2010 and 2011 Tropical weather discussion

searchingone

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby searchingone » October 29th, 2010, 1:46 pm

rain in west currently.....therefore pos will be raining soon....therefore pos will be in a bigger mess than it already is....therefore i not going thru pos :|
Last edited by searchingone on November 5th, 2010, 6:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » October 29th, 2010, 1:48 pm

Traffic in St Augustine like that...

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » October 29th, 2010, 1:48 pm

lord fadda

JDM_GUY wrote:Traffic in St Augustine like that...

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2010, 1:48 pm

im waiting for NHC 2pm bulletin- they had a plane fly into d system so they should know if any thing develop yet

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 29th, 2010, 1:52 pm

redman2k8 wrote:i feel so too... to me it looking like the area closer to Trinidad dissipating... ent?

http://www.ssd.noaa.gov/goes/east/tatl/flash-avn.html" target="_blank" target="_blank

eekipoo wrote:hmm... so i watching the images and 5-6 inches of rain not looking possible for Trinidad maybe Tobago but not Trinidad. It looks like the wave moving more north than west which will carry it Tobago, Grenada and so on. What allyuh think?

True and from what I remember from previous storms the southern edge of these storms do not usually have weather as bad as the northern side. So a bold prediction we are not getting anywhere near five inches of rain

pups

Postby pups » October 29th, 2010, 1:56 pm

jus came home....went hilo grocery...water sell out.candles sellin out 2..long lines at gas stations

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2010, 1:58 pm

NHC- 90% chance now :shock:

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo_atl.shtml

ZCZC MIATWOAT ALL
TTAA00 KNHC DDHHMM
TROPICAL WEATHER OUTLOOK
NWS TPC/NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER MIAMI FL
200 PM EDT FRI OCT 29 2010

FOR THE NORTH ATLANTIC...CARIBBEAN SEA AND THE GULF OF MEXICO...

THE NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER IS ISSUING ADVISORIES ON TROPICAL
STORM SHARY...LOCATED ABOUT 155 MILES SOUTH-SOUTHWEST OF BERMUDA.

1. A STRONG TROPICAL WAVE LOCATED ABOUT 275 MILES SOUTHEAST OF THE
WINDWARD ISLANDS CONTINUES TO SHOW SIGNS OF ORGANIZATION. AN AIR
FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT IS CURRENTLY INVESTIGATING
THIS SYSTEM TO DETERMINE IF A TROPICAL DEPRESSION OR STORM HAS
FORMED. THERE IS A HIGH CHANCE...90 PERCENT...OF THIS DISTURBANCE
BECOMING A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS
AS IT MOVES
WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AT 15 TO 20 MPH. REGARDLESS OF DEVELOPMENT...
THIS SYSTEM IS EXPECTED TO BRING LOCALLY HEAVY RAINFALL AND STRONG
GUSTY WINDS TO TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE TO PORTIONS OF THE WINDWARD
ISLANDS DURING THE NEXT DAY OR SO.

2. A TROUGH OF LOW PRESSURE LOCATED ABOUT 1300 MILES EAST-SOUTHEAST OF
BERMUDA IS PRODUCING A DISORGANIZED AREA OF CLOUDINESS AND A FEW
SHOWERS. DEVELOPMENT OF THIS SYSTEM IS NOT EXPECTED DUE TO STRONG
UPPER-LEVEL WINDS. THERE IS A LOW CHANCE...NEAR 0 PERCENT...OF THIS
DISTURBANCE BECOMING A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS
IT MOVES WESTWARD NEAR 10 MPH.

ELSEWHERE...TROPICAL CYCLONE FORMATION IS NOT EXPECTED DURING THE
NEXT 48 HOURS.

