Exodus Ch32 v26-29 wrote:26then Moses stood in the gate of the camp and said, "Who is on the LORD’s side? Come to me." And all the sons of Levi gathered around him. 27And he said to them, "Thus says the LORD God of Israel, 'Put your sword on your side each of you, and go to and fro from gate to gate throughout the camp, and each of you kill his brother and his companion and his neighbor.'" 28And the sons of Levi did according to the word of Moses. And that day about three thousand men of the people fell. 29And Moses said, "Today you have been ordained for the service of the LORD, each one at the cost of his son and of his brother, so that he might bestow a blessing upon you this day."
megadoc1 wrote:great!!! so now d spike in all of this,how did you manage to come up with this?
pioneer wrote:LOL@ the long copy/paste replies from the religionists
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ there are fundamentalists in every religion and rightfully so
There is an argument that all religious people should be fundamentalists, because you cannot be half of a religion (half muslim, somewhat christian or kinda hindu), you need to follow a religion completely, in it's entirety. You cannot pick and choose what you want to practice and what you don't.
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:great!!! so now d spike in all of this,how did you manage to come up with this?
As usual, you didn't read one bit of what I wrote. Thanks for avoiding actually making a response to what was posted... You never fail in this regard.pioneer wrote:LOL@ the long copy/paste replies from the religionists
What else was I to do?
He spouted a set of errant nonsense, and while he might refuse to learn, it is important that empty-headed folks (who might read his posts and consider that he might be right) get to see the facts involved (of which he is either ignorant, or hoping don't come to light) in order to recognize his codswallop for what it is.
My apologies to all those who prefer large font, gaudy pictures, and short sentences with small words.
mr d spike I asked you this question because of the fallacy you blatantly committed.d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:great!!! so now d spike in all of this,how did you manage to come up with this?
As usual, you didn't read one bit of what I wrote. Thanks for avoiding actually making a response to what was posted... You never fail in this regard.
Well, if you are going to swallow everything in the bible wholesale, you are going to end up in a certifiable mess, as the bible is simply a massive collection of writings, made up of many books, written by people who differed in outlook, religious beliefs, and culture. There are writings within the bible that contradict other writings within the bible...
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:maybe because what bible I use have nothing to do with what we were talking about............d spike wrote:d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:...so what are you really asking? Luther rejecting scripture have nothing to do with me...
I follow Jesus not Luther.
How nice...
Cut a long story short... which "Bible" do you use?
Something wrong, megadoc? Why is this question so hard to answer? It's not like I'm asking you why God allows kiddies to be raped...
Nice duck.
Wait a minute... weren't we talking about the Bible? Which one do you accept as a proper translation?
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:d spike wrote: Which one do you accept as a proper translation?
...to a new christian I will suggest the kjv or nasb
The KJV and the NASB, while the former is great literature and the latter is a decent modern translation, are both lacking certain books which were in the Septuagint, and so are not complete - which then raises the question whether they can be accepted as 'proper' translations.megadoc1 wrote:the fact is the bible (the books)is an actual collection of books that is believed to be inspired (God breathed.)by God, Christians because of their faith in Jesus, can recognise the work of God hence the compilation of the bible....
So these very Christians accept books, such as Maccabees, and compile them with others in the Bible, as they considered them all "inspired", and Luther comes along hundreds of years later and tosses them out, simply because they don't fit his concept of his religion (he even modifies other parts of the Bible, admitting to rewording, even creating, new phrases)... to the point where his errors are upheld for decades, some for centuries...
...and you come claimingmegadoc1 wrote:the fact is the bible (the books)is an actual collection of books that is believed to be inspired (God breathed.)by God, Christians because of their faith in Jesus, can recognise the work of God hence the compilation of the bible....
...yet you consider bibles that uphold Luther's errors (and lack books of scripture) as proper translations...
My point is:
How can you consider the compilation of scripture to be "inspired", and the "Word of God"... yet quite happily ignore other perfectly acceptable books thatchose to throw out?megadoc1 wrote: a man (who) can do as he choose
You spout this knee-jerk claptrap:megadoc1 wrote: Luther rejecting scripture have nothing to do with me...
