Kasey wrote:^^Spikey, I really dont know where u get the motivation to continue this argument with this twat na.
d spike wrote:I used to read this, Bluefete's "God" thread, in amazement (while not the most accurate word, that's the most polite word I can use to describe how I felt), but I never even wished to voice an opinion. This decision was based on my experiences regarding discussions amongst differing faiths. While it sounds like a good idea to compare differences, observe similarities, and generally learn of different ways of looking at the same thing, this never works for religion, unless the persons involved share a strong sense of trust, respect, wisdom and maturity - as well as a very good grasp of language.
Thus it is that whenever average people discuss religion (especially Christianity) it soon turns into either a competition, an evangelistic affair, or a fight - or all three, in that order.
But then someone I know, who is fed up of the nonsense that passes for the fundamentalist view on Tuner, started a 'religiously-themed' thread just to see how foolish these goodly folk could get - and lad, did they ever.
Then I realised that the only view representing those who consider the teachings of the Christ more than just interesting, were a handful of blinded literalists whose only knowledge of scripture was what they were fed.
And here was my conundrum: When I read Bluefete's thread, I was quite certain the spouted nonsense I came across was precisely that - because of what I knew. Suppose I didn't know... then my assumption would be that despite whatever sense Jesus' words might make, his followers are all complete imbeciles. If a drink has a magnificent bouquet, but all who drink it go mad - then bet your last cent I ain't tasting it.
And so I decided (against the better judgment of most of my peers) to attempt to be the voice of reason - not for the benefit of Bluefete, or Sir Civic, or this Megadoc1... but for the curiously minded who might otherwise shy away from delving into what could result in a better understanding of why we all are here.
d spike wrote:It brings me no comfort to know that there are creatures like you out there, pretending to know God and foisting your second-hand beliefs that you don't even fully understand (stories and lessons half-heard and badly told) on others, mainly doing this in an attempt to salve your insecurities and low self-esteem, only succeeding in scaring away people from a deeper understanding of reality. For this reason, I carry on (not for your benefit, for you have made it clear that you are incapable of learning - you never took my advice about studying your faith properly, did you?) but for the sake of younger folks who might be reading your colossally nonsensical rantings and mistake them for the product of a truly christian mind.
d spike wrote:megadoc, everyone reading this realizes that you are being infantile, at best, or bordering on insane, at worst.
Ever since you started trying to refute and nullify my statements in the other thread, you have made it very clear that you do not understand basic logic (on which all arguments, including religious ones, are founded); your grasp of Christianity is the little scraps you gathered in haste to shield yourself from some occultist crap you got yourself involved while screwing around (I get you'll refute that too, huh?); your use of language is pathetic; and you lack any sense of common courtesy.
I have told you time and again, I have no problem with anyone's beliefs - it's their cramming it down the throats of others that I refuse to accept.
I guess you can't remember this, can you?d spike wrote:...it's a case of getting you to realize that your dogmatic fundamentalism blinds you to the truth of Jesus' teachings: one of brotherhood, forgiveness and love. You deny these truths, conveniently quoting the hellfire n' damnation stuff... any part of scripture that promotes your "us" versus "them" football-match style of religion... ignoring the pivotal/focal points of those same scriptures...
You really think that I don't know what you're attempting to do?
I will not be baited.
Ever since we crossed paths, you keep going on and on about the knowledge and intellect that you presume I possess (I often wonder why you are so hung up about it)...
...you want nothing more than for me to side with you against the 'heathens and non-believers' in your glorious football-match style of religion, and it annoys the hell out of you that I don't...
you are upset that I do not come here to give the 'heathens and non-believers' a massive blow-out...
... it irks you that someone like me with all my (how was it you put it?) "high knowledge and logic" refuses to see the point of sitting on the same bench with you...
And this is what truly has been bugging you all this time!
The other thing that bugs poor ole megadoc about me is that I won't come out and spew my beliefs on this forum.
My claim that my own religion is my own business rattles him no end.
Simply because I refuse to admit or deny in an anonymous yet public forum is not proof of anything except my appreciation for privacy.
The problem fundamentalist Christians have with the debate of salvation (faith vs. works/charity) is that to believe in the possibility of good works acquiring merit, would then negate their stance on salvation ‘through faith alone’. For them to therefore assume that charity is worth anything is dangerous. Thus, they claim that only the ‘saved’ benefit from doing charity – an obviously self-nullifying statement, for if one is saved, then why the need for good works? (How they wish Luther was able to rid them of St. James’ letter!) So they come up with these convoluted explanations (in order to rid themselves of his arguments) of what they say he meant to say... yet these fly in the face of what St. James was saying quite clearly!
