Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby desifemlove » May 23rd, 2016, 2:26 am

desifemlove wrote:evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?

A rapid rail is considered "good" infrastructure? :? How about building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs and things like those first?

Building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs does not happen with this government .

Have you seen the roads lately , expect to pay more for car repairs and floods

roads mashed up both her and his government now...

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2016, 2:37 am

desifemlove wrote:
desifemlove wrote:evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?

A rapid rail is considered "good" infrastructure? :? How about building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs and things like those first?

cos those are necessities. they don't add major long-term value.

it macroeconomics 101, good transportation is good for long-term economic growth. drains and road paving aren't to same degree, dey is very basic ting.

But we do not have nearly enough of them as it is. Are you proposing railway infrastructure when two drops of rain still causes floods in many parts of the country? Even the IADB saw the folly of the rail and declined to recommend/fund it. Also where honestly do you need to get to in Trinidad that you can't reasonably get to right now?

Postby desifemlove » May 23rd, 2016, 2:40 am

only due to the fiscal issues. fact is people bemoan any kind of transport upgrade, without realising its boons/implications. as for floods, i have no confidence PNM or UNC have the skills nor knowledge or WILL to tackle that.

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2016, 2:42 am

desifemlove wrote:only due to the fiscal issues. fact is people bemoan any kind of transport upgrade, without realising its boons/implications. as for floods, i have no confidence PNM or UNC have the skills nor knowledge or WILL to tackle that.

Is there any other reason?

Postby desifemlove » June 3rd, 2016, 11:18 am

desifemlove wrote:

cos those are necessities. they don't add major long-term value.

it macroeconomics 101, good transportation is good for long-term economic growth. drains and road paving aren't to same degree, dey is very basic ting.

But we do not have nearly enough of them as it is. Are you proposing railway infrastructure when two drops of rain still causes floods in many parts of the country? Even the IADB saw the folly of the rail and declined to recommend/fund it. Also where honestly do you need to get to in Trinidad that you can't reasonably get to right now?

i support it in principle fo rthe reason stated. i'd prefer a guided busway, and this could work in urban areas and cut down on traffic. and something different to maxis.

Postby sMASH » August 19th, 2016, 8:22 am

better analysis of rail systems. unless going really fast, it doesn't make a time difference. then the best systems are 50% subsidized. so high implementation cost, high running cost, and not much advantage...

pnm stupid.

Postby desifemlove » August 19th, 2016, 8:24 am

the only people against this are uneducated UNCs/Hindus who don't get both the modern world and how economies does wuk....

we have to be poor, cos rail is only for big countries...and no country develops without better infrastructure, ent?

stick with agriculture and remain poor, fools...

Postby Redman » August 19th, 2016, 9:02 am

the only people against this are uneducated UNCs/Hindus who don't get both the modern world and how economies does wuk....

With
1)1.3M pop and little long term population growth and
2)Central and South largely under utilized
3) And a Gulf of Paria that is not used but easily accessible to much of the day to day traffic
4) Uncertain Economic growth in terms of the Econ,and the POS area

you think its worth XX Billion and YY years to build the most expensive,longest lead time,most inflexible mode of transport ?

Whats the POLICY doc that supports this?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2016, 9:27 am

Desi like yuh dildo mash up or wah...

Frowly done say it a have $ for backpay...how you expect a rapid rail to get of d ground ?

Postby desifemlove » August 19th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Redman wrote:

With
1)1.3M pop and little long term population growth and
2)Central and South largely under utilized
3) And a Gulf of Paria that is not used but easily accessible to much of the day to day traffic
4) Uncertain Economic growth in terms of the Econ,and the POS area

you think its worth XX Billion and YY years to build the most expensive,longest lead time,most inflexible mode of transport ?

Whats the POLICY doc that supports this?

if we are to diversify and move forward, all infrastructure needs an upgrade. population growth albeit stagnant to move any economy forward better infrastructure in all areas is needed. this is in utilites, transport, IT, telecoms, education. i do think it's worth it, and UNC's idea of a busway was better. but the principle stands, it's needed for the long-term.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 19th, 2016, 4:47 pm

An Indo/Hindu bull Desi Husband and/or Mother??
In every thread so he brings up this

Postby desifemlove » August 19th, 2016, 4:52 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Desi like yuh dildo mash up or wah...

Frowly done say it a have $ for backpay...how you expect a rapid rail to get of d ground ?

cos projects like this ent funded by regular means. it done by borrowing over the long-term, even big countries like the USA or UK and Germany does do that. growing economies need better infrastructure. yuh want to stay poor, rely on oil and gas, and grow peas?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 19th, 2016, 8:59 pm

How is a rapid rail going to make you rich? Can you eat anything from it? At least I could eat the peas...

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 19th, 2016, 10:53 pm

They already neglecting the water taxis you think they'll maintain a train?

Postby desifemlove » August 19th, 2016, 11:15 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:How is a rapid rail going to make you rich? Can you eat anything from it? At least I could eat the peas...

not the point. it's about economic development and the future of the country. how do you think countries does move ahead economically without support infrastructure in place?

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby bluesclues » August 20th, 2016, 5:09 am

sMASH wrote:
mitsu_chick941 wrote:thank god i nuh living south again...........a full tank giving me 2 weeks too and from work, providing i keep meh a$$ home weekends (which i normally do)..........

This person decided to reduce the commute distance between work and home. This had the advantage of saving time, money, and frustration.

If u can move people closer to their jobs, and move jobs closer to people , you would ease up a lot of traffic, save people time and money, conserve resources, ease up pollution.