I follow Jesus not Luther.
...and then recommend two translations that hold to Luther's decisions regarding their content.
You still need to think about what you write before you hit that 'Submit' button. (I've told you this already moons ago, haven't I?)
You might think you are "following Jesus", but you are actually walking down Luther's path.
...but don't take my word for it... do some actual research for once... at least "google" Luther, for crying out loud, if finding an encyclopaedia is too much for you... see for yourself.megadoc1 wrote:...one of the reasons why the kjv is preferred by many is that at the time of its translation, there wasn't alot of the "agendas" we have in this modern day
Agendas like preferring accurate translation? Please... the KJV is preferred because its archaic tongue gives it an "official" sound, which simple folk like to hear... "Yeah man, dat soun' like de real ting!"
dtp wrote:
pioneer and d spike [edited] u all b negative about god seriously
megadoc1 wrote:dtp wrote:
c'mon how yuh could say that ? d spike is a very intelligent fella and has added some valuable stuff on here and I am grateful for being exposed to this kind of stuff
..and as for pioneer ,doh be on he.
show some respect nah
dtp wrote:u don't need religion to d spiritually strong
u all no d more u all try to find fault in god u are sealing your own fate
megadoc1 wrote:mr d spike I asked you this question because of the fallacy you blatantly committed.
anyone can look back and see that you made a claim that, is an external argument to the churchWell, if you are going to swallow everything in the bible wholesale, you are going to end up in a certifiable mess, as the bible is simply a massive collection of writings, made up of many books, written by people who differed in outlook, religious beliefs, and culture. There are writings within the bible that contradict other writings within the bible...
then seek to substantiate it with an internal argument within the church...
then delivered your selected side of the argument...
then added to it the "dirt" you dug up on luther and attempted to find me guilty by associating me with luther through our similar beliefs ......
megadoc1 wrote:but because after all this I still manage to hold my position and despite the fact that all what you just argued for contradicts what you started with
you turn around and accuse me of refusing to learn or not reading what you wrote?
Bravo!!!
megadoc1 wrote:and to top it yuh still can't tell me what version of the bible you think I should consider using ,one that you find acceptable.
d spike wrote:The KJV and the NASB, while the former is great literature and the latter is a decent modern translation
d spike wrote:when they (a believer) ask me, I tell them.
megadoc1 wrote:anyone can look back and see that you made a claim that, is an external argument to the church
then seek to substantiate it with an internal argument within the church...
then delivered your selected side of the argument...
wow ...I see your logic here and it makes for a great argument ...I would have to take some ... wait a minute this is flawed....................d spike wrote:As stated previously (and often), your concept of Christianity is warped, as is your sense of logic. Claiming that the Bible shouldn't be taken literally is NOT an "external argument to the church". This belief of understanding the scriptures in the context in which they were written is quite acceptable within mainstream/orthodox Christianity.
You don't agree with this. You accept the Bible completely, literally.
Therefore I raised an argument that would make an intelligent person realize the error made here:
If a person accepts the Bible literally, and is shown that the scripture they hold is actually incomplete, then they would be faced with a choice: either accept the missing books as scripture (as they originally were), or admit that the Bible is made up of writings that differ in quality - in other words, it is not all "inspired". To admit the latter (which is what all fundamentalists do initially) would then negate the idea that the original compilers of the Bible were led "by the Spirit", as history clearly shows many of those who chose the books later "tossed" by Luther were of the opinion that they too were inspired. Could their "connection" with the Spirit have been "intermittent"? No, of course not. All believers in the Holy Spirit would tell you that He either leads you, or not.
To admit the former would be to accede to beliefs that fundamentalists have major problems with, such as "Purgatory"... leaving only one other option: that while the scripture may be inspired, it is also the writings of men, human expressions of the divine... each in its own way telling its own story. There is a clear difference between the qualitative link with reality that exists in the Gospel of Luke and that of Genesis.