PUBLIC ADVISORIES ON SHARY ARE ISSUED UNDER WMO HEADER WTNT35 KNHC
AND UNDER AWIPS HEADER MIATCPAT5. FORECAST/ADVISORIES ON SHARY ARE
ISSUED UNDER WMO HEADER WTNT25 KNHC AND UNDER AWIPS HEADER
MIATCMAT5.

$$
FORECASTER STEWART/CANGIALOSI
NNNN

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 29th, 2010, 2:04 pm

Humes wrote:I'm making sure to do my part by subtly spreading fear, uncertainty and doubt in this office.

hahahahahaha

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » October 29th, 2010, 2:07 pm

we getting away again...hahaha panic for nuttin...maximum 1inch of rain.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 29th, 2010, 2:09 pm

pups wrote:jus came home....went hilo grocery...water sell out.candles sellin out 2..long lines at gas stations

yuh want a candle and 650ml oasis water combo to buy? $50 :|

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2010, 2:09 pm

eekipoo wrote:we getting away again...hahaha panic for nuttin...maximum 1inch of rain.

a quarter inch rain is all we need for flood in some areas-

so panic

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » October 29th, 2010, 2:11 pm

:lol: :lol: but true

redmanjp wrote:
eekipoo wrote:we getting away again...hahaha panic for nuttin...maximum 1inch of rain.

a quarter inch rain is all we need for flood in some areas-

so panic

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 29th, 2010, 2:20 pm

ABNT20 KNHC 291746
TWOAT
TROPICAL WEATHER OUTLOOK
200 PM EDT FRI OCT 29 2010

A STRONG TROPICAL WAVE LOCATED ABOUT 275 MILES SOUTHEAST OF THE
WINDWARD ISLANDS CONTINUES TO SHOW SIGNS OF ORGANIZATION. AN AIR
FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT IS CURRENTLY INVESTIGATING
THIS SYSTEM TO DETERMINE IF A TROPICAL DEPRESSION OR STORM HAS
FORMED. THERE IS A HIGH CHANCE...90 PERCENT...OF THIS DISTURBANCE
BECOMING A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS IT MOVES
WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AT 15 TO 20 MPH. REGARDLESS OF DEVELOPMENT...
THIS SYSTEM IS EXPECTED TO BRING LOCALLY HEAVY RAINFALL AND STRONG
GUSTY WINDS TO TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE TO PORTIONS OF THE WINDWARD
ISLANDS DURING THE NEXT DAY OR SO.

A TROUGH OF LOW PRESSURE LOCATED ABOUT 1300 MILES EAST-SOUTHEAST OF
BERMUDA IS PRODUCING A DISORGANIZED AREA OF CLOUDINESS AND A FEW
SHOWERS. DEVELOPMENT OF THIS SYSTEM IS NOT EXPECTED DUE TO STRONG
UPPER-LEVEL WINDS. THERE IS A LOW CHANCE...NEAR 0 PERCENT...OF THIS
DISTURBANCE BECOMING A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS
IT MOVES WESTWARD NEAR 10 MPH.

ELSEWHERE...TROPICAL CYCLONE FORMATION IS NOT EXPECTED DURING THE
NEXT 48 HOURS.

PUBLIC ADVISORIES ON SHARY ARE ISSUED UNDER WMO HEADER WTNT35 KNHC
AND UNDER AWIPS HEADER MIATCPAT5. FORECAST/ADVISORIES ON SHARY ARE
ISSUED UNDER WMO HEADER WTNT25 KNHC AND UNDER AWIPS HEADER
MIATCMAT5.

$$
FORECASTER STEWART/CANGIALOSI

rizer

Postby rizer » October 29th, 2010, 2:25 pm

rain reach chaguanas...

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 2:28 pm

u seeing something we not seeing awha?

apple...say it.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 29th, 2010, 2:31 pm

eekipoo wrote:we getting away again....

Thanks south america....

Postby teems1 » October 29th, 2010, 2:32 pm

heard there was chaos in POS for the last boat to head to Sando at 2:30

apple

Postby apple » October 29th, 2010, 2:38 pm

Hook wrote:

apple...say it.

even tho yuh buff meh ah still love yuh

*goes to check supplies*

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 2:41 pm

apple wrote:
Hook wrote:

apple...say it.

even tho yuh buff meh ah still love yuh

*goes to check supplies*

lol...u eh check dat yet?!

Postby X_Factor » October 29th, 2010, 2:44 pm

anyone has an estimated time when we can expect the bad weather to start?