True enough... but you are not in that category... not by a long shot...
Even folks who thought they were following Christ, and just made complete fools of themselves and their fellow Christians, were put to death (found what they were looking for, I presume)... the clowns, for example, who interrupted a procession of Venus in Rome in which the Emperor's niece was present, tearing down banners and garlands, breaking the statue of Venus, with cries of "Woe!" and "Repent!"... the Emperor's Guard responded by later locking them inside the house they met in, and burning it to the ground.
...but you are not in that category either...
No one is persecuting you for your belief in Christ. You were being mocked for your blind, deaf and dotish attitude (your inability to interact efficiently with others) not your belief. And what you received here isn't PERSECUTION, my soft-skinned friend. Ridicule isn't persecution by any stretch of the imagination. If you want to know what persecution is, go ask a Holocaust survivor.
You weren't paying attention in Sunday school class when they explained all the stuff you eventually got wrong, were you? No, you were too busy day-dreaming about how you would post up wonderfully literate and concise writings on the internet...
sMASH wrote:hoss, my head huttin tryin to figure out what mega on about now. all i could see is that spike showing him that the bible has errors and that complete acceptance is not advisable. i was attempting to show that very much earlier,
mega, accept that the bible has errors, and simple errors, and move on,,, oh gosh man. no body tellin u not to follow it, juss do so with a pinch of salt and a lil bit of honesty.
it is my personal belief that part of the wildness of a christian's belief is because of the words they use and the way in which they use them.
that complete acceptance is not advisable
no body tellin u not to follow it, juss do so with a pinch of salt and a lil bit of honesty.
K74T wrote:Anyone read that full page article on pg 17 in today's express?A priest who saw heaven, hell, and purgatory - The death experience of Father Jose Maniyangat
Purgatory
After the visit to hell, my Guardian Angel escorted me to purgatory.
Here too, there are seven degrees of suffering and unquenchable fire. But it is
far less intense than hell and there was neither quarreling nor fighting.
The main suffering of these souls is their separation from God. Some of those
who are in purgatory committed numerous mortal sins, but they were reconciled
with God before their death. Even though these souls are suffering, they enjoy
peace and the knowledge that one day they will see God face to face.
I had a chance to communicate with the souls in purgatory. They asked me
to pray for them and to tell the people to pray for them as well, so they can
go to heaven quickly. When we pray for these souls, we will receive their
gratitude through their prayers, and once they enter heaven, their prayers
become even more meritorious.
d spike wrote:sMASH wrote:...is the eternal part that bothers me. is either u go to heaven or to hell, and both are eternal. but the fact of the matter is that there are many gray areas, where people believe in god and make mistakes, but some mistakes are not as easily forgiven and some are but a purposely done.
I know only the basics of Islam, as my focus always was elsewhere, so please tell me if I am wrong about this statement:
Don't Muslims believe that their concept of hell is a temporary place of punishment for some, eternal for others? Sinful believers who go to hell, will eventually be removed after suffering for a while and taken to heaven, and those who reject God will remain there eternally?
I always thought that was a remarkable belief, as it mirrors a similar belief of early Christians, as well as Jews and Messianics, that God will show mercy to worthy sinners after death.
The Jews have a tradition of praying for their dead, so that the souls would be freed from their painful state of purification, and sooner sent on their journey to God.
One biblical reference to this was in the deuterocanonical "Second book of the Maccabees", where we are told that the prayers for the dead help free them from sin.
Luther didn't care for this book, as he was trying to stop the sale of "instant" prayers for the dead (called "indulgences"), so this was one of the books he tossed into the refuse pile, refusing to accept it as "inspired" writings.
Early Christians also prayed for the dead. One inscription from A.D. 190 says: "Abercius by name, I am a disciple of the chaste shepherd...He taught me…faithful writings...These words, I, Abercius, standing by, ordered to be inscribed. In truth, I was in the course of my seventy-second year. Let him who understands and believes this pray for Abercius."
Origen, in A.D. 244, and Tertullian, in A.D. 210 both wrote about, and strongly recommended praying for the dead.