...but like I said, this argument only works with an intelligent person...
megadoc1 wrote:when speaking about inspired scripture we refer to the writing of the text or the books but . here you assume inspiration regarding the action of the compilers that you cunningly based your argument on........ you cannot use the actions of the early compilers and even the later, Luther (the toss outer) to determine whether scripture is inspired or not
thats bs!
the inspired scriptures are insulated from the actions of the ones who compiled them
simply because the compilers were just that, the compilers, who decided what belong in the bible cannon for use in the church based on their (the compilers' )tradition , the scriptures claiming inspiration,a quarrel or two and a vote
The Greek word for canon stands for measure, rule for judgement, or authoritative standard.
then on what spiritual authority did they compile? Their "Tradition"? Whatever you think it was, if you think that was not good enough, then what makes the Bible any more relevant to you than, say, the Koran? Or better?the inspired scriptures are insulated from the actions of the ones who compiled them
simply because the compilers were just that, the compilers
you cannot use the actions of the early compilers to determine whether scripture is inspired or not
my illogic ?....lol yuh mean your psuedo logic.d spike wrote:Thank you for bringing this to an end with your illogic. You have just clearly demonstrated your inability to rationalize your point of view.
ok then....are they inspired or are they not inspired ? what are we working with? this argument, really have to do with your claim that "they should not be taken wholesale else you will end up in a certifiable mess" if they were inspired how then would one end up in a certifiable mess when taking them wholesale?d spike wrote:The argument is not whether the books were inspired or not, but how the books were chosen.
no that's not the crux of the matter, it is , but in you secondary argument, the one that you attempted substantiate your former claim with , which the crux of the matter, is really about how one would end up in a certifiable messd spike wrote:The books were written and existed separately, and had to be compiled in order for that worthy tome, the Bible, to exist. The crux of the matter is who compiled them, and how.
agreed! but here you seek to extinguish the human element of the matter on the compilers part but only attempt to reintroduce it when drawing your conclusion against the writings themselvesd spike wrote:These writings are not part of a scientific theory that could be debated and proven right or wrong. They are based on faith.
Faith is what cannot be proven.
Therefore in order to decide which books were inspired writings, the goodly folk who had to make these decisions, had to rely on their faith, and the guidance of the Holy Spirit who they believed in - as you, no doubt, do.
leaving only one other option: that while the scripture may be inspired, it is also the writings of men, human expressions of the divine... each in its own way telling its own story
tradition is not a spiritual authorithy...d spike wrote:So to consider your point:then on what spiritual authority did they compile? Their "Tradition"?the inspired scriptures are insulated from the actions of the ones who compiled them
d spike wrote: Whatever you think it was, if you think that was not good enough, then what makes the Bible any more relevant to you than, say, the Koran? Or better?
you assume that it was good then but there is not much information on opinions of men regarding the books before this disagreement surfaced, who knows they could have been similar to that of luther or beter or worse... the fact that there was a need to canonize the scriptures speaks a lotd spike wrote:If it was good enough, then why did Luther think differently?
(...remember that history has shown quite clearly the errors of that deluded gentleman who suffered from a vile mixture of good and worthy intentions and a superiority complex)
by vote? tradition?, familiarity? ,personal agenda? lol... I belive its the scripture themselves that determined whether they are inspired or notd spike wrote:you cannot use the actions of the early compilers to determine whether scripture is inspired or not
So how were they able to make those decisions?
If that is the opinion you hold ,I can't really help yuh dey however this have nothing to do with what is being discussed, unless this is the position that you considered as the "certifiable mess "d spike wrote:Your personal conflict as a fundamentalist that is caused by your holding the Bible in extremely high esteem, yet your low opinion of the compilers of the Bible (because they are not your brand of Christians) is quite evident.
sorry I was not speaking to youd spike wrote:Thank you for your pleasant (but quite unecessary) Greek lesson. My Greek and Latin is sufficient for these discussions. I would advise you to focus on your English (which has greatly improved, I must say - please keep it up) and more so on your History.
sMASH wrote:i may be wrong, but what i think mega is trying to say is that no matter how the book was compiled, like who did it, and what every they were going through, the end result was what was supposed to happen any way, that god intended it to reach that state.
is like in popular christianity self: the jews did all sorts of crazy stuff and killed jesus, but he was supposed to die anyway...
megadoc1 wrote:my illogic ?....lol yuh mean your psuedo logic.