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2010, 2:44 pm

NHC

SPECIAL TROPICAL WEATHER OUTLOOK
240 PM EDT FRI OCT 29 2010

A STRONG TROPICAL WAVE...ACCOMPANIED BY A DEVELOPING LOW PRESSURE
SYSTEM...IS LOCATED ABOUT 225 MILES SOUTHEAST OF BARBADOS. DATA
FROM AN AIR FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING THE
SYSTEM THIS AFTERNOON INDICATES A CLOSED SURFACE CIRCULATION WITH
WINDS TO TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE IS FORMING.
IF THIS DEVELOPMENT TREND
CONTINUES...THEN ADVISORIES WILL BE INITIATED ON TROPICAL STORM
TOMAS AT 5 PM AST...2100 UTC. TROPICAL STORM WARNINGS WOULD ALSO
THEN BE REQUIRED FOR PORTIONS OF THE WINDWARD ISLANDS. THERE IS A
HIGH CHANCE...[b]NEAR 100 PERCENT
:shock: ...OF THIS SYSTEM BECOMING A TROPICAL
CYCLONE[/b] DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS IT MOVES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AT
15 TO 20 MPH.

apple

Postby apple » October 29th, 2010, 2:48 pm

Hook wrote:
apple wrote:even tho yuh buff meh ah still love yuh

*goes to check supplies*

lol...u eh check dat yet?!

3 days ago when i saw it 'forming' :oops:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 29th, 2010, 2:50 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
eekipoo wrote:we getting away again....

Thanks south america....

The fear of the bad weather will be worst that the bad weather!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 29th, 2010, 2:51 pm

people alluh make sure and reach freeport by 6pm eh cause road construction will start unless Jack says its posponed due to bad weather. In which case it'll take you 4hrs to reach the South land from POS if you leave after 4pm. In other words, all those living down south, time to leave pos now. Band yuh belly and brace for traffic. The real rain and winds will be this evening into tonight so use the "good weather" for now to leave work, pick up the kids, buy food and supplies, top up gas and visit ATM. I hope we don't get more homeless stories come Sunday morning for people to get free house, our country's purse is already strained.

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » October 29th, 2010, 2:51 pm

Postby teems1 » October 29th, 2010, 2:52 pm

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo_atl.shtml

1. A STRONG TROPICAL WAVE...ACCOMPANIED BY A DEVELOPING LOW PRESSURE
SYSTEM...IS LOCATED ABOUT 225 MILES SOUTHEAST OF BARBADOS. DATA
FROM AN AIR FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING THE
SYSTEM THIS AFTERNOON INDICATES A CLOSED SURFACE CIRCULATION WITH
WINDS TO TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE IS FORMING. IF THIS DEVELOPMENT TREND
CONTINUES...THEN ADVISORIES WILL BE INITIATED ON TROPICAL STORM
TOMAS AT 5 PM AST...2100 UTC. TROPICAL STORM WARNINGS WOULD ALSO
THEN BE REQUIRED FOR PORTIONS OF THE WINDWARD ISLANDS. THERE IS A
HIGH CHANCE...NEAR 100 PERCENT...OF THIS SYSTEM BECOMING A TROPICAL
CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS AS IT MOVES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AT
15 TO 20 MPH.

it's 100%, they gave it a name, Tomas

time for the storm watches/alerts to be sent out

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » October 29th, 2010, 2:57 pm

Hook wrote:

apple...say it.

Hook come on ur the man in the met office..clearly most of the wave wayy above trinidad..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 29th, 2010, 3:00 pm

whambaitomasbaidreadbaitomasbai???

Postby wagonrunner » October 29th, 2010, 3:00 pm

teems1 wrote:it's 100%, they gave it a name, Tomas

time for the storm watches/alerts to be sent out

WE WISH TO UNDERSCORE THAT AT THIS TIME TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO IS NOT UNDER ANY TROPICAL STORM THREAT, WATCH OR WARNING.

Image or Image

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 29th, 2010, 3:05 pm

eekipoo wrote:
Hook wrote:

apple...say it.

Hook come on ur the man in the met office..clearly most of the wave wayy above trinidad..

That storm is going to clearly miss us