Sounds good and attractive on the surface.. at least to the people invloved to not have to travel out of area to go to school or work. But no, though it would be efficient on a local constituency level, the general gdp outlook could be severely hampered by an arrangement like this.

what would happen is that communities/counties that are well-off will flourish and communities that are not so well off would stagnate. Having ppl travelling from east to west and south to north increases economic activity among communities. U need to keep the money moving around so ppl in south spend some of their money in the north etc etc etc. Not to mention ppl may spend more when theyre far from home as opposed to if theyre home all day.

So ideally what we want is for ppl to spend money all over the place at a faster rate. But also they have to be able to make/generate money at a faster rate. That is in the realms of increasing economic efficiency. That is how u create positive gdp growth on a yearly basis.

Desifemlove is not too off track either. But everything she mentioned really falls under efficiency. Efficiency of transport, efficiency of services in general, efficiency efficiency efficiency. Efficiency will allow things to move at a faster pace without adding undue stress to people participating. The faster we can complete each transaction cycle, and the faster a revolution can be completed.

I real like the flyovers from east to west plan. I wish pnm could at least get that done without screwing it up halfway and aborting.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 20th, 2016, 5:22 am

We seriously need more efficiency from government. Our roads need to be smoother to increase the speed limits, but this is only one aspect. There are many interconnecting parts. For example, until government can feel the brunt of a lawsuit because u drove over a pothole and mashup ur car. They will delay all road repairs and potholes and other road hazards will stay there for weeks and months while they repair it on their own time. All these areas fall under efficiency management. Basically... trinidad, has become horribly inefficient in its way of doing business at the government, ministry borough and county levels. So if d head rotten, body must start to develop rust.

Postby sMASH » August 20th, 2016, 8:40 am

The ting I picked out of the guy's video, is that the tail system isn't much faster, even at a higher operating speed compared to road transports. So the efficiency isn't there in small and medium size rail systems.
The best systems are up to 50% subsidised. So what ever monies are generated in the local economies, when tax are collected, will go back into the floating the rail systems.
Even when subsidized, the ticket prices were still high.

What's the point is stimulating GDP, when u can't spend the money that is earned on real things like the health care system and the education system?

When I speak of decentralization, it's not going to be absolute zoning. More on the lines of 50% the present long long distance communication.

Its partly putting people closer to their jobs, and putting the jobs closer to the people. Jenkins that, the movement of small money spending moves out away from PoS and sando, and out to to other parts of the country.

The extra money that is saved by not having to travel far, then the time saved in not having to travel far would result in a better over all quality of life.

With a rail system, I don't save that much time. I don't save that much money, people still have to meet the train or reach late. Or if the train breaks, everyone reaches late.
A lot of money needs to subsidize it, and a lot of money needs to pay for its establishment.

That rail not going to stimulate our economy to the extent of then other countries. A good road network will do more, and be more flexible.

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2016, 11:16 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:How is a rapid rail going to make you rich? Can you eat anything from it? At least I could eat the peas...

cos Indo/Hindus are the ones who kicking up the most fuss, without understanding the economics behind it and the rationale behind, and tink the country should stay poor and grow crops and not progress.....

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2016, 11:16 am

Dizzy28 wrote:An Indo/Hindu bull Desi Husband and/or Mother??
In every thread so he brings up this

cos it's just how t&T is, and the issues we does have at hand.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2016, 12:00 pm

desifemlove wrote:

cos Indo/Hindus are the ones who kicking up the most fuss, without understanding the economics behind it and the rationale behind, and tink the country should stay poor and grow crops and not progress.....

You still ain't answer the question...so your logic is...a mass transit system would get us rich and reach first world status? So you're saying we should borrow billions to fund this system in a recessionary period? How is that economics...the proposed train system would take at least 8-10 years to finish and who can say for sure that pnm would win the next election to continue it...what makes you think a new govt would continue that program?

Just look at the highway in south...pnm continuing that?
You pnm supporters does think from your waist below ent?

I agree with smash with respects to flyovers from east to west...that would a good start...

And seeing that you bordering the indo/hindu bullsheit...remember...these people know how to save and conserve eh..they prefer to eat roti and peas than buy bkfast and lunch everyday...

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2016, 12:03 pm

no, those people don't get the economic realities of the world we does live in. but enough for now, since we jus need agriculture alone to survive. oh, and buy lunch, check the diabetes rates dude...not many people get dat off just eating bhagi.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2016, 12:39 pm

desifemlove wrote:no, those people don't get the economic realities of the world we does live in. but enough for now, since we jus need agriculture alone to survive. oh, and buy lunch, check the diabetes rates dude...not many people get dat off just eating bhagi.

I still trying to understand your logic behind rapid rail..there are third world countries with train systems...are they any better of?

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2016, 2:34 pm

i try all the time to see why Indo/Hindus don't think the country needs to progress...but cool. let we listen to them and not advance the country.

matix

Postby matix » August 20th, 2016, 2:41 pm

Why must every damn thing with you idiots must be race related. We already have transportation systems in place, sadly they're poorly mismanaged. Why not improve on the existing systems? Why not get together and have a cook out? And we could all discuss these wonderful topics, see who's brave enough to speak race shittalk instead of hiding behind this forum.

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2016, 3:54 pm

haha..you'd hit somebody for expressing an opinion..cool.

matix

Postby matix » August 20th, 2016, 4:03 pm

I'm suggesting a cook out you fool. Get together with fellow tuners and voice those opinions that you have.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2016, 4:05 pm

You want to have a cookout and talk politics...you mad bro...

matix

Postby matix » August 20th, 2016, 4:09 pm

Lol yes. Just to put a face to some fellow tuners

Postby desifemlove » August 20th, 2016, 4:17 pm

matix wrote:I'm suggesting a cook out you fool. Get together with fellow tuners and voice those opinions that you have.

eh? no thanks.....