In an apocryphal story called "The Acts of Paul and Thecla", written in A.D. 160, a character is asked to pray for a dead person, so that the deceased may be "transferred to the place of the just".
There are actually parts of the New Testament that reflect this ancient belief shared by early Christians that there is forgiveness beyond the grave - bearing in mind that Christians believe once you end up in hell, you stay there.
In St. Matthew's Gospel, Jesus says, “And anyone who says a word against the Son of man will be forgiven; but no one who speaks against the Holy Spirit will be forgiven either in this world or in the next.” Jesus' words clearly shows that there is forgiveness after death. The phrase “in the next” (from the Greek “en to mellonti”) generally refers to the afterlife. Why specify a lack of "forgiveness" for certain sins there? Unless forgiveness is offered there for others, one must suppose.
In St. Luke's Gospel, Jesus speaks figuratively about the final judgment, saying when the Master comes (at the end of time), some will receive light or heavy beatings but they will live. This state is not heaven or hell, because in heaven there is no punishment, and in hell no one will be "living with the Master".
In Paul's first letter to the Corinthians, Paul mentions people being baptized on behalf of the dead, in the context of atoning for their sins (people are baptized on the dead’s behalf so the dead can be raised). These dead people cannot be in heaven because they are still with sin, but they also cannot be in hell because then their sins could no longer be atoned for.
In Paul's second letter to Timothy, Onesiphorus is dead but Paul asks for mercy on him.
In Hebrews, the spirits of just men who died in godliness are "made" perfect.
Of course, the Catholics go to town on this belief that worthy sinners can be cleansed after death, making them pure to enter heaven, even giving it a name coined in the eleventh or twelfth century, Purgatory.
The Eastern Church, while it agrees with the concept of a state of cleansing for the soul after death, doesn't agree on the concept of an actual laundry.![]()
While good old Luther tossed out the concept of "Purgatory", the Lutheran Church does see the need to pray for the dead.
On the other hand, while present-day Methodists don't believe in any such thing, John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, believed in an intermediate state between death and the final judgment and in the possibility of "continuing to grow in holiness there".
So, Smash, I think that there is a part of the Big Man's design, that will be able to assist those that strive to do what is right. For we all are human and not perfect.
Christianity teaches that God accepts the human condition, and whatever efforts on our part are made, are sanctified and made perfect by him.
Fundamentalists won't approve of anything I have said here, but that won't change the fact that these things were said and done long before the originators of their tithe-collecting institutions got the brainwave to strike out on their own, in order to stop Daddy from hogging all the business.
Cheers
MG Man wrote:MG Man wrote:I met him in a back alley............I stabbed him and he died.........
for those who missed page 1
bluefete wrote:Anyone willing to share an experience that happened to you that convinced you that God is real?
d spike wrote:To believe in personal salvation is all well and good, but that cannot be the be-all-and-end-all of your religion... The mantra of "I am saved!" cannot be the focal point of the human relationship with the Creator - this is a very selfish viewpoint. To have a "personal relationship with God" is a good thing, but we were put here as a people, to achieve something as a people. (One reason why suicide is wrong.) Life is beautiful, but too short for an individual to achieve God's plan (if there is one) on his own. We each go through life, meeting far too many individuals, to interact fully with each... far too many problems and ills exist for any one of us to deal with - alone. We can run to a "God" for solace, but in every example of this, we are told that the answer lies within us as a people. We are "Christ" to each other - or whatever you want to call it.
We are called as a people to achieve something wonderful, over time (hence the reason for procreation) and this is what was meant for us.
The world isn't going to end in a fit of God's anger and frustration with our inability to do what's right (that would mean the Devil won and God failed, wouldn't it?) but when we succeed in doing our part in the Great Scheme of things/"God's plan".
d spike wrote:trdboy wrote:dspike what is the purpose of creation?? is it not to worship???d spike wrote:Most Christians should view 'worship' as the simple and true answer to this question, but it isn't really complete - as the concept of 'worship' differs. 'Worship' can easily be seen as meaning the joyous (and sometimes cacophonous) shouting and singing one sees being 'performed'... but this is just a very small part (and optional) part of what 'worship' is.
If you give a young lad a bicycle, you would be rather upset if he never rides it. We were placed here among the Creation, to be part of it. One can worship the Creator by enjoying his Creation! (To further illustrate the point I wish to make: If you had a pretty wife, how would you show her every night how glad you were to be her husband? )
So if you think about it, those who enjoy life to the fullest, and revel in their existence, are worshiping God. (They, in some way, have clearly understood PART of why we are here - and they will discover more as they journey through life... BUT IN THEIR OWN TIME.