I may have demonstrated my inability to rationalize my point of view but that
does not negate he fact that your line of reasoning invented to support your claim was
full of illogic and cunningry ...I see no need for your attempt to shift the focus on me instead of what is actually being discussed ...are distractions a part of you technique?
megadoc1 wrote:ok then....are they inspired or are they not inspired ? what are we working with?d spike wrote:The argument is not whether the books were inspired or not, but how the books were chosen.
megadoc1 wrote:this argument, really have to do with your claim that "they should not be taken wholesale else you will end up in a certifiable mess" if they were inspired how then would one end up in a certifiable mess when taking them wholesale?
this argument that you are now putting forward is to corroborate your former claim.
who are you trying to convince ?
d spike wrote:while the scripture may be inspired, it is also the writings of men, human expressions of the divine... each in its own way telling its own story. There is a clear difference between the qualitative link with reality that exists in the Gospel of Luke and that of Genesis.
megadoc1 wrote: but here you seek to extinguish the human element of the matter on the compilers part but only attempt to reintroduce it when drawing your conclusion against the writings themselves
"Tradition" was your suggestion, not mine.megadoc1 wrote:tradition is not a spiritual authorithy...d spike wrote:So to consider your point:then on what spiritual authority did they compile? Their "Tradition"?the inspired scriptures are insulated from the actions of the ones who compiled them
megadoc1 wrote:the inspired scriptures are insulated from the actions of the ones who compiled them
simply because the compilers were just that, the compilers, who decided what belong in the bible cannon for use in the church based on their (the compilers' )tradition
(Typing... slowly... so... that... you... might... understand...) The people who compiled the scriptures into one book.megadoc1 wrote:I think your question should be, on what authority did they compile which is a good question but who are the "they" you are speaking of?
Apart from the Septuagint, what else was compiled? Engage brain before releasing mout', nah man...megadoc1 wrote: seeing that the argument regarding cannon was between already compiled scriptures..
megadoc1 wrote:you assume that it was good then but there is not much information on opinions of men regarding the books before this disagreement surfacedd spike wrote:If it was good enough, then why did Luther think differently?
(...remember that history has shown quite clearly the errors of that deluded gentleman who suffered from a vile mixture of good and worthy intentions and a superiority complex)
your low opinion of the compilers of the Bible (because they are not your brand of Christians)
megadoc1 wrote: who knows they could have been similar to that of luther or beter or worse...
megadoc1 wrote:the fact that there was a need to canonize the scriptures speaks a lot
megadoc1 wrote:by vote? tradition?, familiarity? ,personal agenda? lol... I belive its the scripture themselves that determined whether they are inspired or notd spike wrote:you cannot use the actions of the early compilers to determine whether scripture is inspired or not
So how were they able to make those decisions?
megadoc1 wrote:If that is the opinion you hold ,I can't really help yuh dey however this have nothing to do with what is being discussed, unless this is the position that you considered as the "certifiable mess "d spike wrote:Your personal conflict as a fundamentalist that is caused by your holding the Bible in extremely high esteem, yet your low opinion of the compilers of the Bible (because they are not your brand of Christians) is quite evident.
megadoc1 wrote: d spike is a very intelligent fella and has added some valuable stuff on here and I am grateful for being exposed to this kind of stuff
megadoc1 wrote:sorry I was not speaking to you
I would hate to ask what use one would have for a cannon in the church...megadoc1 wrote: who decided what belong in the bible cannon for use in the church
ah! the fundamental difference is that in the case of the monkeys, we already know the outcome we are expecting i.e. Shakespeare's work. However in the case with evolution, we do NOT know what the outcome will look like. We have no idea what humans will look like or act like in 3 million years from now.sMASH wrote:that monkey/shakespere analogy, i heard that before. but i think he means that self.
but which has the better odds, a room full of monkeys typing out the works of shakespere, or repeated chemical reactions becoming more complex, eventually after millions of years resulting in human consciousness?