) get Android 2.3? Yes -- it's fully capable, and LG should do something about that.

And, before I get called a fanboy, let me make one thing clear. Sure, I feel compelled to defend Android when it's justified. I'm no fanboy -- I pride myself on objectivity, and this infographic just ain't it.

Postby S_2NR » October 28th, 2011, 2:38 am

lol @ iphones always getting updates.
why do ppl save shsh's again..? :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2011, 1:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:lol @ iphones always getting updates.
why do ppl save shsh's again..? :lol:
shsh's are for people who are trying to jailbreak and unlock the device against the manufacturers support.

fact remains that android is still grossly fragmented between a multitude of versions and devices. Every week there is a new device or OS flavour. It is the main reason why I won't switch to android just yet.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 28th, 2011, 5:07 pm

if ur worried about updates, then get the flagship Android device aka Nexus. simple :|

Postby M_2NR » October 28th, 2011, 5:34 pm

mitch wrote:if ur worried about updates, then get the flagship Android device aka Nexus. simple :|

would you say in your experience that ALL apps have a similar format and that one button does one thing in a said app while in another... it does something else? in other words, nothing is standardized?
that's the idea i get from some android users.

rodfarva wrote:Mail stopped being pushed to my phone since the IOS5 update
not jailbroken here

hmm... i never use push anyway, wanna try boxcar for push for the time being? i think SRASC has the same issue