You need to ask yourself (NOT other people... Megadoc1 had it wrong from the starting line) if you believe Someone is in charge of this whole affair. If your answer is 'yes', then you need to trust that he has a plan - and you do your part. (Meddling in his affairs by messing with other people's lives isn't your part. To explain: we are all called to walk a path. Each of us has our own path. To stop walking in order to start directing traffic, or to go and drag people off their path to walk alongside you, may not be the best thing for that person.)
Now the worship of the Creator by man is of three basic types: individual, communal and universal. Individual worship is self-explanatory, as is communal. Universal worship (can't remember the proper scholastic term, but bear with me and my failing mind) concerns the Creator's plan for us, and is the main reason for our creation. We were brought into being - whether created in an instant, or brought into creation over a period of time (evolved?), is neither here nor there - as a race that propagates itself, and hands down knowledge across generations. This has to be for a reason. We are meant to achieve something... something good and wonderful... so wonderful, that everyone will be aware of it and its meaning... and the role the Creator played in all time. This is the plan. Its achievement will be the glory of our race, and to the greater glory of him who made us, and gave us the gifts to achieve. All will realize... "Every knee shall bow and every tongue confess..." (Unfortunately, many people see the end of our time here as cataclysmic - thanks to the apocalyptic idiom used by the Jews - and a sort of 'victory dance' for "us" to do over the defeated "them".)
You were asked to do this by witnessing. It is unfortunate that folks think witnessing means talking and preaching - far from it. Witnessing means to live your life in such a way, that what you believe is seen in what you do. Gandhi said, "I like your Christ, but I do not like your Christians." This was exactly what he was referring to. Remember this: 'What you are doing is speaking so loudly that I cannot hear what you say.'
Don't make the mistake of "judging others". Instead, say, "If I were like that and didn't change, I believe I would have a special place in hell." Reserve your ability to judge for yourself and your own actions - that is what it's for. Directing it outward warps it's ability to do good and to better oneself.
d spike wrote:The problem with faith is understanding it. Like everything else we have, it can grow, or diminish. Though faith seems to grow with application (will explain this) it isn't a muscle that grows DUE to flexing - a mistaken belief held by many, not just fundamentalists. Faith's seeming growth through application actually takes place due to consideration/reflection of past actions and consequences (the use of critical and analytical thinking)... NOT to the application itself - hence its direct link to human logic and intelligence.
Here is where fundamentalists part ways with reality. Faith grows with doubt. Only when you question, when you ask 'why', can your faith truly develop as the answer becomes apparent. The answer may take years, decades... but that is part of your journey. Sometimes, a negative answer seems to diminish or eradicate what faith is there, but that is not so. To search is to find... to find is to continue looking. That is our nature.
Fundamentalists refute this. Faith to them is the opposite of doubt - to doubt is to fail, to fall... To be totally adamant allows presumption to rear its head in your life, accompanied by blindedness.
Faith is not the roadway... it's the light you use to see your way more clearly.
d spike wrote:You know what I have found to be rather alarming? That there are people who will agree that each of us is unique... they will state that everyone is quite different... they will denounce organized religion for lumping humanity together... expound on the virtue of personal interpretation of scriptures... prate on about having Jesus as your personal saviour, and the importance of having a personal relationship with him...
...and then turn around and tell you that their perspective is THE right one... their interpretation of a book combined of many books, written by many different people from many different walks of life, spanning centuries, from differing cultures, different languages each with its own idioms, translated through different languages - sometimes by amateur translators who didn't fully understand the lingo - full of conflicting ideals and concepts, is THE proper interpretation...
rspann wrote:dspike,does it make a difference where,how and with whom, you take part in communal worship?,and if so, please explain.
d spike wrote:I have clearly stated that all persons will have their 'bias', due to personality, culture, upbringing, experiences, and so forth. Our personal choices are truly our own when we make them based on our exposure, experiences and learning. "To thine own self be true". The sign of maturity is in using one's own bias to judge what is right for oneself, but not letting it cloud one's judgment of others.
MG Man wrote:does it matter?
what is the point of that vid?
