3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » January 6th, 2015, 8:30 pm

Guys fish red senators in 600ft normal. A torium or a saltist with a 6:1 is cake. 50lb braid and 16-36oz depending on current. An electric is rell money if you just doing that a few times for the year.
Guys who buy those dropping regular for tiles and snowies in 200+ fathoms.

30hz

Postby 30hz » January 7th, 2015, 12:48 pm

the version we have came with 1000ft already spooled. not sure of size , but definitely not 1000.

the area off patos where we go usually has strong currents 75% of the time. the 10lb sinker starts bouncing when its bad. the electric reel works like that all day long while the rest of guys changing lines, lures, rods, sinkers etc every 45mins to adjust for conditions. reeling in 300ft of braid every 15 minutes for an occasional 4lb slamon and cro cro is not my idea of fun. We usually leave the electric banking, while the rest of the crew current drift poppers, deep divers, soft lures, spoons etc.... which we retrieve hoping for something else interesting, maybe grouper, cavali or some big ancho.

between the 4 or 5 men fishing on the boat, the electric reel man usually catches more than half of the total.

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » January 7th, 2015, 1:22 pm

I usually catch 1/2 of the fish myself wit my deep drop combo (fathom 4O on ah carnage)...u wasting dat electric reel bro...hav real nice spots in the bocas where u cud kill some nice reds (>15lbs) and yellow wing grouper...not to talk bout the north where u cud hold amberjack, grouper and tilefish....I wanna hit dem spots with mine so I rather more line than heavier...sure u hav not more than 400yds of 250lbs braid...but on d north U don't need too much line...

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 7th, 2015, 7:14 pm

Yea fellas looking to make a fishing trip soon up north side... Any info would be greatly appreciated

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 7th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Need some info for any reliable boatmen to hire

Postby meccalli » January 7th, 2015, 7:47 pm

I like the sport with hand cranking as a recreational fisherman, but if you sell fish its a really good investment to tap resources that alot of other guys can't.
You could probably cut down the load on your reel if you topshot with some 80lb braid and use a regular banking style or deep drop sinker, the downrigger ball presents a lot of surface area to the current which is why you'll probably get some blowback when the tide ripping.

30hz

Postby 30hz » January 7th, 2015, 8:18 pm

was looking for for those long style heavy sinkers but we had the downrigger balls already. ah pardna actually have 3 electric reels(2 daiwa baitcast type,1 big heavy krystal), that we alternate, he's a former boat owner who hopes to get back into the boat game soon, so all the equipment just put down, dry rotting. We just 'exercising' the equipment so that they good for when we really ready for them. Have to stretch the spearguns(jbl) out soon too

proton17

Postby proton17 » January 11th, 2015, 8:43 pm

Manzan water nice, a few more weeks and it will be crystal clear though, just a few catfish today though.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 11th, 2015, 9:41 pm

Went out banking in d gulf today...was hard work today...come out wit ah few ancho bout 3-5lbs, some salmon, racando an Ah few other mix fish...

Postby *KRONIK* » January 12th, 2015, 6:47 am

I was out there too...LOL.....

nothing much....

3 cro cro
2 reds
2 catfish
2 something else

20150111_172205.jpg

proton17

Postby proton17 » January 12th, 2015, 7:13 am

Pressure fellas, like them fish in d gulf gone more west in deeper waters or dey just getting smarter.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 12th, 2015, 10:20 am

Ulyuh cud identify this fish? Someone said eel salmon...

Postby meccalli » January 12th, 2015, 10:59 am

It's some sort of deep water cod. moridae family.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 12th, 2015, 10:59 am

I was saying it looking like ah cod...

Postby Razkal » January 12th, 2015, 11:17 am

could be wrong but it looks like a Cusk Eel, closest I found was Monomitopus agassizii.

Postby SMc » January 12th, 2015, 11:41 am

Ive never seen one of those before and I have done quite a bit of banking in the past...looked up cusk eel (Bearded Brotula) and that seems to match .

nice one

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 12th, 2015, 3:41 pm

that is one interesting looking fish, what was the depth and approximate location?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 13th, 2015, 12:10 am

Depth was around 380+ft and location is ah mark we have to the north of the 3rd on the gulf side...

Postby TRAE » January 13th, 2015, 9:27 am

water is south stinkkkkkkkkkkkk- caught 25 catfish and 1 3lb ricando

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 13th, 2015, 11:01 am

ryan99tt wrote:Depth was around 380+ft and location is ah mark we have to the north of the 3rd on the gulf side...

nice,

anybody ever see a book from 1911 called "Sea Fishes of Trinidad" by Harry Vincent? was able to view a copy recently.

he listed a number of banks, with approximate locations all around the bocas.

I tried two so far, scored with one, a falling tide bank, not too deep but some nice ancho and reds and some fat bechine too. But it calls for precision anchoring, once you a little off you fall in mud and is only giant stingray.

This year i want to try some of the deeper banks around the third and grand bocas that the book identified, a little later in the year when the breeze die down.

Postby TRAE » January 13th, 2015, 11:15 am

link to book?

Postby Redman » January 13th, 2015, 11:31 am

I actually have it PDF-I have no idea why

pm YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS if any of you want it.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 13th, 2015, 12:10 pm

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 13th, 2015, 12:11 pm

Postby meccalli » January 13th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Those banks are well known though. All those chag men know them marks for real years now, usually they drop pots/ set lines and the amount of fish just not there anymore. You might get some luck in the deeper spots.

newto4x4

Postby newto4x4 » January 13th, 2015, 12:47 pm

drop ho

Postby drop ho » January 13th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Pulled d trigger on a 8000 battle. What do you guys recommend in terms of a pole to match?

Postby dougla_boy » January 13th, 2015, 10:44 pm

Last week me an some brethrens went out...i caught nothing for the first few hours...water was ruff AF....end up in a place call parliament....caught a salmon, cro cro...ling ling....real eel...an a few small salmon....not bad tbh.....thinking about going end of february....any tips for first time owner of a rod?

Postby meccalli » January 13th, 2015, 11:13 pm

Feel the line with your finger at all times while waiting for the bite, use the rod as an extension of your arm just to strike and then pump the fish and allow the rod to keep tension at all times along with your reeling. If the fish not big, just reel lol.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 14th, 2015, 4:40 am

Using braid helps to feel bites at greater depths...use some circle hooks if u don't have braid and u will get more hookups...