MG Man wrote:2nd one isa CNN story on an american woman who converted to islam after 911..........yippie
sMASH wrote:ah shucks, u can't see vids. is just to harass u a bit.
sMASH wrote:...the other is some people interpreting some early jesus stuff as him not being divine.
sMASH wrote:about worshiping in community, islamic custom is to not pass one mosque to worship at another. in other words, keep to your localized community first. one of the purposes of the friday prayers is to maintain links with the wider islamic community.
the giving of charity happens with the neighbors first, regardless of religion. it is said that if one goes to sleep content when their neighbor goes hungry, is not a muslim. u may think that is just to be a good sharing person, but it would entail that u know and interact and encourage some level of mutual trust and confidence with your neighbor to be privy to such information...
...it is said if some one encounters something wrong, one should work to correct it, if one cannot do something to change it one should speak out against it, and if u can't do that, then u should at least keep the belief that the action was wrong, and that just keeping the belief is the lowest form of faith.
MG Man wrote:sMASH, what's your take on the stone in the kabba (sp) at Mecca?
u really think it's a piece of heaven?
meteorite seems more likely............and seriously.............the way muslims forever condemning rituals, idolatry etc, I was surprised you guize try to touch / kiss the stone
huh
dtp wrote:MG Man wrote:sMASH, what's your take on the stone in the kabba (sp) at Mecca?
meteorite seems more likely............and seriously.............the way muslims forever condemning rituals, idolatry etc, I was surprised you guize try to touch / kiss the stone
huh
yes its a gateway
MG Man wrote:sMASH, what's your take on the stone in the kabba (sp) at Mecca?
huh
Muslim pilgrims jostle for a chance to kiss the Black Stone; if they are unable to kiss the stone because of the crowds, they can point towards the stone on each circuit with their right hand. In each complete circuit a person says "In the name of God, God is Great, God is Great, God is Great and praise be to God". Once people have kissed the stone a guard stands ready to push them away.
The Stone has suffered desecration and significant damage over the centuries. It is said to have been struck and smashed to pieces by a stone fired from a catapult during the Umayyad siege of Mecca in 756. The fragments were rejoined by 'Abd Allah ibn Zubayr using a silver ligament. In January 930 it was stolen by the Qarmatians, who carried the Black Stone away to their base in Hajar (modern Bahrain). According to Ottoman historian Qutb al-Din, writing in 1857, Qarmatian leader Abu Tahir al-Qarmati set the Black Stone up in his own mosque, the Masjid al-Dirar, with the intention of redirecting the Hajj away from Mecca. However, this failed, and pilgrims continued to venerate the spot where the Black Stone had been.
According to historian Al-Juwayni, the Stone was returned twenty-three years later, in 952. The Qarmatians held the Black Stone for ransom, and forced the Abbasids to pay a huge sum for its return. It was wrapped in a sack and thrown into the Friday Mosque of Kufa, accompanied by a note saying "By command we took it, and by command we have brought it back." Its abduction and removal caused further damage, breaking the stone into seven pieces. Its abductor, Abu Tahir, is said to have met a terrible fate; according to Qutb al-Din, "the filthy Abu Tahir was afflicted with a gangrenous sore, his flesh was eaten away by worms, and he died a most terrible death."
The Stone has been subjected to other indignities during its history. In the 11th century, a man allegedly sent by the Fatimid Caliph Al-Hakim bi-Amr Allah attempted to smash the Black Stone, but was killed on the spot, having caused only slight damage. In 1674, according to Johann Ludwig Burckhardt, someone smeared the Black Stone with excrement so that "every one who kissed it retired with a sullied beard".
In recent years, however, literalist views of the Black Stone have emerged. A small minority accepts as literally true an allegorical hadith which asserts that "the Stone will appear on the Day of Judgement (Qiyamah) with eyes to see and a tongue to speak, and give evidence in favor of all who kissed it in true devotion, but speak out against whoever indulged in gossip or profane conversations during his circumambulation of the Kaaba".
MG Man wrote:and here I thought it was the hindus who worshiped stones
huh
rspann wrote:dspike.if you open a church ,I joining for sure.
rspann wrote:What you said above is where I am right now.I born and grow in the adventist church(40 something years)and a few years ago,when I stopped studying the doctrines and their beliefs,and started studying the bible and reading a lot I realized I was on the wrong thing all the time.I eventually gave up on going to church,and would stay home and study instead.I realize now, the things that I told people(witnessing)was totally wrong
rspann wrote:but I am over all that now.